Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 11 reviews
5 stars
5
4 stars
4
3 stars
1
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
Sort by: 
1-11 of 11 reviews
1-11 of 11 reviews
What's not to like?
8/4/2010
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Fantastic product. Fantastic features. Fantastic Walmart price. This thing floats, lights, records, beeps, burps and even chats with your iPhone. Pretty amazing. In case you are wondering, the bluetooth feature is not just a toy. Receiving and sending calls is a breeze. The volume and speaker quality are great. All the accessories you need are included. Additions I would like to see? A removable antenna for transport/storage. Multiband (AM/FM/GMRS). A separate squelch for the weather channels. A channel lockout feature, like scanners have. Walmarts price and shipping on this item were the best to be found.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bang for the Buck!!
3/5/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Have been in the Maritime Industry since 1980. The Handheld VHF's used to be heavy, cumbersome, and expensive. This unit is light weight, easy to use, and the Bluetooth(TM)feature may save your pricey phone from going overboard, or from getting wet.(YIKES!!). The instructions are easy to follow, and the Li-ion battery is light weight, and lasts a long time. I bought this personally, but may upgrade our whole ship with these. Thanks, Capt. Jack
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good value for the money
6/20/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Excellent reception. Bluetooth is bonus. My only complaint is that most other handhelds also feature FRS/FM/AM/and VHF (at least both of my other handhelds do...one Standard Horizon and one Uniden). But then, this radio features cleaner, clearer sound than both of the others.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/18/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The first one came broken, I am still waiting for the new one. The blue tooth wouldn't find the cell phone and the cell phone couldn't find the Cobra. I will let you know when the new one comes. I worked with Cobra on the phone for some time they walked me through a manual reset and still did not work. Cobra told me to return to Wall mart and ordered a new one. Can't wait to get the new one, looking forward to it. Fishing season right around the corner.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Worth every penny!
11/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I fish on the Ohio river several times a week. This is a high traffic area for barges with them navigating the Greenup locks and dam. The sound quality is better than what I expected.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works Great
4/11/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Bluetooth option works well. Already used the radio to call for a tow after my boat broke down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
To bluetooth or not to bluetooth
4/11/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like a lot of things about this radio. Its light and sturdy and it floats in water. I have not taken it out on my kayak yet but I think it will provide lots of piece of mind when I am out 2 to 3 miles off shore and need to hail a buddy fisherman. I was hoping to use the bluetooth technology with my cell phone. I have tried the voice recognition and it does not seem to work very well in the quietness of my house, so I think out on the ocean it will fair even worse. Saying the phone numbers does seem to work better for voice dialing. The last dialed number also works very well. Hope this helps others looking to purchase this radio.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/15/2011
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
been wanting this product for a backup to my fixed mount on flats boat. this product caught my eye because of the new bluetooth technology. Picked it up and turned it on, had great weather report signal but went to set up bluetooth the Friday before going fishing Saturday to try it out and bluetooth worked for a minute and then shut down and bluetooth could never pair up again. Tech's ofcourse had no idea and said return it to cobra or the store of purchase. well second one is on the way and we will see what happens.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Awesome
2/8/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Buy this product. It works awesome. It is water proof, floats, and can link up with your blue tooth cell phone. Has very cool scanning features as well. Paperwork states it works up to 6 miles which I think is correct when I consider all the radio chatter I pick up from distant areas. Cobra Customer service is awesome as well. My blue tooth feature stopped syncing with my phone. I mailed them the radio and within 5 days I had a brand new unit at more door. The new unit has been completely trouble free. This radio is very inexpensive and better (in my opinion) than the West Marine options. Just buy it and try out, you will like it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Works great
8/15/2011
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This is a functional radio for using on our day sailboat. Nice to have a radio in case the unexpected happens.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
nice radio
10/21/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
excellent price and fast shipping
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641774, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-