Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 504 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

504 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

504 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
377
4 stars
77
3 stars
13
2 stars
16
1 stars
21
1-20 of 419 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 419 total reviews
1-20 of 419 reviews
Great DD-WRT platform
12/18/2011

Customer review by crustychemist

5.0 stars 12/18/2011 by crustychemist
by crustychemist

I immediately loaded open source Linux based firmware, DD-WRT. This allows many handy options such as using the router as a bridge or range extending repeater. Basic router was nicely packed with a small usb memory stick with automated setup (I didn't need or use) and documentation (also not relevant since it covers only firmware I didn't use). $25 Black-Friday price was a good deal. I took advantage of free shipping to the store rather than fight the crowds on BF.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
crustychemist
Ahwahnee, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
saintpo
12/14/2011

Customer review by saintpo

5.0 stars 12/14/2011 by saintpo
by saintpo

Cisco - Valet Wireless Hotspot router was very easy to setup.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
saintpo
Alexandria
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Didn't Work For Me
10/19/2011

Customer review by 18dd2

2.0 stars 10/19/2011 by 18dd2
by 18dd2

Wow! I waited almost to weeks to have this delivered to the store. My old Router, a D-Link 615 is almost on it's last leg. It keeps dropping the connection. It use to work fine. After reading all the reviews on the Cisco M10, it looked like that was the one that would work for me. HA! I could get it to connect to my laptop but NOT the wife's laptop for more then about 20 minutes. We were only like 20 feet to the router. I have two laptops and one desktop. I never even got to that point of trying it on our desktop. Seems it was either hers or mine but not both for longer then 15-20 minutes. Handy little USB stick but a CD would have worked just as well and probably would have been cheaper. I am no IT Tech but the instructions are really very simple so no problem with that. When I couldn't even get it to work the way we wanted I took it back to Walmart. VERY easy return. I'm not sure what kind of a router now to try now. Sorry for any mistakes in this review. It's the 1st one I have ever written.

Was this review helpful? (14) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
18dd2
Marsing, ID
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Simply Put, The easiest router to hook up ever!
11/30/2010

Customer review by Rustyfishhook

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by Rustyfishhook
by Rustyfishhook

This thing is amazing, In all of 3 minutes I got the laptop, Xbox 360 and Wii connected with absolutely no problems whatsoever! just plug in the cord from your modem, plug the power supply in and then insert the supplied flash drive in your computer and wham! done in minutes! the easiest router ever to get connected with period. I've had belkin and net gear and this is far superior and just fool proof in its installation!!! BUY THIS!!! =D

Was this review helpful? (37) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rustyfishhook
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great with DD-WRT, also without
3/8/2012

Customer review by ShortCut0101

5.0 stars 3/8/2012 by ShortCut0101
by ShortCut0101

While not quite as good as the Linksys E2000, due to a slightly lower power single-band transceiver, but nearly identical in hardware to the E1000, the Cisco M10 is a great router from the hardware standpoint. While I didn't use the Valet software that comes with it, I have heard it is quite good, however, I flashed each router I purchased to DD-WRT's open source firmware, in order to use them in a wireless distribution system (WDS). I set this up with the first batch of these routers I bought last year, and later added several more to the setup, and have had great success with speed and reliability. I think that even for a much higher price, this would be an excellent deal, and it is a steal for the $25 and $26 prices I purchased them for at Wal-Mart, and walmart.com, respectively. I would definitely recommend this router for a variety of uses, especially if this price stays this low, and in fact I purchased several extras for friends, who have all been very pleased with them as well.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ShortCut0101
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome!!!
4/25/2010

Customer review by uwishuknew

5.0 stars 4/25/2010 by uwishuknew
by uwishuknew

This wireless router truly works as advertised. I was very skeptical when I purchased, as I really douted that it would be this easy to setup a secured wireless network. My old wireless router took hours to get working, and still was never able to have a secured network. I installed the Cisco Valet and using the included "Easy Setup Key", I was on a secured network in less than five minutes!! I setup three more wireless computers in less than five minutes each. I highly recommend this product!! 5 STARS

Was this review helpful? (111) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
uwishuknew
Woodstock, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice Cheap and works like it should
1/4/2012

Customer review by LWentworth8567

5.0 stars 1/4/2012 by LWentworth8567
by LWentworth8567

Bought this on the fly to replace a very old dieing router. Since I plugged it in and installed the item using the dongle that came with it the Router works like a charm. It even has a setup guide for those not as tech literate as others making it easy for beginners. Also Cisco home runs you through a simple process for setting up whatever product your trying to connect to the router. I had my laptop and two game systems up and linked to the router in less than half an hour. There is also a guest feature on the router in case you have guests and they want to get on for a day. It also has parental controls for people who do not want their kids on the internet after a certain time. It has given me good signal strength as well throughout the house. The lights are a BRIGHT blue so you may want to have a way to hide it if you sleep in the room with the router. Really there are no other problems I have seen or had with this product and happy to have this router and will recommend it to others.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LWentworth8567
Webster, Ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy Set-up
6/23/2010

Customer review by Randy999

4.0 stars 6/23/2010 by Randy999
by Randy999

I found this router extremely simple to set up. The only reason I did not give it 5 stars was the wireless signal was not quite as strong as I had hoped. I mainly bought it to have wireless for my new Blue Ray player so I could instantly stream netflix. The router is upstairs, and the Blue Ray player is downstairs, in a cabinet. At first it was not getting a signal, but I was able to move the router around a bit, and now it usually gets a good signal.....granted, it is beaming not just all the way downstairs, but also through a cabinet.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Randy999
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
good router for the price point
1/6/2012

Customer review by sportsfan001

4.0 stars 1/6/2012 by sportsfan001
by sportsfan001

Before you begin to install the router. It is very advisable to temporarily disable both your anti-virus software and firewall for a short period of time and re-activate them after a successful install. I had problems getting the router to work initially and had to call Cisco's 24/7 toll-free number and experienced a three-minute wait time (great for 9 PM EST), and a English speaking tech support person who was extremely knowledgeable with the product line / and it's relationship to Windows 7. Once we figured out that the anti-virus software and firewall software was prohibiting the install and disabled it, the install went very smoothly and afterwards, reactivated the anti-virus software and firewall Other features include nice aesthetics, great packing, and easy setup / administration, plus you also receive a short cat5 ethernet cable to go between the cable modem and CISCO VALET.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sportsfan001
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cisco Valet Router
6/7/2010

Customer review by dswhitm

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by dswhitm
by dswhitm
Walmart associate

absolutely a great buy! So simple to establish a full network. One little jump drive does it all....laptops, desktops, printers.....I couldn't believe how easy it was. I tried cheaper routers and did not like the way you had to keep running back and forth and writing things down. Took me about 20 minutes to do 2 laptops , 2 desktops, and a printer!!

Was this review helpful? (169) (30)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dswhitm
Cedarbrook, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Good Stuff
4/8/2010

Customer review by Rise2Shine

5.0 stars 4/8/2010 by Rise2Shine
by Rise2Shine

The Cisco router Valet is an easy set-up router with great connection and range at a good price. Really pleased with this product.

Was this review helpful? (65) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rise2Shine
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent purchase
1/24/2012

Customer review by JPITTechnician

5.0 stars 1/24/2012 by JPITTechnician
by JPITTechnician

I'm a PC Technician with 15+ years experience and I rarely buy anything from brick and mortar stores.. I rarely come across deals that cant be beat even after shipping, from the web. I needed a Wireless router to replace a Netgear I had ordered that came DOA and I needed it right away. I took a chance on a cheap Cisco - Valet Walmart had on sale and was VERY pleasantly surprised.. It was easy to set up out of the box and came packaged exceptionally well, ( I know that seems trivial, but most packaging is annoying and senseless) and even included a small "Easy Setup Key" fob and a guest network... I usually forgo the companies wireless setup and do it manually myself, but actually used the easy setup with no issues. I will be looking for Cisco Valet units in the future because of this experience. Walmart itself was convenient especially in this situation. There used to be a much wider berth between online and B&M stores, but with the advent of web phones and QR codes there is alot more competition lately

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JPITTechnician
Racine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cisco Valet is great!
2/11/2011

Customer review by FlushingFlash

5.0 stars 2/11/2011 by FlushingFlash
by FlushingFlash

For all you non-computer folks out there (I'm one of you) - I have wanted to go wireless but dreaded trying to figure out how to hook up a router so I put it off for a long time. I even put off buying the Valet thinking it couldn't be as easy as it says it is. Guess what! IT IS! In 5 minutes, my laptop was wireless and when I saw the message on my screen: Congratulations - I was ecstatic. Go out and buy the Valet M10 (don't need the M20 unless you have a huge wireless area to cover).It's a bit pricey compared to other routers but in the end, it is really worth it!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FlushingFlash
Fort Lauderdale, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Not good if people want to do more then one thing
5/14/2012

Customer review by xZOMBIEx2012

3.0 stars 5/14/2012 by xZOMBIEx2012
by xZOMBIEx2012

I got this because my father would be online down stairs and or my girl would be online next to me and when I played my zombies I would get booted offline or lagged really badly SOOO I tried a NetGear router and could use my xbox with 4 bars while my father was online BUT my girls laptop would constantly get booted off also started to run really slow outta nowhere when I hooked it up to it NOW I bought this router and its really mixed I can play while my father is online but some times its still just as lagy as my first Cisco also when my girl uses her laptop for some reason almost anything makes me lag but sites like youtube or anything with video or music for that matter makes me lag really really bad AND now for what ever reason the laptop is having alot of trouble connecting to the router all and all if your gonna get a router to use for the xbox dont bother unless you wanna spend alot of money Im looking into getting a cable modem for my room to hook my box to.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
xZOMBIEx2012
Newport News,VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best Value-Priced Router By Far
7/16/2012

Customer review by TerranNova

4.0 stars 7/16/2012 by TerranNova
by TerranNova

Overall I am very pleased with the Cisco Valet M-10. Searched far and wide (Craigslist, E-bay, retail stores) for an affordable new or used router. Very happy with the Cisco Valet. The ease of set-up is as advertised. Forgoing the standard installation CD and using a USB Key instead is a brilliant idea. Why? Because the USB Key can be overwritten, so when you change your SSID or Password, for example, the new log-in info can be saved to the USB Key. The range on the M-10 is excellent. I have the router set-up on the 3rd floor office, and I get full signal when I connect in the basement of my home. Speed is also very good, I notice very little if any lag compared to when I am connecting directly to the LAN port. The only knock I give the M-10, on one occasion I could not connect my laptop to the network. Finally had to reset (unpower) the router, and then it worked fine. This is a common problem for many routers, as long as this is not a sign of things to come I will be very satisfied with the Cisco Valet.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TerranNova
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Easy to Use
2/8/2011

Customer review by GapsMom

5.0 stars 2/8/2011 by GapsMom
by GapsMom

This was the easiet router to use. I am be no means a computer person. I thought I would need help "installing" but there was nothing to it, you plug it in, you insert the USB and you are done. Fast, Simple, Easy.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GapsMom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A value
7/10/2012

Customer review by Leo7099

5.0 stars 7/10/2012 by Leo7099
by Leo7099

We recently upgraded our internet service and it required an upgrade in routers. We went from a Wireless G to a Wireless N. Great price for people on a budget. Easy installation/ setup. Just follow the instructions after plugging in the USB key (for setup only). Had my network up and running within minutes. Performance is smooth. Have not experienced any buffering. We can play videos, games, and stream music. Uploads are equally as smooth. Features such as "Guest" are nice to have so as not to give out your password. I did notice, it was an unsecure network whereas the primary network I set up is a secure network. Perhaps, I need to read the instructions how to make "Guest" secure... Overall, I am very pleased with this router. I'm especially pleased with the price, after the installing internet technician "offered" a new router for $90. I said "No thanks" since I couldn't see spending that much money for a router, especially researching routers prior to the internet installation. My overall rating is Excellent.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Leo7099
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
My first router and it works GREAT!
9/9/2011

Customer review by luchylu

5.0 stars 9/9/2011 by luchylu
by luchylu

I bought this router about a month ago and it hasn't given me any problems what so ever. I have it connected to my desktop computer and have wireless internet for my PS3, Nintendo's, ipod 4g, and a laptop. Everything works so smooth and fast on the internet. This is exactly what I was looking for.

Was this review helpful? (18) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
luchylu
El Paso TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pass on this !!! Wont work!!!! Terrible Support!!!
12/2/2011

Customer review by Ron66

1.0 stars 12/2/2011 by Ron66
by Ron66

Bought the Cisco Valet on Black Friday to replace my old Netgear router. It would not work!!! After spending several hours on the phone with their tech support ( hard to understand--kept trying to sell me extra tech support) doing the same thing over and over I gave up and returned it. Purchased the Netgear N300 router!!! Took it home, hooked everything up, inserted cd, followed step by step directions, done!!!! Desktop, 2 ps3, laptop, and Ipod touch up and running in under 45 minutes!!!!! No problem streaming Netflix to the 2 Ps3 either.. Save the time and headache of buying the Cisco Valet and buy the Netgear!!!!!! Netgear comes with lifetime warranty...Cisco Valet 30 day warranty!!!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ron66
Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
NAT Type Problems
3/22/2011

Customer review by gizmo

2.0 stars 3/22/2011 by gizmo
by gizmo

Bought this router so my son could play live on xbox 360 and certain games he was not able to host and join in because NAT type is to strict. Spent 2 hours on phone with cisco, xbox and ISP and none could help. Returned and bought a cheaper NetGear and instantly worked. Works great if you don't need it for XBOX, easy to set up.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gizmo
Barto , Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 419 total reviews
1-20 of 419 reviews