Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 29 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews
My Great Floor Speakers
4/13/2011

Customer review by southindy

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by southindy
by southindy

To begin with I thought that I would have to pay much more to get great sound like this. I upgraded to a flatscreen tv which I mounted above my fireplace. Speaker selection was becoming very difficult. I wanted to be able to have great sound effects watching a movie but also rich stero sound for music listening as well. After researching the Internet, I finally chose the Sony floor speakers. Knowing that I would have to add a center channel speaker for the dialog. But my available space was making this an impossible choice. To my surprise I found that the sound coverage of these speakers are so good that I may never add a center channel speaker. The sound that I get is so wonderful that I will only need to add surround speakers to complete my system. In addition I must say that the deep bass sound is so good that I sometimes think my sub woofer is turned on. Thank you Sony for these great speakers.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
southindy
Indianapolis, Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Living With SS-7000's
5/11/2009

Customer review by treker88

5.0 stars 5/11/2009 by treker88
by treker88

I bought these speakers about 14 months ago. I was prepared to spend between $1000 and $1500 for a new set of speakers. Before I spent that much money, I deciced to check out what Sony had to offer. I've had good luck with Sony products in the past. When I saw the low price of these speakers, I was skeptical. However, like I said before, I've had good results with Sony in the past, so I went a head and bought them. I have no regrets. I'm using a 100 watt per channel Sony Stereo reciever, STR-DE135 and a Sony CD/DVD player, DVP-S300. These speakers are amazing given their price. I would put them up aganist speakers costing three or four times as much per pair. Highs are clear and well dispersed, mids are clear and bass is abundant and well defined. They have a spacious and transparent character to their sound, and they will play very loud. Also, they look as good as they sound. I use them for everything. Listening to music and movies. They're great. Don't their low price scare you off.

treker88
Long Beach CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Outstanding Value
11/4/2010

Customer review by DLARetired

5.0 stars 11/4/2010 by DLARetired
by DLARetired

Wow, a pair of name-brand 4-way speakers for only $250? I was shocked. It has a woofer, a "mid-woofer" and a mid-range and tweeter. Let me tell you, I thought my subwoofer was on during a scene, and it wasn't. These speakers get down low! At the same time, the highs are crisp and clear.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DLARetired
Tampa Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Powerful Speakers, Low Price
3/10/2011

Customer review by Steve2649

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by Steve2649
by Steve2649

I am using these speakers with the SS-CN5000 and SS-B1000 in a 5.1 surround setup. These speakers are the workhorse of the group, handling handling a vast range with precision and clarity. They produce a powerful low bass, down at 35 Hz they hit lower notes with more power than many of the cheaper subwoofers out there. And its clear why: 4 way crossover means each driver is handling its own range, the 8" mica reinforced cone is practically a subwoofer on its own. But this also means the mid-lows, mids, and highs can all be reproduced clearly and effortlessly by the other 3 drivers in the system. At the other end of the spectrum, the tweeter soars above 50,000 Hz. While we can't hear that high, what we can hear is reproduced in a clean, beautiiful sound you just would not expect from such innexpensive towers. The only faults I have with these is the wire it comes with: a flimsy 20-22 gague cable that should be replaced with a good thick 16 gague wire. Otherwise, these are perfect speakers for the audiophile-on-a-budget. Caution: using in small appartments with thin walls can result in angry roommates/neighbors!

Steve2649
Albany, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good quality product
1/17/2011

Customer review by cptenaud

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by cptenaud
by cptenaud

These speakers are very tiny but give a great sound. I had the Klipshorn auditorium speakers. So in comparison to them I give a 5 out of ten for sound and distortion levels. The Klipsh cost was over $1,000.00 for the pair. The floor space took up a little more then two square feet. For what you are getting with these smaller speakers at a much reduced price. Is a great little deal. The cabinetry is even better then the Klipsh.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cptenaud
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Speaker
10/22/2011

Customer review by bveritas

5.0 stars 10/22/2011 by bveritas
by bveritas

Great speaker. However if your a true classical music audiophile, you could benefit from a subwoofer in your system to fill out the very low resonant frequencies not merely of the bass, but the cellos as well. I don't fault these woofers. They give excellent response to the high end of the low end. They just work best with a woofer that covers the really low end better. Now a message for Sony if they monitor these customer reviews. Please improve the packaging. The styrofoam end pieces are designed to wrap around the each end of the speakers. This results in placing pressure on the grill cloth frames damaging a great many of them in transit. A better way would be to ship them with the frames off, the speaker boxes secured, and the frames resting without pressure in a redesigned styrofoam end piece with an integrated center channel to carry them.

bveritas
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
These are awsome
2/19/2012

Customer review by TheHedge

5.0 stars 2/19/2012 by TheHedge
by TheHedge
Top 500 contributor

I purchased these speakers in sony bundle with sony drh810 amp, bookshelf spkrs(rear surround), center channel speaker and 10" subwoofer. these speakers added on $179.00. Worth every penny. They sound great.The sub woofer hasn't even arrived yet and i'm not sure we even need it. Great bass, very tight sounding. Crisp highs, good clear midrange. I seriously considered using bookshelf speakers for front channels, because of price difference. After hooking these up and hearing them, I am glad I purchased these. Also glad I opted for less expensive 10" sub woofer, because these speakers have plenty of bass. They can get quite loud also, i checked them out with an old ACDC dvd. Even at higher volumes they sound good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheHedge
Kyle,Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Great Sound
6/19/2011

Customer review by Bubba812

5.0 stars 6/19/2011 by Bubba812
by Bubba812

I don't usually write reviews but decided to here. These are outstanding speakers for the price. Can't beat it, especially when bundled with the Sony receiver (huge discount). Using them in a 5.1 home theater sys; no need for a sub-woofer, gave mine away with my old system & speakers.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bubba812
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
It Get's Comments
4/28/2010

Customer review by Cwire

5.0 stars 4/28/2010 by Cwire
by Cwire

I am quite the Audiophile and have just recently put together my first Home Theater system. Was looking for a set of speakers to finish out my home theater system. I have I Yamaha Receiver 90w per channel and was actually looking for Yamaha speakers for the set. I went out speaker shopping and came across this set of Sony speakers sitting right next to a set of yamaha speakers of almost the same set up. I was blown away at the sound these Sony speakers put out. I haven't owned a sony product since I first bought a CD player back in the early days. Their quality vs Price went down hill but I can tell from these speakers they have made a comeback and a BIG one. Now, if Sony would make some nice Satallite speakers I would get rid of the ones I have for my Home theater and purchase them. Sony you have made a believer out of me again!

Cwire
Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
my dream stereo come true
1/29/2012

Customer review by spraygun

5.0 stars 1/29/2012 by spraygun
by spraygun

I got these speakers a few months ago and I am very pleased with all aspects of them. The sound is clear and clean. They are the perfect addition to our home theater. In addition to movies we enjoy a wide range of music on them as well. I was a bit skeptical about them at first because of the size of the woofers and was concerned with the lower end of the bass spectrum but these speakers definatly perform. I am running them off of a Sony strdh-800 7.1 channel amp and I have them paired with a Sony center channel and both large and small Sony book shelf speakers and Sony sub. They are the newest addition to my theater and could not be more impressed with the quality and value of all of the above mentioned Sony products. I would recommend all of them.

spraygun
girard pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice speakers
9/30/2011

Customer review by guyman0421

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by guyman0421
by guyman0421

Was great as a combo in the package. MUCH taller than expcted, but good speaker sound.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guyman0421
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
OMG
1/24/2013

Customer review by Tosun

5.0 stars 1/24/2013 by Tosun
by Tosun

Looking for great sounding speakers and don't want to skip the mortgage payment? Get these speakers. Very clear, crisp sound. Classical music sounds incredibly real and alive (like the violin is playing right in front of you), so do soccer games (you'll feel you're in the stadium). I don't even have any other speakers (not even a subwoofer), these are it, and my living room is huge with high ceiling. These fill the whole room with sound. Get them and don't let the low price to cast doubt in your mind. Performance/price ratio deserves 6 stars (despite the cheap wiring included in the package).

Tosun
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Beautiful
12/21/2012

Customer review by Vallagard

5.0 stars 12/21/2012 by Vallagard
by Vallagard

I purchased these (and the SS-B3000s) to replace some pioneer speakers I just purchased (which i returned). These speakers produce clear, loud sound. They have a large body, but they manage to retain a high build quality feel. Putting these in a 10' x 11' bedroom isn't the ideal location, but I bought them with the future in mind. They capture a large range of sound. I'm currently running them in stereo, and plan on running them in 5.1. I can see these breathing a lot of life into a larger room (living room, family room). I've only tested these primarily with music and video games.

Vallagard
Warren, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
wow..... amazing
6/24/2010

Customer review by extremegoped

5.0 stars 6/24/2010 by extremegoped
by extremegoped

when i was shopping for speakers, i was looking for powerful high quality speakers. though i was looking too not spend more then $300. i saw the Sony ss-f7000 and they looked perfect for what i needed. no where did i find a better set for this price. i was skeptical because they were from Sony. but i sure am glad i bought them they sound amazing excellent high notes and mid and bass just excellent all around. they look nice with the black Finnish too. i do not know what else to say about them if your budget is around $300 i would buy these speakers plus they are only $279

extremegoped
CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1/23/2009

Customer review by freddyk

5.0 stars 1/23/2009 by freddyk
by freddyk

I had a pioneer system for many years then the reciever would not produce sound out of 2 of the surround speakers. At that time I bought a sony STR-DG 820 reciever. The new reciever quickly blew out the old pioneer speakers. I then up graded to the SFS-7000 speakers and the SFS-5000 for the surround the SS-CN 5000 for the center and the SSB-3000 for the front. I am unable to turn the system up any further then just above 50 or it is just too much. I love the way blue ray sounds and playing games on my ps3 is amazing.

freddyk
Fort Walton Beach FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best deal ever for Front Speakers'
2/4/2011

Customer review by Cuante46ofJaliscoMex

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by Cuante46ofJaliscoMex
by Cuante46ofJaliscoMex

I was eskeptical at first. i didn't want to spend more than 800 for a pair of front speaker. I had in mind Klipts,polk,whartdale,mirage,energy n B&W at last. but after looking n seeing so many good reviews for the F7000 I thought i gave then a try n save $ And just return them if i don't like them. I was blown away by the clr sound n power! I have a pioneer elite vsx-03 receiver, Polk CS20 center speaker,a 5.1 Energy take classic and these two F7000 as front speaker.I'm :-)

Cuante46ofJaliscoMex
Santa Clara, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Well priced, sounds great!
5/3/2010

Customer review by flipicaneze

4.0 stars 5/3/2010 by flipicaneze
by flipicaneze

I have these speakers hooked up to a DA5300ES receiver and they sound pretty good. They do have a tendency to bring out the worst in the best MP3's. The only things Sony could improve upon is perhaps a piano-black finish much like the selection the rest of the world Sony offers and a better crossover system to separate the woofer and sub-woofer frequencies. Mostly I use them to listen to music, watch movies and play video games.

flipicaneze
Waukegan, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Floor Standing Speakers for the Money
6/6/2009

Customer review by CS125

5.0 stars 6/6/2009 by CS125
by CS125

If you are looking for stereo speakers with a clear and clean sound, this is the best bet on the market. I matched these speakers up with a Pioneer integrated high end amplifier and the sound is simply perfect. If you need surround sound, you might want smaller speakers but for stereo these are outstanding, especially since there is no need for a subwoofer with the double 8 inch woofers. They provide all the bass you need.

CS125
Fort Mill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No issues.
9/16/2013

Customer review by kellyjdrummer

5.0 stars 9/16/2013 by kellyjdrummer
by kellyjdrummer

This pair is perfect for the STR-DH520. I have no complaints. They are very full sounding. They take over well when there is no sub signal. They are a bit more center directional than I like but I have two other much older speakers that are taking the surround job in hand well. I will be replacing them with a pair of these in a month. These are very capable speakers.

kellyjdrummer
Ringgold, GA.
exelent purchase
5/6/2014

Customer review by jackson12

5.0 stars 5/6/2014 by jackson12
by jackson12

I purchased these speakers about two months ago and for the money there isn't a better speaker out there.I listen to a lot of music on Pandora and the sound from these speakers is beautiful. My friends also are so impressed with them one of them bought a pair. As always the Sony quality came though again thank you sony

jackson12
calumet michigan
1-20 of 29 total reviews
1-20 of 29 reviews