Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 76 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

3.5 stars

76 reviews | 3.3 out of 5

58%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
17
3 stars
10
2 stars
6
1 stars
19
1-20 of 71 total reviews
58%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews
good bike
4/20/2010

Customer review by kla250

4.0 stars 4/20/2010 by kla250
by kla250

I bought this bike after breaking my other one. It actually arrived to my house quicker than what Walmart.com said it would. It only took me about 15 mins to assemble and another 15 to get everything adjusted, such as brakes and gear shifts. I had a little problem getting the front tire to take air. I have taken the bike through some mild trails and jumps. It seems to be holding up real good. I am a 200 lb man and ride hard. I used to mountain bike alot. I've owned the high dollar bikes and this one seems to ride as good as they did, just a little heavier. It seems to be a quality built bike. I bought this one because I wanted something cheap to see if me and my boy's wanted to get into trail riding. I am very pleased with this purchase. The bike looks great and rides real smooth. After making the adjustments everything on the bike works great. I am going to get my oldest son one of these bikes also. I have only had the bike for a week, but am expecting a good amount of use out of this bike.

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kla250
fitzgerald, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
EPIC BIKE!
8/18/2010

Customer review by Cyanotic

5.0 stars 8/18/2010 by Cyanotic
by Cyanotic

First, I wrote this review based on the fact that I'm a former bike assembler and tester and I have current knowledge on various bikes, braking systems, and gearing systems. So, I hope you will find this review helpful. The Mongoose XR-75 performed exactly how I expected it to. The front fork and mono shock suspension systems make going over curbs or any rough terrain very comfortable and easy to manuver. The Shimano TZ Shift System is exactly what I was looking foward to, one click and there's the gear you want and it's shifts so smoothly too! (Properly adjusted of course.) The weight of the bike is very light, thanks to the aluminum frame it's roughly 41lbs, Which makes it easy to ride and easy to carry upstairs. Now, I do recommend buying a more comfortable seat because the one that comes with it is not exactly what I would call friendly on the rear or pelvic areas. (Especially if you're a heavy person like myself. Just to give an example, I'm 6'2" 256lbs.) But, it is sturdy. Honestly, the bike does a lot more for it's small price. I would recommend this product to anyone looking for a great, yet affordable bike!

Was this review helpful? (41) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cyanotic
Alexandria, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good for what you pay
10/14/2010

Customer review by KvnD

5.0 stars 10/14/2010 by KvnD
by KvnD

This bike has met all of my expectaions. There are some mixed reviews and I was very skeptical from that, but took the chance based on a few factors. Most of the complaints stated simple issues that led to a bad experiences. I saw a lot of flat tires, chain issues, bent rims and so on. I bought this bike assembled from the store, first thing I did was check every bolt for proper tension. Then aired the tires to proper inflation psi. Made sure to oil and lubricate all movable components. Basically, don't trust anyone else to assemble the bike for you. I realized this bike was below $150, some bikes that look the same go for $1500. It's obviouse the $1500 ones are better bikes, but this bike is fine for the casual rider. Read the 1 star reviews, most, if not all, issues can be fixed with a little work on your part. I weigh over 200 lbs and pull my 2 yr old in a trailer and have nothing but enjoyment while riding this bike.

Was this review helpful? (31) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KvnD
Hurst, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Bike!
4/28/2010

Customer review by CommitedOutdoorsman

5.0 stars 4/28/2010 by CommitedOutdoorsman
by CommitedOutdoorsman

I had wanted a good mountain bike so I researched and found this one in my price range. I had needed more money but I watched it like a hawk. Eventually I went to look at it again and that was the day that they changed the price down to 99.00. I bought it and ever since the nnever regretted it. I ride it almost every day on back country hills, and the gear shifteds always get it done. It's gears are really easy to turn and the suspension is faantastic. Bought one of these for my older sister at 67.00 for her graduation from college this week. We are going to bike across americe in four years. (am probaly going going to get another one by then)

Was this review helpful? (28) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CommitedOutdoorsman
SelinsgrovePA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth every cent
4/18/2010

Customer review by 51504LIFE

4.0 stars 4/18/2010 by 51504LIFE
by 51504LIFE

I have just recently purchased this product. It is actually an awesome bike, the frame is excellent. I have had to upgrade the neck, stem, and rims because I'm a little over the weight capacity for them but for the price I have no complaint. For any-body under 200 lbs I see no problem with the stock equipment. I purchased the 1 year warranty and I plan on using it to the fullest. Before riding you should always check to make sure everything is tightened down properly and set to a comfortable zone for you. I would buy this product a hundred times over and I have just recently purchased one for my fiance. So if your looking to get in shape or you just need something to cruise around on this is the bike for you.

Was this review helpful? (28) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
51504LIFE
Port Angeles, Wa.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Assemble and adjust properly and it will be great
9/6/2010

Customer review by viking4949

4.0 stars 9/6/2010 by viking4949
by viking4949

A bicycle is like a guitar, even the best classic Les Paul will sound horrible if it is not properly tuned. A bike is the same way. The SRAM shifting is a little complicated, but when adjusted correctly is amazing. The next key is that all bikes will need constant adjustment, cables stretch, screws move, it has to be maintained. This bike is terrible on a road as-is. It is designed to be off road. The wider tires with the aggressive tread do not coast well on pavement...it was not designed to. Changing to a smoother tire that operates at a higher psi makes a huge difference. The suspension is good for the price range. Remember that true dual suspension bikes cost around $1200. I am a big guy, weighing about 330 lbs, and the bike can handle me. Flat tires happen, especially if the rim liner is not installed properly or if tools are used. A major downfall is that there is no where to mount a water bottle, but I got a camel pack and it is fine.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
viking4949
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Value
6/7/2010

Customer review by JeepFreak333

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by JeepFreak333
by JeepFreak333

Excellent Value for the money. For Optimum performance, you must tune the wheels, brakes, and make sure all bolts and screws are tight. I am a tall rider (6'2") and preferr to sit more upright instead of leaning over, so I had to replace the handlebars for a "High Rise" (5") for $7.95 (NOT AT WALMART). I also like a more comfortable seat so I purchase a Bell Gel Cell. Add Zefal bar end mirrors ($6.95 each end - $14.00) and you are on the road. Both seat and mirrors are available at Walmart. Gears shift a little hard at first but with some use and a little lubrication, this bike is a great deal. NOT a hard core mountain biker, so don't know how it would stand up on rough trails, but great for leisure trails and Rails to Trails conversions. This is my third Mongoose over the past 15 years. When the tires, tubes, cables, and chain need replacing, I just buy a new bike. Highly recommended for the PRICE!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JeepFreak333
Bristol, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
A great bike
9/7/2010

Customer review by bumperlane

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by bumperlane
by bumperlane

This a great bike ! I saw the bike in my store and i just had to get it. The colors (yellow and black) I call it BumbleBee ! just caught my eye . What I like the most is the spring shock absorber suspension and having the shifters on the handle grips. Had the bike for two weeks now. No problems whatsoever ! I recommend this bike to anyone !

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bumperlane
Warsaw, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Bike
11/21/2010

Customer review by Freen

5.0 stars 11/21/2010 by Freen
by Freen

I bought this bike in February 2010 and have put about 1700 miles on it so far. How much more could you ask for a bike this price? Yes, I have had to tighten and adjust a few things over that period, but so what? It's par for the course.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Freen
Tampa,Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
mongoose xr-75
4/25/2010

Customer review by chatosunshine

1.0 stars 4/25/2010 by chatosunshine
by chatosunshine

Terrible quality Broke chain first day and the gears never worked properly. Rear rim was warped after riding off curb. I'm 185 lbs.Rear tire had to be aired up daily since new. Walmart says they will take it back we'll see wedesday. Do not buy. If you do, at least purchase the warranty and let someone qualified adjust the bike and dial it in.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chatosunshine
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
9/16/2010

Customer review by dad4ever1976

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by dad4ever1976
by dad4ever1976

I purchased this bike to replace my old viper mountain bike, was an awesome purchase and very happy with it, alot better ride and smooth on the roads. i would recommend this bike to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dad4ever1976
Salt Lake City, Utah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
Great Bike for the Price 4/11/2011
4/13/2011

Customer review by Razzamatazz

5.0 stars 4/13/2011 by Razzamatazz
by Razzamatazz

Not sure what everyone is complaining about. I learned a saying from a very young age. You get what you pay for. We bought two of these bikes and couldnt be happier. For the price its a very good bike. We went at least 5 miles the first day we bought it. I am 6'2 and 270 lbs of muscle and this bike was able to take on the punishment I gave it. The only thing that I odd thing I noticed with the bike was the shifting. it wouldnt shift as smoothly as it should but I knew the bike was out on display and and the chains had to be lubed up. Other then that no issues at all. If you are looking to do some good biking and not break the bank then this bike is a safe bet.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Razzamatazz
Manchester NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
I would rather ride an actual Mongoose
7/5/2010

Customer review by SmartCanadian

1.0 stars 7/5/2010 by SmartCanadian
by SmartCanadian

First thing I noticed is the 2 warped wheels, then I tried to peddle 10 feet, but when I turn the front wheel collides with my pedaling foot. HUGE problem as I plan on steering plenty of times while riding, but not if the wheel hits my foot and prevents that. I geared up and heard nothing but grinding. Plus it feels like a very unsturdy bike and I only weigh 175pds. Will return it the same day

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SmartCanadian
los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
very good longivity
12/15/2010

Customer review by techteen

5.0 stars 12/15/2010 by techteen
by techteen

a friend gave me this bike and it was in pretty good conditions but the cables were badly stretched and slighty rusted. i tune the brakes suspension and gears and after that every body that rode this bike said they have never riden a more pleasurable bike. i highly recomend this bike has held up very well for me

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
techteen
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Gem!
5/8/2010

Customer review by PerverseParty

4.0 stars 5/8/2010 by PerverseParty
by PerverseParty

This bike was is amazing! I bought it on a monday, and went to the mountain on tuesday. It was great for the most part, everything worked really well. However with absolutely no experience in mountain biking, I rode it down a very high steep mountain, which bent the tire. I took a tumble. Even with the bug fall the bike stayed together, I took it to a shop to get the wheel fixed. But overall it was a great and fun bike.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PerverseParty
Riverside, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very very disappointed
9/13/2010

Customer review by Bforever

1.0 stars 9/13/2010 by Bforever
by Bforever

Look at all the bad reviews this bike is getting and do not ignore them. I bought this bike knowing that there was mixed reviews hoping that I would get one of the good ones. Boy, was I wrong. Terrible bike! Fell apart the first day I rode it. Don't buy this bike if you know what's good for you.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bforever
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it!!!
4/3/2011

Customer review by Biking4Life

5.0 stars 4/3/2011 by Biking4Life
by Biking4Life

This bike is amazing, fun to down hill, Takes the bumps really nice, I love this bike

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Biking4Life
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth It
7/29/2010

Customer review by BikeExpert13

4.0 stars 7/29/2010 by BikeExpert13
by BikeExpert13

Very nice sturdy bike but the rear suspension bottoms out way to easy!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BikeExpert13
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Cheap for a reason
6/11/2010

Customer review by bp37na

3.0 stars 6/11/2010 by bp37na
by bp37na

Had a lot of problems with it, took it to a bike shop to get looked at and still not that great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bp37na
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
had to return it!!!!!!!!
10/29/2010

Customer review by elpapi

3.0 stars 10/29/2010 by elpapi
by elpapi

After reading reviews on this bike some where very good so i decided to buy it. What a mistake!!! I notice the handling feels cheap. I took it on a 6 mile test drive and almost didnt make it back home. I had adjusted the gears before the ride an everything was looking good. As soon is i rode for a mile the chain started slipping and making noise. No matter what gear i put it on the chain still clacked and skiped ever so often. Just when i though nothing else could go wrong the ball bearing on the pedal housing started clacking also. When i heard that i knew i had to return this bike. The bike is not bad looking and maybe is suitable for lighter riders,but not for a 250 lbs man!!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
elpapi
miami
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 71 total reviews
1-20 of 71 reviews