Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 54 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

54 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

89%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
38
4 stars
12
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
3
1-20 of 50 total reviews
89%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews
Works Well , very easy to put together .
10/1/2011

Customer review by oldbob70

4.0 stars 10/1/2011 by oldbob70
by oldbob70

About two months ago there was a power outage . So I cranked up the antenna on my old camper in the driveway expecting maybe 4 or 5 channels . Well I was shocked to find 23 . 5 of which you can't get on cable. local channels that carry local events like highschool football games. well found out it was harder to buy a good antenna than it was years ago. The local Radioshack doesn't carry them. I ordered my first choice ,which was a multidirectional antenna from sears . It took them a week to inform me it was out of stock. This antenna was my second chioce . I picked it up at my local Wal-mart 7 days after I ordered it on line . Two of the parts were loss in the box. The Antenna was ready to put up in less than 5 minutes . I picked up a signal amp at my local wal-mart to complete the system . I live about 45 miles equal distance from 6 broardcast sources. you can check on line to find what channels you can get over the air for free. I can understand now why cable and dish want to get rid of free over the air TV.

Was this review helpful? (16) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
oldbob70
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Reception
3/2/2011

Customer review by CWInFL

5.0 stars 3/2/2011 by CWInFL
by CWInFL

I live 45 miles away (line of sight) from all but one transmitter, from RF Channel 11 through 43. I literally just placed this antenna in the attic (single story), and I was able to get solid reception of all channels without an amp when hooked up to one TV. I was worried about it picking up the VHF channel (11), but it brings it in great. Just a tip... check out antennaweb.org to see the real RF channel of your local stations before you presume you need a (low-band) VHF antenna. For example, 2.1 (WESH) in Orlando is really on RF channel 11. This site also tells you how to aim the antenna relative to your street; great for the directionally challenged non-owners of compasses. So now I'm getting HD quality broadcasts of all the networks and a few independent stations without paying money to the cable company, yeah! You may need an amp if you are going through a splitter to multiple TVs.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CWInFL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Excellent antenna
3/28/2016

Customer review by RobbiDL

5.0 stars 3/28/2016 by RobbiDL
by RobbiDL

Bought for my elderly Dad to use. He lives in a hard place to get good tv reception. He can now get 18 clear channels. We are all very happy!

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RobbiDL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent antenna
5/20/2016

Customer review by Rich

4.0 stars 5/20/2016 by Rich
by Rich
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This antenna arrived with one cracked piece of plastic which I repaired. After the repair I could get all channels from 50 miles away with the antenna sitting on my couch indoors with the exception of the high VHF channel. when I took it outside and hung it from my gutter channel 2(11 RF) came in OK. the addition of the CM7778 amp allowed me to hook up more TV's and see through some really heavy rain this week. I just wish the plastic was a little stronger. Worked great for my needs as the stations I was interested in are separated by 46 degrees and I get all crystal clear now with the antenna only 15 feet in the air reaching 50 miles out.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rich
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great antenna
12/12/2010

Customer review by Bestproduct4thedollar

5.0 stars 12/12/2010 by Bestproduct4thedollar
by Bestproduct4thedollar

I had an Antenna's Direct DB8, but the lowest channel it would pull was channel 13 of the High VHF (rightfully so because it is a UHF antenna.) In my area three of the local stations CBS, FOX, NBC are in the High VHF band. I replaced it with this Channel Master 4228HD, now I am picking up High VHF Channels 7 -13 at distances of over 50 miles installed in the attic. Note : Attic installs cause signal loss and blah blah, blah, but mine seems to work fine. Check your station distances and heights on tvfool.com and plan accordingly. The upper UHF around channel 38 and above do not provide as much signal as the DB8 (this is only reason I marked it 4 stars in meets expectations,) but I am getting all the local channels in the area and I am very happy with it overall and give it 5 STARS.

Was this review helpful? (55) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bestproduct4thedollar
FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Buy!!
2/21/2011

Customer review by Mom2myAngels

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by Mom2myAngels
by Mom2myAngels

I read the reviews and got this antenna, it was sitting in the garage in the box, and were not sure if it was going to be good enough. And the day we were left with no signal. I went to get it connected it inside the house, just to give it a try, and right away it got 117 channels. The image is crystal clear and the sound is great too. We don't need to pay any cable, we get all the local channels, even chinesse, vietnamesse, spanish, armenian, pbs, christian channels, children's channels, news, music, it's more than what we expected, for a great price. Now it's outside in the backyard because my husband still hasn't gone to the roof to install it. I strongly recommend this antenna, a great buy with an excellent price.

Was this review helpful? (21) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mom2myAngels
La Palma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bad shipping box.
7/3/2016

Customer review by artTchoke

4.0 stars 7/3/2016 by artTchoke
by artTchoke
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

The Channel Master 4228HD works real good for getting hard to get stations,better than most,My biggest GRIP is the box it came in from FL. to CA no padding just antenna in a box.The antenna was bent on all corners the bow ties were also bent, had to un-ben .Even with all that the anenna works real good.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
artTchoke
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great reception
4/18/2011

Customer review by channelsurfer66

4.0 stars 4/18/2011 by channelsurfer66
by channelsurfer66

We bought two of these antennans hoping to get reception from Ft. Wayne and South Bend stations.(45 mi. each direction) These will be installed on an existing tower. Just one of the antennas picked up both directions, while it was still in our home. I reccomend this if you don't want to pay for cable, in this case cable is not available in our area. Although they are big, they are light weight. Use site to store pickup to avoid shipping and handling charges. Two will fit in a minivan. Happy channel surfing....

Was this review helpful? (20) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
channelsurfer66
Pierceton, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/12/2011

Customer review by Hrvatski

5.0 stars 2/12/2011 by Hrvatski
by Hrvatski

I am really satisfied with the Channel Master 4228HD Long Range Outdoor HDTV Antenna.I am receiving a clear and beautiful picture with a variety of channels. Many of the channels are foreign language channels,but I am still receiving the channels I am most interested in.The only problem about the antenna is that it does'nt come with a bar or tubing to attach the antenna to the antenna and bracket on my roof.I had to improvise on that with some tubing of my own.I give the antenna 5 stars overall,with 4 stars for Features,being there isn't a bar for attaching the antenna.I have and will recomment the antenna to family,friends and others that are interested.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hrvatski
Los Angeles,Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Channel Master 4228HD Long-Range Antenna
8/26/2010

Customer review by mth9

5.0 stars 8/26/2010 by mth9
by mth9

This Antenna meets all expectations, picture quality,sound quality for the Hot Springs, AR.(Area) Channel Master will pickup Ch: 2,4,7,11,16,25,26,38,42 for this area. Thank You Walmart

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mth9
Hot Springs, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
no more cable
11/10/2010

Customer review by lippienut

5.0 stars 11/10/2010 by lippienut
by lippienut

this is a excellent antenna I get 117 stations no more cable I live in los angeles and i pick up stations more than 50 miles away definately a keeper also easy to install

Was this review helpful? (23) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lippienut
temple city ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Wonderful
10/7/2011

Customer review by ReneeLillian

5.0 stars 10/7/2011 by ReneeLillian
by ReneeLillian

I purchased this antenna thinking it would be like the rest but WOW. I live in a small town and my yard has many trees but I have all the channels I should have no monthly bill. I couldn't belive how great this antenna is. I now can watch PBS CBS ABC!! All I can say is WOW. It is perfect!!! I should of purchased this one first and not spent money on the other 3 that didn't work.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ReneeLillian
Oak Island Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Comcast Killer
2/12/2011

Customer review by guamyankee

5.0 stars 2/12/2011 by guamyankee
by guamyankee

This antenna will pay for itself in 1 and a half months since I'm now saving 60 bucks a month on my comcast tv bill, which I cancelled. I get around 30 channels or so, and the picture quality ranges from good to excellent. ABC, NBC, and CBS have excellent reception, although FOX seems a little fuzzy. Still, all the channels are HD, and completely watchable. Don't bother with the less expensive antennas, unless maybe you live in a major city, where they might be worth a try. Just keep the receipt, because if other brands don't work, you can be assured that this antenna will.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guamyankee
Spanaway, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Looks modern
2/7/2011

Customer review by guy0

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by guy0
by guy0

Price is somewhat high but i receive almost 50 channels with great clarity. I'm outside of fort worth tx

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
guy0
dfw tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
May be good .... but not in mountainous area
4/17/2012

Customer review by dre1212

2.0 stars 4/17/2012 by dre1212
by dre1212

The 4228HD may be a good choice for those who live in a metro area, but would not recommend if in mountainous geography. Frankly I had anticipated a failure prior to purchase but was hopeful to be pleasantly surprised.... not the case. This antenna did NO better (or worse) then a cheap interior bar antenna. Actually neither one was able to pull in a single channel (even though I was less then 30 miles from source on some stations). So I am back to square one. The reason for online WALMART purchase was an anticipation of return, which was quite easy at my local Walmart store.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dre1212
Konnarock, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
not impressed or I'm doing something wrong.
2/20/2016

Customer review by tommy

1.0 stars 2/20/2016 by tommy
by tommy

I'm not totally sure, but it doesn't seem to work very well. I get about 30% signal with this one vs. 60% with my old amplified rabbit ears. In fact I didn't see much difference between when I attached to this antenna and I just had the lone coax cable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tommy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Channel Master 4228HD does the job
3/23/2011

Customer review by Billfrog

5.0 stars 3/23/2011 by Billfrog
by Billfrog

I am using this at a camping lot around 65 miles south from St. Louis, MO. Out of the box with no signal booster, I am getting 5 channels fairly well. My antenna is at around 18 foot high above the ground. Everyone once in a while during the day and depending on weather, a couple of the channels break up a bit. My neighbor next to me has the same antenna with a signal booster and he gets around 12 channels most of the time. His antenna is about 10 foot higher than mine. I am thinking about raising mine, and adding the booster to get more channels. Overall, I think it works very well considering the distance from the stations.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Billfrog
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Channel Master 4228HD
8/2/2010

Customer review by KC4JC

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by KC4JC
by KC4JC

I was using an antenna about 25% the size of this one and receiving 70% signal strength or less for all stations with some un-detectable. Now it's over 90% and very clear for all.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KC4JC
West Linn, Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Keeper
2/2/2011

Customer review by Casbian

4.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Casbian
by Casbian

This is one awesome antenna.I have tried others at my location and they would never pull in the channels this one did.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Casbian
Whitesboro,ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent product
1/30/2012

Customer review by JoeyPR

5.0 stars 1/30/2012 by JoeyPR
by JoeyPR

Best antenna I have ever owned! I purchased this antenna as an experiment because I did not want to rent another cable box for my master bedroom, and because I was curious about how good an over-the-air broadcast would look on a digital television. I have to say that I am absolutely amazed at the picture quality and the number of channels I can pick up with this antenna, absolutely flawless. It arrived at my front door in two days and I installed it in the attic because I knew it would work just as well as if it was outside the house. Besides, it is protected from the elements and no one knows it is there. Ironically, I used an old satellite dish mount to hang it from the rafters so I could adjust it easily if needed. The nearest broadcasting antennas near my home are between 45 and 56 miles away and this antenna picked up all of the signals perfectly without the need for adjustment. (Check the digital tv signal websites to find the best azimuth to point the antenna for your particular location). The quality of the signal in some of the channels is better than some of the HD channels I get from a major digital satellite provider. If you are sick and tired of paying for local tv channels or cable for that matter, I highly recommend getting this antenna. You will not regret it and this thing will pay by iself after a few months of not having to pay for cable. The only negative comment I have is that it is not packaged very well and mine arrived with some of the elements bent in different directions. This was not a big deal because I easily took it apart and straightened them in less than 20 minutes. All the elements are made of soft alumium so they are very easy to bend with the use of household pliers.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JoeyPR
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 50 total reviews
1-20 of 50 reviews