Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 27 reviews
5 stars
12
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
Sort by: 
1-20 of 26 reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
Sloppy Fit - Shakes and Sways - Not as described
8/11/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Terrible product - do not buy. Not too hard to assemble, but it does not fits together tight. The hitch connection and the quick realse are so loose and sloppy. There is no way to tighten it up. Even without bikes on it, it shakes and sways from side to side. With bikes on it, it sways making the bikes bang into the car. The online picture appears to show that the arms will fold down, so you can leave the rack on when the bikes are off. This is incorrect. If you zoom in on the picture you will see that the upper angle is held with two a solid bolts (the only solid connection on this rack.) This rack folds downward from the bottom angle, which would allow you to open the tailgate.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great!!
8/21/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We picked this up to carry 4 bikes and it works great. Very easy to put together and fit right in our hitch with no problem. Would highly recommend this.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great rack for the price.
6/25/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I read several reviews before deciding to purchase this bicycle rack. It is everything that the good reviews stated. It is secure and stable as long as the mounting bolt is tightened. I decided to go with the four bike rack even though I thought I would rarely put more that two on it. Smart choice as I have had to put four bikes on it already.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
surprisingly good quality
10/9/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
It's almost like people are reviewing two different racks. I found the rack well designed and surprisingly well built. I bought this to replace my usual rack (2 bike) when friends ride with us. I expected it to be marginal but it's quality was very good (I usually buy Thule). It didn't wobble and was easy to assemble EXCEPT I have a 1 1/4" receiver on my hitch and couldn't unbolt the 2" shim. It appears that the lock bolts had been over tightened at the factory and were stripped. I finally ground the nuts off and was on my way.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/2/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
We bought this rack as a means of transporting long distances during moves and for leisure. When it was purchased my husband wasn't home to help me learn how to use it. I was easially able to assemble it without him. There are a few common tools needed to assemble it correctly, but it is just a few different sized wrenches or sockets. I was also able to easially mount it on my 1 1/4 in reciever WITHOUT drilling any holes into my reciever. I did have some difficulty getting 4 bikes to fit but with a little work was able to do so. It is a snug fit for 4 bikes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (19)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Better than I expected
4/7/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I went to Walmart to check what they had in stock before ordering. Originally eyeing the Allen hitch bike rack but after looking at packaging between the products, I chose the Bell- also the well known name. In summary: Pro's- Easy to assemble looking at the instructions -3 bolts w/ tools provided. The bolted hitch/pin is great- absolutely no wobble- must be bolted from the passenger side. Sturdy w/ 3 bikes. Easy to place and secure bikes on rails. Con's- Quick release pin was tight but hit it to get in- after that, it worked well. Probably a sliver- better to be tight than lose. Could be tight for 4 bikes. Surprised how fast to throw the bikes on, Velcro secure and leave. Look forward to more trips with the bikes.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Shims were difficult to remove
8/17/2013
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
The bike rack works fine. The issue I had was removing the factory-installed shims in order to use it with my class 1 hitch. The rack is shipped with the shims installed. A 10mm socket is required (not supplied) to remove the 2 nuts attaching the shims. Normally this would not be a major issue except the nuts were over-torqued at the factory, stripping the carriage bolts. The only way to remove without drilling them out is to pry between the shims, forcing them apart while using the 10mm socket on a ratchet. This process took about 45 minutes but finally worked. I will have to replace the carriage bolts and nuts if I want to reinstall the shims to use the rack with a 2" receiver.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome Buy
7/13/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is an awesome bike rack I bought this for when i go camping and just for me and my family to take our bikes out somewhere for the day, It fit right into my hitch no problems what so ever I recommend this bike rack, this bike rack fits on all three vehicles with different brand name hitchs perfect. And NO DRILLING was required.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
7/16/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I purchased this as a gift for my son and he advised me that it was good and he liked it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fantastic bike rack
6/10/2015
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I was looking for a multi bike rack for my wife's Mazda 5. The Mazda 5 is not a real heavyweight and previous bike racks hung way off the back really loading the rear end. It wasn't until I saw one of these racks on another car that I knew I wanted that rack. Price is reasonable it tucks close to the car and folds back if you want to open the rear hatch. It is a pain but the option is there. What sold me was the bike support also folds down out of the way if you have no bikes. Hauled up to 4 bikes and it works great.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't buy this product
6/26/2010
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this product to haul our bikes on a camping trip and like the fact that it said easy to use and little assembly required. What a joke. I don't know what type of reese hitch it was made for but it doesn't fit a standard hitch. We were counting on using it but first we had to redrill the hole to make it fit. If you don't have a drill press and aren't handy to make this fit tight do not buy this product. I am very disappointed and will not by any other bell products.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (20)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Product
7/27/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
They could have charged 2x the price and it still would have been a good deal. This rack is built strong & smart too.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nice bike rack for SUVs
9/19/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Assembly was pretty easy with one of my sons helping me hold parts as I fit them together. All required tools were included. Installation on my SUV was simple. The fit is decent but not snug. There is a little bit of wiggle but everything is strong and well secured so it's not going anywhere. Getting bikes on and off of the rack is quite easy. The upper rack swings down when not in use which is nice. The bottom portion is hinged so as to allow access to the lift gate, if needed. Typically I just use the window in the back to access things in the rear of the truck so I haven't actually had to utilize that feature yet. Overall, it is serving its purpose well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product for a very reasonable price
10/9/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Have been going on bike trips since I purchase this product. Really sturdy and convenient. Fits three kids bike but will add adult bike in the spring time. Very satisfied with such affordable product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
CBpas
8/13/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I purchased this 4 bike rack for our 4 bikes and it only fits 3 bikes. As a family of 4 bike riders this is a problem!!! Someone doesn't get to take their bike :( Disappointed.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Velcro
7/13/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I didn't realize that only Velcro holds the bike in place. I guess I can take the blame for not doing more research, but it does the job. I'm just worried about longevity.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good rack for the price
6/2/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Rack is secure in hitch and goes on quickly . Works we'll with 3 Bikes - tight fit for 4. .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Heavy duty. Great quality
2/20/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Very nice product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Well worth the $$$
1/23/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Well built bike rack for the money. Fits my four mountain bikes easily also.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bell Hitchbiker 400 Rack
12/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Hitchbiker -- there are two models available: the 400 and the 450. The only difference I can see is the color. They cost about the same. I used to throw three bikes in the back of my pickup and hope they didn't get damaged. I now have four four bikes to carry, and need a better solution. This hitch rack is a much better solution. This is a really solid, sturdy, well made rack. As a structural engineer I am impressed by how well designed and constructed it is. The tongue itself is solid steel (and heavy.) It is relatively easy to attach to my vehicle (once I finally got the old locking hitch pin off), and also fairly easy to remove from the hitch receiver with the two included wrenches. I would not be worried about leaving it on my vehicle while parked in my driveway, or parked by a trailhead. But It is removable by a determined party, so I wouldn't leave it attached overnight in a bad part of town. On my particular vehicle, the hitch bolt goes well behind the step bumper, so it is not easily accessible when the step bumper is backed up to a raised area, such a curb or a steep embankment. The spacing between bikes is kind of close, but by alternating ends of the bikes as you stack them on, it easily accommodates four bikes. The main hitch bolt sticks all the way through the 2" receiver, and eliminates all slop in the hitch. As an engineer, I see this as a necessary feature. Yes, it does prevent use of a locking hitch pin, but that can be mitigated somewhat by use of a an additional nut or a small padlock through the hole in the end of the hitch bolt. And besides, a thief could also remove the bolts at the joints, so even a locking hitch pin would not be a complete security solution. And getting the locking hitch pin off -- notorious for being unremovable - may be a major problem. I had to saw my old locking hitch pin off. So to all those that complain there is no way to install a locking hitch pin with the hitchbiker -- that may be a blessing in disguise.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640667, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-