Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 63 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

63 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

63 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

76%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
41
4 stars
9
3 stars
5
2 stars
6
1 stars
2
1-20 of 61 total reviews
76%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews
Slow to respond when taking pictures
7/6/2010

Customer review by Darron

2.0 stars 7/6/2010 by Darron
by Darron

This camera was put in service to replace a 870 Canon which by the way is a stellar camera. The features for the 3500 are quite nice and the touch screen is easy to use. I am severely disappointed in the speed in which the camera performs. I do have expectations that the camera would perform much slower than a SLR. The camera speed is beyond ridiculous; and when shooting photos stalls out for 2 to 4 seconds between shots. I thought the fireworks option would be a fun tool to take pictures over the Fourth of July. This served to be fruitless. The 4g Cellular phone (8 megapixel camera phone ) out did this camera. If a shot was taken, the camera would stall out for 6 -7-8 seconds to get the shot. I am beyond disappointed in the camera. Ooooppppssss I missed that picture is common on this unit due to slow speed. This is the second unit send out by a very responsible retailer. The first unit had a defective time and date stamp issue. I give this unit a think twice be for purchase; 2 thumbs down!

Darron
Minneapolis St Pau
Would recommend to a friend? No
One Awesome Camera!
6/13/2010

Customer review by txhill2020

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by txhill2020
by txhill2020

The Canon Powershot SD3500 IS is truly awesome!! I did a lot of research and read reviews from professional critics before purchasing this camera a few weeks ago. I normally use a Canon digital slr but wanted a camera that was lightweight and could fit in my pocket, and one that took great photos. I just returned from a weeklong commercial photo shoot out of state and I'm proud to say many of the photos I shot with the SD3500 will appear online in a national campaign featuring high-tech and lifestyle scenes. Some of the photos had to be shot in low light conditions. The SD3500 photos are sharp and in many cases better than the ones I shot with my slr. I programmed the camera to shoot at the highest/largest size settings, which takes up a lot more memory on the SD card. But, that was ok since I had extra cards with me. The touch screen was easy to maneuver and it doesn’t take a rocket scientist to figure out the menus. Also, the color balance and saturation in the photos are remarkable. There’s very little correction that needs to be done in PhotoShop. I haven’t tried recording video yet, so I can’t comment about that. This is a very easy camera to use and it takes fantastic photos. I'm sure glad I made the investment. By-the-way, Walmart.com had the lowest prices. My camera was bundled with a 2 gig SD card.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
txhill2020
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Best Camera I've Ever Owned!
12/2/2010

Customer review by StarBright

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by StarBright
by StarBright

I've had a Kodak and a Sony, and now I have a Canon. My favorite out of the 3? You guessed it, the Canon! I had originally bought the SX210, and was not happy with it. It took great pictures, but it took too long to view the pics after it took them. And I really didn't like where the flash was or how the menu and features were set up. So, I took it back and got this one. Immediately I fell in love with it, and the more I play with it the more I like it. It has some really fun features, as well as takes GREAT pictures. I'm still getting used to the wide angle lens because now I don't have to back up so much to get more in the picture. I actually have to get closer than I'm used to. I have a baby and a toddler so I wanted to make sure that I had a camera that would be able to keep up with them. I'm concerned about the touch screen getting broken, but I got a service plan so we're all set. Easy camera to use once you get to know it, and it takes great pics and great video's. The sound on teh video is great as well. I may have to give up my camcorder, because this is all I need. Thanks Canon!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
StarBright
Downeast Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Good, but needs improvement
6/16/2010

Customer review by KP

4.0 stars 6/16/2010 by KP
by KP

This camera has a great touch screen and many great features like fish-eye and miniature mode. The HD movie is a good quality. This is one of the best cameras ever for taking outside shots: the quality is excellent. This camera is compact and is very durable. I feel like I could drop this camera off the top of a building and it would still work. However, the price is a bit much. The picture quality indoors is not what it should be for such an expensive camera. Trying to take pictures in dimly lit areas does not work well. I feel the optical zoom could also be better for the price you pay. Sometimes the image stabilization does not seem to work. Also, the shutter speed is terrible compared to other camera brands. Finally, the battery life is not good at all. The large LCD screen drains it fast. All in all it is a great outdoors camera and good for movies, but again seems a bit pricey and has a terrible battery life. I would still recommend a Canon camera to anyone though.

KP
Kansas City
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best camera out there
5/1/2010

Customer review by Purplelicious81

5.0 stars 5/1/2010 by Purplelicious81
by Purplelicious81

Just bought my new Canon Powershot SD3500 IS and totally in love with it. I has very neat features as color accent and color swap. The touchscreen is very big and very easy to use. Love the 14.1 megapixels, the camera it self is very light on weight and easy in the hand. I just can recommend to buy this camera, specially from Walmart, best price!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Purplelicious81
Killeen, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Features vs. Quality of Images
11/10/2010

Customer review by Tunasnaps

4.0 stars 11/10/2010 by Tunasnaps
by Tunasnaps

In looking for replacement for my point and shoot (A720IS) with over 10000 images taken, I thought to try the 3500. Features are cool. Viewing is cool. Images suffer though. Snapshot are great, but the noise and distortion of the images is very visible when compared with the older Canon camera (8 Mpixels). Even at low ISO equivalent there is more noise. It disappears in a small print, but very evident in enlargements that the larger pixel count should support. So for a cool, touch screen, very capable camera for snapshots - this is a good one, just don't expect the high pixel count to support high quality image enlargements. Touch screen is ok, although accidental selection of features can happen. After 1400 images, it's still just ok. The 720 was a workhorse when not carrying the 40D. Most recently, the S95 is about the same size, but 10 times the camera than the 3500. Need to have small hands to manipulate the controls, but I'd recommend it over the 3500 or its derivatives! But for snapshots, the 3500 is a fine choice.

Tunasnaps
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very happy so far
6/28/2010

Customer review by Joe W

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by Joe W
by Joe W

I bought this camera a week ago using gift card I got for Father's Day. Since I have only had it a week, I have not had a chance to try it in a lot of different situations but in over 50 pictures I have taken, only one was not good quality. With my prior camera, I got a large number of out of focus shots, dark pictures and fuzzy ones if subject moved. I love the touch screen which makes setting up scenes easier, and the big screen makes reviewing pictures a pleasure with so many options such as a slide show. I was a bit apprehensive about using a screen vs a viewfinder, especially in bright light but that has not proved to be a problem. All in all, I am extremely satisfied one week into it's use. My only complaint the design of the access doors for connecting the camera to a computer or TV are hard to open. The only other negative is the hard copy manual is skimpy but adequate to get started. The manual supplied on the DVD is very comprehensive

Joe W
Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Touch Screen Stubborn
7/1/2011

Customer review by Cherie

4.0 stars 7/1/2011 by Cherie
by Cherie

I love the camera after I read the entire manual (which I printed) and learned more about using it. It was a little frustrating until I did this. I bought it about a month ago and practiced taking immaterial pictures while reading the manual. There is one feature that I want to use, however, that refuses to work--setting touch actions. The touch actions are set, but camera will not perform the action when you touch the screen in desired path. I may take it back to the store to see if something is wrong with the SD3500 IS. Since I have only had it a month, they may replace it if they can not make it work either. Unfortunately, the clerks at the store where I purchased it are not knowledgable about the different cameras. Also, I don't think the Calibration works! I am happy with the pictures I have taken so far! It seems to be a good camera for the price if I can get these two feature fixed!

Cherie
OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall Canon's Best Yet
10/14/2011

Customer review by MickieG

5.0 stars 10/14/2011 by MickieG
by MickieG

There are many Canon SD Series Elph Cameras to ponder. But it was simply a toss up between this fine camera, and the Elph 500hs. But I wanted the larger LCD screen for playback, videos and love that the F stop is 2.8 vs. other models. In addition, the true Wide Angle format is superb. All touch screen is really nice and the future for most electronic devices. This is my third SD Elph camera and all are still excellent quality. Canon by far as great reliable products. For those less knowledgeable regarding features: Its important to have lower F Stop for low light situations. And the other factor is the lens going from Wide Angle to Tele. 24mm Lens is great to have, to capture group shots of family , friends and what the naked eye captures. The HDMI output is also great for sharing proud pictures and videos directly to the Widescreen HDTV . This is a great camera with no complaints here.

MickieG
Greater Los Angeles Area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Don't purchase if you are looking for quality pics
7/20/2010

Customer review by Rakesh

2.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Rakesh
by Rakesh

I have purchased this SD3500 IS about a month after so much of research. I have compromised on touch screen feature and wide angle landscape pictures. I found many good features in this camera and are intresting. Low-Light pics are OK. But, not that great. BUT, MAJOR thing is VERY POOR QUALITY Pictures you would get. I don't think this camera is able to have 6Mega pixel quality pictures. I have SD1100IS camera and its quality of pics are amazing when compare to this camera. Especially, in night shots and poor quality light shots are hopeless. It may look fine on the camera display, but when put in computer, it is hopeless. This is not the camera one should go for it for the 1st purchase. May be as standby camera you may have, that to if you are interested on wide angle range. I would sincerely not recommend to anyone to go for it, if this is a first purchase.

Rakesh
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Canon SD3500
6/14/2010

Customer review by 2152657478

1.0 stars 6/14/2010 by 2152657478
by 2152657478

I purchased this camera for my wife to replace her old digital camera. I selected this model because it had some nice features that I thought would be very helpful to her. Unfortunately the photos from this camera were of such poor quality that they would be practically unuseable. Images exhibited unacceptable noise in all but the best light even at ISO 80. The photos we took could not be printed greater than 4 by 6 and then only those taken outside in the best light. The camera takes every photo at maximum aperature (f2.8) which means you have practically no depth of field. A photo of more than one person will yield one person in focus and all the others out of focus. Because of these problems I returned the camera for a refund. My wifes old $100 camera takes better photos than this $300 camera.

Was this review helpful? (4) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2152657478
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Best Point-and-Shoot Camera
7/31/2010

Customer review by engineer99

5.0 stars 7/31/2010 by engineer99
by engineer99

I bought this camera while on a trip to Europe. This camera did not disappoint in daylight, dark, stills, action, or low magnification zoom. It is very intuitive and the scene features are easy to use and actually work well. In my opinion, this camera is best-suited for someone who does not consider themselves a professional photographer but yet still really enjoys taking pictures and video that are really clear without a lot of effort. Furthermore, I am disabled with limited dexterity (quadriplegic). However, the touchscreen on this camera was still easy to use for me---way easier than any other camera in its class whether touchscreen or not. Even with the touchscreen there are still enough buttons to do things manually (like zoom). Note that the only con of this camera is the low zoom (x5), which is still plenty for most applications.

engineer99
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great camera
6/16/2010

Customer review by Akilis

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by Akilis
by Akilis

best camera, easy to use and great pictures

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Akilis
san diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Another Outstanding Canon PowerShot
5/8/2010

Customer review by Cruise Junkie

5.0 stars 5/8/2010 by Cruise Junkie
by Cruise Junkie

This is my third Canon Elf. It is by far my favorite. I loved, loved,loved my 880 (my son is using it now and loves it!) and I thought none could be better. I was wrong. This is better. I had a Canon SD980 Touch Screen for about 2 months. It was a good camera, but I would not say great. I accidently dropped it in the ocean. Best accident I ever had. This SD3500 is so much better. I love the large 3.5" LCD. I love the simple to understand touch screen. I was able to take great photos before I even read the manual. My first photos were in the house with low light. The pictures were great. The camera is easy to hold, fits in my pocket very well, doesn't seem to smudge, and it is just fun to use. I have had the camera for about a week and I can not find any negative features.

Cruise Junkie
Houston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
the camera's camera
4/29/2010

Customer review by cybershotloyalist

5.0 stars 4/29/2010 by cybershotloyalist
by cybershotloyalist

i had been a loyalist to a different brand of electronics, but am no longer heartbroken in this camera affair! this has all the features in a camera you could want and more. the icons for the touchscreen are usable even with sausage fingers; your fingers will not get in the way of the lens; your camera won't turn on in your pocket taking great shots of lint; you'll be able to capture video in split seconds thanks to a button rather than scrolling through features (so you'll be able to get that action when you need it!); and the zoom is beyond that of which other companies provide. i will not buy another camera for years to come! unless i lose this one (and then i'll buy another canonSD3500IS!

cybershotloyalist
military
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Camera
10/5/2010

Customer review by derex3592

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by derex3592
by derex3592

I purchased this camera for the purpose of taking it on a 2 week trip to Alaska. This camera was an outstanding choice. Compact, lightweight, easy to use and very good quality all in one package for a great price. People who are giving this camera bad reviews simply don't know how to use it correctly. I took all my pics at full resolution and also took plenty of HD videos, most of which were in flight, both in fixed wing aircraft and helicopters. The camera performed flawlessly. Upon arriving back home from my trip, I looked at the pictures and videos on a 65" plasma television and they looked amazing. Don't be afraid to buy this camera, it's very good.

derex3592
Fort Worth, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
IT HAS A TOUCHSCREEN!
4/22/2010

Customer review by bacararay

5.0 stars 4/22/2010 by bacararay
by bacararay

I love the giant touchscreen that fills the entire back of this camera! It's made of reinforced glass and is resistant to scratches. Image quality and features are superlative! The camera detects faces and automatically chooses the shooting mode for you! Fit and finish is of the highest quality (metal body and glass-paneled back). Oh, and the Deluxe Leather Case PSC-2050 Gray is the most gorgeous camera case I have ever seen and fits the camera like a glove! Everything about this camera is beautiful (it's construction, it's design, and just as importantly, it's ability to take beautiful images). I firmly stand behind Canon and this amazing product!

bacararay
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE it!
6/8/2010

Customer review by NanaAnna

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by NanaAnna
by NanaAnna

We were finding it more difficult to find film for our other camera, so we decided to get into the 21st century by buying this awesome little camera in April 2010 - after much research and consulting a photographer friend. Best choice we could have made! Pixel quality and sharp pictures are top notch. Video is very good, but we find that using our video camera works better for us. Larger LCD is great compared to other cameras. It's such a fantastic "point and shoot" in auto-mode that we haven't even started learning all of the programmable features (hence the lower rating). Battery life is amazingly long. HIGHLY recommend it...you will LOVE it!

NanaAnna
MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceptionally Cannon
5/3/2010

Customer review by David See

5.0 stars 5/3/2010 by David See
by David See

This is my third Cannon digital ELPH. Excellent throughout. Meets and exceeds my expectations. The touch screen was temperamental at first and takes some practice but it is getting easier as I use it more. One negative comment; the operating manual. Only the first chapter comes printed, 40 out of 180 pages. The remainder are offered on the Solution Disk that comes with the camera. If this is a cost considered omission I recommend that you offer it as a purchase accessory. As the camera has many features, it is fairly complicated thus it is very inconvenient and at times impossible to reference a computer to access the desired information.

David See
Gig Harbor, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/15/2010

Customer review by Caotdavid

3.0 stars 5/15/2010 by Caotdavid
by Caotdavid

I have always used Canon Products (AT1, A1, Elph film and my Powershot 540. I want to like the SD3500 IS and purchased the camera because of the 24mm wide-angle lens (perfect for shooting boat interiors). I am sorry to report, IMO, the picture quality is not up to snuff. I'm not saying the pictures are not good, it's just that they are no better than my 6MP 540 (and in some case not as good). I love the touch screen, the overall quality and feel of the camera and the ease of use. I'm just not satisfied with the picture quality - the pictures seem soft - crisp. Maybe I need to step up to the G11 or the new Rebel.

Caotdavid
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 61 total reviews
1-20 of 61 reviews