Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 212 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

212 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

212 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
140
4 stars
57
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
4
1-20 of 187 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews
Worth the price tag...
6/19/2010

Customer review by andy1ua

4.0 stars 6/19/2010 by andy1ua
by andy1ua

After reading a few of the lower rated reviews on this TV, I have to say I am pleasantly surprised with my purchase. For an LED TV over 42 inches less than $800, this TV is a good deal. _ The video quality is great. Those that say the video quality is poor must be expecting an HD quality picture out of standard definition television. Standard TV looks fine on this TV and, as a matter of fact, will look the same on any higher end TV on the market (I have a 37" Vizio and it is exactly the same). Now, the HD quality is AWESOME. I hooked my Playstation 3 up to one of the HDMI ports and was blown away by the clarity of my Bluray movies and even my regular DVD's. The picture is so crisp it looks like you're looking through a window, not a TV screen. _ The only downside with the video is the lag I experienced with games on my Xbox 360 and Wii. Any shooter seems to be slightly sluggish when turning, aiming and locking on to targets and it came make for a frustrating experience at times. The Wii remote seemed to be slightly behind my hand movements, too. That being said, playing ModNation Racers and MLB 10: The Show on my PS3 yielded better results. _ The sound quality of the actual TV isn't anything to brag about; it does fine with regular TV but isn't impressive with movies. It does have an audio out port to hook up any stereo or home theater system with red/white stereo ports. _ As far as the features go on this TV, don't expect any fancy bells and whistles. It has the normal color, sharpness picture adjustments as well as a sound equalizer, sleep time and parental controls. The one feature I was very disappointed it did not have was a fixed or variable audio output option (meaning you can adjust the volume of your attached home theater system/stereo through your TV without having to alternate remotes). _ Overall, I am pleased with my purchase of this TV. I feel like this TV isn't a GREAT investment for someone that is willing to spend the extra money on a higher model TV, but for someone on a tighter budget you can't do much better than this.

Was this review helpful? (87) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
andy1ua
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
default settings are HORRIBLE
5/5/2010

Customer review by thestuntman

4.0 stars 5/5/2010 by thestuntman
by thestuntman

when i hooked this up and popped in the avatar blu-ray disc i was in absolute shock and horror. seriously. everything looked like a "behind the scenes" footage. it looked so... real -- in a bad way. very bad, like documentary style. so here were these very real, down-to-earth people, and then very strange effects around them. it made even one of the best actors (sigourney weaver) seem like one of the worst. i was trying every adjustment to contrast/brightness/saturation/sharpness... nothing worked. i was majorly distraught, trying to figure out how to go about shipping this back and the whole process and ordeal. i even tried some old regular dvds. same thing. bad acting, cheap looking documentary camera. finally, in "advanced picture" options, i went in and turned EVERYTHING off. all of the little extra picture "enhancing" settings -- 3 menus deep! seriously, EVERYTHING off. and voila. an awesome, truly CINEMATIC picture. thank goodness. great tv... some of the worst default settings in the history of default settings. be prepared for this, or you will return it unnecessarily. you're welcome, wal-mart, i just saved you a ton in shipping costs if anyone reads this review.

Was this review helpful? (37) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
thestuntman
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/26/2010

Customer review by nadershah01

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by nadershah01
by nadershah01

I compared LCD and LED screen and LED produces an excellent viewing experience over LCD. This T.V. has 4 HDMI inputs that are enough for all my components. Its speakers are powerful and undistorted on high volume. Overall a great product.

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nadershah01
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great tv - but use its vga connection for gaming
7/1/2010

Customer review by alexnyc

5.0 stars 7/1/2010 by alexnyc
by alexnyc

tv has great picture, very vivid colors and good brightness. to get most out of it, i find it best to turn off most of the picture filters. as for gaming, it does not have a "game mode" like some other brands which turns off most picture processing and as such even with all available filters options off, there is quite a bit of input delay when playing games. Most affected are fps (cod mw2 and such) , however I find that using the vga in to connect my console dramatically reduces the delay to the point that i can say is almost non existent, So get a vga cable for your console and its a great gaming TV as well , vga in seems to bypass most processing filters in the Tv that cannot be turned off otherwise. avoid component or hdmi for gaming, use those connections for everything else. Again use a vga cable for your console! it makes an amazing difference, no lag and still a great vivid picture. As for watching tv the lag does effect some channels where the voices do not sync with the video, (only noticeable if you look for it!). This only occurs when running audio from the cable box directly to an av receiver, to avoid this run the audio to the tv first and use the tv's audio out, either rca or coaxial, to the av receiver. or if you use the built in speakers everything will be in sync. some receivers have an audio delay feature which can also help get everything perfectly in sync. So, other than the manageable video lag issues, (of which almost all new fancy lcd tv's suffer) the tv is great bargain for an 42 inch LED tv with good connectivity options and great picture, Frame is glossy and does reflect a bit but screen is matte and has little reflection making it great to watch during the day in a bright sunny room where most glass coated screens are almost unwatchable, built in speakers are not great, but still usable, other minor issue was on my set there was noticeable light bleed in one corner, (where the screen is not perfectly flush with the frame letting the back lighting through) this is easily corrected, just search online for a how to, again this was just my tv and probably occurred during shipping. OK that's all there is to it enjoy watching and gaming on your new TV!

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alexnyc
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Must read review
6/21/2010

Customer review by DwFritz

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by DwFritz
by DwFritz

I've had this tv for about a month and a half now and I absolutely love it. I am a gamer and I have the PS3 and Xbox360 both hooked up to it and I see no lag what so ever. Maybe the other reviewers had extremely cheap or bad HDMI cables, I dunno. I had a problem playing some first person shooters not because of lag but because of the difference between my 27" Standard Def tv and this 42" HD, it was so intimidating at first. I could actually see everything and I could read all the text on the screen. I also have HD cable and it looks wonderful, standard def cable looks decent but these new tv's are designed for HD! Right? Also another reviewer said the tv takes 10 mins to turn on that has to be an exaggeration. The tv takes about 10-15 seconds to turn on, thats about as long as I can stand to watch Tyra! With the sound issue I've been reading also, there is a setting to turn on the built in surround sound setting, when you do that the sound quality is wonderful. Again some people still can't set the time on their 1989 VCR's, I have a few in my family. The default sound is bad, but go into audio settings and make the switch, its like night and day. My roomate has a 32" RCA he bought on black friday from Walmart and his picture quality is way lower than mine, he has his brightness setting on the "Retail" setting which is for being displayed in bright department stores and its still not as bright and vibrant as this TV. Avatar blu-ray looks incredible on this screen, especially the night scene with all the flourescent colors, people say the default settings make it look "too real" I can see that, but again you tweak the settings and it doesn't look bad at all, again HD looks more real than SD anyway. One person said, it makes the actors look bad, but I think its just some actors are bad, llike Sigourney Weaver from Avatar for instance. It does let you see how the actors act sometimes. Which is funny cause it makes them look like normal people, not the mega highly praised superstars. This is a great gaming TV, a great Blu-ray TV, and a great LED-LCD TV all around. Unless you want internet capabilites or apps on your TV you will be pleased with this. Heck I got internet on my computer and apps on my phone, do I really need them on my TV also? If your worried about other reviewers or the supposed bad reputation of Proscan then get the 3 year extended warranty from Walmart, its only $88 or so, then if you don't like it you can return it to any store and get your money back because they don't sell these in stores so all they can offer is a refund, then you can take that money and buy a different tv from the store shelf. Thats what makes Walmart great, they want you to be happy with the product. I would buy that 3 year warranty no matter what brand I get, its a great investment.

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DwFritz
Allentown, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Picture! Worth it for the Price
7/9/2010

Customer review by oscar10181988

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by oscar10181988
by oscar10181988

The picture quality is amazing. The 120hz speed is a huge difference from the 60hz. The only negative thing about this TV is the sound, but a sound bar should be sufficient or else just use a surround sound. Also, there's no set RCA plug (yellow, red, white), it says you can but it doesn't come out right on TV.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oscar10181988
Rosemead, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/30/2010

Customer review by lionel64

5.0 stars 4/30/2010 by lionel64
by lionel64

This flatpanel T.V. has great resolution, vivd colors, and alot of features.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lionel64
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
6/29/2010

Customer review by Emrolds

4.0 stars 6/29/2010 by Emrolds
by Emrolds

I have never written a review but since they were a key factor in my decision in buying this T.V. I thought I would return the favor. If you have read any other reviews you already heard about the SOUND issue and the FACTORY VIDEO settings. You will definitely need a surround sound system to compliment this great picture and you will have to tweak the settings in the video menu to get the best picture, you will need a good HD source because the picture tends to look grainy in SD 480i. Now with that said, the picture quality is right up there with SONY,LG, or SAMSUNG LED TV’s and there is a cool tool in the video settings (MFC) it ads a cool depth affect to the image, witch is not really necessary in regular T.V. but looks cool with BLU-RAY. This T.V. was made for a movie lover who enjoys a great picture. Hope this helps someone out there, thanks for reading.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Emrolds
Van Nuys, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Don't hesitate, just buy it
8/7/2010

Customer review by bati1231

5.0 stars 8/7/2010 by bati1231
by bati1231

Cristal, incredible picture... I have a Plasma and LCD TV's, and Proscan LED has better picture quality by far, the price is great, the sound its OK for my room, but if you want it for living room you'll need your home theater, features very easy. If you are wondering what to buy (plasma, LCD, or LED) trust me LED is your answer....

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bati1231
Juarez Mexico
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/26/2010

Customer review by haadji

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by haadji
by haadji

Full HD resolution and wide 180-degree viewing angles I can see a clear picture from anywhere in the room.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
haadji
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Proscan 42" LED-LCD - Great Deal
6/29/2010

Customer review by forzashopper

4.0 stars 6/29/2010 by forzashopper
by forzashopper

So when I first ordered this TV and I hooked it up, the picture was perfect but there was no sound at all. Trusting all the other reviews, I gave it another shot. So returned it and ordered a new one. Was definitely worth the wait, spectacular video quality on both HD cable and PS3/Bluray movies. The sound is not as bad as people are talking about, just have to play around with the settings. Turn surround sound on and try the speech mode that worked best for me. The remote is indeed useless, so I programmed it onto my cable remote, works just fine. Overall great TV, looks beautiful especially the swivel stand, can watch from anywhere in the room. Very thin and light as well. Great deal, strongly recommend. Also I believe you can get the extended warranty from Walmart for like 60 bucks, I think it might be worth it!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
forzashopper
Washington, DC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NOT FOR GAMING
6/10/2010

Customer review by osuxere

4.0 stars 6/10/2010 by osuxere
by osuxere

I bought this TV because of its value. The picture quality is great. The sound quality is great ONCE YOU GO TO THE AUDIO SETTING AND TURN ON THE SURROUND SOUND FEATURE (most people missed that and said the sound quality is bad, but it is actually very good). I am a gamer, a PS3 gamer, and the lag between the TV and the PS3 was so bad that I had to return this TV. So if you are planning to buy this tv to play XBOX 360 or PS3, don't.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
osuxere
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
TV
5/30/2010

Customer review by JelloSnake

4.0 stars 5/30/2010 by JelloSnake
by JelloSnake

This TV is a pretty decent investment. Notes that I've come up with after buying this TV: -Wonderful picture, comparable to any top shelf brand -Plenty of options to toy with (you will definitly want to turn down some of the default settings) -Sound is alright, but what would you expect for such a thin television? My only complaint is for video games. For playing action games, the input lag was bad enough to make me put this tv in the spare room, and leave my lcd in the living room. It's not nearly as bad as most projection screen/DLP sets, but it was enough to make Call of Duty unplayable to me.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JelloSnake
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Crude TV
7/14/2010

Customer review by S1216

2.0 stars 7/14/2010 by S1216
by S1216

If you are thinking the price on this set is too good to be true, you would be correct. The good thing is Wal Mart's return policy. The set looks very sharp - the cabinet is sleek and classy. The picture is bright and the motion effects are very nice. It is downhill from there. First of all - the sound. "Surround" on or off, eq, etc, the sound on this set is pitiful. The speakers distort and thump at very low listening levels. I have a 15" flatscreen that has much, much better sound than this. I can't explain how horrible it is. It may be OK for a bedroom. For a living room - no way. It's not even that it sounds awful, the volume is completely inadequate. It does have both digital and analog audio outs but there is no option to have them variable output so the TV's remote can control the volume. There is a headphone jack I suppose could be used for that but you would likely lose some sound quality with that approach. I once knew an engineer for Toshiba. He said they would sell their old technology to no-name or discount brands (he gave Funai as an example). This TV seems like the software and components are way behind. Perhaps they bought the discarded beta technology from someone. First of all, look up "halo effect" for LED. This TV has horrendous halo effect. It is similar to the blocky pixellation you get sometimes when watching sports. Only on this TV it occurs with the the slightest movements. The manual suggests turning off all picture enhancements (yeah great), but that does not help much if at all. A more significant problem is I had very serious "lip sync" issues on this set. In other words, the video processor and or panel was not fast enough to keep up with the audio. I played the eact same content on my other 3 HDTVs and it did fine. On the Proscan, it was like watching a Godzilla movie. There is nothing worse than hearing someone say "yes" and then watching their lips say "yes" after the audio has already passed. Also, the software menu that runs the TV is pathetic. It is ugly and hard to use. The TV puts a huge banner up displaying the resolution for 15 SECONDS after you change channels. And this covers up the menu from my sattelite box. Great. It's even complete with inapprpriate exclamation points (No Signal!). Nothing I like better than having my TV shout at me. If this is the money you want to spend, look into a plasma set. You can get a top-quality 42" plasma for the price of this set. Don't buy technology for technolgy's sake. This TV has serious issues.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
S1216
Would recommend to a friend? No
Not too shabby
7/24/2010

Customer review by MawmmaB3ar

4.0 stars 7/24/2010 by MawmmaB3ar
by MawmmaB3ar

Loved the pricing on this tv, does it have bells and whistles...no. But have I watched sports and played video game...yes. Perfect for both. Have yet to test out a blu-ray movie on it. People were saying that it lags while gaming...I use all HDMI cables (even for my cable) I have yet to have a problem. Played CoD (Call of Duty) with no problem and Halo as well. A good cheap LED if you want minimal setup. Just my opinion of course. I don't have the problem with the sound people complain about but there is a Halo depending where you are sitting. I do not notice it, my gf does...maybe I can't see all that well. I am very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MawmmaB3ar
DE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not bad for the money
7/6/2010

Customer review by WallyWorldDaddy

5.0 stars 7/6/2010 by WallyWorldDaddy
by WallyWorldDaddy

This is the first large LCD TV I have ever purchased (I own a 19" Philips LCD for the bedroom) and I was looking into replacing our 26" conventional TV in the Family Room. Did a little research into the different types (lcd, led, plasma), looked at various TVs at various stores and never could really see any real difference in the picture quality. I heard that LED is supposed to be better than LCD, that 120 Hz was supposed to be better than 60 Hz and of course bigger is better. Since I did not know what to purchase I decided on buying the 42" Proscan as it was one of the less expensive LCD TV's (if not THE cheapest) in it's class with all the features it offered. I was really surprised at the price and I have not been dissapointed. The picture quality is great, the multiple inputs, 4 HDMI, 2 Component, VGA and audio input for a PC offer many connection possibilities. I currently have a DVD, PS2 and computer plugged into the unit and am feeling quite hedonistic right now. The design is very nice with the one and a half inch thickness and the see-thru base is way cool. The downsides so far are the mediocre sound quality and the slow response from the TV when it is first powered on. The mediocre sound quality is something that every other thin screen LCD TV suffers from. However with the surround sound feature this TV boasts, I have noticed it can throw sound quite well. So it is actually easier to hear this TV from across the room rather than sitting in front of it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WallyWorldDaddy
Lawrence, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Product
6/2/2010

Customer review by tarrstuff

5.0 stars 6/2/2010 by tarrstuff
by tarrstuff

I have had this TV for about 3 weeks now, and still am having to adjust to watching an HDTV, it is great. no problems with the setup, even with broadcast TV. The great price is what caused me to jump at the chance. Shipped site-to-store with no problems, and associates were great at helping me load it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tarrstuff
Nashville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great Deal!!!
6/23/2010

Customer review by ocsportsnut

5.0 stars 6/23/2010 by ocsportsnut
by ocsportsnut

After spending months deciding which TV to get, I checked the Walmart website and saw this gem for $650 and got it right away! I paid for it and got it in 3 days, nice turn-around. The stand is pretty nice and if I didn't have a waal-mount on the way, I would have used it as a permanent thing. The set-up was quick and easy, especially if you're using HDMI, it took a bit of messing with the settings to get everything just right, but I expected that anyway. I can't really comment on the sound because I use a home theater system, but the picture is FANTASTIC!!!!! The only thing I can give a negative about is the gloss finish on the frame, it reflects light during the day or at night if you have lights on, a matte finish would have been great, but that's a very minor issue. I'm now looking for a smaller Proscan LED for my bedroom :)))

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ocsportsnut
Ocean City, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not what we expected
5/29/2010

Customer review by LondonsMommy10

2.0 stars 5/29/2010 by LondonsMommy10
by LondonsMommy10

After reading the reviews for the proscan we bought the 42" hoping to have an upgrade from our 37"vizio. This t.v. boasts of excellent picture, but I guess you get what you pay for. If you are only using blue ray movies and hd tv then the picture isn't bad, but if you have normal cable and watch normal dvds than DONT BUY THIS TV it is a waste of money...our cable looks worse than before. This tv takes a long time to turn on, the buttons take alot of touching to get them to work, and the remote isn't much better...if you enjoy wating for your television to turn on over a period of 10 minutes, then this tv is for you...if not, get a vizio...

Was this review helpful? (3) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LondonsMommy10
Santa Barbara, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
6/6/2010

Customer review by cyruzdv

5.0 stars 6/6/2010 by cyruzdv
by cyruzdv

Just bought this a week ago, and i don't regret one bit. Have always preferred to buy a sony or vizio, but the price on this baby was, well unbelievable. I was hoping i didn't just make a mistake. Fortunately this baby is everything i was looking for. It's slim as they say it is , 1.5" thick. Picture quality is perfect, what? why wouldnt it, it's LED backlight. The sound isn't that loud to my liking, but could just be me. HDMI's works perfectly, VGA works, Components and Composites work. No power, volume and other physical buttons, istead those buttons are touch sensitive, you know soft key like, on the side of the panel which is cool and all, but the labeling is soo faint, i didn't know the existed or see them untill i read the manual. It comes with a nice swivel base stand. On the remote , i was hoping they will give some dedicated buttons for the input selections , you know like one buttons to skip through all HDMI, instead of one button that brings up all the input and you scroll through for the appropiate input. But all in all I'll recomend this baby to anyone looking to get a tv anytime.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyruzdv
Bronx, New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 187 total reviews
1-20 of 187 reviews