Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

34 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

34 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

82%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
1-20 of 26 total reviews
82%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Great kids bow.
4/7/2012

Customer review by Goatit

5.0 stars 4/7/2012 by Goatit
by Goatit

Perfect kids bow. Easy to shoot, good price. I read the other reviews, talking about the low power etc. I dont think they know this bow is for KIDS. We shoot from about 30-40 feet, works fine. Works better with heavy points on the arrows. Not so powerful that it seems a danger, perfect for backyard fun. You could hunt, but the prey would be pretty small and slow. Overall I rate it 5 stars, exactly what I wanted, my son loves it.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goatit
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Bear Brave Bow
10/21/2010

Customer review by writeforlife

1.0 stars 10/21/2010 by writeforlife
by writeforlife

I agree with the prior review. It is an expensive toy. I purchased the Brave II from Walmart as a Christmas gift for my 8 year old. I chose a more expensive product because he is serious about this sport and I wanted something more than a toy. Somehow the bow cracked and broke in two. I contacted customer service through email with an attached photo and I am happy to say that the company was excellent in sending me a new bow after I sent the broken one back. Typically, there is a 90 warranty but the company stretched it for me since he didn't use it through the winter months after Christmas. The value is poor and only worth $20 but the customer service was very good. I gave it 2 stars for meets expectations because my son did enjoy using it.

Was this review helpful? (68) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
writeforlife
Potsdam, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1/11/2013

Customer review by Wharfrat75

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by Wharfrat75
by Wharfrat75
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I researched three different youth bows before purchasing this one. The biggest complaint I saw for the brave 3 was that it was too much like a toy. I dont think that at all. it is what it says it is, a youth beginner bow. We've had this for 2 weeks now and we are very satisfied. My 8 yr old son can hit consistently hit it in an 8 inch ring from 20 yards. This bow will not hit the 10 ring every time nor will it take a buck out at 30 yards but that's not what it's made for. For 50 dollars it does exactly what it's supposed to do which is to Introduce my son to a bow and have fun.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wharfrat75
Roanoke va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
9/17/2010

Customer review by cobra71

1.0 stars 9/17/2010 by cobra71
by cobra71

a very cheap copy of what a compound bow should be. this is a very expenise toy.

Was this review helpful? (36) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cobra71
Would recommend to a friend? No
7/30/2012

Customer review by trulyforgiven

5.0 stars 7/30/2012 by trulyforgiven
by trulyforgiven

our grandson is 11 years old and he really enjoys the bow

Was this review helpful? (14) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
trulyforgiven
Excelsior Springs Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great archery set for a young enthusiast
1/6/2013

Customer review by HappyCamper333

5.0 stars 1/6/2013 by HappyCamper333
by HappyCamper333

I do not know why the negative reviewers are so critical. This archery set cleary states that it is for a youth. If you bought it for an adult, that is your own mistake. Also, the quality is very good. My 11 year old son and I have taken it out numerous times. There has never been a problem with the bow's performance or durability. Just treat it properly, like you should any equipment. Finally, for those who say it is an expensive toy.... did you pull it back far enough? There is a surprising amount of power delivered by this bow. The arrows traveled much farther than I expected. Even my adult friend who hunts with a bow was stunned at the power of this youth bow.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCamper333
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Perfect for a 6-10yr old kid
11/30/2012

Customer review by LegalRocket

5.0 stars 11/30/2012 by LegalRocket
by LegalRocket

Good value for the money (note that biscuit alone sold separately costs about $20-$30.). Got it for my oldest (who is turning 11 now) a couple of years ago, have been shooting it periodically on the backyard, works great, if you don't throw it there is pretty much nothing to break. I adjusted it to the max draw weight at the beginning and it's been doing fine since then. Highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LegalRocket
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
They Love it!
12/14/2012

Customer review by pwrs

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by pwrs
by pwrs

Got this bow for son for Christmas he loves it! we are using it as a this is how you need to treat these things so he learns respect for the bow before he is old enough to have a real bow :) I have to say this tho... all these reveiws on how its made, isnt for a adult ect ITS A YOUTH BOW what do you expect. go to a bow shop and get a adult bow!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pwrs
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great for a beginner
12/31/2012

Customer review by ADVGRAY

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by ADVGRAY
by ADVGRAY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

From the other reviews on this I had expected it to be more of a toy. While it isn't excellent quality it is a great bow for a first time archer. My daughter loves this. She understands that this is a weapon, and not a toy, and treats it as such. Since she treats it with care I expect it to last a while. I expected something cheaper, and this far exceeds my expectations. As long as it is treated well this will last!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ADVGRAY
Rifle, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1/6/2012

Customer review by class78

1.0 stars 1/6/2012 by class78
by class78

This is not a youth bow set... made for children 8-12 yrs old not what i was expecting for my 13 yr old...very upset..also the value was a 39.99 and i paid 64.00 for the bow set and then some for the release..all together 98.00.never will recommend this to anyone looking for a youth bow set...

Was this review helpful? (17) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
class78
Kershaw,S.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
needs improvment
11/25/2013

Customer review by bburgess74

2.0 stars 11/25/2013 by bburgess74
by bburgess74
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

this bow has a progressive draw length it is not adjustable, it was a bit hard for my 8 year old to break over the flight wheels and get the bow pulled back, not a very well made product even for a toy, when you adjust the draw weight down to its lowest setting the string and cables have about an inch of slack in them, if you are serious about teaching your kid archery this is not even a good starting point, it only got 2 stars because my daughter loves pink, and I thought the wisker biscuit arrow rest is great for kids. we will stick to traditional to start.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bburgess74
corbin ky
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great bow for the price
1/11/2013

Customer review by CountryMomof3boys

4.0 stars 1/11/2013 by CountryMomof3boys
by CountryMomof3boys
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this for my 9 yr old son & he loves it!!! My 12 yr old also wants me to get him one. It's much easier than the crossbow he normally uses. My only complaint is the arrows. They are rather cheaply made. Within 5 days of having the bow, both arrows(only 2 came with it) were missing the fletchings and the nocks & points came off pretty quickly. The bow, however, is of really strong construction and is perfect for a child between 8-12 yrs old. I'm about to purchase another one; I'll just know to go get some higher quality arrows this time...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CountryMomof3boys
God's Country,SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A decent low cost introduction to compound bows
1/15/2013

Customer review by dimbok

4.0 stars 1/15/2013 by dimbok
by dimbok
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Don't expect a lot from this bow...it is what it is...a cheap first bow for kids around 4'2" tall (20" draw). At the same time it is not a toy....it shoots an arrow with authority. The camo bow price is nearly three figures, thats too much for an all plastic bow...at a little over half that, the black one is a decent value. The poundage of the unit we received measured higher than Bear advertised....so it does not meet expectations, and thats a biggie. I loosened the arms to the point the string is about to fall off the cams and it is still 24# pull, lets off to 15#...thats high for kids this size...with the arms tight it must be pushing 30#, which is what my 11yr old shoots at. I'm sure this varies some and I plan to contact Bear on this. The Whisker bisquit rest works great for kids...simple and safe. Teaching them to aim with a pin sight and no peep will take patience....add to that the too-high poundage and you'll need to help them out. I purchased a mechanical thumb release for my son and it helped. The two included arrows are decent....the tips are just pressed on though. We lost one tip after he missed the target and hit a solid obstacle. You may need to adjust the arrow rest as I had to. The instruction book is almost worthless. If you want a cheap bow to test the waters of your child and archery, this works without being to toy-like...if they can pull it back. I wish the local stores had one he could have tried first, I might have looked at other options. If your child appears to want to stick with it, you'll want to upgrade. It arrived well packaged, significantly quicker than the Walmart estimate. Assembly and set up is minimal.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dimbok
Appleton, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good broadheads for the price
2/20/2014

Customer review by DEN13dd

4.0 stars 2/20/2014 by DEN13dd
by DEN13dd
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

havent got a chace to bag anything with them but they fly ture hopefully will get something soon to truly evaulate

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DEN13dd
alexandria va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not very good
7/16/2011

Customer review by bigz3012

1.0 stars 7/16/2011 by bigz3012
by bigz3012

i baught this bow for myself, it would have been very helpful if the website said that the bow was for a kid, i am very dissapointed that i spent so much on something i cant use, also, me and i had my little brother use it, and the "biscuit" isnt very good b/c it alters the arrows path, and the only reason i gave it a star at all was b/c it made me

Was this review helpful? (12) (43)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bigz3012
Would recommend to a friend? No
youth bow
3/24/2014

Customer review by HighwayRomance

4.0 stars 3/24/2014 by HighwayRomance
by HighwayRomance
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very easy to put together. Shoots well. Kids will enjoy as they learn to shoot, not heavy either.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HighwayRomance
Milan, Il
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Ideal for young boys ages 8 or older.
1/4/2013

Customer review by whatwerewethinking

5.0 stars 1/4/2013 by whatwerewethinking
by whatwerewethinking

My son has been in the CubScouts for years and loves the BB & archary shooting that they partake in at Camp. So this year we decided to get him a Bow, but we wanted one right on his age level and one he could continue to grow into. I couldn't have asked for a better gift then the Bear III. Everyday he is outside shooting it. The whisker biscuit has made a huge difference in his accurancy and safety of the shot. I highly recommend this product.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
whatwerewethinking
New Market, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good, quality bow
12/18/2012

Customer review by jhrx72

4.0 stars 12/18/2012 by jhrx72
by jhrx72
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I purchased this for my son. After checking it out, I decided to purchase another for my nephew. I belive that this bow is an excellent starter bow. The price was very good for the product. If my son and my nephew enjoy this one and practice with it, I will definitely plan on getting them another one as they grow. But this one is perfect to start out with.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jhrx72
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Value and quality
12/22/2012

Customer review by Mopar021

5.0 stars 12/22/2012 by Mopar021
by Mopar021
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this bow for my 5 year old son for Christmas and he loves it. I had to turn the draw weight down so he could pull it but he loves it. It's well made and well worth the price. The whisker biscuit alone sells for about $30 so I think I got a great deal.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mopar021
Glen,MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Youth Model Bow
8/25/2013

Customer review by SmoothingIt

4.0 stars 8/25/2013 by SmoothingIt
by SmoothingIt

This bow performs well as a YOUTH model bow. It is more than a cheap toy. However, it is not suited for children over the age of ten. If you'd like to read a lengthy review on this bow, visit SmoothingIt com for item specifics.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmoothingIt
West Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews