Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 212 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

212 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

212 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
140
4 stars
57
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
1-20 of 187 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews
Great way into LCD
6/22/2010

Customer review by walleyworlddad

5.0 stars 6/22/2010 by walleyworlddad
by walleyworlddad

This TV delivers everything it promises and more. The picture is very very clear and the TV looks sleek and thin. The only bad things are the sound as I heard on other reviews is bad. almost like its coming from a cheap hand held radio. This didnt matter to me because my TV is hooked through a surrond sound system. And the only other thing is my DirectV reciever was not able to sync the remote to the TV. This was a real step up for me in picture quality and I enjoy it every day.

Was this review helpful? (6) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
walleyworlddad
RTP,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FANTASTIC TV
7/16/2010

Customer review by loveToGameAndBluray

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by loveToGameAndBluray
by loveToGameAndBluray

This tv is worth more then they charge for it for sure. 1080p 4 hdmi inputs great color and contrast and all for over a hundred dollars less then any competeing tv with the same options from other brands. The only thing i dock this tv for is that its speakers are junk (all tv speakers are junk though in my opinion and i readily fix this fact by having a nice 5.1 surround hd audio system to partner with my tv) and the tv has no optical cable out port, i was going to use this to get sound from my wii from the tv to the surround system since the tv doesnt have an hdmi out. But getting a 800 dollar+ tv for 598+tax makes me not mind the lack of the optical or hdmi output option, i just need to use one of the other audio output options instead. To summerize, you cant go wrong with this tv at the sub 600 dollar price, its worth more and the led screen will give it a great lifespan compared to the regular lcds in this size that sell with fewer colors and contrast ratio for the same money.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
loveToGameAndBluray
North Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
default settings are HORRIBLE
5/5/2010

Customer review by thestuntman

4.0 stars 5/5/2010 by thestuntman
by thestuntman

when i hooked this up and popped in the avatar blu-ray disc i was in absolute shock and horror. seriously. everything looked like a "behind the scenes" footage. it looked so... real -- in a bad way. very bad, like documentary style. so here were these very real, down-to-earth people, and then very strange effects around them. it made even one of the best actors (sigourney weaver) seem like one of the worst. i was trying every adjustment to contrast/brightness/saturation/sharpness... nothing worked. i was majorly distraught, trying to figure out how to go about shipping this back and the whole process and ordeal. i even tried some old regular dvds. same thing. bad acting, cheap looking documentary camera. finally, in "advanced picture" options, i went in and turned EVERYTHING off. all of the little extra picture "enhancing" settings -- 3 menus deep! seriously, EVERYTHING off. and voila. an awesome, truly CINEMATIC picture. thank goodness. great tv... some of the worst default settings in the history of default settings. be prepared for this, or you will return it unnecessarily. you're welcome, wal-mart, i just saved you a ton in shipping costs if anyone reads this review.

Was this review helpful? (41) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thestuntman
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/29/2010

Customer review by Emrolds

4.0 stars 6/29/2010 by Emrolds
by Emrolds

I have never written a review but since they were a key factor in my decision in buying this T.V. I thought I would return the favor. If you have read any other reviews you already heard about the SOUND issue and the FACTORY VIDEO settings. You will definitely need a surround sound system to compliment this great picture and you will have to tweak the settings in the video menu to get the best picture, you will need a good HD source because the picture tends to look grainy in SD 480i. Now with that said, the picture quality is right up there with SONY,LG, or SAMSUNG LED TV’s and there is a cool tool in the video settings (MFC) it ads a cool depth affect to the image, witch is not really necessary in regular T.V. but looks cool with BLU-RAY. This T.V. was made for a movie lover who enjoys a great picture. Hope this helps someone out there, thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? (15) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Emrolds
Van Nuys, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the price tag...
6/19/2010

Customer review by andy1ua

4.0 stars 6/19/2010 by andy1ua
by andy1ua

After reading a few of the lower rated reviews on this TV, I have to say I am pleasantly surprised with my purchase. For an LED TV over 42 inches less than $800, this TV is a good deal. _ The video quality is great. Those that say the video quality is poor must be expecting an HD quality picture out of standard definition television. Standard TV looks fine on this TV and, as a matter of fact, will look the same on any higher end TV on the market (I have a 37" Vizio and it is exactly the same). Now, the HD quality is AWESOME. I hooked my Playstation 3 up to one of the HDMI ports and was blown away by the clarity of my Bluray movies and even my regular DVD's. The picture is so crisp it looks like you're looking through a window, not a TV screen. _ The only downside with the video is the lag I experienced with games on my Xbox 360 and Wii. Any shooter seems to be slightly sluggish when turning, aiming and locking on to targets and it came make for a frustrating experience at times. The Wii remote seemed to be slightly behind my hand movements, too. That being said, playing ModNation Racers and MLB 10: The Show on my PS3 yielded better results. _ The sound quality of the actual TV isn't anything to brag about; it does fine with regular TV but isn't impressive with movies. It does have an audio out port to hook up any stereo or home theater system with red/white stereo ports. _ As far as the features go on this TV, don't expect any fancy bells and whistles. It has the normal color, sharpness picture adjustments as well as a sound equalizer, sleep time and parental controls. The one feature I was very disappointed it did not have was a fixed or variable audio output option (meaning you can adjust the volume of your attached home theater system/stereo through your TV without having to alternate remotes). _ Overall, I am pleased with my purchase of this TV. I feel like this TV isn't a GREAT investment for someone that is willing to spend the extra money on a higher model TV, but for someone on a tighter budget you can't do much better than this.

Was this review helpful? (90) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
andy1ua
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/26/2010

Customer review by nadershah01

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by nadershah01
by nadershah01

I compared LCD and LED screen and LED produces an excellent viewing experience over LCD. This T.V. has 4 HDMI inputs that are enough for all my components. Its speakers are powerful and undistorted on high volume. Overall a great product.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
nadershah01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Picture! Worth it for the Price
7/9/2010

Customer review by oscar10181988

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by oscar10181988
by oscar10181988

The picture quality is amazing. The 120hz speed is a huge difference from the 60hz. The only negative thing about this TV is the sound, but a sound bar should be sufficient or else just use a surround sound. Also, there's no set RCA plug (yellow, red, white), it says you can but it doesn't come out right on TV.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oscar10181988
Rosemead, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great tv - but use its vga connection for gaming
7/1/2010

Customer review by alexnyc

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by alexnyc
by alexnyc

tv has great picture, very vivid colors and good brightness. to get most out of it, i find it best to turn off most of the picture filters. as for gaming, it does not have a "game mode" like some other brands which turns off most picture processing and as such even with all available filters options off, there is quite a bit of input delay when playing games. Most affected are fps (cod mw2 and such) , however I find that using the vga in to connect my console dramatically reduces the delay to the point that i can say is almost non existent, So get a vga cable for your console and its a great gaming TV as well , vga in seems to bypass most processing filters in the Tv that cannot be turned off otherwise. avoid component or hdmi for gaming, use those connections for everything else. Again use a vga cable for your console! it makes an amazing difference, no lag and still a great vivid picture. As for watching tv the lag does effect some channels where the voices do not sync with the video, (only noticeable if you look for it!). This only occurs when running audio from the cable box directly to an av receiver, to avoid this run the audio to the tv first and use the tv's audio out, either rca or coaxial, to the av receiver. or if you use the built in speakers everything will be in sync. some receivers have an audio delay feature which can also help get everything perfectly in sync. So, other than the manageable video lag issues, (of which almost all new fancy lcd tv's suffer) the tv is great bargain for an 42 inch LED tv with good connectivity options and great picture, Frame is glossy and does reflect a bit but screen is matte and has little reflection making it great to watch during the day in a bright sunny room where most glass coated screens are almost unwatchable, built in speakers are not great, but still usable, other minor issue was on my set there was noticeable light bleed in one corner, (where the screen is not perfectly flush with the frame letting the back lighting through) this is easily corrected, just search online for a how to, again this was just my tv and probably occurred during shipping. OK that's all there is to it enjoy watching and gaming on your new TV!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
alexnyc
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
8/16/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/16/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Picture: Great quality, great vibrant colors, very white whites, very black blacks. No problems here. Sound: TV is only 1.5 inches deep, so it limits the capabilities of the sound system, and it shows, does not get very loud or have good depth in music, but i instantly plugged in my existing sound system and it works great. If you don't listen to music, or listen to TV or Movies loud, no need for an external sound system. Gaming: As said in previous reviews, i would reccomend using a VGA connection with advanced gaming systems such as the PS3 or XBOX 360. With HDMI connection, My COD MW2 game had screen lag, but VGA corrected this. Overall: Its an LED TV for the price of an LCD. Great quality in all areas other than sound, easily fixable and a good excuse to buy a sound system if you don't already have one. I would definately reccomend this to anyone who is looking for a GREAT price on a GOOD T.V.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Idaho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
inexpensive tv that works...like a tv
8/1/2010

Customer review by shashinator

4.0 stars 8/1/2010 by shashinator
by shashinator

I had moved from an apartment to a house and was looking for a larger tv, but wanted to be sure I got a great deal. I was initially skeptical about proscan, but after reading so many positive reviews, and realizing that you are buying from Walmart (which means you can ALWAYS return it if it doesn't work), I decided to take the plunge. I didn't expect to get a LED LCD tv. I am not sure, but i'm guessing it is perimeter LED for the price. There is some light bleed in the bottom corners but it's only noticeable if the screen is black down there. The sound is absolutely fine, and comparable to my old CRT set, when you turn on the surround sound. Colors aren't popping, but I haven't fiddled with the controls at all, so I'm assuming i could improve that if I chose. Haven't watched sports on it yet, so not sure if the 120hz was worth it...but hey, football season is just around the corner :) Definitely a great bargain, almost wish I had spent the extra 200 and gotten the 47"!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shashinator
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A Must read review
6/21/2010

Customer review by DwFritz

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by DwFritz
by DwFritz

I've had this tv for about a month and a half now and I absolutely love it. I am a gamer and I have the PS3 and Xbox360 both hooked up to it and I see no lag what so ever. Maybe the other reviewers had extremely cheap or bad HDMI cables, I dunno. I had a problem playing some first person shooters not because of lag but because of the difference between my 27" Standard Def tv and this 42" HD, it was so intimidating at first. I could actually see everything and I could read all the text on the screen. I also have HD cable and it looks wonderful, standard def cable looks decent but these new tv's are designed for HD! Right? Also another reviewer said the tv takes 10 mins to turn on that has to be an exaggeration. The tv takes about 10-15 seconds to turn on, thats about as long as I can stand to watch Tyra! With the sound issue I've been reading also, there is a setting to turn on the built in surround sound setting, when you do that the sound quality is wonderful. Again some people still can't set the time on their 1989 VCR's, I have a few in my family. The default sound is bad, but go into audio settings and make the switch, its like night and day. My roomate has a 32" RCA he bought on black friday from Walmart and his picture quality is way lower than mine, he has his brightness setting on the "Retail" setting which is for being displayed in bright department stores and its still not as bright and vibrant as this TV. Avatar blu-ray looks incredible on this screen, especially the night scene with all the flourescent colors, people say the default settings make it look "too real" I can see that, but again you tweak the settings and it doesn't look bad at all, again HD looks more real than SD anyway. One person said, it makes the actors look bad, but I think its just some actors are bad, llike Sigourney Weaver from Avatar for instance. It does let you see how the actors act sometimes. Which is funny cause it makes them look like normal people, not the mega highly praised superstars. This is a great gaming TV, a great Blu-ray TV, and a great LED-LCD TV all around. Unless you want internet capabilites or apps on your TV you will be pleased with this. Heck I got internet on my computer and apps on my phone, do I really need them on my TV also? If your worried about other reviewers or the supposed bad reputation of Proscan then get the 3 year extended warranty from Walmart, its only $88 or so, then if you don't like it you can return it to any store and get your money back because they don't sell these in stores so all they can offer is a refund, then you can take that money and buy a different tv from the store shelf. Thats what makes Walmart great, they want you to be happy with the product. I would buy that 3 year warranty no matter what brand I get, its a great investment.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DwFritz
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/6/2010

Customer review by cyruzdv

5.0 stars 6/6/2010 by cyruzdv
by cyruzdv

Just bought this a week ago, and i don't regret one bit. Have always preferred to buy a sony or vizio, but the price on this baby was, well unbelievable. I was hoping i didn't just make a mistake. Fortunately this baby is everything i was looking for. It's slim as they say it is , 1.5" thick. Picture quality is perfect, what? why wouldnt it, it's LED backlight. The sound isn't that loud to my liking, but could just be me. HDMI's works perfectly, VGA works, Components and Composites work. No power, volume and other physical buttons, istead those buttons are touch sensitive, you know soft key like, on the side of the panel which is cool and all, but the labeling is soo faint, i didn't know the existed or see them untill i read the manual. It comes with a nice swivel base stand. On the remote , i was hoping they will give some dedicated buttons for the input selections , you know like one buttons to skip through all HDMI, instead of one button that brings up all the input and you scroll through for the appropiate input. But all in all I'll recomend this baby to anyone looking to get a tv anytime.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cyruzdv
Bronx, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Proscan 42" LED-LCD - Great Deal
6/29/2010

Customer review by forzashopper

4.0 stars 6/29/2010 by forzashopper
by forzashopper

So when I first ordered this TV and I hooked it up, the picture was perfect but there was no sound at all. Trusting all the other reviews, I gave it another shot. So returned it and ordered a new one. Was definitely worth the wait, spectacular video quality on both HD cable and PS3/Bluray movies. The sound is not as bad as people are talking about, just have to play around with the settings. Turn surround sound on and try the speech mode that worked best for me. The remote is indeed useless, so I programmed it onto my cable remote, works just fine. Overall great TV, looks beautiful especially the swivel stand, can watch from anywhere in the room. Very thin and light as well. Great deal, strongly recommend. Also I believe you can get the extended warranty from Walmart for like 60 bucks, I think it might be worth it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
forzashopper
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent TV for the money
7/19/2010

Customer review by NickName223

5.0 stars 7/19/2010 by NickName223
by NickName223

Even with the free shipping the TV arrived in record time and in perfect shape. We got this TV because it has the big 3 features that seem to be the sweet spot of modern screens: 120 Hz, LED, 1080p. We figured if it has these features it can't be that bad no matter how low the price, and we weren't disappointed. Picture is great, the screen is razor thin and looks good. There are also tons of inputs. Those of you looking for the 'catch,' here are some rough edges. First, TV takes a long time to turn on. Like 30 seconds. Second, if you change channels too fast, sometimes the TV will go silent; you have to turn it off and on to restore sound. However at more than half the price of a name brand unit we find we can live with these quirks.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NickName223
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't hesitate, just buy it
8/7/2010

Customer review by bati1231

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by bati1231
by bati1231

Cristal, incredible picture... I have a Plasma and LCD TV's, and Proscan LED has better picture quality by far, the price is great, the sound its OK for my room, but if you want it for living room you'll need your home theater, features very easy. If you are wondering what to buy (plasma, LCD, or LED) trust me LED is your answer....

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bati1231
Juarez Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Deal!!!
6/23/2010

Customer review by ocsportsnut

5.0 stars 6/23/2010 by ocsportsnut
by ocsportsnut

After spending months deciding which TV to get, I checked the Walmart website and saw this gem for $650 and got it right away! I paid for it and got it in 3 days, nice turn-around. The stand is pretty nice and if I didn't have a waal-mount on the way, I would have used it as a permanent thing. The set-up was quick and easy, especially if you're using HDMI, it took a bit of messing with the settings to get everything just right, but I expected that anyway. I can't really comment on the sound because I use a home theater system, but the picture is FANTASTIC!!!!! The only thing I can give a negative about is the gloss finish on the frame, it reflects light during the day or at night if you have lights on, a matte finish would have been great, but that's a very minor issue. I'm now looking for a smaller Proscan LED for my bedroom :)))

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ocsportsnut
Ocean City, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Picture At Very Good Price!
8/29/2010

Customer review by Muchohombre

5.0 stars 8/29/2010 by Muchohombre
by Muchohombre

As other reviewers have stated once turned on the TV take about 15 seconds to come to life. It is worth the wait. This TV has an excellent picture! It is also a very nice looking TV. We have gotten many compliments about it. The sound is fair. I suggest you turn on the "Surround Sound" feature and then adjust the graphic equalizer to your liking. Some reviewers didn't like the remote. I think it works just fine. There are many buttons on it so read the owner's manual to learn what they are all for. This TV has more different kinds of connections than most people will ever use. Whatever TV you purchase I strongly recommend getting an extended warranty. These kind of TVs only have a few parts in them and they are all very expensive to have replaced. We had a 42" Vizio TV which fizzled out on us. Thanks to our extended warranty (from" SquareTrade") we were reimbursed for the purchase price of that TV. We purchased our TV for $598. Later I noticed the price went up to well over $600. Now I don't see it listed at all. What a shame!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muchohombre
Mercer, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value excellent picutre
7/17/2010

Customer review by SeattleSeahawks

5.0 stars 7/17/2010 by SeattleSeahawks
by SeattleSeahawks

I read just about every review before purchasing this set. The good reviews are how I made my decision and I am very happy with this LCD LED set. The picture compares to those that are double the price. I do not use the sound with this TV, I use a surround sound system and it works great. Rating this TV based on it's sound system is like rating a new car based on it's stock sound system, unless it's an Acura or other high end luxury or sports car then you don't expect much from the stock system. Buck up and get surround sound for a better experience. The picture quality is very comparable to a Samsung set that we considered. The features and settings are basic but they are definitely enough to satisfy. I really don't need facebook or streaming movies and apps on my TV, I have them on my notebook and phone, a blue ray player works just great. Great value and great tv.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeattleSeahawks
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not too shabby
7/24/2010

Customer review by MawmmaB3ar

4.0 stars 7/24/2010 by MawmmaB3ar
by MawmmaB3ar

Loved the pricing on this tv, does it have bells and whistles...no. But have I watched sports and played video game...yes. Perfect for both. Have yet to test out a blu-ray movie on it. People were saying that it lags while gaming...I use all HDMI cables (even for my cable) I have yet to have a problem. Played CoD (Call of Duty) with no problem and Halo as well. A good cheap LED if you want minimal setup. Just my opinion of course. I don't have the problem with the sound people complain about but there is a Halo depending where you are sitting. I do not notice it, my gf does...maybe I can't see all that well. I am very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MawmmaB3ar
DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
4/30/2010

Customer review by lionel64

5.0 stars 4/30/2010 by lionel64
by lionel64

This flatpanel T.V. has great resolution, vivd colors, and alot of features.

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lionel64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews