Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 72 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

72 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

85%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
46
4 stars
14
3 stars
1
2 stars
5
1 stars
6
1-20 of 69 total reviews
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews
Nice for a change!
5/17/2010

Customer review by nocable4me

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by nocable4me
by nocable4me

I purchased a DVR from Channel Master about 2 weeks ago and wanted to say that this product exceeded my expectations! I am cost minded like every other person out there but when times got tough I decided it was time to get rid of the cable and try the over the air antenna! I have to say that I am able to get the most out of all this Digital Over the air stuff now that I can record during the day while I'm at work! I didn't realize that a lot of the channels I watch are over the air and that I was wasting money each month! This box is 100% free service after you buy it! Not like the other DVR's that want a monthly fee. I am bummed out that I paid more than what they show here on Walmart.com but none the less I am very happy with the product!

Was this review helpful? (57) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nocable4me
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Bye Cable
3/23/2011

Customer review by CaptGeorge

5.0 stars 3/23/2011 by CaptGeorge
by CaptGeorge

I waited 3 months before writing this review. This DVR is fantastic! Dual tuners are as good, or better, as my Vizio 47" TV. Of course, you'll need an antenna, but amplified rabbit ears worked for me with stations 27 miles away. However, occasional glich on picture prompted me to install outside antenna. Now, I get perfect pictures and no gliches. Picture quality is excellent on playback - just like original HDTV broadcast through HDMI cable. This unit does not use any video compression - so you get the original HDTV broadcast quality. Programing guide popped up within a minute after startup. One time recording is just one button. Multiple recordings (e.g. weekly) take a little longer: 1. Highlight future program in guide 2. Press Select 3. Set interval (daily, weekly, mon-fri) 4. Select create timer I have the unit and cable plugged in surge protector. And, I have had no problems even though several power gliches cause the TV and DVR to reset. Everything came back right where it was - including resuming my dvr program. Overall, this is an excellent product that will pay for itself in just a few months. One big bonus from OTA (over-the-air) stations is you get ALL the sub-channels. Cable or dish only provides the main digital channel. Most of the subs have excellent programming - especially the PBS stations.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CaptGeorge
South of Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
works great!
7/26/2010

Customer review by moTV

5.0 stars 7/26/2010 by moTV
by moTV

I love this dvr! i live 50 miles east of springfield mo and recently ordered this recorder. it has a 7day onscreen guide sent via KOLR10's signal over air and you record shows from the guide just like a cable box dvr. no tapes or programming the recorder. no internet sat or cable required and no monthly fees.

Was this review helpful? (21) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
moTV
central mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Exactly what I was looking for
1/15/2011

Customer review by MarkTech

5.0 stars 1/15/2011 by MarkTech
by MarkTech

I only have a rooftop antenna, no cable. I used to use a VCR to record programs but couldn't because of the new over the air signals. The CM-7000 PAL DVR works like a converter box and also records in HD. The HDMI port allows me to connect directly to my HDTV and the other ports (RCA or RF) allow me to connect to my old VCR. This allows me to download DVR recordings to video tapes to give to people. The VCR tapes are not in HD, but in the old format (480i) which is fine. I did alot of research before buying this because it was kind of expensive. My family picked up on how to use it easily. It even downloads a program guide over the air. I put a splitter on my antenna and ran to the TV and DVR. This allows recording 2 shows at once with the DVR and watching something something else on TV. I like the fact that Channelmaster puts a 1 year guarantee on it too. No monthly subscription fees either like TIVO. You won't be disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (20) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MarkTech
New Berlin, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works well in Milwaukee
1/21/2011

Customer review by MidwestWorkingGuy

5.0 stars 1/21/2011 by MidwestWorkingGuy
by MidwestWorkingGuy

Antenna DVR works well in milwaukee and gets over the air schedule info from TV guide broadcasts. We have two kids and I record PBS and QUBO shows and then play them back in the evening. Works great, you can set M-F or Weekly schedule so all pretty much automatic once you set it up.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MidwestWorkingGuy
Milwaukee, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The ONLY OTA DVR without a contract!
11/11/2010

Customer review by old2l63

5.0 stars 11/11/2010 by old2l63
by old2l63

If you want a DVR to use with Over The Air TV, you can buy this or TiVo. The TiVo costs slightly less, but you sign on for a hefty monthly fee. the end result is significantly more money. This unit is ready to go out of the box, and there is no monthly fee. Programming is easy, and the unit works flawlessly. If TV Guide OTA is not available in your market, the programming is a little more involved, but not enough to matter. If you are a total technophobe, buy the TiVo. The monthly fee will give you an idiotproof experience. However, I use OTA to avoid the fees (Which always seem to go up.) so, buying the Channel Master was easy. No issues. Highly recommended. No regrets. If you do not have a DVR, or if you divorced cable/dish and have DVR withdrawal, strongly consider this DVR.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
old2l63
Rockford, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Expenxive But Works Great
7/3/2010

Customer review by BigDD1

4.0 stars 7/3/2010 by BigDD1
by BigDD1

We have abiut 30 off air channels here and the DVR picks them all up. It works well recording programs. The menu is easy to follow. The only issue is the changing of channels is slow. The price is more than I wanted to pay also. We have droped the cable and just go with off air TV. We do not really miss it. Saving $100 a month will pay for the DVR in a few months. I would also recommend a internet moving viewing service if your going to drop the cable.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BigDD1
NH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent product
6/21/2010

Customer review by kekema

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by kekema
by kekema

It you are looking for a DVR for over the air DTV, look no further. The Channel Master will record two stations at one time and with the pass through feature let you watch a third. It you you wonder what it does, think TiVo without the monthy fee, which incidentally make no sense for over the air broadcasts. You can pause and scan back live broadcasts and everything can be in HD to boot. It has an excellent menu system and the recording menu puts the old VCR to shame. I would highly recommend this for any one with over the air DTV but think it would be a great alternative to TiVo on cable.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
kekema
Ottawa, Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Tips
12/4/2010

Customer review by radio306

4.0 stars 12/4/2010 by radio306
by radio306

This compares to the K-Mart DTVPal at $299. If the internal disk drive goes bad, or you want a larger one, just put it in. All of the disk initialization software is built-in on chips. Use a UPS systems on it, as power glitches tend to make it loose it's settings, and mess things up. Watch out when recording shows that start/stop at odd times. For example, if you record a show that ends at 8:01pm, and you have 2 shows set to records at 8:00pm, it will silently cancel one of the 2 recordings with no warning. You will think it just didn't records for some reason. In this case, use a manual timer, rather than the red button. I bought 2 of them. The HMDi driver went out on one of them. But the RGB still worked fine in HD, using the 3 RGB cables plus 2 audio cables. Be sure to read the manual about keeping the latest firmware installed on it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
radio306
Cypress, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
All I Needed
9/16/2010

Customer review by zbudman

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by zbudman
by zbudman

This was the only reason why I had cable - for the DVR. So far, I've had no issues with it and it works just as well as the cable company's DVR. Also, it pulls in more channels than my HDTV could receive and I'm only using an indoor antenna. A little overpriced IMO, but it sure beats paying monthly for cable or a subscription service (Tivo).

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
zbudman
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great DVR
10/2/2010

Customer review by GolfNut99

5.0 stars 10/2/2010 by GolfNut99
by GolfNut99

This DVR works just like the Cable/Satellite DVRs that everyone is familiar with, but it works with free over the air digital/HD TV signals. Set-up was easy and straight forward. The unit gets the time and station line-up over the air from the antenna and displays a guide similar to the listing in the newspaper/TV guide. Recording programs is easy, and can be done from the guide, or from the main menu. Watching recorded programs is simple. The 30 second skip button is especially useful for skipping commercials. The remote control buttons are well laid out and well labled as to function. Operation using the remote is straight forward. A big advantage with this DVR is that there are no monthly/anual fees as with TiVo.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GolfNut99
Surprise, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Everything we hoped it would be
1/19/2011

Customer review by DVRmom

5.0 stars 1/19/2011 by DVRmom
by DVRmom

We went with the channel master about 2 months ago, after a family member got the magnavox dvr/dvd recorder. The magnavox seemed complicated to set up & has no channel guide, and the channel master was easy & works great!! Found it on walmart.com for cheapest we'd seen and ordered site-to-store for free shipping and it arrived earlier than expected. Love the on-screen guide (give it a few days to update at first) and it can record 2 channels at the same time and we can watch tv/recordings on our analog tv in 2nd room! (Although, unless you are able to find & set up a remote signal transmitter, you can only control the dvr from the 1st room.) The cost was more than we had hoped but since we dumped satellite, it will pay for itself in a few months. And it is very similar to satellite dvr. My only complaint is that it is a little slow when changing channels and you have no idea if a show is a new episode, but it's not a deal breaker for me. We are totally happy with the channel master!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DVRmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Works as advertised
8/31/2010

Customer review by Jamesm1

5.0 stars 8/31/2010 by Jamesm1
by Jamesm1

Installation was easy and easier to program then the old VCRs. This device is expensive, but with no monthly service fees I feel the cost is justisfied.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jamesm1
Minnesota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Waiting For It, Bought It, Love It
6/28/2010

Customer review by AntennaOnlyGrandma

5.0 stars 6/28/2010 by AntennaOnlyGrandma
by AntennaOnlyGrandma

Have been waiting for this since we went digital. Bought it and received it the next day - Thanks Walmart. Very easy to install and program. Could not be more pleased with this product as it does what it says it will do. Being on antenna means you can record two programs at the same time and watch another program. Thanks to Channel Master I was able to Register it over the telephone. Thanks Channel Master.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AntennaOnlyGrandma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice product -- fills important niche
9/7/2010

Customer review by RealClearGoof

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by RealClearGoof
by RealClearGoof

Was looking for awhile for a "free" DVR for OTA (I gave up cable about 6 months ago) that didn't require a bunch of money up front or monthly service fees like TIVO. This DVR was exactly what I was looking for. I've had it for a few weeks now and haven't had any problems with it. I had DVR service from my cable provider before, so was familiar with how the concept works. I've seen two drawbacks so far compared to cable DVR service: 1) the inability to move the calendar ahead a day when looking through the onscreen TV guide. The only thing I've been able to do is scroll hour by hour until I get to the next day. 2) You can't add more than 5 minutes to the length of a program. So, if you are recording the football game you can't add 30 minutes to the end of the scheduled recording so you don't miss anything if it goes over. You have to actually record the next show as well. I was pleased that I was able to get the 7 days of OTA TV guide information from the local PBS channel that broadcasts that information. I love not letting the TV control my schedule again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RealClearGoof
Carmel, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
everything as advertised
9/13/2010

Customer review by ccmntx

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by ccmntx
by ccmntx

This DVR is everything that it is advertised to be- It seems to have nearly all of the bells & whistles that my Cable Co's HDDVR box had, so it's just what I wanted. *While it does have a record a show feature, it does not seem to have a record a series feature. This is the only HDDVR (with a fairly reasonable price) that I could find anywhere that did not require a Pay Service. I'm not sure why these are SO hard to find. I am Cutting The Cord on Pay TV Service and this is Just The Ticket for allowing me to do this.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ccmntx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great !
10/17/2010

Customer review by jfv356

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by jfv356
by jfv356

A great device! Arrived at Site to Store ahead of schedule. Set up took about 10 minutes and was very easy. I have been using both cable and an antenna for Over The Air digital since the analog shut off, and overall, found the OTA broadcast to be of better picture quality than cable (uncompressed signal, I guess). The one drawback was that I cound not record these free shows until now .This DVR, with it's on screen program guide/grid, is very similar to my cable DVR in operation and the picture quality is excellent. I am VERY happy with this product, for now. BUT, It is a bit pricey, and I am concerned about how long it will last. ( Other reviews have noted that this might be an issue. Read PAL reviews elsewhere). One important note: A Good Antenna is crucial!!! The better the signal, the better this thing works. Overall, Very Satisfied !

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jfv356
Cranston , RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Happy
12/7/2010

Customer review by therealcletus

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by therealcletus
by therealcletus

if you are ready to quit paying for tv (like I was), this is the product for you. Great HD picture and very easy to set up. Totally free program guide and very easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
therealcletus
Centennial, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Solid performance
9/20/2010

Customer review by nooooooooooooooooo

4.0 stars 9/20/2010 by nooooooooooooooooo
by nooooooooooooooooo

Followed the directions. Turned it on. It worked. A bit pricey, but it did what it said it could. I am not a "technicle person", so if I got it to work, most anyone could.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nooooooooooooooooo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Locks up all the time-Customer service is a joke
7/16/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/16/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this unit last year. When it works it works pretty good. However it randomly locks up when the unit is off and will not respond to remote. When locked up it will not record programmed times for shows you do not want to miss. The only solution to the lockup problem is to unplug the unit for a minute or so and then plug back in. The system will then re-boot and once again respond to the remote allowing you to turn it on and watch TV. Also when locked up the hard drive is spinning -so the unit will probable not last very long before the hard drive fails. Customer service pretends that they have not heard of the problem but if you do a quick internet search you will see that many reports have been made by many other customers having the same problem. Technical service was suppose to call back to help with the issue but never have (its been over 6 months). The result of the locking up means that you can never record your shows when you are not home because if the frequent random lockup occurs then nothing will be recorded until you get back and unplug it and let it reboot. If I had to do it over again I would choose a different product. I definitely will never buy from channel master again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 69 total reviews
1-20 of 69 reviews