Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

20 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

20 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

75%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
3
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
1-16 of 16 total reviews
75%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Perfect option for sharing printer
2/23/2012

Customer review by PeeweeMom

5.0 stars 2/23/2012 by PeeweeMom
by PeeweeMom

I have an older desktop computer that runs Windows XP and a new HP computer that runs Windows 7. There is software that I use daily on the XP computer that is not compatible with Windows 7. I needed an easy way to be able to print from both computers, and did not want to network the two computers. This switch is the perfect solution. NOTE: Be aware that unless you have a mini-CD reader, you will need to go to IOGear's website to download the installation software and then install the software on BOTH computers. After the software is downloaded and installed, it is as simple as following the connection/set-up instructions that come with the switch. I have used this switch every day without any problems. I have even had print jobs from both computers queued at the same time, and the switch worked flawlessly. I do recommend that you purchase the Link Depot 6' A-to-B cables. The cables that come with the switch are short.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PeeweeMom
Keen Mountain, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Does the job!
7/9/2010

Customer review by AmateurRadio

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by AmateurRadio
by AmateurRadio

This switch works as advertised, installed w/o any problems on two laptops running Windows-7, to share a HP Officejet 6310. Just hit "print" on either laptop, and printer is immediately switched. Couldn't be easier.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AmateurRadio
Reno, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Switch works great!
9/15/2011

Customer review by Tbills

5.0 stars 9/15/2011 by Tbills
by Tbills

I have this sharing switch hooked between my laptop (7 year old HP Compaq running XP, and my new Gateway desktop running Windows 7). I share one printer with the two machines and the IO Gear Switch works flawlessly. The software was easy to load on both computers, and adds a desktop icon for easy access. Just click the switch icon and it brings up a window with a "switch" button on it. Click the "switch" button to move printer availability and the printer is ready to use on whichever computer I am working on. There is a green "ready" light to indicate which computer the "switch" is allocated to. It's as simple as that. I would recommend this sharing switch to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tbills
Amarillo, Tex.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/2/2013

Customer review by Yellowhorse52

5.0 stars 7/2/2013 by Yellowhorse52
by Yellowhorse52

Well after having to get a new desk top i decided to go with windows 8, little did I know that my Lexmark printer would not work with that program. I tried many times, called their help line only to find out it wasn't going to work. I didn't want to buy another printer so I called my local repair and was told he could have both computers (I have 2) work from the same printer. Cost 198.00 I don't think so. I looked around and found this product, iogear 2-port usb2.0 printer auto sharing switch, GREAT and the cost was nice and low. Okay, I got it hooked it up and no dice it wouldn't work. I called customer service and to my surprise they were so nice and helpful. In less that 2 min. it was up and working great. I would not be afraid to tell anyone to buy this. A real customer service that knows what they are talking about, to me that's worth the money right there. 2 weeks and still no issuses, it works!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yellowhorse52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
IOGEAR 2-PORT NOT AS EXPECTED
2/20/2013

Customer review by Obione

1.0 stars 2/20/2013 by Obione
by Obione

The device would not switch from one computer to the other computer, nor does it saves your print when other computer is using the printer. I had to disconnect and connect wire from one port to the other port, to get print to start. I have Windows Vista on both HP computers using a HP printer. Frustating changing wires on port, because only one port seems to be active on device. I will buy the dual wire USB, that walmart offers for about $12, and maybe that wil work better.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Obione
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Doesn't work...at least in my application
7/9/2012

Customer review by Daldav

1.0 stars 7/9/2012 by Daldav
by Daldav

I had high hopes that I had found a solution to sharing my printer between my desktop and laptop. After carefully following the quick start guide instructions, it did not work. I chatted online with the IOgear support folks, uninstalled and installed the switch, chatted twice more and came to the conclusion with Support that it may not work with my printer...but at least I could switch manually from my computer...Not! I should have paid attention to other reviews indicating problems. ...Hours wasted...very unsatisfactory...being returned.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Daldav
Would recommend to a friend? No
12/31/2012

Customer review by Photo1nut

5.0 stars 12/31/2012 by Photo1nut
by Photo1nut

Works as advertized. I have Windows XP on one computer and Windows 7 on the other. No problems........

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Photo1nut
Pittsburgh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does an excellent job for cheap!!!!
9/13/2013

Customer review by DASDA1

5.0 stars 9/13/2013 by DASDA1
by DASDA1

I have 2 desktop computers, 1 running XP and 1 running Vista, (1 wireless capable and 1 not), called HP and they tried harder to sell me a new printer than to suggest an inexpensive alternative such as this switching unit... Glad I went with the IOGear!!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DASDA1
Clearfield, Ut
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
SPECTACULAR INVENTION...THANX... ;-) ...
6/11/2013

Customer review by PRL14

5.0 stars 6/11/2013 by PRL14
by PRL14

JUST MAKE SURE THAT YOU DOWNLOAD THE SOFTWARE - FIRST THING - AND THEN THE REST IS EZ...GREAT PRODUCT IDEA FOR 'MULTI TASKERS"... ;-) ...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PRL14
U.S.A
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/12/2012

Customer review by Amanda8605

5.0 stars 10/12/2012 by Amanda8605
by Amanda8605

This product is great! I have a printer connected to my desktop but nothing for my laptop. With this, I simply plug the cord into the USB on my laptop, switch the printer to my laptop with the easy click of the mouse, and ta-da! Im printing from my laptop. Great to use and makes life so much easier!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Amanda8605
Gettysburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
This worked for me!
10/14/2012

Customer review by dealsbydarlene

5.0 stars 10/14/2012 by dealsbydarlene
by dealsbydarlene

For over a year I had to manually switch my printer cable back and forth between two computers. I finally bought this and it solved my problems!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dealsbydarlene
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Tool!
9/17/2013

Customer review by ttauto

5.0 stars 9/17/2013 by ttauto
by ttauto

This is a great tool for anyone who wants to share a printer between two computers. (Especially if you are not familiar with networking them.)

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ttauto
Minersville, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
10/20/2013

Customer review by loranzo

4.0 stars 10/20/2013 by loranzo
by loranzo

The switch worked as advertised I had no problems installing it on two desktop computers running Windows XP. It autoshares and acceptes from the compiter which is sending the document. Works great. Lonnie Iris

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
loranzo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Discription incomplete
4/2/2013

Customer review by Junkdidnotwork

1.0 stars 4/2/2013 by Junkdidnotwork
by Junkdidnotwork

The description did not cover important features of the item causing it to be usless. The item requires software installation, if your system is not supported it does NOT work. Also the small detail that the computers can be no farther than fifteen feet causing the item not to work. It did not work with my set up because the details were not in the description. Bad job describing the item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Junkdidnotwork
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does not work!
11/2/2013

Customer review by fishingtoorest

1.0 stars 11/2/2013 by fishingtoorest
by fishingtoorest

Auto printing switch would not interface between computers and printer. Very little instructions came with it and online help wasn’t much better. Reloading software 4 different times did not work nor did reinstalling USB cables. Not certain if this was a software or switch issue but very frustrating.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fishingtoorest
Chicago
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/4/2012

Customer review by Yemon

1.0 stars 12/4/2012 by Yemon
by Yemon

I've had this printer switch since 9-21-2012 and haven't been able to use it. I've downloaded the dvd twice with no luck. I still have to switch each printer manually to only one side that I can get results. My next step is to contact the company for further help.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yemon
NE Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days