Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 267 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

267 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

267 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
146
4 stars
69
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 stars
31
1-20 of 230 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews
Great Sound
4/28/2012

Customer review by only1glad

5.0 stars 4/28/2012 by only1glad
by only1glad

I was a little concerned about reports that said the led volume indicator lights quit working shortly after installation. Decided to purchase anyway, since other reviews indicated good pair for other vizio products. The sound is great, good size, easy to set up, no complaints. Great addition to vizio led 3D 55" tv and vizio 3D DVD player. I must include that after 4 days the led volume lights on front of the sound bar did stop working. I did an online chat with vizio tech and he had me turn off the sound bar, unplug the power from the sound bar and hold the power button down for 30 seconds, plug back in and turn back on. This did not work the first time may not have held the power button down long enough. Went through those steps a second time. The led volume lights were reset and have worked ever since. The tech told me that the bar would need to be replaced if these steps did not correct the problem. Yeah! It did worked and continues to work. We are happy as larks with this sound system.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
only1glad
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Good buy for the money
4/18/2012

Customer review by pettykid10

4.0 stars 4/18/2012 by pettykid10
by pettykid10

I was very skeptical after reading the reviews and comments about this system. I wanted a simple system with good sound and an affordable price. I got what I was looking for. Not only does it have good sound quality, but it comes with two rear surround speakers (something most sound bars do not come with) but also a subwoofer that provides exceptional bass. I'll be honest, I was worried about the display system going out, which was the only complaint I had read about. When I set my system up it worked fine. The next time I turned it on, the display didn't work, so I called Vizio and troubleshoot some issues. When that didn't work, they gave me a service number so that they could replace it. I didn't want to go through all of that for just the display (it works fine without it) so I decided to live with it. The next time I turned it on, it worked again, and I haven't had an issue with it. I've had it for a month now, and I'm extremely happy with it. I would definitely recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pettykid10
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LED's went out.
1/11/2011

Customer review by gotjeepzj

2.0 stars 1/11/2011 by gotjeepzj
by gotjeepzj

Love the sound. Unlike other's I actually managed 2 days before my LED lights went out. While it still functions, IT'S ONLY TWO DAYS OLD!!! The LED's don't just adjust the volume. They also indicate what level the sub is, the bass, the treble, center speaker, and rear speakers. This is really important when you are concerned annoying the apartments near by. The top of my sub came all scratched up. This puzzles me. It's wrapped in a soft bag, then completely encased in styrofoam, in the bottom of the box. How this could even happen is beyond me. The tech support phone number is incorrect. I don't know the correct one because after holding for 15 minutes, I got transferred and received a message that said due to inclement weather they were closed. Also, they say you must get a Vizio ipod dock because the remote incorporates ipod controls that only work with a vizio braded dock. Well vizio doesn't make an ipod dock. So don't base any part of your purchase on that. Honestly, this is probably going back.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gotjeepzj
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Perhaps THE best sound bar for the money
1/7/2012

Customer review by webhawk50

5.0 stars 1/7/2012 by webhawk50
by webhawk50

I could not be any happier than I am with the Vizio VHT510 soundbar system. I listened to quite a number of sound bar systems and, quite frankly, heard some good ones along the way. For the price I paid at Walmart for this system, however, none could even begin to compare to the quality to price ratio. I would say that if you're looking for a very fine sounding soundbar system that will exceed the sound quality of many of the major brands out there, this is the one to get. It was an easy setup. I only had to look at the manual once when I ran into a slight issue pairing the subwoofer to the main soundbar. The rest was incredibly easy. It looks great and the quality of the build is very good. I had read some remarks about the LED volume indicator going out on some of the earlier units, but so far, so good. And while I like the fact that I can see the volume using the LED indicators, even if they were to go out, I'd still be a major fan of this unit and would not want to part with it. It is simply that good.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
webhawk50
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not a quality product
3/30/2012

Customer review by Ironspud

1.0 stars 3/30/2012 by Ironspud
by Ironspud

Volume and channel (base, treble,) LED indicator quit working within an hour after installation. Called Vizio and explained the problem. Ask them if this was a common issue. They responded (Garth in South/North Dakota) that their product has the highest rating of all electronics in reliability. Said they would replace it but would take 7-9 business days to arrive. I stated I could return it to Walmart and reorder online and receive a new one in less than a week. He suggested I do that.... take him, the paper work, and company out of the loop. Well, thought I was just unlucky until I read the reviews. Seems this product has the same re-occurring problem. Vizio won't admit it. Now I'm worried about the '46 3D Vizio TV I purchased. I did get the warranty for it. Thanks, everyone, for the reviews. May have to reassess my confidence in Vizio. BTW, Walmart has reduced it price on this product by $50 in the last couple of days. Might be having a fire sale.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ironspud
Crockett, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great home theater unit at a great price!
12/21/2011

Customer review by okiepb

5.0 stars 12/21/2011 by okiepb
by okiepb

I was skeptical that this product would produce true surround sound effects. Man, was I wrong. The unit was very easy to set up and within 10 minutes, I was listening to mind-blowing surround sound with extraordinary bass thump while watching Golden Eye. I am truly a believer, now. There are only 3 things that would improve this system. 1) It should turn off the subwoofer when you power off the unit. 2) It needs one more lower volume setting to keep anyone in the other room from being awakened.( I am serious, this unit will blow you out of your chair) 3) My Fios remote does not recognize the Vizio remote code, so now I have 3 remotes to keep up with. This was the first time I ordered online from Walmart and picked it up in the store. The experience was flawless. I gave the attendant my confirmation and 5 minutes later was rolling it out the front door. This was the easiest Christmas shopping I have ever accomplished.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
okiepb
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Meets all expectations
12/13/2010

Customer review by SoundFanatic

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by SoundFanatic
by SoundFanatic

After reading a few reviews regarding the new Vizio VHT510 5.1, I was convinced enough to give it a try. After my new surround sound system arrived, I immediately unpacked it and began installing it. I have a Vizio 47" HDTV and the installation was a breeze. I did purchase an optical video cable to get the best possible sound quality (they should include it with the system). I placed the wireless subwoofer in a back corner of the room and the two satellite speakers on the left and right sides of the rear of the room on end tables. After my install was completed (took about 10 minutes), I was ready to put it to the test. I placed a blu-ray movie in my player and I was blown away with the quality of sound I was hearing. I've listened to other surround sound systems costing much more and they were not as good as the Vizio. The only negative comment I would mention is the remote. It is a bit small and the volume controls, bass, treble, etc, are even smaller but once you set it to your desired levels, you shouldn't have to deal with it very much. Overall, I'm extremely pleased with the product and it's quality of sound. For the price, I think it would be hard to beat.

Was this review helpful? (98) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SoundFanatic
Northwest, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Excellent!...only one thing not clearly stated
9/25/2012

Customer review by Scubavet

5.0 stars 9/25/2012 by Scubavet
by Scubavet

This speaker system works perfectly! I have 3 game systems and a computer hooked up to my Samsung LED tv via HDMI cables and one optical from the tv to the center speaker bar and get perfect 5.1 surround from all units, even the computer! The only draw back I wish was stated very clearly in the product description (which I did not see stated anywhere) is that though the sub is wireless the two rear satelite speakers ARE NOT. The rear speakers are hard wired to the wireless sub so you will have to keep that in mind when placing the sub and speakers. Plus the rear speaker wires are fairly thick with a 1/2" adapter on each end so running them through a tight space to hide the wires is out of the question. Other than that minor cosmetic issue I couldn't be more pleased with the ease of setup and sound quality. If you need a perfect 5.1 soundbar speaker unit without 6 speakers sitting around your living room, this is the best product I have found!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Scubavet
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VIZIO 5.1 SURROUND - WELL WORTH IT
1/24/2011

Customer review by ALS05STANG

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by ALS05STANG
by ALS05STANG

THIS SYSTEM WORKS WONDERFULLY! IT IS SUCH A NICE COMPLIMENT TO MY 42" VIZIO FLAT SCREEN TV AND WAS EASY TO HOOK UP. IT INCLUDES 4 SPEAKERS: A CENTER SOUND BAR UNIT, WOOFER UNIT AND 2 REAR SPEAKERS. THE WOOFER IS WIRELESS AND SEPARATE FROM THE CENTER UNIT, BOTH REAR SPEAKERS ARE HARD-WIRED TO THE WOOFER (NOT WIRELESS) BUT HOOKS UP EASILY. THE SOUND BAR SOUND INDICATOR LIGHTS HAVE WORKED FLAWLESSLY AND THE REMOTE IS WELL-DESIGNED. BE SURE TO TURN OFF YOUR TV SPEAKERS AND ONLY USE THE SURROUND SYSTEM WITH A OPTICAL CABLE - YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SYSTEM.

Was this review helpful? (76) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ALS05STANG
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT SOUND
12/8/2010

Customer review by BAMAJMAC

4.0 stars 12/8/2010 by BAMAJMAC
by BAMAJMAC

RESEARCHED THIS PRODUCT ON CNET AND OTHERS. GOOD REVIEWS . BOUGHT ON LINE AND IT SOUNDS GREAT WITH THE VIZIO 55 HD TV. THE VOLUME LIGHTS WENT OUT WITHIN 2 HRS OF USE. DOES NOT AFFECT THE SOUND OR FUNCTION . THIS WAS ALSO NOTED ON THE CNET REVIEW BY OTHER. HAVE NOT DECIDED WHETHER IT IS WORTH TAKING BACK OR NOT.

Was this review helpful? (89) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BAMAJMAC
MUSCLE SHOALS . AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Recommended with reservations
12/9/2010

Customer review by MunchkinandMollysmommy

3.0 stars 12/9/2010 by MunchkinandMollysmommy
by MunchkinandMollysmommy

This system sets up quickly and sounds amazing! The only draw back is the led lights on the front of the sound bar stopped working just 4 days after we got it. I called Vizio and was informed this is a common problem and the unit would need to be returned. I also viewed other reviews on Amazon for this unit and was shocked at the amount of people who had the same experience. While the unit did still work and sound amazing, I was not comfortable keeping it and returned it at Walmart. Again, sounds amazing, looks great, but the lights don't always work.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MunchkinandMollysmommy
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A steal for $300.
12/31/2011

Customer review by Bayview97

4.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Bayview97
by Bayview97

We've had the system for about a month now and it works great. It is a quality surround sound system for the money. The remote is relatively simple to understand and use. The system utilizes an optical cable instead of HDMI connection which is the only thing that I would change. I waited to write this review to see if we would experience any of the problems (with LED's on the sound bar...etc.) as others have written about in previous reviews but have had none. We love the fact that the connection between the front sound bar and rear subwoofer is wireless (rear speakers are hard-wired to subwoofer). The sound bar and subwoofer are spaced about 20 feet from each other. The manual recommends line-of-sight between them to insure synchronization but we have furniture between them and there has been no problem. We also have a much more expensive and powerful surround sound system in a larger room in our house. It does provide better quality sound, and more of it, than the Visio but it is not really fair to directly compare the two. I could have afforded another expensive system but this one meets all of our needs. If you are looking for a smaller system at a great value as we were, it is the best bang for the buck out there!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bayview97
the rolling hills of western Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Low quality, low price
7/16/2011

Customer review by JM99999

1.0 stars 7/16/2011 by JM99999
by JM99999

Low price and decent sound -- when it works. And it's doesn't. As noted in several other reviews here and on Amazon, there is a manufacturing defect in this model. The front-panel display lights do not work reliably, and the overall manufacturer quality control is very poor. I am now on my FOURTH system in one month and finally giving up!!! The first system I got from Wal-mart.com had the problem on receipt. Wal-mart did an exchange (easy!). The second one was fine on receipt, but the lights stopped working the following day. I called Vizio directly, and they did a warranty replacement (not so easy, but not too bad either). The third one, from Vizio directly, arrived with a totally dead subwoofer -- no lights, no sound. It went back to Vizio, and the fourth one, also direct from Vizio, developed the same problem about 10 days later. So after all this -- FOUR EXCHANGES! -- I'm returning the thing to Wal-mart for a refund. The lesson is that you get what you pay for. You don't pay a lot for this system, and that's exactly what you get. I'll spend a little more and get something that is well made. The one bright part of this whole experience is how good Wal-mart's customer support has been.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JM99999
Would recommend to a friend? No
Satellite Speakers Issue
11/25/2012

Customer review by pops1

1.0 stars 11/25/2012 by pops1
by pops1

Received the order today. Connected everything, worked fine for 5 mins and then the satellite speakers started making huge noise. As per the troubleshooting guide I checked the cable to make sure the connections are tight and connected well, still the noise continued. Tried to connect on DVD player directly, still not success. Called the Vizio support, had them on the call for 20-25 mins, they tried all the predefined resetting options and ultimately said the piece is defective. Just feels was it worth waiting for it to be delivered and then being on the call with Vizio. Feels they don't have a great QC, if you are lucky and you product works then you would be happy with the product, but it's a big risk. After this experience I may not buy another Vizio product. Would stick to the big guys (Sony and Samsungs..) had never had this kind of problem ever! Mind you the construction and style and everything does look great and if it works you are lucky.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
pops1
Irving, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good soundbar
3/1/2011

Customer review by ABADGRL

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by ABADGRL
by ABADGRL

I went online to CNet and they rated this model highly. My local Walmart didn't have it so I ordered it online. It arrived in good condition having been shipped well. It is easy to install. The satellite speakers provide great surround sound. Itis much more than just a soundbar with subwoofer. It will run me out of my 16 x 16 living room if I let it. Listening to my ipod is also enjoyable. I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (63) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ABADGRL
Suffolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Almost Perfect
9/30/2012

Customer review by Brioni

4.0 stars 9/30/2012 by Brioni
by Brioni

I recently purchased a 47" VIZIO LCD Flat Panel TV and this sound system (separately). The sound is fantastic. My only complaint so far is that even though both products are made by Vizio, the input and output jacks are not very compatible. For instance, the sound-bar only has two options for sound input; analog (red and white jacks) or Digital Audio Optical. It doesn't have HDMI. The Vizio HDTV options for audio output are HDMI, Digital Audio Optical, and stereo output jack. It DOES NOT have an analog audio out (red and white) jack. So that truly only leaves ONE option: Digital Audio Optical. Once I figured THAT out, the set up was a breeze. I had to spend an hour trying to figure out why my analog cable wasn't working. One would think that if it's made by the same manufacturer that all of the input and output jacks would be in synch, giving the user multiple sound options. This is not the case. It could be that the TV was made in Mexico, and the sound-bar was made in China. Who knows. Other than that, it offers GREAT quality (so far), and the Digital Audio Optical sound is fantastic. Movies and XBOX 360 both sound AMAZING in true surround sound!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brioni
Westerville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/17/2012

Customer review by VinnyTheGreat

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by VinnyTheGreat
by VinnyTheGreat

Looked at all reviews and this is by far the best price and sound bar system out there. the rear speakers make all the difference. Had the system for four days and the LED lights are still working.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VinnyTheGreat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad Product
6/20/2011

Customer review by Jhon70

1.0 stars 6/20/2011 by Jhon70
by Jhon70

Ordered from Walmart.com,Volume Lights went out in 3 days.Steer clear this is a bad product. Vizio also requires if you need warranty service to pay to ship it to a service center.Thank goodness for WalMart they took it back and refunded all my money.I can't speak highly enough of the great policies at WalMart they are the greatest!.Thank You WalMart!.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Jhon70
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/10/2011

Customer review by NONOVIZIO

1.0 stars 2/10/2011 by NONOVIZIO
by NONOVIZIO

I received The Vizio soundbar and wireless subwoofer for Christmas 2009, which was one year and one month ago. Course it is out of warranty! The soundbar quit working. I tried to find someone to repair it but had no luck except for Sears. They checked it out and told me that the part that went bad is not replaceable. Vizio customer service refused to help me even if it was just to recommend a solution. They informed me that because it was out of warranty and because the units were so inexpensive I should just go buy another one. In addition to that, the wireless subwoofer that came with the soundbar will not work with anything else. Calculated to work only with my soundbar. Vizio does not stand by their product!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NONOVIZIO
Temecula, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Average, Average, Average, Excellent
8/22/2011

Customer review by CountCrash

4.0 stars 8/22/2011 by CountCrash
by CountCrash
Walmart associate

Average Quality: Led system lights went out in 4 days. Had to reset to defaults when sound bar went out of sync with sub-woofer and would not re-sync. Left rear channel pops when going between surround sound and 2d sound from TV. Placed it in SRS WOW HD mode when watching regular TV. Little cover on optical port broke when inserting optical plug. Average Sound: Rear speakers only marginal quality and volume control on remote is so-so for them. Some hum from rear speakers. Sound could be crisper. On some movies speech is hard to make out, could be poor sound editing, even with center speaker volume to max. Will make windows vibrate though, he he he howdy neighbor, apartment dwellers beware. Average styling: No "hey cool" effect. Rear speakers and sub-woofer are dust magnates. Sub -woofer is kinda big, not easy to place inconspicuously although the tapered design does help. Excellent thought behind this system: Why are their not more systems like this? Sony? RCA? LG? HELLOOOOOO! No wires routed all over door ways or along wall/ceiling. Minimal wire spaghetti. More competition would force Vizio to make improvements. Could use RCA digital input jack for some systems that may not have optical spdif connections. Would recommend to a friend but, with full disclosure.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CountCrash
Central Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Walmart associate
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews