Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 154 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

154 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

154 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
92
4 stars
23
3 stars
12
2 stars
14
1 stars
13
1-20 of 130 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews
Good over all
4/14/2011

Customer review by NYCmom87

4.0 stars 4/14/2011 by NYCmom87
by NYCmom87

I got the instyler about a year ago and have been using it enough to review it. I have long medium hair, straight but with lots of volume, process with highlights and have been doing it for +10. It has is prons and cons, here is an honest and very real review, this is what you will get. PROS: - It's very fast to heat-up. - Fast to do your hair with usually takes me 15 min with long hair. -It gives your hair an expensive look like a blow dry from a salon and lives the hair shinny. -Does not pull your hair. CONS: - Material is not very high quality for the price, it makes a funky noise when the brush is rolling like a icky sound. - It lives my hair frizzy on the roods (maybe its just my hair, I'll just very tinny hairspray on the roods and it's all good. - If you are looking for a flat look like the chi the instyler is not for you!! it will more give you the look of a blow dry , than a flat iron, and the ends will not look good if you try to make them straight with the instyler, only looks good if you turn them in or out. GOOD LUCK deciding on your purchase.

Was this review helpful? (187) (23)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NYCmom87
College Point, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
8/12/2010

Customer review by naturalgal35

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by naturalgal35
by naturalgal35

I am a black woman with long natural hair and at first I was skeptic about using the Instyler. However, I used my cousins one day and I was so amazed at how glossy and straight my hair looked. I am online at this moment purchasing one of my own. It sure beats getting it blown straight at the salon. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (180) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
naturalgal35
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
My Hair is STRAIGHT!!!!!
12/17/2010

Customer review by RunnerGirl1010

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by RunnerGirl1010
by RunnerGirl1010

My hair is thick and curly. I have spent countless hours trying to tame it. So far the only straightener that works for me is the pricey T3. The InStyler works in half the time and at half the cost. I was sure it was a gimmick and that it would get caught in my hair but it does not. It seriously works. My daughter has very long, curly hair. I can straighten her hair easily. I don't even blow dry it straight first. If you have wild, curly hair you will LOVE this product!

Was this review helpful? (112) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RunnerGirl1010
Camp Hill, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Yes it works on Ethnic Hair
3/28/2011

Customer review by kbargains

5.0 stars 3/28/2011 by kbargains
by kbargains

I am the mother of 2 African American girls with challenging natural hair or more accurately my hair skills may be a bit challenged. Anyway I usually spend a good portion of my weekend washing, blow drying and straightening their long thick coarse hair. Actually one has hair that is curly and comb-able after washing and the other has hair which is coarse and tangled after washing. I always looked at this product but was afraid to buy because like most infomercial products they are too good to be true. Well not this one, I can truly say the Instyler really straightens and made their hair shiny and more manageable. I was busy this weekend and didn’t get to wash their hair until Sunday so I knew I would need help getting through both their heads in one day. I washed both of their hair, combed it through with detangler and let them air dry. I purchased the Instyler the same day and it wasn’t until Sunday evening before I started the straightening process. With school the next day I rushed through both of their heads but surprisingly with pretty good results. I can tell for sure if I took my time their hair would be bone straight (the sistas know what I'm talking about.) I realized the con reviews are probably people using the product on themselves which I can imagine may be a little harder, also I think better results probably happen for people with longer hair than short. My hair is relaxed and shorter than my daughters so I'm going to give it a whirl and will let you know stay tuned!

Was this review helpful? (145) (31)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kbargains
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
It's okay.
8/5/2011

Customer review by Smiley44

3.0 stars 8/5/2011 by Smiley44
by Smiley44

I was so excited when I ordered my InStyler, I could not wait for it to arrive (I felt like a child waiting for Christmas morning). I had always wanted one, so when my curling iron broke I jumped on the opportunity to get an InStyler. I COULDN'T wait to use it once I received it. I washed and blow dried my hair as normal and used my new InStyler. I was pleased and disappointed with the InStyler. It worked wonderful as a flat iron, but due to the flat that I already had a CHI I didn't need another flat iron. My hair was straight and silky after using the InStyler. My hair is long and thick. It was beautiful after a few struggles. The power button is in the wrong place. It is on the handle in the area where you hold the InStyler. I kept hitting the power button while using the InStyler. If you do not place your hair exactly right between the roller and the plate the hair will crinkle. It does not curl the hair very well. The ends of the hair fly away. The InStyler is not well crafted and it is a bit noisy when it rotates. If you are looking for a good flat iron this is a great product, but if you are looking for a wonderful curling iron keep looking.

Was this review helpful? (41) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Smiley44
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love it!!!
7/8/2010

Customer review by kimmomof2

5.0 stars 7/8/2010 by kimmomof2
by kimmomof2

I absolutely love the instyler. I'm a mom of two so therefore i dont really have that much time on my hands. It usually takes me about 30 minutes to straighten my hair but with the instyler it takes about 15. I recommend trying it. I've heard it doesn't work for everyone's hairtype though.

Was this review helpful? (48) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kimmomof2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just What I Needed
12/14/2010

Customer review by MelodyNotes

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by MelodyNotes
by MelodyNotes

This product is great!!! In minutes I was able to straighten hair and even curl it. On top of that it is so easy to use. I've always had problems doing my own hair with a regular iron but this one was so simple. I can now get up in the morning and do a great style in minutes. The only problem I had was the price. It is cheaper online and more expensive in the store. I told the associate about it and she said they couldn't match the price. I was disappointed with that but after getting home and trying it out the price of $100.00 was worth the investment. I recommend this product to everyone. It is great for African American hair and natural hair as well. I used it on my mother and it shined her hair and straightened it better than the other irons. If you watch the DVD and read the instructions you shouldn't have any problems with it. I really love this product and look forward to taking it with me everywhere I go.

Was this review helpful? (28) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MelodyNotes
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
so so
9/25/2010

Customer review by compasion

4.0 stars 9/25/2010 by compasion
by compasion

the product is good but two things I did not like 1.in the first use the bristles of the brush were opened :( 2. the power button is badly placed, every time I brush my hair, accidentally and every moment I touch the button of heat levels and accidentally the heat level changes :(

Was this review helpful? (30) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
compasion
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
The InStyler saves so much time and effort
11/26/2010

Customer review by andiinchicago

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by andiinchicago
by andiinchicago

I LOVE this product!! It was a process learning how to use it, and I suspect some of the other reviewers haven't learned how yet. The best thing I can tell you- go slow to go fast (or YouTube girls using it like I did). The brush (which I love because it seperates and isolates the hair- which a traditional straightener cannot do) made me originally mimic the action of brushing my hair, which I do quickly. Going slower gives the barrel time to heat up the strands. It gives gorgeous, straight yet not flat hair. My box said the InStyler polishes your hair, which I laughed at. I take it back after using- it truly does. My hair looks sleek and shiny in around 6 minutes (I have wavy but not curly, fine hair). The same look takes at least 15 with other heating products. I always get compliments after I use it- I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
andiinchicago
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great hair product
11/30/2010

Customer review by charliescowgirl

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by charliescowgirl
by charliescowgirl

I have used this product for two years and have had no problems with performance. I use it every day and could not imagine styling my hair without it. I have straight hair with wavey hair underneath and this is the equalizer. It also eliminates the friz. It takes me about 5 minutes to have a polished look.

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
charliescowgirl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
no more nappy head
10/25/2010

Customer review by PuertoRicanShirley

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by PuertoRicanShirley
by PuertoRicanShirley

purchased this for me and my two daughters, we have three different hair types. my youngest has very thick course tight knot nap hair and it works best on her. fact is i have had her hair professionally straightened and even the chems they use didn't work as well. my older daughter has shirley temple type curls and medium thickness, it worked for her just fine. now me i have thick hair but not as curly and it didnt work so well. it is also very quick

Was this review helpful? (18) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PuertoRicanShirley
orangeburg, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
MODERN DAY MIRACLE FOR AFRICAN AMERICAN HAIR
4/5/2012

Customer review by ANKTAK

4.0 stars 4/5/2012 by ANKTAK
by ANKTAK

I NEVER review anything unless I'm really really ticked off and absolutely hated it. I had to break with tradition because this tool is worth sharing with others. Less than a year ago I bought a $130 Sedu flat iron in hopes of taming my thick, coarse, unruly, african amercian hair. While it straightened for the short term, it also left my hair looking dry and fly away. The InStyler is an absolute modern day miracle. I allow my hair to air dry, use a heat protectorant, a smoother, and aragon oil along with the InStyler. In less than an hour, I have shiny, beautiful straightened hair with great body and movement (a great hair cut helps too#. I give only four stars due to the burn risk #which I avoid by placing a headband around my head to protect my forehead, face, and ears) and the cost.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ANKTAK
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awkward at first, but worth learning how!
5/28/2012

Customer review by Tash2

5.0 stars 5/28/2012 by Tash2
by Tash2

I was going to send this Instyler back after the first couple of tries.. I even printed out a return receipt for it, but then decided to give it one more chance. This time, I wasn't in a big rush, and washed my hair, got it pretty much dry with a regular dryer, then started working on my somewhat frizzy, somewhat damaged (from flat irons!) hair. It's very fine, long & blonde, and can be difficult to keep smooth. After a short time, I finally learned to make sure the roller was going in the right direction, and a few other tricks the video teaches, plus I got the hang of doing the left side right handed, without it feeling awkward. It takes about 3 times to master this thing,,,, you have to be patient! Now, I wouldn't part with it, and it scares me how close I came to giving up on it! The Instyler caused no damage (I use the LOWEST setting) and it looks marvelous after I finish. I would recommend that the best way is to go in sections. Doing the underside layers of my hair first worked best, then the top layers. Smooth on some silicone shine spray with your hands, add a bit of hairspray, and you're done. I love this product, and would recommend it highly. Important: When you buy, Be REAL careful to make sure it's a GENUINE Instyler, there seem to be a lot of counterfit ones on eBay. I think that might be why some people aren't happy with theirs. Remember, be patient, work on technique, and also, go S-L-O-W-L-Y when you're using it, for best results. The noise it makes isn't bad at all, it's not loud either. I'm not sure why it bothers some of the reviewers, but then maybe they had a fake one....? I ordered mine online at Wal-mart, because their return policy is so convenient. But I won't be returning this item! They weren't kidding, it really does "polish" your hair and makes it shine. Buy one TODAY!

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tash2
Humid coastal SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Salon styled hair at home
11/26/2010

Customer review by KatyCalifornia

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by KatyCalifornia
by KatyCalifornia

I was absolutely amazed by this product. I have very thin fine hair that is hard to do anything with. I bought the Instyler to straighten my hair but also give it body. I am extremely happy. I get compliments every time I use the instyler and often get asked if I just came from the salon. I love that my hair is straight but not like when I use a flat iron, which straightens my hair with no volume. I also bought one for my sister who has thick curly hair. It took her a little longer to get the hang of it, but it is also harder for her to blow dry her hair because it is so thick. Now she uses it everyday and says she will never go back. This is truly a great product. I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KatyCalifornia
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Amazing results!
1/8/2014

Customer review by KRoxie

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by KRoxie
by KRoxie

I requested and received this item as a Christmas gift, and I love it! My hair has changed over the years, and most recently my curling iron was leaving a crimp line at the top of my bangs. As well, the bangs were not curling well in general due to the fact that I was battling both a very bad haircut and new (baby hair) growth at my hairline above my forehead. This product has literally brought new life to my hair. My hair looks and feels so much more healthy. Also, the cut, although still not what it was supposed to be, is now much more manageable. I really like the ease of use, the lack of grabbing and pulling, and the elimination of burning my hair. I highly recommend this product. I had no specific expectations, so I was pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KRoxie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
great product
12/27/2010

Customer review by sherryboo

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by sherryboo
by sherryboo

Use to take me 1.5 hrs to straighten my hair. It is very long and curly. Now it takes me 15 minutes. No continous going over each strand. It straightens the 1st time. I finally found the product I have been needing to save me time.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sherryboo
Grove City, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Not worth the money
8/12/2013

Customer review by Amandaaaaaa

1.0 stars 8/12/2013 by Amandaaaaaa
by Amandaaaaaa

I waited five years to buy the InStyler and was very excited about it. I use a curling iron or flat iron every day (for the past 20+ years) so you could say I am somewhat skilled at it. The InStyler would not hang on to my hair. My hair texture is not too thick, it's not too thin, just very average. After fighting with the thing for half my head and not seeing any results, I then accidentally burned myself with it. Definitely not worth the money… not even worth having if I got to keep it for free.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amandaaaaaa
Latrobe, PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
INSTYLER
11/29/2010

Customer review by FrankieA

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by FrankieA
by FrankieA

I love this Curling Iron ! The rotating rod and brush makes it very easy to use and does not do the damage and crimping like the regular irons do, it gives my hair great body and the curl last all day, I am very happy with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FrankieA
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Glad I bought it, my daughter is very happy.
6/22/2011

Customer review by mallard63

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by mallard63
by mallard63

I was on the fence with buying this product. I have a daughter that has very curly, thick and frizzy red hair. She can do nothing with it. I read a lot of reviews, and as usual, they were mixed. I finally broke down and bought it from somewhere it could easily be returned if I didn't like it. I read all instructions before using it. I could not believe it. I did her hair in less than 20 minutes. It only took one swipe, sometimes two, but no more than that. I found out to go a little on the slow side but I had to go slow with the flat iron and run through it at least 5 - 6 times with that. Her hair was also a little on the damp side. I hope it continues to do the job it's been doing. So far so good. If your on the fence, just try it, you can always return it. Just purchase it from a store that will stand behind it.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mallard63
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Awesome product
1/25/2014

Customer review by XxValentine

5.0 stars 1/25/2014 by XxValentine
by XxValentine

I was a bit hesitate when purchasing this product,I have very long and curly hair and when I first tried it on one piece I was in shock on how great it worked. Highly recommend

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XxValentine
Brooklyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 130 total reviews
1-20 of 130 reviews