Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 267 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

267 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

267 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
146
4 stars
69
3 stars
12
2 stars
9
1 stars
31
1-20 of 230 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews
GREAT SOUND
12/8/2010

Customer review by BAMAJMAC

4.0 stars 12/8/2010 by BAMAJMAC
by BAMAJMAC

RESEARCHED THIS PRODUCT ON CNET AND OTHERS. GOOD REVIEWS . BOUGHT ON LINE AND IT SOUNDS GREAT WITH THE VIZIO 55 HD TV. THE VOLUME LIGHTS WENT OUT WITHIN 2 HRS OF USE. DOES NOT AFFECT THE SOUND OR FUNCTION . THIS WAS ALSO NOTED ON THE CNET REVIEW BY OTHER. HAVE NOT DECIDED WHETHER IT IS WORTH TAKING BACK OR NOT.

Was this review helpful? (89) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BAMAJMAC
MUSCLE SHOALS . AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VIZIO 5.1 SURROUND - WELL WORTH IT
1/24/2011

Customer review by ALS05STANG

5.0 stars 1/24/2011 by ALS05STANG
by ALS05STANG

THIS SYSTEM WORKS WONDERFULLY! IT IS SUCH A NICE COMPLIMENT TO MY 42" VIZIO FLAT SCREEN TV AND WAS EASY TO HOOK UP. IT INCLUDES 4 SPEAKERS: A CENTER SOUND BAR UNIT, WOOFER UNIT AND 2 REAR SPEAKERS. THE WOOFER IS WIRELESS AND SEPARATE FROM THE CENTER UNIT, BOTH REAR SPEAKERS ARE HARD-WIRED TO THE WOOFER (NOT WIRELESS) BUT HOOKS UP EASILY. THE SOUND BAR SOUND INDICATOR LIGHTS HAVE WORKED FLAWLESSLY AND THE REMOTE IS WELL-DESIGNED. BE SURE TO TURN OFF YOUR TV SPEAKERS AND ONLY USE THE SURROUND SYSTEM WITH A OPTICAL CABLE - YOU WON'T BE DISAPPOINTED! I HIGHLY RECOMMEND THIS SYSTEM.

Was this review helpful? (76) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ALS05STANG
Greensboro, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very good soundbar
3/1/2011

Customer review by ABADGRL

5.0 stars 3/1/2011 by ABADGRL
by ABADGRL

I went online to CNet and they rated this model highly. My local Walmart didn't have it so I ordered it online. It arrived in good condition having been shipped well. It is easy to install. The satellite speakers provide great surround sound. Itis much more than just a soundbar with subwoofer. It will run me out of my 16 x 16 living room if I let it. Listening to my ipod is also enjoyable. I hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (63) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ABADGRL
Suffolk, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Meets all expectations
12/13/2010

Customer review by SoundFanatic

5.0 stars 12/13/2010 by SoundFanatic
by SoundFanatic

After reading a few reviews regarding the new Vizio VHT510 5.1, I was convinced enough to give it a try. After my new surround sound system arrived, I immediately unpacked it and began installing it. I have a Vizio 47" HDTV and the installation was a breeze. I did purchase an optical video cable to get the best possible sound quality (they should include it with the system). I placed the wireless subwoofer in a back corner of the room and the two satellite speakers on the left and right sides of the rear of the room on end tables. After my install was completed (took about 10 minutes), I was ready to put it to the test. I placed a blu-ray movie in my player and I was blown away with the quality of sound I was hearing. I've listened to other surround sound systems costing much more and they were not as good as the Vizio. The only negative comment I would mention is the remote. It is a bit small and the volume controls, bass, treble, etc, are even smaller but once you set it to your desired levels, you shouldn't have to deal with it very much. Overall, I'm extremely pleased with the product and it's quality of sound. For the price, I think it would be hard to beat.

Was this review helpful? (98) (24)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SoundFanatic
Northwest, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Solid product at a great price.
5/13/2011

Customer review by js3sd12

5.0 stars 5/13/2011 by js3sd12
by js3sd12

I purchased this system as a sound bar skeptic and as a Vizio first timer. As a 'Once upon a long, long time ago music producer', sound quality is rather important to me. If the sound quality is less than superb, you will find me reading a book. So I was hesitant in buying audio devices with the Vizio label on them, simply because I had no past experience with them, however, I recently purchased 4 of their LED-LCD TV's that far exceeded my expectations; and I like to live in a world where the best accessories for products are made by the same manufacturer, thus after great internal debate, I finally clicked 'checkout' instead of 'remove from cart'. I mounted this item approximately six feet above my TV on a cutaway ledge that my wife refuses to let me put anything else on because she is, "Still figuring out what would go just perfect up there." This puts the bar at approximately 12.5 ft from the floor with a slight downward angle pointing it at the center of the room. The sub is nearly 50 feet away under a side table at the back of the room with the rear speakers mounted at about 8 feet from the floor and 4 feet from the left and right wall respectively. This Sound Bar and Sub home theatre system transforms my house into whatever world is on the screen flawlessly, as though it is some sort of futuristic life augmenting device. Given, I do have a little more experience and knowledge of how sound works/travels/bounces/etc., but that knowledge just gives me a better idea for placement. --absolutely zero issues with connection at 50' apart and with couches/chairs/a marble table/ and more between the bar and sub. Very strong signal. --I did not have to use anything that was not in the box to install this. (other than my ladder and drill/driver of course) plenty of speaker wire for the rear speakers, bar has very nice mounting hardware. easy. --I have not pressed any buttons other than 'power' on the remote for this unit after my initial setup and sound test. Set levels and adjusted the TV Audio to variable out and enjoy. --This is done with no receiver, blueray receiver, pre amp, or audio converter. TV out to Sound Bar using an optical cable. --Every single person that has seen and heard this system has drooled with envy. My wife's sister called it amazing, and my wife was watching a cooking show... Thank you Vizio. --55" TV + Sound bar + Delivery + 2 year protection on both was less than $1500. --my brother has a $6000 professionally installed system that is not good enough to lie in the shadows my Vizio System casts. -- it is a Window Rattling, Drink Spilling, Neighbor Irritating, Ground Shaking, Mind Blowing, Gives you that special feeling every time and you don't have to ask because it turns you on every time you turn it on experience.

Was this review helpful? (51) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
js3sd12
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Recommended with reservations
12/9/2010

Customer review by MunchkinandMollysmommy

3.0 stars 12/9/2010 by MunchkinandMollysmommy
by MunchkinandMollysmommy

This system sets up quickly and sounds amazing! The only draw back is the led lights on the front of the sound bar stopped working just 4 days after we got it. I called Vizio and was informed this is a common problem and the unit would need to be returned. I also viewed other reviews on Amazon for this unit and was shocked at the amount of people who had the same experience. While the unit did still work and sound amazing, I was not comfortable keeping it and returned it at Walmart. Again, sounds amazing, looks great, but the lights don't always work.

Was this review helpful? (28) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MunchkinandMollysmommy
Waukesha, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Sound
12/12/2010

Customer review by MrTrainer

4.0 stars 12/12/2010 by MrTrainer
by MrTrainer

Love this product 100% except that the led volume indicator lights went out. After doing some research, it is a common problem. But everything works and sounds excellent. Unless you need the volume lights for some reason (I mean you can just listen to the volume decrease/increase lol), you won't be disappointed. Excellent bass from a 6.5" sub. Full rear/center/sub/bass/treble control from the remote!

Was this review helpful? (16) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrTrainer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bad Product
6/20/2011

Customer review by Jhon70

1.0 stars 6/20/2011 by Jhon70
by Jhon70

Ordered from Walmart.com,Volume Lights went out in 3 days.Steer clear this is a bad product. Vizio also requires if you need warranty service to pay to ship it to a service center.Thank goodness for WalMart they took it back and refunded all my money.I can't speak highly enough of the great policies at WalMart they are the greatest!.Thank You WalMart!.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jhon70
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
2/10/2011

Customer review by NONOVIZIO

1.0 stars 2/10/2011 by NONOVIZIO
by NONOVIZIO

I received The Vizio soundbar and wireless subwoofer for Christmas 2009, which was one year and one month ago. Course it is out of warranty! The soundbar quit working. I tried to find someone to repair it but had no luck except for Sears. They checked it out and told me that the part that went bad is not replaceable. Vizio customer service refused to help me even if it was just to recommend a solution. They informed me that because it was out of warranty and because the units were so inexpensive I should just go buy another one. In addition to that, the wireless subwoofer that came with the soundbar will not work with anything else. Calculated to work only with my soundbar. Vizio does not stand by their product!!!!!!!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NONOVIZIO
Temecula, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
2/17/2012

Customer review by VinnyTheGreat

5.0 stars 2/17/2012 by VinnyTheGreat
by VinnyTheGreat

Looked at all reviews and this is by far the best price and sound bar system out there. the rear speakers make all the difference. Had the system for four days and the LED lights are still working.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VinnyTheGreat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect product except for 2 glaring issues
7/5/2011

Customer review by JB45150

1.0 stars 7/5/2011 by JB45150
by JB45150

This system is perfect for my HTPC setup - single optical cable hookup from the PC to the soundbar and wireless conectivity to the sub AND rear speakers. It is by far the best sounding sub $500 system I have tried. The powered sub rocks. The separate level controls for center, rear, sub, bass and trebel are excellent. Unfortunately, the reason I have tried more than this system is because of 2 issues. First the LED level/input indicators quit working after a day or two. I've had WalMart ship me 2 of these systems and both have suffered the same problem. It's an epidemic - any of the hundreds of reviews that you see of this product either on retailer sites or home theater enthusiast forums all praise the appearance and sound quality of this product, but almost all of them lament the fact that the LED's quickly fail. Almost everyone loves the unit so much that they have tried exchanging 2, 3, 4 or more times hoping to get a "good" unit that the LED's hold up on. Almost no one appears to get lucky on this. The second issue I had is that the speakers "crackle" or "pop" once when the toslink input changes from a non-Dolby/DTS signal to a Dolby/DTS signal (i.e. when changing from an analog cable station to a digital one). None of the other speaker systems have done this so I don't think it's my sound output. It's unfortunate that no other manufacturers have designed a system like this. Some have wireless subs but still require wired rear speakers. Others have wireless rears but a wired sub. Some have a passive sub. This concept of a wireless powered sub and rears connected to the sub is perfect for the new generation of home theaters. With LCD TV's hanging on the wall, there are no longer large entertainment centers to contain a sub at the front of the room. Having a wireless sub sitting under an end table next to the couch with the rears wired to it just seems so logical. I'm still hoping that Vizio gets these two issues fixed or some other manufacturer comes out with a comparable system. It's unfortunate that two very minor technical issues render this unit unusable and keep it from being a real gem

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JB45150
Milford, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not perfect, but very good
1/29/2011

Customer review by ADBronx52

4.0 stars 1/29/2011 by ADBronx52
by ADBronx52

Bought this a week or so ago, and so far so good. Better price at Walmart than at Amazon. Pluses: Good sound, wireless rear speakers and subwoofer. Nice looking. Minuses: Not enough inputs -- one optical, one analog. Having to buy splitters to make everything connect. Overall, a little pricey, but about the least expensive wireless surround sound speakers I could find, and pretty good quality.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ADBronx52
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Sound
4/28/2012

Customer review by only1glad

5.0 stars 4/28/2012 by only1glad
by only1glad

I was a little concerned about reports that said the led volume indicator lights quit working shortly after installation. Decided to purchase anyway, since other reviews indicated good pair for other vizio products. The sound is great, good size, easy to set up, no complaints. Great addition to vizio led 3D 55" tv and vizio 3D DVD player. I must include that after 4 days the led volume lights on front of the sound bar did stop working. I did an online chat with vizio tech and he had me turn off the sound bar, unplug the power from the sound bar and hold the power button down for 30 seconds, plug back in and turn back on. This did not work the first time may not have held the power button down long enough. Went through those steps a second time. The led volume lights were reset and have worked ever since. The tech told me that the bar would need to be replaced if these steps did not correct the problem. Yeah! It did worked and continues to work. We are happy as larks with this sound system.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
only1glad
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Piece of junk!
3/28/2011

Customer review by HDRider95

1.0 stars 3/28/2011 by HDRider95
by HDRider95

Sounded good but only worked for less than a month. Vizio wanted me to send them a buch of information and weren't any help at all. Thank goodness Wal Mart let me return it.

Was this review helpful? (11) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HDRider95
Muleshoe, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A steal for $300.
12/31/2011

Customer review by Bayview97

4.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Bayview97
by Bayview97

We've had the system for about a month now and it works great. It is a quality surround sound system for the money. The remote is relatively simple to understand and use. The system utilizes an optical cable instead of HDMI connection which is the only thing that I would change. I waited to write this review to see if we would experience any of the problems (with LED's on the sound bar...etc.) as others have written about in previous reviews but have had none. We love the fact that the connection between the front sound bar and rear subwoofer is wireless (rear speakers are hard-wired to subwoofer). The sound bar and subwoofer are spaced about 20 feet from each other. The manual recommends line-of-sight between them to insure synchronization but we have furniture between them and there has been no problem. We also have a much more expensive and powerful surround sound system in a larger room in our house. It does provide better quality sound, and more of it, than the Visio but it is not really fair to directly compare the two. I could have afforded another expensive system but this one meets all of our needs. If you are looking for a smaller system at a great value as we were, it is the best bang for the buck out there!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bayview97
the rolling hills of western Kentucky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Defective VHT510 5.1 Soundbar
9/28/2011

Customer review by johncb49

2.0 stars 9/28/2011 by johncb49
by johncb49

My Vizio VHT510 is in transit back to Vizio as of 9/23/11. This product had a known problem with the LEDs on the soundbar disappearing after very little use (mine disappeared the 2nd time I turned the unit on). Reviews I read indicated that Vizio had corrected the problem (which is why I made this purchase). Vizio Tech Support agrees, and said that the serial number Wal-Mart sold me was from the defective batch. Vizio is paying for the return of the defective set and the shipping of a new, corrected copy back to me. As of this date, I cannot report on the performance of the speakers since I have not had time to evaluate them. I am annoyed that Wal-Mart is still selling the defective serial numbers.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johncb49
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
LED lights went out in ONE HOUR!
7/11/2011

Customer review by Majictiger

1.0 stars 7/11/2011 by Majictiger
by Majictiger

When I first hooked this system up I was thrilled that it worked so well for the money I paid for it....the wireless subwoofer even worked just fine. But after watching a couple of movies I noticed that the LED lights that were once there had just stopped working all together....I had no idea or clue what happened???? So I packed the item back up and off to the store I went to return it....I did an even exchange and brought a new one home....much to my surprise, the LED lights on the new one stopped working within ONE HOUR!!!!!! This is a piece of junk folks....totally disgusted with VIZIO who was of no help on the phone I might add....Do yourself a favor and don't waste your time or money on this item!

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Majictiger
Morrisville PA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
No wires
1/13/2012

Customer review by Travis726

5.0 stars 1/13/2012 by Travis726
by Travis726

There are actually wires, from the sub, to the rear satellite speakers. Which is sweet because it finally gave me a way to not have to run wires to the back of the room. Just put the sub in the back of the room and problem solved!.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Travis726
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works great despise some minor issues
11/4/2011

Customer review by jeffsnavy

5.0 stars 11/4/2011 by jeffsnavy
by jeffsnavy

I purchased my first Vizio HTIAB right before the Super Bowl 2011, and it has done a fantastic job, I purchased it at Costco which is where I seen it on display and their price was unbeatable $199.00 for a new HTIAB with 5.1. Brought it home hooking it up was about 15 to 20 minutes, I have spent a lot more time hooking up others. After a little bit of working the kinks out of it and hooking up my 3 dvd players to my 55" Samsung HDTV set I am blown away by the sound and how it works. I highly recommend if you in the market to replace a HT system of many components which is what I had before, multiple devices with wires all over the place. I love the fact that the Sub is wireless! thats one of the best parts ever, the other is the sound, its simply outstanding. Have had some probs with lights on speaker lighting up DTS light does not light up anymore??? remote is small and buttons on it are even smaller, the remote is the cheap part of the system if Vizio can do anything make a replacement please. The other complaint I have is the surround speaker wires, have had probs with one of the connections to the left speaker wire since I got it home. I recommend this system for those wanting a nice convenient replacement to the much larger systems in the past, trust me I have had 4 of the big ones and love this one despise the minor probs that I am experiencing. Movies sound incredible, at times better than most theatres, tv shows/news cast sound fantastic. I am probably gonna have to go buy another one because of my wires to my surround speakers are worn out, but otherwise I swear by my Vizio...

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jeffsnavy
Puyallup, Wa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Low quality, low price
7/16/2011

Customer review by JM99999

1.0 stars 7/16/2011 by JM99999
by JM99999

Low price and decent sound -- when it works. And it's doesn't. As noted in several other reviews here and on Amazon, there is a manufacturing defect in this model. The front-panel display lights do not work reliably, and the overall manufacturer quality control is very poor. I am now on my FOURTH system in one month and finally giving up!!! The first system I got from Wal-mart.com had the problem on receipt. Wal-mart did an exchange (easy!). The second one was fine on receipt, but the lights stopped working the following day. I called Vizio directly, and they did a warranty replacement (not so easy, but not too bad either). The third one, from Vizio directly, arrived with a totally dead subwoofer -- no lights, no sound. It went back to Vizio, and the fourth one, also direct from Vizio, developed the same problem about 10 days later. So after all this -- FOUR EXCHANGES! -- I'm returning the thing to Wal-mart for a refund. The lesson is that you get what you pay for. You don't pay a lot for this system, and that's exactly what you get. I'll spend a little more and get something that is well made. The one bright part of this whole experience is how good Wal-mart's customer support has been.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JM99999
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 230 total reviews
1-20 of 230 reviews