Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 13 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

13 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

13 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
7
4 stars
5
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-13 of 13 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

sounds great
10/25/2010

Customer review by alfred45

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by alfred45
by alfred45

sounds great,along with my other sony products

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
alfred45
newburyport ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Super Product
11/4/2010

Customer review by DLARetired

5.0 stars 11/4/2010 by DLARetired
by DLARetired

This thing is a beast. It weighs over 10 pounds and sounds like a much larger speaker. Very clear sound. One thing - it does not have banana plug jacks.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DLARetired
Tampa Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cost differential
5/10/2011

Customer review by Lamit

5.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Lamit
by Lamit

The two center units I purchased will work perfectly with my big screen. Two, wired in series, will cover the expanse of the picture. I love them, however I found them elsewhere for nearly $30.00 less EACH after my purchase. I don't know if Walmarts Price Match Gaurantee applies to Site To Store. Thanks anyway!!! They are the best! Lamit in Midvale

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lamit
Midvale, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nice clear sound
9/30/2011

Customer review by guyman0421

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by guyman0421
by guyman0421

This center channel speaker is a good value, especially in the package-make-your-own sound system from Walmart!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guyman0421
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Excellent Center Speaker
3/9/2011

Customer review by mortpen

5.0 stars 3/9/2011 by mortpen
by mortpen

You could not expect the sound this speaker reproduces to be so cheap. Very Excellent Speaker. Of coarse, the Sony will last you and your children's lifetime.

mortpen
Chicago, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Center Channel
11/20/2008

Customer review by callas01

5.0 stars 11/20/2008 by callas01
by callas01

This is a great center channel, the voices come out clear and precise.

callas01
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
sounds clear
3/16/2009

Customer review by worldoveride

5.0 stars 3/16/2009 by worldoveride
by worldoveride

i have had this speaker for abut 3 months and it really complimented the two from speakers with sound and clarity

worldoveride
lemoore, ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good for upper midrange
3/21/2011

Customer review by nameless

4.0 stars 3/21/2011 by nameless
by nameless

I am using this center in conjunction with a Sony STR-DH510 receiver with SS-F5500s up front and SS-B1000s for rear. I would say this center sounds small. Voices are faint, and hollow. I don't think the woofers are adequate, it just doesn't sound very lifelike. It DOES NOT pair well with the SS-F5000s. It may work well with smaller speakers, but when switching from 2ch to 5.1 it is a let down. I will say that the upper end does sound very good, impressive for not having a mid range driver...I plan to buy a pair of the SS-B3000s and use on of those as my center. Based on the reviews I have read I am going to say Sony needs 2 different models of center speakers.

nameless
Lincoln, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good Speaker, Great Value
3/9/2011

Customer review by Steve2649

4.0 stars 3/9/2011 by Steve2649
by Steve2649

I am using this center channel speaker with the SS-F7000 towers and SS-B1000 bookshelf speakers in a 5.1 surround configuration. Of all the components in this system, the center channel is the weakest link. You will probably find yourelf adjusting the center balance a lot to get it just right if youre using this speaker with any powerful stereo tower speakers. That said, this speaker offers very clear audio, both male and female voices are distinct and articulate. The mid-range and high frequencies are very clean sounding. This isn't anything like what I imagined a <$100 speaker would sound like. If youre looking to upgrade from HTIB speakers, prepare to be blown away. If you already have a powerful system but need a center channel, this will work great to round off your system but it probably won't be eliciting any profound "wow" factor. Also, the speaker wire it comes with is a fairly wimpy 20-22 gague wire and should be replaced with a thicker 16 gague speaker wire.

Steve2649
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great price and loud!
5/3/2010

Customer review by flipicaneze

4.0 stars 5/3/2010 by flipicaneze
by flipicaneze

I can finally hear everything someone is saying in a movie without turning up the volume. As for the sheer size, this thing is huge and is hard to place in a cabinet without having to move a couple of things around. As with the whole Sony line, I still wish there was something in a piano black finish instead of the blah satin finish.

flipicaneze
Waukegan, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Center Channel Speaker
1/17/2009

Customer review by APCVA

4.0 stars 1/17/2009 by APCVA
by APCVA

Searched high and low for an affordable center channel speaker with good sound guality. I found it right at SonyStyle.com. After purchasing a new Sony 52" HD LCD I needed a center channel speaker to replace the one I had been using. As usual Sony had the answer and at an affordable price. What else can I say and it sounds great to! APCVA

APCVA
Northern VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
2/18/2010

Customer review by zavx4

4.0 stars 2/18/2010 by zavx4
by zavx4

did I need a new center channel speaker? yes did I pick the right one? yes. i can now hear things at low levels clearly

zavx4
hesperia CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Center speaker lacking
2/16/2012

Customer review by earthgeezer

3.0 stars 2/16/2012 by earthgeezer
by earthgeezer

I run this with ssf7000 fronts and 4 ssb1000 speakers 7.1 surround. I do not think this speaker matches well with the system. It is somewhat hollow in sound and does not keep up well with the rest of the system. I would like to see and improved center speaker from Sony.

earthgeezer
Prescott, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No