Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
17
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
19
1-20 of 71 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
Great Bike for the Price 4/11/2011
4/13/2011

Customer review by Razzamatazz

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by Razzamatazz
by Razzamatazz

Not sure what everyone is complaining about. I learned a saying from a very young age. You get what you pay for. We bought two of these bikes and couldnt be happier. For the price its a very good bike. We went at least 5 miles the first day we bought it. I am 6'2 and 270 lbs of muscle and this bike was able to take on the punishment I gave it. The only thing that I odd thing I noticed with the bike was the shifting. it wouldnt shift as smoothly as it should but I knew the bike was out on display and and the chains had to be lubed up. Other then that no issues at all. If you are looking to do some good biking and not break the bank then this bike is a safe bet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Razzamatazz
Manchester NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/16/2010

Customer review by dad4ever1976

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by dad4ever1976
by dad4ever1976
Walmart associate

I purchased this bike to replace my old viper mountain bike, was an awesome purchase and very happy with it, alot better ride and smooth on the roads. i would recommend this bike to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dad4ever1976
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
good bike
4/20/2010

Customer review by kla250

4.0 stars 4/20/2010 by kla250
by kla250

I bought this bike after breaking my other one. It actually arrived to my house quicker than what Walmart.com said it would. It only took me about 15 mins to assemble and another 15 to get everything adjusted, such as brakes and gear shifts. I had a little problem getting the front tire to take air. I have taken the bike through some mild trails and jumps. It seems to be holding up real good. I am a 200 lb man and ride hard. I used to mountain bike alot. I've owned the high dollar bikes and this one seems to ride as good as they did, just a little heavier. It seems to be a quality built bike. I bought this one because I wanted something cheap to see if me and my boy's wanted to get into trail riding. I am very pleased with this purchase. The bike looks great and rides real smooth. After making the adjustments everything on the bike works great. I am going to get my oldest son one of these bikes also. I have only had the bike for a week, but am expecting a good amount of use out of this bike.

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kla250
fitzgerald, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good for what you pay
10/14/2010

Customer review by KvnD

5.0 stars 10/14/2010 by KvnD
by KvnD

This bike has met all of my expectaions. There are some mixed reviews and I was very skeptical from that, but took the chance based on a few factors. Most of the complaints stated simple issues that led to a bad experiences. I saw a lot of flat tires, chain issues, bent rims and so on. I bought this bike assembled from the store, first thing I did was check every bolt for proper tension. Then aired the tires to proper inflation psi. Made sure to oil and lubricate all movable components. Basically, don't trust anyone else to assemble the bike for you. I realized this bike was below $150, some bikes that look the same go for $1500. It's obviouse the $1500 ones are better bikes, but this bike is fine for the casual rider. Read the 1 star reviews, most, if not all, issues can be fixed with a little work on your part. I weigh over 200 lbs and pull my 2 yr old in a trailer and have nothing but enjoyment while riding this bike.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KvnD
Hurst, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Assemble and adjust properly and it will be great
9/6/2010

Customer review by viking4949

4.0 stars 9/6/2010 by viking4949
by viking4949

A bicycle is like a guitar, even the best classic Les Paul will sound horrible if it is not properly tuned. A bike is the same way. The SRAM shifting is a little complicated, but when adjusted correctly is amazing. The next key is that all bikes will need constant adjustment, cables stretch, screws move, it has to be maintained. This bike is terrible on a road as-is. It is designed to be off road. The wider tires with the aggressive tread do not coast well on pavement...it was not designed to. Changing to a smoother tire that operates at a higher psi makes a huge difference. The suspension is good for the price range. Remember that true dual suspension bikes cost around $1200. I am a big guy, weighing about 330 lbs, and the bike can handle me. Flat tires happen, especially if the rim liner is not installed properly or if tools are used. A major downfall is that there is no where to mount a water bottle, but I got a camel pack and it is fine.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
viking4949
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
EPIC BIKE!
8/18/2010

Customer review by Cyanotic

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by Cyanotic
by Cyanotic

First, I wrote this review based on the fact that I'm a former bike assembler and tester and I have current knowledge on various bikes, braking systems, and gearing systems. So, I hope you will find this review helpful. The Mongoose XR-75 performed exactly how I expected it to. The front fork and mono shock suspension systems make going over curbs or any rough terrain very comfortable and easy to manuver. The Shimano TZ Shift System is exactly what I was looking foward to, one click and there's the gear you want and it's shifts so smoothly too! (Properly adjusted of course.) The weight of the bike is very light, thanks to the aluminum frame it's roughly 41lbs, Which makes it easy to ride and easy to carry upstairs. Now, I do recommend buying a more comfortable seat because the one that comes with it is not exactly what I would call friendly on the rear or pelvic areas. (Especially if you're a heavy person like myself. Just to give an example, I'm 6'2" 256lbs.) But, it is sturdy. Honestly, the bike does a lot more for it's small price. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a great, yet affordable bike!

Was this review helpful? (42) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cyanotic
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
6/7/2010

Customer review by JeepFreak333

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by JeepFreak333
by JeepFreak333

Excellent Value for the money. For Optimum performance, you must tune the wheels, brakes, and make sure all bolts and screws are tight. I am a tall rider (6'2") and preferr to sit more upright instead of leaning over, so I had to replace the handlebars for a "High Rise" (5") for $7.95 (NOT AT WALMART). I also like a more comfortable seat so I purchase a Bell Gel Cell. Add Zefal bar end mirrors ($6.95 each end - $14.00) and you are on the road. Both seat and mirrors are available at Walmart. Gears shift a little hard at first but with some use and a little lubrication, this bike is a great deal. NOT a hard core mountain biker, so don't know how it would stand up on rough trails, but great for leisure trails and Rails to Trails conversions. This is my third Mongoose over the past 15 years. When the tires, tubes, cables, and chain need replacing, I just buy a new bike. Highly recommended for the PRICE!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JeepFreak333
Bristol, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike!
4/28/2010

Customer review by CommitedOutdoorsman

5.0 stars 4/28/2010 by CommitedOutdoorsman
by CommitedOutdoorsman

I had wanted a good mountain bike so I researched and found this one in my price range. I had needed more money but I watched it like a hawk. Eventually I went to look at it again and that was the day that they changed the price down to 99.00. I bought it and ever since the nnever regretted it. I ride it almost every day on back country hills, and the gear shifteds always get it done. It's gears are really easy to turn and the suspension is faantastic. Bought one of these for my older sister at 67.00 for her graduation from college this week. We are going to bike across americe in four years. (am probaly going going to get another one by then)

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CommitedOutdoorsman
SelinsgrovePA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not Bad
5/9/2011

Customer review by TexxasRider

4.0 stars 5/9/2011 by TexxasRider
by TexxasRider

I am a college student who was looking for a decent bike at an even better price. Went to Wal-Mart and was quickly impressed with the beauty of this bike. Read a couple reviews and said what the heck, why not? 3 months later I am writing this review to help fellow riders make an informative decision. Not Bad! Remember you always get what you pay for, so there may be some slight issues, but overall its working amazing. I ride 6 days a week on rough terrain and the only problems I have had have been a flat tire (My Fault---:), chained popped out once but fixed in less than a minute (got a little dirty), and my breaks were a tad weak (tighten the screws myself and works like a charm). What Im getting at is they are minor things you can adjust yourself. Id buy it again in a heartbeat. Noone believes me when I tell em where I got it and for how much. No lie, Ive actually stopped telling people cuz now I see 4 dudes riding the same bike at the university. Bummer! lol Good luck on your decision~

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TexxasRider
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth every cent
4/18/2010

Customer review by 51504LIFE

4.0 stars 4/18/2010 by 51504LIFE
by 51504LIFE

I have just recently purchased this product. It is actually an awesome bike, the frame is excellent. I have had to upgrade the neck, stem, and rims because I'm a little over the weight capacity for them but for the price I have no complaint. For any-body under 200 lbs I see no problem with the stock equipment. I purchased the 1 year warranty and I plan on using it to the fullest. Before riding you should always check to make sure everything is tightened down properly and set to a comfortable zone for you. I would buy this product a hundred times over and I have just recently purchased one for my fiance. So if your looking to get in shape or you just need something to cruise around on this is the bike for you.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
51504LIFE
Port Angeles, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Alright but problamatic - buy at the store.
6/6/2010

Customer review by Cheno1115

3.0 stars 6/6/2010 by Cheno1115
by Cheno1115

When purchasing the bike online, it comes almost assembled. All you need to do is just put on the front tire, the seat, and tighten down the handlebar. However, the brakes are not adjusted, neither are the gears. The breaks are a bit simple but the gears aren't. It took me about a day to fine-tune the rear derailleur but the front one did not come properly angled. The front tire also came bent. I took it to walmart and they fixed the front tire bent for the most part, but after riding over one curb going about 5 MPH, the back tire rim bent. Taking this bike to my local bike shop, They estimated that it would cost around 50 dollars labor to fix all of the broken aspects. I returned the bike to walmart and luckily, they had one assembled and ready to go. After that, I had no problems with the bike. The seat however was uncomfortable, so You will need a bike pad or a new saddle. Despite all of the problems, Save yourself time and money by purchasing it at the store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cheno1115
Chippewa Falls, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Nothing but trouble...
7/14/2010

Customer review by angelflyn2close

1.0 stars 7/14/2010 by angelflyn2close
by angelflyn2close

I read the reviews before we bought this bike and saw a mixture of good and bad reviews. We figured we'd take the chance that the bike would be one of the good ones. No such luck. We bought this bike for our 13 yr old son last month for his birthday. He loved it...we had no trouble assembling or making the needed adjustments. He rode the bike a couple of times and then the problems started. Two flat tires within a few days of each other. Found a wire between the wheel and the tube that was puncturing the tube. The guide for the chain broke...chain kept coming off and finally broke the cheap plastic chain guard. The mono shock broke in half today inside the spring. The kick stand won't stay on. The handlebar grips keep sliding off, the shifter popped out of it's housing...it's been one problem after another! We're taking the bike back and I wouldn't recommend this bike to anyone! Too bad we have to give it one star...it should be no stars!

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
angelflyn2close
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
A great bike
9/7/2010

Customer review by bumperlane

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by bumperlane
by bumperlane

This a great bike ! I saw the bike in my store and i just had to get it. The colors (yellow and black) I call it BumbleBee ! just caught my eye . What I like the most is the spring shock absorber suspension and having the shifters on the handle grips. Had the bike for two weeks now. No problems whatsoever ! I recommend this bike to anyone !

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bumperlane
Warsaw, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
11/21/2010

Customer review by Freen

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by Freen
by Freen

I bought this bike in February 2010 and have put about 1700 miles on it so far. How much more could you ask for a bike this price? Yes, I have had to tighten and adjust a few things over that period, but so what? It's par for the course.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Freen
Tampa,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Get what you pay for!
6/28/2010

Customer review by virtual00

3.0 stars 6/28/2010 by virtual00
by virtual00

The only thing great about this bike is how it looks! You really do get what you pay for. Overall the bike is worth the money but if you don't know how to properly adjust everything then expect to pay around $75 at a local bike shop for them to do that for you. Which is exactly what I did with this bike and an identical model for my wife. First of all the wheels were crooked and needed adjusting which is something I did not know how to do. In the steering column? (car term) one of the ball bearings was missing a ball so I was really glad I took it to the bike shop. The gears don't shift right on any of these cheaper bikes and the bike tech explained to me it's because the cabling used on these shifters is actually break cabling (cheaper stuff) so the only solution is to replace it (which i didn't). So even after fancy adjusting the gears just don't shift right which is something I can live with since I don't ride that much. So if I knew better I'd spend the extra $ and get a better bike especially if you plan on keeping it for a while. Oh and unless you know bikes do plan on taking it to the pro for proper tune up which jacks up the overall price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
virtual00
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
mongoose xr-75
4/25/2010

Customer review by chatosunshine

1.0 stars 4/25/2010 by chatosunshine
by chatosunshine

Terrible quality Broke chain first day and the gears never worked properly. Rear rim was warped after riding off curb. I'm 185 lbs.Rear tire had to be aired up daily since new. Walmart says they will take it back we'll see wedesday. Do not buy. If you do, at least purchase the warranty and let someone qualified adjust the bike and dial it in.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chatosunshine
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
had to return it!!!!!!!!
10/29/2010

Customer review by elpapi

3.0 stars 10/29/2010 by elpapi
by elpapi

After reading reviews on this bike some where very good so i decided to buy it. What a mistake!!! I notice the handling feels cheap. I took it on a 6 mile test drive and almost didnt make it back home. I had adjusted the gears before the ride an everything was looking good. As soon is i rode for a mile the chain started slipping and making noise. No matter what gear i put it on the chain still clacked and skiped ever so often. Just when i though nothing else could go wrong the ball bearing on the pedal housing started clacking also. When i heard that i knew i had to return this bike. The bike is not bad looking and maybe is suitable for lighter riders,but not for a 250 lbs man!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elpapi
miami
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I would rather ride an actual Mongoose
7/5/2010

Customer review by SmartCanadian

1.0 stars 7/5/2010 by SmartCanadian
by SmartCanadian

First thing I noticed is the 2 warped wheels, then I tried to peddle 10 feet, but when I turn the front wheel collides with my pedaling foot. HUGE problem as I plan on steering plenty of times while riding, but not if the wheel hits my foot and prevents that. I geared up and heard nothing but grinding. Plus it feels like a very unsturdy bike and I only weigh 175pds. Will return it the same day

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SmartCanadian
los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A Gem!
5/8/2010

Customer review by PerverseParty

4.0 stars 5/8/2010 by PerverseParty
by PerverseParty

This bike was is amazing! I bought it on a monday, and went to the mountain on tuesday. It was great for the most part, everything worked really well. However with absolutely no experience in mountain biking, I rode it down a very high steep mountain, which bent the tire. I took a tumble. Even with the bug fall the bike stayed together, I took it to a shop to get the wheel fixed. But overall it was a great and fun bike.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PerverseParty
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
You get what you pay for.
5/5/2010

Customer review by TSCPM

2.0 stars 5/5/2010 by TSCPM
by TSCPM

After Buying this bike and having damaged parts (not sure what is going on with that) I am not happy. The Bike looks great, but has junk components such as the gears and brakes. I tried to trade it in at a local Bike shop and they offered me $20 because it's a mongoose. You really get what you pay for, don't expect much :(

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TSCPM
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews