Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 195 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

195 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

195 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
122
4 stars
45
3 stars
9
2 stars
8
1 stars
11
1-20 of 171 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 171 total reviews
1-20 of 171 reviews
Proscan 47"LED-TV
5/13/2010

Customer review by MovieSoundman

5.0 stars 5/13/2010 by MovieSoundman
by MovieSoundman

I purchased a Proscan 47LED55SA Television from Walmart online for $899. + tax. Picked it up at Walmart Site To Store. Thank God it was well packaged with almost a foot around in all directions with molded foam and thick plastic wrapping. The box was damaged with two holes about 4 inches across at each end on the bottom where it appears a pallet loader was agressively used. At my request the manager noted the box damage on the receipt and then had two employees load it into my waiting van. I should note here that although they asked for my name and order number, noone asked for me to show my I.D. or printout. Glad I was the first me to get there!The set was carefully unpacked and was visually undamaged. The stand came unassembled and there was fair user documentation, Warrantee card,remote and batteries and a couple of brochures. The set is quite attractive and seems well constructed. It was wall hung cross a corner of my bedroom. I hung it like a picture with a chain mounted to two studs secured to Eye Bolts. Using the top two mounting holes through the chain links it hung on a perfect slightly forward leaning angle to view from a seated or reclined position. After installing a Walmart Indoor/Outdoor amplified antenna in the attic and a surge protector behind the set and reading the instructions, I was ready to plug it in. The setup screen came up when I used the remote to turn it on. It walked me through the initial channel scan and to my surprise I now have seven more channels than before with my old TV in Spring Hill Kansas. Maybe the TV or the antenna but I was impressed. When watching free over the air programming on one of the several 1080i available channels I am truely impressed. The set has great color, contrast and clarity stock and can even be improved to outstanding by adjusting the contrast up to about three quarters and the brightness down to about a quarter and increasing the sharpness to near max and reducing the resulting high saturation. I now have a picture better than all of the name sets I have seen on display except the ones for thousands more. Not a pixal messed up. The edge backlight LEDs are good for lower power requirements, temperature reduction thus longer life and allow a 1+1/2inch TV thickness. When wiping the working set screen with a finger there is no trace smear like I noticed on most imported sets. I guess it is a little more protected like Vizio. I purchased this set because it has LED backlights. Backlight manufacturers that make the backlights for all types of sets and manufacturers rate them at 50,000 to 100,000 hours half life. The flourescents used in most previous LCD sets are only rated by the backlight manufacturers for 10,000 to 20,000 hours. I feel the cost of LED sets at this time overweighs their advantages except this set that is $500 - $600 cheaper than it's nearest rival. This is particularly irritating seeing that it actually costs less to make a LED edge backlight set due to lower cost of the LEDs and thiness of the set means less raw materials and the LEDs do not require a transformer as they can run off low voltage directly. So I wanted a set that would have the minor improvement of picture that LED backlight exhibits but primarily the benifit of lasting twice as long. My opinion is get this LED set at this price or get a regular LCD with a little noticable difference in picture without LEDs at half the price of all the other LED sets. By the time that one wears out, bigger LED sets will be the same price and you can have two sets for the same price as the other LED sets now available. The Proscan set I received is missing two prompts in the setup menu that would allow a zoom mode or a cinema mode which I believe may be updateable through the service port. I do not believe this is a malfunction but is an omission from the online advertisement that the manufacturer provides. I would buy this set if you want a super thin set with a great picture and own or plan to own a surround system. This set has mediocre 8 watt speakers but is capable of being the centerpiece of a strong home theatre.

Was this review helpful? (90) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MovieSoundman
Spring Hill Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Buy!!!
10/5/2010

Customer review by EKR1981

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by EKR1981
by EKR1981

I absolutely recommend this tv to anyone looking for LED quality at a good price. I've had it for about 2 weeks now and I am thoroughly impressed. When friends come over and see the picture quality, they first ask who makes the tv and then begin to rave. I was a little hesitant considering I had never heard of Proscan, but the reviews were good, so I took the chance. Needless to say, but I'm very happy with this product. The picture far better than the Samsung LCD I have. The only downside is the sound. I recommend getting a sound bar or surround sound system to compliment the tv.

Was this review helpful? (64) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EKR1981
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value!!! Picture is great, sound OK.
6/21/2010

Customer review by AAASparky

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by AAASparky
by AAASparky

Order is TV online for $799, site-to-store, and couldn't be happier. This is my first flat screen TV and it was so easy to set up. The picture so far is great, not one problem with it. The sound is OK, but really isn't as bad as some people have commented about. I don't know, maybe I'm the only one who doesn't need the sound to be so loud that my ear drums would burst? As for some of the questions people have been asking, but haven't been answered, go to Amazon and enter in Proscan 47" LED-LCD 1080p 120hz, 47LED55SA in the search engine, Amazon's info gives a lot more info than Wal-Mart but of course is more expensive. Also go to this link http://www.rca4tv.com/product/features.asp?modelnum=LED47A55RS . RCA makes Proscan and I'm pretty sure this is the same TV, but with the RCA name on it. Good luck deciding!!!

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AAASparky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Proscan 47LED55SA
9/27/2010

Customer review by TexasReviewMan

2.0 stars 9/27/2010 by TexasReviewMan
by TexasReviewMan

I'll give you the "bottom line" first so that you don't have to read the full review unless you want to. Bottom Line: If you watch mainly news or TV/Movies with little action and you don't mind some distortion in audio then this can be a nice TV. Though, be warned that the remote might not function properly and that can be a huge headache. If you watch TV/Movies with a lot of action or value playing video games then you will want to look elsewhere as this TV is absolutely not for you! I was very excited to get this TV and hook it up. The TV looks beautiful and the stand looks great (though I chose to mount it on the wall as it is very thin and frees up a good deal of floor space). I have two other Proscan TVs (42" I got from another retailer--will be 3 years this Christmas) so I knew that the speakers were likely to be very weak and that the remote might not work very well. I just want everyone to know: The remote issues (here, nearly 3 years later) have not been solved. The remote works sporadically. The Buttons on the TV? There are no buttons. There are capacitive touch points on the edge of the frame and they hardly work, in fact I have yet to get the volume up/down buttons to function. Picture Quality: I used a PS3 to play the Blu-ray version of Iron Man as I wanted a nice clean hi-def image being sent to the TV for testing purposes. The picture is absolutely beautiful as long as the motion on the screen is slow, but if the camera pans out or there is a lot of motion the screen flickers. This may or may not bother you. It bothers me, but my wife hardly notices it. I liken it to DLP, some people used to have difficulty watching 1st- or 2nd-gen DLP images because of the flicker. If you are one of these people (as I am) you will likely be annoyed with this TV. Sound Quality: The speakers are at the rear of the TV so the sound is muddy as it bounces back from the wall. To make matters worse, the speakers are very poor quality so to hear the TV one must turn the volume up beyond what would be a reasonable level if the speakers were forward-facing. This creates distortion and makes the TV sound bad. Very disappointing. Input Lag: This doesn't matter much if you're watching TV, but if you're playing a video game it can be crippling. My son and I played Call Of Duty and the lag was *VERY* noticeable. I would not recommend this TV for gaming at all! Refresh Rate: There is some debate about whether this is a true 120Hz TV or whether there is some legerdemain happening under the hood. I do know this: Images can seem overly smooth at times and a bit distracting. Anyone else notice how the images on 240Hz TVs can look odd? This is similar, but not as bad. One thing I noticed and was very annoying when playing Call of Duty is that the ammo line kept blinking for individual rounds. I'm not sure if that's because of the 120Hz processing messing up or not. I had read somewhere that this TV has a Game Mode but it does not. It has a Dot-for-Dot mode, but no Game Mode, which I guess is why the input lag is so noticeable, as the 120Hz processing is still being performed on games. You do not want 120Hz processing performed on games because of the lag it introduces! 120Hz processing should be disabled for games.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TexasReviewMan
Magnolia, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/22/2010

Customer review by Rhettster

4.0 stars 5/22/2010 by Rhettster
by Rhettster

If you rely on reviews when it comes to purchasing a TV, I can relate! I hope this can help... There are several things that I would like to point out about this TV. Negatives: 1. Site to Store is about as slow as a snail.... it took 12 days for it to reach the store for me to pick up. That is not awful, but in today’s day and age Wal-Mart should do better than that... 2. My box looked really beat up when I got it. It was extremely well packaged on the inside, but I was nervous at first because of how it looked on the outside. 3. The sound on this TV is worse than my 10+ year old TV I had before this one. I thank God that I had surround sound speakers to cover it up. Positives: 1. THE PICTURE IS AMAZING. This is without a doubt an elite picture quality TV. Take my word and all the other reviews that agree with what I am saying. 2. The 120hz is very evident. It is taking my eyes a while to adjust to how smooth people look when they are running or simply moving… The bottom line is simple. I searched for TV’s on the internet for 6 months. I went to Best Buy, Target, HH Greg and no one could beat this price. Out of every TV on the market, this was the only LED TV that was in my price range. Granted the only reason it was in my price range was because of the sale Wal-Mart is having at the moment for $849 which was actually $899 when I bought it. This TV has met all of my expectations. I took a HUGE risk by ordering this TV… I had never heard of a Proscan before. It was simply a roll of the dice and I must say that I rolled doubles! I HIGHLY recommend this TV, if and ONLY if you have external speakers to cover up the sound quality. I will update my review and 3-6 months…

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rhettster
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/27/2010

Customer review by khaanandeh

5.0 stars 4/27/2010 by khaanandeh
by khaanandeh

This big, flatscreen has definitely covered all the bases. Great sound, vivid color display, many features, and not costing 1000's of dollars, makes for an amazing piece of electronics.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
khaanandeh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A sad review
5/1/2010

Customer review by shinet

3.0 stars 5/1/2010 by shinet
by shinet

I hate to have to write my review because I had such high hopes for this TV. It's gorgeous and was simple to connect and set up. I am sure to someone who knows this technology better than I do the TV has flaws but for the money I thought it was fine. I have only had the TV about a week and several times now we have had an issue with the TV simply not turning on at all no matter how long we wait for power up. In fact during these episodes the only correction was to completely unplug the TV and plug it back in. The audio has also gone out multiple times while using the TV (either turning it on or simply while watching). I will be returning the TV. Since the reviews seem to be good so far it might just be my TV that is defected.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shinet
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
outstanding value!
8/25/2010

Customer review by oldoneeye

5.0 stars 8/25/2010 by oldoneeye
by oldoneeye

i've been looking for an led tv for several months to replace my hd plasma tv. after many trips to walmart, sears, bestbuy, etc., i stumbled upon this proscan on walmarts website. the price was the first shocker, it was $500 to $600 less than its nearest competitor. also, the positive reviews far outweighed the negative, so i took a chance. after all, if i didn't like it, i could always take it back to the store for a different brand. well, it arrived yesterday, and i'm still in disbelief! the packaging was perfect. the picture was unbelievable, and thats with just basic cable hooked to it. my living room is 14x22 feet......fairly large, and the sound quality that seems to be the biggest complaint isn't really that bad. the menus are clear and user friendly. there are certainly enough adjustments to satisfy most users. if your thinking about purchasing an led tv, trust me, you won't regret your purchase if you decide on this tv. and with all the extra cash you'll save, you can get that blu-ray player, and home theater system you know you want. BUY THIS TV!

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oldoneeye
dover, nh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Choice
11/22/2010

Customer review by lovederm72

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by lovederm72
by lovederm72

My husband and I spent many months reading reviews and asking friends about their TV experiences. After much deliberation we chose this flat screen TV. Amazing purchase. The picture is great, set up was easy. The picture is great for gamers as well. There are plenty of hook ups for the X-Box, Wii, and satellite box. The screen is super slim as well. So glad we chose this tv. Great TV for a low cost!

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovederm72
wichita KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Surprisingly Great tv
6/8/2010

Customer review by loksher

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by loksher
by loksher

After a lot of detailed research, i purchased this product and I'm delighted. Selected "home delivery". the package took a week to arrive and was intact. the picture quality is great. couldn't find no difference in display when compared to the other tvs in the market. So why pay twice the money for the brand name? the sound quality is really a turn off though. I dint really care for the tv speakers cos i hooked the tv's audio to a logitech thx speaker system. to conclude, this is a great tv, so far.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loksher
Bloomfield, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Proscan LED tv... Should be titled ELITE LED TV
11/19/2010

Customer review by AJho

5.0 stars 11/19/2010 by AJho
by AJho

Recap of my experience... Purchased this television at walmart.com on Monday the 15th of November 2010... Currently watching my television on 18th of November 2010. That is 4 days between ordering and delivery to my doorstep. The delivery service came even after they could not find my address an hour later than the window alloted. If I could give a review for the delivery company I would give them 5 stars as well. The picture is awesome, features are awesome, Sound is only issue. If you have a standard stereo system this is a win win 5 stars hand down. Everything else on this television is exactly how described by satisfied customers. I have played my PS3 with HDMI sony cable and the image is phenomenal. Awesome television for an awesome price. Like the guy said on office max commercial... "Wow THAT'S A LOW PRICE!!" I reccomend this to anyone wanting quality for a steal.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AJho
Canton, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
get it with warranty
6/15/2010

Customer review by NEWbuyerproscan

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by NEWbuyerproscan
by NEWbuyerproscan

So fare the TV works great no problem with sound/picture. I am using a low-resolution wire/cable connection and still good picture/sound. I would imagine if I use a high-resolution cable connection like HDMI I would have great experience. I had the TV for about 4 weeks. Hopefully would last for several years. I would recommend you to get the store warranty (2yrs or the 3yrs warranty) I am saying this because some people in their review had problem with their TVs. And because my pervious TV went dead after about 2yrs and got my money back, so warranty is good to have specially with these new TVs (TVs are not like used to be any more). (My old TV was not from Wal-Mart just to be clear). Thanks

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NEWbuyerproscan
boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing Deal
7/7/2010

Customer review by gamer501

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by gamer501
by gamer501

I was a little skeptical of this TV at first because I had never heard of the brand and the price was so low. Once I put a Blu-ray in I was amazed at the deal I had just got on this fantastic TV! I worked at Best Buy and Circuit City for several years selling TV's and have seen a lot of TV's and this TV is a no-brainer, if you are in the market for a 46-50inch LED-LCD don't waste your money on a name get this TV!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gamer501
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value!
9/7/2010

Customer review by candygirl57

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by candygirl57
by candygirl57

Love it! The picture is amazing,life like quality..makes things look like a live broadcast.Fiddled with the settings,liked "cinema"setting the best . The speakers are a non issue our sound goes through a stereo receiver. We have had several people comment how nice the television is and asking where we got it. It did take 9 days from ordering to pick up,but the shipping was free. I don't think you will be disappointed if you buy this,my husband wants to get 2 more!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
candygirl57
Holly Springs,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A cheap alternative, but that is all it is.
9/6/2010

Customer review by Photosnob

1.0 stars 9/6/2010 by Photosnob
by Photosnob

I too, like many others, bought this TV based on the price and the fact it was a 47" LED with minimal features, just what I was looking for. As to not sound repetitive of other reviews, I'll just list my main gripes with the TV. 1.) Motion. This TV just can't handle it. I'm not talking about watching formula 1 racing here, just a simple pan across the screen or someone walking by and you can see the TV struggle to keep it smooth. They have some sort of feature you can turn on that is supposed to reduce it but the trade off is a intolerable amount of noise in the picture. I was going to return this TV because of this alone then the next thing started to happen.. 2.) Random shut-offs and loud noises. As recent as 3 weeks of setting the TV up it started randomly shutting off. It would start with the TV making a loud noise at full volume, even though I had it connected to a separate home theatre system with the TV volume all the way down. This just started and sealed the decision to return the TV as soon as possible. In summary, yes this is a heck of a deal of a TV, but it comes with some serious tradeoffs. I suggest saving your money and going a few hundred dollars more expensive if you want a quality LED TV and to buy from an established quality brand name.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Photosnob
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Yes, it is too good to be true - STOP NOW!
1/7/2011

Customer review by FlashGuy

2.0 stars 1/7/2011 by FlashGuy
by FlashGuy

We were sucked in by the deal. Major disappointment, and on Christmas morning. While the picture is great, the rest is garbage. The buttons are hard to use and slow to react, and the sound is bad. Worse, there is a severe processor delay. We hooked up the Wii, and there is about a 1/3 of a second delay for the TV to catch up. It sounds small, but when you hear stuff happen on your Wii remote before you see it, and you move the remote but have to wait for the TV to catch up to your actions, it's weird, like driving a floating car that doesn't steer right away. Since the kids love the Wii (I'm sure it would also be true with any system), we had to return it. So sad. We saw a review that said this, but there were so many good ones that we bought it anyway. DON'T make the same mistake!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlashGuy
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Proscan 47" Class LED-LCD 47LED55SA
11/22/2010

Customer review by 20After4

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by 20After4
by 20After4

Just bought this TV a few days ago First let me say I know proscan they have been around for years I have an older 36in crt model never had one problem with it I still have it. Being a fan of Sony and Samsung I really wasnt expecting the same type of quality but the price was great. OMG the picture is sharp the color is amazing i was blown away none of the issues that i've read in the other reviews on this TV. No bluring on fast moving scenes no lag or out of sync issues on dvd/blu ray or on my PS3 the sound wasnt great out of the box but there are some settings that that will correct this. All i can say is you wont notice the difference between this TV and other more expensive models

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
20After4
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
BAD PRODUCT!!
2/13/2011

Customer review by Slinky7

1.0 stars 2/13/2011 by Slinky7
by Slinky7

I purchased this TV for my father's birthday and after 6 months it went out. We called for a replacement on the one year warranty and the customer service sent out a Sears tech. The tech said it was a bad panel and it was a common problem with the Proscan brand that's made by RCA. The tech stated he would receive a replacement within a week. Three weeks later with several phone calls and really bad customers service..such as lying..yeah you have a replacement on the way..no we have to send you a box..then no we're just going to send you a check to buy another tv...well we're not going to replace this tv because it's no longer made..weeks of frustration!! DO NOT BUY!! We finally took it back to Walmart and they understood the problems and were aware..they were kind enough to give us a store credit. Please think before you purchase anything Proscan!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Slinky7
Monroe, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Disapointed
9/2/2010

Customer review by keyboardpop

3.0 stars 9/2/2010 by keyboardpop
by keyboardpop

Save your money and get a better product. Most lcd and plasma tvs have more options included this tv is a bare bones product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
keyboardpop
Jackson NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!
6/6/2010

Customer review by BNW1

5.0 stars 6/6/2010 by BNW1
by BNW1

We love this TV. My husband mounted it on the wall with Ultra Slim Flat mount. He brought the electric thru the wall and brought the HD flat cable (35 ft bought at Monoprice.com for $40) under the floors into wall. There are no wires or cables showing. We switched from Direct to Dish so we could have this TV work off the receiver in the bedroom so there isn't any thing connected to this TV. It looks like a picture on the wall.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BNW1
Oroville CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 171 total reviews
1-20 of 171 reviews