Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 32 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

32 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

100%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
30
4 stars
2
3 stars
0
2 stars
0
1 stars
0
1-20 of 26 total reviews
100%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews
You Gotta Own It!
10/5/2010

Customer review by SouthernTransplantAL

5.0 stars 10/5/2010 by SouthernTransplantAL
by SouthernTransplantAL

If you have sworn off buying another cookbook(like I had) or just don't think you need another one, let THIS one be the last you own! This cookbook is unique: the recipes are easy, quick, and practical. You will find yourself saying over and over again, "Oh, I've always wanted a recipe for that!" Christy also adds a cupful of her good humor, kindness, and creative writing skills to her cookbook. It's not "just" a recipe book: its a book that really will make you feel like family.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernTransplantAL
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
You're Gonna Love It
1/12/2011

Customer review by HomeHappyHeart

5.0 stars 1/12/2011 by HomeHappyHeart
by HomeHappyHeart

I checked this out from the library first, then decided that I needed to have my own copy of this great cookbook. It isn't just a cookbook though ... it has interesting stories about Christy Jordan's life and all from a Southern perspective. You will enjoy reading and cooking and eating!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HomeHappyHeart
Battle Creek, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Lived up to my expectations!
11/5/2010

Customer review by Manintveld

5.0 stars 11/5/2010 by Manintveld
by Manintveld

I've been a follower of Christy Jordan's website southernplate.com for over a year now .. I've been fascinated by all the delicious recipes on her site so when I heard she was writing a cookbook, I jumped for joy! I knew it was going to be a great book but when I finally got it in my hands and looked it over, it met so many of my expectations and much more. True southern cooking, even truer stories about where the recipes come from (generations deep recipes). Some recipes I recognized from my Mama's cooking growing up .. how sweet the memories! I recommend this cookbook to anyone who is tired of the same ol', same ol' southern cookbook and wants something 'fresh' in their cookbook repertoire! Thank you, Christy for writing this book .. =)

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Manintveld
Aurora, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
really like this cookbook.
9/6/2011

Customer review by gardenmom

5.0 stars 9/6/2011 by gardenmom
by gardenmom

fun cookbook! shared it with a friend who is also going to purchase one.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
gardenmom
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
10/23/2010

Customer review by uncljayf

5.0 stars 10/23/2010 by uncljayf
by uncljayf

This is one of the best Southern Cookbooks I have ever seen. Lots of great favorites, all made with ingredients most folks have on hand. There is also a story behind each recipe. This is not just a great cookbook, it is also a good read. It makes you feel like your sitting on the front porch with a glass of tea, talking to an old friend. This ccokbook is WELL worth the money!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
uncljayf
Rock Hill, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Excellant cookbook
10/26/2010

Customer review by BamaCook65

5.0 stars 10/26/2010 by BamaCook65
by BamaCook65

This cookbook is wonderful. I stayed up the first night I recieved it and read it cover to cover. The recipes are great; but the stories that go along with them are what makes this book unique. They are stories that; if you grew up in the South; peppered your entire childhood. Christy is so down home and friendly, she becomes your best kitchen friend. I love that I can open her book and make just about any recipe without having to make a special run to the grocery store. Beginner or expert everyone should own this book.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BamaCook65
Stockton, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
the best cookbook ever
12/22/2010

Customer review by sylviesmom

5.0 stars 12/22/2010 by sylviesmom
by sylviesmom

This was well written and practical. Useful for all ages. And was a super hit today at the gift exchange.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sylviesmom
Southeast Missouri Bootheel
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Nice Downhome Cookbook
12/24/2010

Customer review by Trader1969

5.0 stars 12/24/2010 by Trader1969
by Trader1969

Very nice cookbook, nice stories about her family and growning. Outstanding recipes

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trader1969
Shreveport, La.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Southern Plate Cookbook
12/25/2010

Customer review by nana63640

5.0 stars 12/25/2010 by nana63640
by nana63640

I love this book! Recipes are great, pics are great! Love everything about this book!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nana63640
Farmington, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Southern Plate:
10/25/2010

Customer review by closingtime

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by closingtime
by closingtime

I love Christy Jordan's new book, I have bought two, one for a gift and the other for myself,it would make a nice Christmas gift for someone hard to buy for. Dolores

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
closingtime
Va, Beach, Va.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Get ready to cook
10/25/2010

Customer review by MDobbert

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by MDobbert
by MDobbert

Great cookbook. Great value! Get ready to cook!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MDobbert
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Usage:Every day
Awesome Country Goodness
10/26/2010

Customer review by RindyRue

5.0 stars 10/26/2010 by RindyRue
by RindyRue

Christy Jordan is one of the most down home country gals around and she has the recipes to prove it! I haven't tried them all but I have managed to serve up several of these delicious dishes and man oh man, this stuff is good enough to write home about! As a matter of fact I am going to purchase another book just for my own mother to have because even though we are pretty good cooks ourselves, we don't hold a light to Ms. Christy! BUY THIS BOOK!!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RindyRue
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
3/10/2011

Customer review by columbia66

5.0 stars 3/10/2011 by columbia66
by columbia66

had read book at library and knew i wanted my own copy

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
columbia66
columbia, sc
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Much more than a cookbook!
10/27/2010

Customer review by redhotnana

5.0 stars 10/27/2010 by redhotnana
by redhotnana

I'm southern born and southern bread and I'm "all about" good honest southern cooking. This girl cooks just like my granny did! No fancy or expensive ingredients. Nothing complicated, just good flavorful dishes and wonderful stories to go along with them. I'm a cookbook collector and I have many southern cuisine cookbooks, Mama Dip's, Paula Deens, etc. In my opinion Christy Jordan is right up there with the stars! I've already tried 10 or more recipes and everything has been delicious. I'm already hoping for a Southern Plate II, the sequel!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
redhotnana
Warrior, Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
The BEST cookbook I own!
11/29/2010

Customer review by LoveBeingSouthern

5.0 stars 11/29/2010 by LoveBeingSouthern
by LoveBeingSouthern

Being born and raised in the south, I love good southern cooking. This cookbook is my absolute favorite, and I have a bunch of them, including many of Paula Deen's. Every recipe in Southern Plate is easy to follow, the ingredients are basic and easy to find and everything I have cooked has been delicious! SO many recipes from my childhood and they all taste just like my grandmother's old recipes. This cook book is a must have for anyone that loves southern cooking!!!! A great gift for anyone that likes to cook!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LoveBeingSouthern
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great Purchase
8/13/2012

Customer review by LORDHELP

5.0 stars 8/13/2012 by LORDHELP
by LORDHELP

I own this Cookbook and purchased these as gifts for 2 of my best friends. Of all the cookbooks I own, this one is definitely my favorite. Simple, easy to understand and follow, as well as knowing that every recipe is going to be delicious.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LORDHELP
Greer, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best Cookbook!!
10/28/2010

Customer review by msewspecial

5.0 stars 10/28/2010 by msewspecial
by msewspecial

I have not found a recipe yet that my family has not loved! Just like my grandmother's cooking. A must have recipe book in any southern kitchen.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
msewspecial
Martinez, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Love It!
10/12/2010

Customer review by SouthernFamilyCook

5.0 stars 10/12/2010 by SouthernFamilyCook
by SouthernFamilyCook

I really enjoy this book. My first thought was I don't need another cookbook on Southern Cooking. I have so many. Then I read a review saying what a good cookbook it is so I decided I had to have it. The review was right. I love this book. The recipes give me new ideas and help me recreate a dish I have made before. I could relate to Christy. Living in the south, and cooking for her family.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SouthernFamilyCook
Centerton, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Walmart associate
Great cookbook for a beginner.
3/21/2014

Customer review by suzituzi

5.0 stars 3/21/2014 by suzituzi
by suzituzi

I love to cook and bake (bake, especially). I've been given MANY cookbooks over the years as gifts. This, by far, is my favorite cookbook. Christy gives so many helpful tips, the ingredients are easy, and the stories are like reading about my family growing up in the South. I just recently bought this book for a young co-worker who doesn't know how to cook very well yet. I told her that this cookbook is my favorite and I hope this makes her want to cook more when she sees how easy it can be.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
suzituzi
Jacksonville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Southern Cookbook
12/19/2010

Customer review by brnyrd

5.0 stars 12/19/2010 by brnyrd
by brnyrd

Bought this cookbook to help show support for the Southernplate website, I love that all of the recipes are dishes that my family enjoy, and I have found a few shortcuts from the way I have been cooking different items. I love the cookbook and will use it often!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
brnyrd
GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
1-20 of 26 total reviews
1-20 of 26 reviews