Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 34 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

34 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

34 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
20
4 stars
10
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 26 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Okay product, Too complicated for its Simplicity
2/9/2011

Customer review by ruffusU

3.0 stars 2/9/2011 by ruffusU
by ruffusU

This is a simple 2 channel 100wt. receiver, meant for non-theater simple sterio use for am/fm, cd and other components. Problem is: AM antenna does not work at all, in any way shape or form. FM is great. Cd hook up and all hook ups were easy. However, the "tuning" - with it's pre-set and scan until you hit a station and no "manuel" tuning, it is really poor set-up on the mfg. end. Well, it is a fair price tuner, does the job and just forget about the directions/manual - mostly useLESS. I am very tech savy and understand directions readily, but this manual was not written well for the customer. Another (-) on Sony's part. However, I guess I'd still buy this again, at $149.00, it is okay, $99.00 would be more reasonable for the product.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ruffusU
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does exactly what I purchased it for
5/14/2012

Customer review by RGADAWD

5.0 stars 5/14/2012 by RGADAWD
by RGADAWD

Sure, this is not a top of the line 7.1 Home audio system. I purchased it because I bought some Pioneer book-shelve speakers on sale at NewEgg (awesome price) and decided to replace my Bose 901s for my computer audio. Now, the Bose 901s are real nice for moderate computer audio, nice bass reflex, volume, no distortion, however, the Sony 2-Channel receiver has taken my computer audio up a notch or two. It does exactly what I wanted it to do, drive two book-shelve speakers with adequate high-fidelity. I'm sure it would do even better with some higher grade speakers, however, these two Pioneers are nice, 80w, good crisp sound, great crossover, excellent bass reflex. My Bose 901s cost $100.00. This amp at $149.00 and Pioneer speakers at $50.00 (on sale from $100.00 a pair) runs about $100.00 more than my 901s, and delivers at least that or more in increased high-fidelity and extra volume. I run it at least 12 hrs p/day and no problems at all so far. Great buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RGADAWD
Austin, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
6/13/2010

Customer review by TigerAimee81

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by TigerAimee81
by TigerAimee81

This receiver is great for our use. Bought as a gift for my husband to keep in his gameroom. It currently has 6 speakers hooked up to it with no problems... gets loud, sounds great. Nothing fancy, but hooks up to our Mp3 players and has programmable digital stations. Nice bang for the buck.

Was this review helpful? (26) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TigerAimee81
NOLA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
good amp-poor fm
12/10/2010

Customer review by gmmmmm1

4.0 stars 12/10/2010 by gmmmmm1
by gmmmmm1

Like many sony digital fm tuners, reception of weak signals is close to "not at all". While the power, controls & fidelity are fine for playing CD's, none of my FM antenna tricks has made the reception anywhere as good as my old Sherwood analog unit. Now I'm looking for a cheap fm tuner with more selectivity (perhaps I can hook up my Tivoli monaural FM table radio??)

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gmmmmm1
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony STR-DH100
5/9/2011

Customer review by Floridatrees

4.0 stars 5/9/2011 by Floridatrees
by Floridatrees

I have been using this product for about one week. It has good sound which fills the small family room in which it is installed with a Sony Bravia Flat Screen T.V. It was reasonably easy to install/set up and sync with the other equipment (DVD/Blueray/cable). I like the settings option selection. I've yet to watch a DVD movie to really see what the subwoofer can pump out but expect it to produce good results. This product performs as expected.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Floridatrees
Palatka, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good tunes
7/19/2010

Customer review by likemytunes

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by likemytunes
by likemytunes

This is a great receiver for the money. The only thing I was disappointed in was the FM antenna. This is for a basement party room and the reception was lousy. I had to splice together a new antenna so that I could get reception.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
likemytunes
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great product, great value, great balls of fire!
10/22/2011

Customer review by menominee

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by menominee
by menominee

my vcr is still flashing 12:00 but i was able to set up and operate this reciever in abot 10 minutes. could use more power, only 200 watts but will rock the house, even with 20 year old 901 speakers. did my homework and for the price, sony was the way to go. easy to set up and good to go. could have used an extra power plug in on the back for other components but will work around it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
menominee
florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Would not recommend
12/23/2011

Customer review by Cacique17

1.0 stars 12/23/2011 by Cacique17
by Cacique17

The system lasted two days and then one of the channels fried. I took it to Walmart to have it exchange but they did not carry the product, actually they didn't have any receivers so I ended up with a refund after I had to return with the box which miraculously I still had.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cacique17
Moca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Well worth the money
10/4/2010

Customer review by crete909

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by crete909
by crete909

This is a great little receiver, can't go wrong!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crete909
lake havasu city,az
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good receiver for the money
12/26/2011

Customer review by inuyasha1950

5.0 stars 12/26/2011 by inuyasha1950
by inuyasha1950

This is a good item for an affordable price. Other reviewers have commented on the lack of a built-in phono preamp. Modern receivers typically no longer include these preamps as standard equipment. You have to buy one from some other source. Radio Shack has some for about 20 or 30 bucks, and it isn't the only source. Seek and ye shall find!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
inuyasha1950
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good product and a great price
1/6/2012

Customer review by TobyF

5.0 stars 1/6/2012 by TobyF
by TobyF

I helped my step dad hook this up. It was his Christmas present. It was easy to set up and understand. We had some trouble with the record player but later discovered there was a switch on the player that we didnt know about. After that it worked perfectly. Looks like it is also made to be used for a home entertainment center.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TobyF
Norman, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
4/15/2012

Customer review by gbrskr

5.0 stars 4/15/2012 by gbrskr
by gbrskr

This is a great value for me and works absolutely terrific ! Easy to hook up, easy to operate and sounds great ! Used it to replace a 22 year old Magnavox receiver and amp ! I run my Dish Sat sound thru it and also my DVD and CD's thru it and use it to listen to FM stations(picks up good) ! I am really glad I chose this unit !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gbrskr
Brownwood, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice receiver for the price
7/23/2010

Customer review by Jared1651

4.0 stars 7/23/2010 by Jared1651
by Jared1651

The Sony STR-DH100 2- channel stereo receiver just what I was looking for. Not being a high end audiophile I just wanted a basic system with two speaker outputs. Only drawback to me was the A/B/AB speaker selector is not accessible from the remote, only a pushbutton on the front of the unit. Otherwise a very solid unit.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jared1651
Jacksonville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony Reciever a good deal
2/2/2011

Customer review by GotAtWalmart

3.0 stars 2/2/2011 by GotAtWalmart
by GotAtWalmart

Receiver works well, sounds good and is a good deal. Pretty much what you would expect for the price. Not crystal clear sound, but good. Noticeable hissing at higher volumes. Not a huge amount of power, but all in all works well for the environment I bought it for.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GotAtWalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needed Amplifier
11/24/2010

Customer review by 9frost

4.0 stars 11/24/2010 by 9frost
by 9frost

I had an older Sony FM receiver-amplifier that needed to be replaced. I needed FM capability as well as four added inputs for my system. This relatively inexpensive unit satisfied my requirements.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
9frost
Larimer co, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Just what I was looking for
11/27/2011

Customer review by Tabel

5.0 stars 11/27/2011 by Tabel
by Tabel

PUrchased this as a gift for a friend in a small apartment...exactly what I was looking for. Easy to set up, two sets of speaker connections..good sound. Very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tabel
Upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1/7/2012

Customer review by laytee11

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by laytee11
by laytee11

I purchased this receiver to replace my old kenwood receiver and i am very pleased with the replacement, but how could you go wrong; its a Sony!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
laytee11
buffalo, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Good deal
2/11/2012

Customer review by drewmeister

5.0 stars 2/11/2012 by drewmeister
by drewmeister

My old sony was simply outdated . This has one has more features and more power . Good deal for the cost .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
drewmeister
Grants Pass OR.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A very nice receiver
8/8/2010

Customer review by dbf1220

5.0 stars 8/8/2010 by dbf1220
by dbf1220

This Sony receiver works & sounds great with the Sony SS-F5000 speakers I purchased earlier

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dbf1220
Oak Grove,LA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
12/2/2011

Customer review by Fdan

5.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Fdan
by Fdan

This is a great stereo reciever. I would highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Fdan
Charlotte, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews