Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 564 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

564 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

564 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
362
4 stars
135
3 stars
27
2 stars
14
1 stars
26
1-20 of 473 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 473 total reviews
1-20 of 473 reviews
Worth spending a little more than cheapest models
8/22/2013

Customer review by FrntRngr

4.0 stars 8/22/2013 by FrntRngr
by FrntRngr
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you're looking at this model, you're probably also comparing it to the very low-end units that typically cost 50 or 60% of what this one does. The short version of my review is, this one is worth the difference. The very low-end portable stereos often break when the CD laser gets out of alignment. One reason this happens is that the CD loading door is heavily sprung, but undamped, and over time the vibration vibrates the laser out of alignment. This player, on the other hand, has a CD door that opens much slower and smoother. Compared to the cheapest units, this one has an obviously-better build quality. Everything fits together well and moving parts are smooth. A few minor gripes: Tuning the radio receiver is notably slower than other models I've used. The carrying handle must be lifted before stowing the antenna, and younger children can easily break it when they get frustrated and try to force it. Overall, this is a reasonably good deal, certainly worth the extra $20 over the very cheapest units. I recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (141) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FrntRngr
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I wanted to like this Sony
12/29/2012

Customer review by allenadale

1.0 stars 12/29/2012 by allenadale
by allenadale
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I tried to find this unit in a Walmart but they were sold out. I ordered it online because it was just what I wanted in terms of function. The cassette player was important. As it turned out, I never even tried the cassette. Its a great looking radio and I really wanted to like it.. So what went wrong?? First off, I went to FM and scanned for stations. It found a few across the band but only a few. Hmm.. reception was poor. The stations it did find were a bit staticy. Next I put in a CD and listened.. Sound was a bit too much treble but it had a Bass Boost button to fix that.. right?? Unfortunately it was almost imperceptible when I hit the Bass Boost. Maybe i didnt do it right.. maybe hold the button down? Nope.. Trust me.. I wasnt expecting high priced sound from this radio but its a Sony.. I expected at least SOME bass. And since there were no other tone controls, I called it quits, boxed it up and took it back to the store.. Sorry Sony but I cant recommend this unit.

Was this review helpful? (77) (20)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
allenadale
Tarpon Springs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Sony CFD-S05 Better than I Expected!!!
12/10/2011

Customer review by cfds05

5.0 stars 12/10/2011 by cfds05
by cfds05

For weeks I was looking for a compact cd player/AM FM Radio player! And then The Sony CFD-S05 Caught my eye! At first I thought it was too expensive, But after reading all the 1,000nds of reviews on other boomboxes I decided not to get the other ones. And after reading the reviews for this Sony boombox I decided it was worth the $49!!! so I went down to my Walmart And,Oh Walmart is always in stock in Electronics They tad 6 of the Sony boomboxes in stock!!! Walmart is da best! OK so i bought the boombox and tookit home, Exellent Radio it played my cds fine even the cassetes id say its worth over 75 dollars Walmart has the BEST prices of any other store! OK and with the boombox it has an audio in which means you can hoockup Any mp3\mp4 OR ant ipod ANY!!! or insert your microphone And wakeup your Neighbors WoW its so loud!!! MEGA BASS!!! OH and the audio out Is so you Can listen privateley through Headphones! WOW So Overall its an exellent boombox. Thankyou Walmart for Giving me such great deal, GreatValue I Guess!!!

Was this review helpful? (50) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cfds05
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Meets all my expectations!
1/6/2011

Customer review by Lowtech2

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by Lowtech2
by Lowtech2

I arranged to receive the Sony CFD-S05 CD Radio Cassette Player as a Christmas gift for myself. The machine lives up to all my hopes and dreams. My needs are simple—primarily to listen to NPR on one station, and to listen to the broadcast of local college games on several different stations. What I wanted was the ability to switch from AM to FM, and from one station to another without having to tune in each different station every time. The pre-set system allows me to change stations with ease, and switching bands is a one-touch operation. Occasionally, I might want to record an NPR show. Recording is as easy as everything else, and the CD player worked without a hitch as well. Along with everything else, the headphone jack was crucial. It's got that too. When I don't use headphones, the speakers are loud and clear—much better than the machine it has replaced. I couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (100) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lowtech2
Des Moines, IA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bought for my mother and my daughter
7/3/2010

Customer review by GladSonGladDad

5.0 stars 7/3/2010 by GladSonGladDad
by GladSonGladDad

When my mother (age 87) and my daughter (age 35) both had their multifunction boom boxes fail in the same month, I bought a SONY CFD-S05 for each of them. The units have been reliable and the buttons are big enough for my mother to see and use them. Both ladies have both CD's and cassette tape collections -- so this unit was ideal. The digital tuner works great, and personally the styling is more sleek than SONY's predecessor model FD S01. I have been really pleased as have the two ladies. Since quality cassette players are either professional (and very expensive) or not being offered any more, I am actually considering buying a couple more for future use (store them in the garage in the original cartons and when the need arises, I will have a unit available).

Was this review helpful? (562) (27)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GladSonGladDad
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just What We Expected
4/1/2014

Customer review by PansyPotter

5.0 stars 4/1/2014 by PansyPotter
by PansyPotter

We so wanted to buy a cassette player before they disappear for good, as we found hundreds of cassette tapes in the basement and some even had talking on them from family's youth. This is all you need for a basic all round player, nothing too technical and the sound quality is great for what it is. It's not a 'Bang and Olufsen' after all, it's a Sony and they are good enough. Although the Walmart web sight said they were 'out of stock' in the Wilkes-Barre, Pa store. I popped in there to look for something similar and sure enough, there was one looking up at me and at $49:87 plus $5 for the two year plan, it's a bargain. I think this model is being discontinued but, we like it anyway. If you buy on-line, make sure it is not a reconditioned one, I have read revue's that say some but not all are... ASK. Battery Life we are not yet sure of, as we have it plugged in.. :)

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PansyPotter
Dallas, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Just a bit over-priced
6/20/2010

Customer review by acevillan

3.0 stars 6/20/2010 by acevillan
by acevillan

I wanted a radio for my office just to listen to the radio. It seems almost everything either has and ipod player or cd player. No good quality radios. I went with Sony only for the name brand. I could have bought some other AM/FM radios for half the price of this, but did not trust them to sound good. I would like to see a sleep feature, or even a clock for the money I spent on this, $50. I have not been able to crank the volume up past 3 out of respect for my co-workers. The local radio stations come in clear. The quality of the materials is adequate, but I would like it to be built a bit more durable. I would not trust it to hold up to repeated moves. Occasional trips as a portable perhaps, but as a portable radio only, you will have to very careful not to break something on it. Just a few more features, and a bit more durable and I would have no complaints. Or price it at $40 or less.

Was this review helpful? (46) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
acevillan
Montana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great old school
10/5/2013

Customer review by familyshopstogether

5.0 stars 10/5/2013 by familyshopstogether
by familyshopstogether
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

My mom wanted a player so she can still listen to her tapes and cd's. She was so happy with Sony. She says the sound is great. She says it is well worth the price. This is perfect for her because she lives in small apartment and it does not take a lot of room.

Was this review helpful? (44) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
familyshopstogether
landing,nj
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
3/25/2012

Customer review by SeriousShopper7

1.0 stars 3/25/2012 by SeriousShopper7
by SeriousShopper7

This player was a huge disappointment. The other reviews are excellent, but my experiences have been very different from nearly all of these. The sound is really bad, kind of like listening in a wind tunnel. I primarily bought it to play cassette tapes and to listen to the radio in the mornings. The radio part is okay if I turn the sound really loud. However, the second cassette I played on this was eaten after 40 minutes of play. When I say eaten, I mean chewed up, destroyed. Considering this was a mystery audiobook, you can imagine my keen disappointment. My last boombox was a beautiful Sony that lasted 23 years and performed way beyond expectations. The Sony CFD-S05 is definitely not up to Sony's standards as far as I'm concerned. I will think again before buying Sony.

Was this review helpful? (35) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SeriousShopper7
Would recommend to a friend? No
A quality product
6/19/2010

Customer review by SandcastlesII

5.0 stars 6/19/2010 by SandcastlesII
by SandcastlesII

We spend 3 summer months in our RV. We have audio books on tape and also on CD so for us this is a great product. The sound is terrific on tape, CD or radio.

Was this review helpful? (218) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SandcastlesII
Happy Jack, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Don't waste your time or your money.
6/4/2013

Customer review by arizonajack

1.0 stars 6/4/2013 by arizonajack
by arizonajack

I generally have good results when I buy a product that has a large number of positive reviews and a small number of negative reviews. So I bought this one figuring it would suit my needs. It was delivered promptly although only in the factory package with untaped ends and a damaged corner. Fortunately, the player was intact with no damage. Unfortunately, the plastic body of the player is cheaply made and the CD lid didn't feel like the catch would last very long. First I played the radio. Awful results. Got nothing but static on most stations. Got two talk radio stations and it sounded like people were talking in a barrel. Then played a cassette tape. Sound quality was terrible but I figured OK, my cassettes were decades old and the age could account for the bad sound quality. So I played a couple of CDs of relatively recent production that play wonderfully on my truck's factory CD player. Not even close. Others have commented on the Mega Bass setting not making any difference in the tone. They are correct. This player is a serious disappointment across the board.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arizonajack
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great radio
10/20/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 10/20/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I didn't think the speakers would replace the ones I had, but they are just as good or better, and I can get more stations on it than I could my old radio.

Was this review helpful? (172) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Yerington Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A nice product.
11/17/2010

Customer review by SisnoMore

4.0 stars 11/17/2010 by SisnoMore
by SisnoMore

I've looked for quite a while for a small tabletop radio/Cd player and was surprised at how hard they were to find. This one even plays cassettes. It's easy to use and sounds pretty good.

Was this review helpful? (167) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SisnoMore
Bloomfield, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Plays it all.
8/25/2011

Customer review by OldDJ

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by OldDJ
by OldDJ

Even my old cassettes and scratched CD's sound just fine on this player. Great for my counter in kitchen. Mega-Bass is virtually non-existent until you crank it up to high volume levels. AM and FM radio are crystal clear good sound. I purchased a 3.5mm double male end earphone cable to use this player to transfer old cassettes into my computer, CD's too. Works great to "burn" my stuff to new CD's.

Was this review helpful? (75) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldDJ
Murchison, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great little unit !
5/20/2011

Customer review by Flamesmarvin

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by Flamesmarvin
by Flamesmarvin

This is an example of why you don't buy Emerson or Memorex or RCA portable audio systems. The electronics in this unit work well as a system. I cannot stress enough the importance of these systems working well together. YOU WILL NOTICE THE DIFFERENCE ! The sound is crisp and tight, but not in the $1,000.00 way......JUST RIGHT! If you want a system with these features, you just found it! If you compare the CFD-S05 with the other systems in this price range, you will find that this is a solidly built, well designed machine.

Was this review helpful? (54) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Flamesmarvin
Bristol , Va
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/25/2011

Customer review by DaveM999

2.0 stars 12/25/2011 by DaveM999
by DaveM999

The digital tuner's scan function is extraordinarily inconvenient. First, there is no dedicated scan button. Instead the + and - tuning buttons must be pressed and momentarily held to initiate scanning. If you hold the buttons too long, you can scan by several stations. If you don't hold them long enough, the scan doesn't start. This gets old very quickly. Second, the scan completely stops when it finds a clear station, it does not pause and continue. Consequently, if there are 25 stations between your current station and the one you want to change to, you will have to press and momentarily hold the tuner button 25 times. A analog tuner would be more convenient than this. (The station preset function partially compensates for this, but once a preset is set, it cannot be deleted.) The over all quality is good for the price, but the missing radio tuning functions make it a two star product.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaveM999
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
9/20/2010

Customer review by LotsaListening

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by LotsaListening
by LotsaListening

Again I am happy with the Sony brand. This is the ideal small radio/CD/cassette player. I listen to a lot of books on tape or cassette. It is getting really hard to find something that will play both CD's and cassettes. it is even harder to find a player that keeps your place when you stop in the middle of the CD. This player does that. The sound is good and it is easy to use. If it has a negative it would be that the tape player isn't a continous play. You have to turn the cassette over to play the second side. Other than that, I love it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LotsaListening
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
perfect for playing cd's borrowed from the library
12/29/2013

Customer review by MissRoseCottage

4.0 stars 12/29/2013 by MissRoseCottage
by MissRoseCottage
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wanted to listen to cd's that I borrowed from the library while I ride my exercycle. The first player I bought (a Memorex) had terrible sound quality, so I exchanged it for this Sony. I am very happy with my purchase and would recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissRoseCottage
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great features but not to Sony standards
1/28/2014

Customer review by Gehar

1.0 stars 1/28/2014 by Gehar
by Gehar

Sorry to say that this Sony product does not meet the standards expected of the manufacturer. I wanted another sound machine to meet the standards of the GE Super Radio II. I liked the features of the Sony so I purchased it without knowing the quality. I am returning the unit because of the poor audio quality. I was disappointed with the mega bass which did very little to add more bass. The reception was poor and I was unable to tune in stations that I could with my old GE Super Radio. Overall...save your money and step up to something more expensive and maybe you can find something of better quality. As a sub note...I also ordered the RCA Super Radio III (old GE Super Radio II) hoping that this model would provide the audio quality of my old GE Super Radio II. I again was disappointed and returned this unit.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gehar
Dayton, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful!
9/2/2011

Customer review by JusLuvFishin

5.0 stars 9/2/2011 by JusLuvFishin
by JusLuvFishin

The reviews about this CD player are 100% correct. I just purchased my player today and I am completely satisfied. The sound that comes out that player is unreal! Thanks Sony for a great sounding CD player.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JusLuvFishin
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 473 total reviews
1-20 of 473 reviews