Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.4out of 5 stars
4.4 out of 5 | 1363 reviews
5 stars
882
4 stars
296
3 stars
89
2 stars
40
1 stars
56
Sort by: 
1-20 of 1193 reviews
1-20 of 1193 reviews
Finally a quality product for less
7/11/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Nice fitted quality shorts that won't break your bank! I will surely order more! Please do not discontinue these ever!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (45)No (16)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Basic item that lives up to expectations
3/1/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Sometimes the hardest things to find are the most basic. These bike shorts are everything you could expect and more, especially given the price. I ran a half marathon in these with some running shorts over them. In terms of comfort, they were very good. Did not ride up, absorbed sweat away from my body due to the polyester, were breathable due to the cotton, and the wide waistband stays in place with no folding over. (Note that online the fiber content only says cotton, but the ones I got in store are cotton/poly.) The fit was accurate, possibly the tiniest bit on the large size. I wear a small in Nike and that runs just slightly tight on me. I bought small in these and they ran just slightly loose on me. So depending on how you like your fit and if you fall between sizes you may go up or down. I was very happy with these and plan to buy all the other colors soon to mix and match with my run shorts. Excellent value given the quality for the price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (84)No (13)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Comfy but thigh rides up
8/3/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I wear size 12 and am 5'6. I bought these for cycling, as they are "bike shorts". They are very comfortable and dry fast. They aren't really the best for cycling since the thighs do ride up. I don't know if I should have bought a larger size or smaller. But they feel too cozy-not tight at all- to have gone larger and I can't imagine using a medium in bike shorts. I used the size chart and with 43 hips I should be at the large. The thighs definitely ride up. I also used them at the gym and it was very embarrassing. I used them jogging and was constantly pulling them down. They don't ride up while I'm just wearing them to hang around the house. But as far as any exercises go, not the best to wear. The reason I gave them high marks was due to the price. They are very inexpensive. If they didn't ride up at the thigh I would buy a bunch more. But as far as I'm concerned, bike shorts need to hug the thighs and stay down.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (113)No (14)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not see-through!!
4/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Such a great price for two pairs of cycling shorts. I personally wanted them to wear with big t-shirts and tunics, not to actually bike in. The fabric is not too heavy to wear in the heat, I live in Texas and I've been fine in warm weather while wearing them. Still probably not the best choice for 100+ degrees, but idk. I sized up to a Medium from a Small even though I fit the largest range the size Small indicated--I'm so glad I did! The legs fit perfectly and the waist is only minimally loose, and I feel that if I had chosen a Small then the waist would've been too constricting (and thus also worse in warm weather when you don't want your clothes and waistbands to be too tight). These are also not see-through which rocks!! I saw some thin cycling shorts at Target that I was going to purchase just because I wanted them right away, but when I got home to try them on, they were totally see-through! Also they were ~$16 per pair. These are two for ~$14, and the shipping was faster than I had expected. Thank you Walmart. Maybe I will have to buy these in the other colors as well.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (119)No (23)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Fit for In-Between Plus-Size Women!
11/16/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I'm at a shape and size where most plus-sizes are too large, and most non plus-sizes are too small. I have a hard time finding clothes that fit, I seem to be in the middle of the two categories - but these shorts are AWESOME! They fit nice and snugly, but not tight, they FIT. The waist is not too high, which is a problem with a lot of plus size clothes - the waist to crotch seam is soooo long - but, these are great! I'm a size 18 at my favorite boutique, but an 18 at most department stores are too small for my thick middle. For example, if you hold up a Plus 1X and a Regular XXL there is a HUGE difference, well I am in the middle of that difference, and it is VERY frustrating! However, I would HIGHLY recommend these if you find yourself in that too big/too small size range, too. The length is great for thicker inner-thighs, too, but not so low to the knee that you look thick-legged. They are VERY comfortable, even though they are seamed - they just melt onto your body. I am going to buy some more pairs next month! Yay! I wash them on cold, inside out, and dry them inside out, too, to keep the color dark and not worn. So far, so good! Congratulations Danskin for making workout clothes for big girls! And, thank you to Walmart for selling them! :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (425)No (15)
Report
Was this review helpful?
So comfortable & no muffin top :)
5/13/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Love these shorts - nice & thick material, very thin elastic in the very upper portion of waist band along with a wider "material" waist line. Combined, they keep you looking smooth with no muffin top while being tight enough to stay up. I have some Danskin yoga shorts that are constantly falling down - these haven't done that once. I marked them down on styling slightly because there is a seam that runs straight down each cheek of your bottom... I could have lived without racing stripes on my toosh. I use them for general housework and lounge time so I can't say if the legs would ride up running or biking as some other reviews have mentioned. Great fit - I'm 5'7" currently weighing 169 lbs. I bought a L at 180 lbs. They fit perfect then, they still fit good though a little looser. I'm actively dieting & exercising so when I hit 160, I'll have to reorder in M.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (53)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Daily shorts
4/11/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought these on sale last month. The sizing chart is perfect, & the waist is wide with separate elastic at top & bottom of waist. Only negative they do ride up. So I ordered the next size up - that was a mistake as they still ride up but tend to rest on my hips rather than my waist. Bottom line - here ordering more, great daily short for the money & you needn't worry about weight fluctuations. I do ride my bike, goal is daily, so don't need to change. The riding up still does protect you visually so I just pull them down a bit in the dismounting. Considering "true" bike shorts are upward of $20.00 a pair, I'll live with the riding up & use the true bike shorts for long distance riding. Hey, Danskin how about better colors?
Was this review helpful?
Yes (27)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My go-to for an extra under layer
6/21/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I buy these in the Size XL 16/18, I am 5'8" tall and I would wear a size 20 in Women's Plus size pants. I have worn these shorts every day for years (well, not if it gets colder than 50 degrees, I switch to long underwear.) I got tired of the chafing from the inseams of my jeans, wearing this extra layer solved the problem. The best thing is, if I get too hot, I can pull off my jeans and still be dressed well enough to go on with my life. The fabric and elastic of these shorts are pretty durable, it is cool and comfortable, wears and washes/dries well. I would suggest air drying them if you have the time, but they handle a medium dryer heat quite well. They haven't faded much. I am sorry there aren't more color options.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (58)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I LOVE these bike shorts. I am 5'4, 170lbs with a bigger backside and the large fits as it should. The length is great, doesnt show a flash of booty when I bend but they are still identifiable as shorts. I use them for bottoms to my swim tankini, and they are not see thru when wet. I would recommend these to anyone looking for a lounge short, workout gear or like me to use for swimming.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (139)No (7)
Report
Was this review helpful?
These must run small...
12/27/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
as the small size fits my daughter. She is tall for her age - about 100 lbs. and just under 5'. These fit her perfectly. They seem t be very nicely made. The waist band is about 2" thick and rides just below the waist. There are two seams down the rear on each cheek. Cotton crotch. Nice fabric - stretchy but comfy. Not too short - maybe 4 or so inches above the knee. They're just perfect for her to wear under her school uniform skirt AND modest enough to wear alone.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (185)No (18)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Most comfortable shorts ever!
7/9/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought these after reading other reviews on this website. I run a lot and do exercise classes, including outdoor bootcamp classes, and was looking for a pair of comfortable shorts I could do both in. Regular shorts allow chafing of the thighs and ride up while running, and underwear shots when on the ground doing exercises like leg lifts. The concensus from other owners of these shorts were positive, although a number of people said the sizing was off - some said they ran big, others said they ran small. I really didn't know what to think so I ordered the 2-pk in LG 12-14 (I am 5'7 1/2 and weigh ~155lb. - I know women's clothes sizes are all over the place but I pretty much wear size 12 and 14 in pants#. These are the most comfortable shorts I own! They fit perfectly. They fit just low enough below the waist that bending over is comfortable - no waistband pinching or squeezing. The legs are a great length and are not tight or loose, they fit the leg and stay in place, so no riding up while running and no peep-show while exercising. The material is super comfy and stretches with you, not constricts you and they hold their shape after washing #I wash them in cold water and line dry). One day of exercising in them and I knew these were going to be my everyday shorts so I ordered another 2-pk immediately. I wear them for running, exercising, gardening, shopping, everything - throw on a long shirt or short skirt and these are perfect for underneath to give that extra cover. They are so comfy you can even sleep in them. A definate thumbs-up for these shorts. And Wal-mart shipping is fast - they arrived in just a few days.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (65)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great fit
1/2/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I like these short because they fit tight enough to stay in place and not ride up between legs, and you know what I mean
Was this review helpful?
Yes (48)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
no more chubb rub
9/10/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i wear these under my skirts to prevent chaffing and have bought many over the past 3 years. order a size down as they do stretch a bit. i'm 213 at 5'9'' and i buy a L. I actually wear them inside out so the tag doesn't tickle me, usually with underwear, sometimes not. They are also great pj's or for staying in the house. i do not wear them in public being a big girl! the price is less than some underwear! i currently own about 12 pairs and am buying some more to replace my XL's as the Large doesn't add bulk underneath my skirt. When i come home for the day I take my skirt off and i'm already in my house clothes, just need to change my top.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good Purchase!
3/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Looked at the reviews before I purchased and was not sure the shorts would work for me. I'm a size 16 (shapely with hips) and ordered the next size up in the XXL as mentioned in the other reviews. The shorts fit well, not too loose, and just enough room and extremely comfortable. I purchased the black color and happy with my purchase. I use the short for around the house and plan to use it for exercising as well. I wore it around the house for most of the day and the shorts did not rise up. Glad I made the purchase and thanks to you all for the reviews especially when you include your size, which always helps.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
4/24/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Waist 30", hips 38", purchased the shorts in Small on the recommendations from other reviews. Small fits well. Intend on wearing them under dresses and when running. They sit at or slightly below waist and extend about four inches below crotch.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (23)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect! Just what I have been looking for.
5/19/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I love these. I have been looking for bike shorts just like these and I am very happy. I love wearing leggings under my dresses but in the summer that would be too hot. So when I found these I had to have them. They arrived today and they fit perfect. Nice and snug and short so no one will see them under my dresses this summer! I can even workout in them. They are good quality and the material is very soft! The price is amazing for a 2 pack. I want more!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (114)No (17)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/18/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I went all over town looking for just basic shorts like this and couldn't find them anywhere! Finally checked Walmart online and saw them for an excellent price with $.97 shipping. Had them shipped to my house and was impressed with their quality. Great deal!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
perfect for those thighs that rub together!
11/10/2013
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
love these under skirts, absorbent and comfortable,
Was this review helpful?
Yes (32)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good for running
4/12/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I use these in size M and L for running long distances (7-12 miles) to prevent chafing, and they work great. No seam or chafe issues for me. Sizing seems to run a little small. I am 136lbs, 5'7 and own them in both Medium and Large. Great price for this type of short. Length is also good, they are not too long like some "bike" shorts, and they are not so short as to leave your thighs open for chafing. They also have not shrunk in the wash which is good. Have been wearing for at least a year now.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (20)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not just for women!
10/27/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
For us that want shorts that are not "short Pants". Nice material and fit!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (26)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184641765, DC-prod-dfw4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-