Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 128 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

128 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

128 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

78%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
70
4 stars
30
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 stars
7
1-20 of 113 total reviews
78%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews
A great product
4/4/2010

Customer review by Valkman

5.0 stars 4/4/2010 by Valkman
by Valkman

Within 10 minutes, was hooked up to my wireless and watching a video stream from Netflix. The upconvert woked great on my DVD's, with the picture quality much better than the old standard DVD player. Thanks Walmart and Vizio...

Was this review helpful? (56) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Valkman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This player delivers!
5/22/2010

Customer review by klg49er

5.0 stars 5/22/2010 by klg49er
by klg49er

Setup was a breeze. The player found my network without a hitch. I was streaming HD from Netflix on my Vizio 37" HDTV within 15 minutes of opening the box. Pandora sounds terrific on my Vizio VBS200 Sound Bar (purchased earlier at Walmart - another Vizio super bargain!). Vudu is perfection..., especially the HDX format movies. Granted, we did just recently increase our cable internet to a faster level of service. I don't know what the experience would be like on a slower connection. I have no complaints about playing Blu Ray discs. It took 40 seconds to load Avatar and as noted by others, there was a little mechanical "noise" while loading (just enough from time to time during the 40 seconds of loading to let me know that everything was working), but these are common issues on Blu Ray players from other Manufactures..., players that cost far more than this one. Upconverted DVDs are stellar - don't let anyone try to convince you otherwise. You'd swear you were watching native 1080p. A few others have mentioned that they have had an issue with the remote but I certainly don't understand why because I actually think it's a great remote. The user guide explains all of its features - read it and enjoy them all! Maybe we just happen to have our box sitting in a sweet spot, but we've never had a single problem with unresponsiveness from the remote. I could not be more pleased! I highly recommend.

Was this review helpful? (52) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
klg49er
Midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Better than Expected
3/25/2010

Customer review by Marvinbjp

5.0 stars 3/25/2010 by Marvinbjp
by Marvinbjp

I've been looking for a Blu-ray player for quite awhile. One of the main key components that I was looking for was an integrated wireless adapter. I looked at Samsung and Sony, but they all required a wireless adapter that ranged from $40 to $80 outside of the price of the player being $180 or so. I brought it home and within 15 minutes, was up and connected to the internet and watching a blu-ray movie. The internet apps work seamless as well. I had a netflix account and a pandora account, and being able to connect to those was real easy. Totally recommend this product for anyone looking for a good quality blu-ray player.

Was this review helpful? (39) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Marvinbjp
Northglenn, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Simply Awsome
4/22/2010

Customer review by DadsRockShop

5.0 stars 4/22/2010 by DadsRockShop
by DadsRockShop

Outstanding! Hands down the best offered. Especially at the price. Highly recommend. WalMart had it to me in 4 days.

Was this review helpful? (18) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DadsRockShop
Mohave Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio VBR200W "A Must Have"
6/7/2010

Customer review by pnkwhite

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by pnkwhite
by pnkwhite

This is my 1st Blu-ray player and I really wanted one with the built in Wi-Fi which this one has. This is one sharp looking player with no visible buttons on the player when turned off. They are only visible when the player is turned on as they all light up like a smooth touch pad. I had this player out of the box, hooked up, Netflix and Pandora activated in 10 minutes. So far everything seems to work great and the Bluray picture quality is superb and the up converted regular DVD is so much better than on a regular DVD player. I have been using the Netflix streaming daily as it is so easy to use. I could not be happier with this player, a must for all fans of tech gadgets. I have attached a couple pics of the player turned off and one with it turned on showing the lighted controls, so cool.

Was this review helpful? (14) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pnkwhite
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Beyond Expectations
8/11/2010

Customer review by MsBargains

5.0 stars 8/11/2010 by MsBargains
by MsBargains

I purchased this for 3 reasons good buy, Blue Ray Dvd Player & WiFi...The picture is crystal clear even on Netflix items..I got this item when shipping to home was free on electronic items which made this a plus. Delivery was the next week.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MsBargains
Beaver Dam, Ky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Nice player, wireless makes it better than others
4/14/2010

Customer review by TeKnowPhile

4.0 stars 4/14/2010 by TeKnowPhile
by TeKnowPhile

I purchased this player from vizio to watch Netflix on my television. I liked the fact it had wireless internet. Setup was a snap and after activating the box at Netflix I was watching streamed movies in no time. My one complaint is the video quality of the streamed movies. Netflix claims HD but it is far from it. Picture VHS quality for those of you old enough to remember it. Still, it is an included service from Netflix and it comes in handy when nothing is on and we want a movie. For the price, I recommend this player. Wal-Mart had it at my door a day earlier than promised too. Thanks for that Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TeKnowPhile
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Needs some work
5/1/2010

Customer review by waldude456

2.0 stars 5/1/2010 by waldude456
by waldude456

I bought this player to be able to stream Netflix movies to my television using the built-in wireless card. I also have a Vizio television which I am very pleased with. There were three significant problems with my unit that led to my returning it to a Walmart store. One was probably a defect (the remote); the the other two are design flaws. First, the remote control would not work reliably. To get it to work, you had to jiggle or spin the batteries, much as you can do with a typical remote when the batteries are low. Even with two new sets of batteries (three, if you count the included batteries), I could not get the remote to reliably work. This led to confusion as to whether the DVD was not responding or hung up, or if the remote was not functioning. There are not enough controls on the DVD player itself to use any of the setup functions. You MUST have a working remote. However, since this DVD player is hard to find in stores locally (I checked four Walmarts before ordering it online), I had no hope of getting a new remote or exchanging the unit. Second, the built-in wireless antenna is very weak. Even when I moved my router to within 25 feet of the DVD player, I could not get a reliable connection. I have a brand new wireless router (B/G/N compatible) with relatively basic security (a pre-shared keyword). What I found was that the DVD would connect to my neighbor's unprotected wireless network (with a weaker signal, 50 feet and several walls away) more readily than it would connect to mine! Every time I turned on the DVD player, I would have to play with the wireless settings, connecting, disconnecting, and reconnecting multiple times until a working connection would establish. Third, I think the computer processor powering this DVD player is woefully underpowered. Booting up took a while, as did processing any command issued by the remote. When the unit would connect and something from Netflix would stream, the picture and sound were flawless, and in the four movies I was able to watch over a five day period, I only had one episode of re-buffering of the stream. I just didn't think the setup process each time was worth the hassle. Certainly, a houseguest or a non-technically savvy, impatient family member would never get it to work. I did not connect the unit directly to an Ethernet connection but I'm sure it would have worked much better. But the point was to avoid stringing computer wires to the television.

Was this review helpful? (10) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waldude456
Aurora, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
vbr200w and Wireless connection
4/19/2010

Customer review by MrTribbles

4.0 stars 4/19/2010 by MrTribbles
by MrTribbles

I wanted to comment about the wireless connectivity for this box. I was not able to initially connect to my Verizon wireless router. However I found that the Vizio player wants to use "shared access" (verizon routers are set to "open access" by default) , once this was enabled under the WEP settings my player was able to connect to it via wireless.. Hope this helps others who see the same issue

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MrTribbles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall rating B+
3/27/2010

Customer review by bo49684

5.0 stars 3/27/2010 by bo49684
by bo49684

I don't normally write reviews but I thought I would since I have been VERY impressed with Vizio products. I purchased a 42" Vizio from Sams Club about 2 weeks ago and thought I would add a blue ray player to this set up. I purchased this blue ray player on 3/26/10 and watched the movie Blindside. First the TV is AMAZING and the blue ray player is just as impressive. Everything about the blue ray player is very cool and easy to use. If there is one negitive (and that is why I gave it a B+) it's that you have to point the remote DIRECTLY at the blue ray player. The TV has bluetooth in it's remote and will work from the next room, why they didn't do that with the blue ray remote I will never know. But other than that, it's a GREAT blue ray player.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bo49684
Traverse City, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very good
4/13/2010

Customer review by bose2

5.0 stars 4/13/2010 by bose2
by bose2

Well it took me a while to connect to internet via wireless. It wasn't bluray, it was my router security settings and then one of the best bluray was playing all my favorite movies. This bluray meets all the requirment, I was looking so far.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bose2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Walmart associate
Right out of the box
5/29/2010

Customer review by WarpfactorX

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by WarpfactorX
by WarpfactorX

It took me less than 5 minutes to get this player up and running using the HDMI cable and was able to log into nexflix within minutes. Spools up blurays quickly. I am not seeming to have the problem with the remote that others seem to be having. Mine worked fine from a distance while sitting on various places on my couch. A great unit that does much that others with a higher price tag can't do.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WarpfactorX
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
WOW---BUY THIS ONE NOW
5/29/2010

Customer review by Geckomoney

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by Geckomoney
by Geckomoney

Ok this is the third Blu-Ray I have hooked up in 90 days and by far the BEST. I read each review prior to buying this one so I was ready for all the issues others had in the set-up. I re-set my wireless as I hooked this one up and as I powered both on---WOW---Quick set-up and on line in a few seconds. So the remote is not the best but c'mon son---This is the best buy you will find on a Blu-Ray. Very clear picture---silent playback---quick response and just the best item I have purchased in a long time.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Geckomoney
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
5/26/2011

Customer review by crs2001

1.0 stars 5/26/2011 by crs2001
by crs2001

WORST Bluray player if you want to stream movies.....worked fine for the 1st month...then it kept dropping Netflix....had to restore default settings after it said an update was available....a month later there was another update and it said "successfulyl updated". It restarted, logged onto Netflix and it said Update Unsuccessful please check your connection & would do nothing else. Dont waste you money on this. Somone elses review was correct...Vizio rushed this bluray out too quick!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crs2001
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy setup
6/30/2010

Customer review by indianafarmboy

5.0 stars 6/30/2010 by indianafarmboy
by indianafarmboy

We hooked it up it asked to look for wireless connection and connected with our wireless router first try. Signed up with netflix and it connected with the second try. Downloads movies instantly without any problems.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
indianafarmboy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Below Par for Vizio
6/11/2010

Customer review by sedman

3.0 stars 6/11/2010 by sedman
by sedman

The performance of the player is avarage, but the remote is terrible. The remote is not well designed, feels flimsy, and the unit is often unresponsive to the commands. The buttons fail to work so often that they are receiving excesssive wear and I anticipate they'll fail soon.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sedman
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome Product --WORKS WITH VERIZON FIOS
4/30/2010

Customer review by lawaddict

5.0 stars 4/30/2010 by lawaddict
by lawaddict

Whoever the guy is that wrote in his review that this product doesn't work with Verizon Fios, he's wrong. And the fellow that gave instruction on how to make it work with Verizon, he's correct. Its true, when you initially try to connect to your wireless service using Verizon Fios, it will not work. BUT, good news! All you have to do is call the technical support department for Verizon and tell them: "please change my router's setting from open access to shared access." And voila! It works. Im using it this very moment. Hope this helps. ;o)

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lawaddict
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
GET THIS!
7/29/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/29/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I was guna get another PS3 till i found this. I only use my ps3 for media, music, movies, pics, NETFLIX, etc.. and I wanted another for a 2nd room. This thing does almost the same. Netflix in HD is great, built in -wifi (you have to have your network set-up with WPA encrpytion and not WEP), facebook, weather, what more can you ask for out of a blu-ray player this cheap? you will NOT regret this if you buy it. Get this like..now.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Pawtucket, RI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
GREAT PRODUCT IF IT WORKED
7/19/2010

Customer review by LVCONSUMER

1.0 stars 7/19/2010 by LVCONSUMER
by LVCONSUMER

WE ARE ON OUR 2ND VIZIO BLUERAY PLAYER WITH WIRELESS INTERNET AND NETFLIX APPS, IT WAS THE BEST VALUE FOR ALL THE FEATURES BUT OUR FIRST ONE BROKE AFTER A WEEK WITH ONLY SQUIGGLY LINES APPEARING. AFTER MUCH TROUBLE SHOOTING AND TRYING IT ON ANOTHER TV WE TOOK IT BACK AND GOT A NEW ONE. THIS ONE ONLY LASTED OVERNIGHT, NOW IT COMES ON FOR ABOUT A SECOND AND TURNS OFF. SORRY VIZIO YOU LOST A CUNTOMER, GOING TO GET A SAMSUNG OR SONY. I MAY PAY MORE BUT ATLEAST THE DEVICE WILL WORK FOR MORE THAN A COUPLE HOURS.

Was this review helpful? (5) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LVCONSUMER
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
BUYER BEWARE!!!
6/3/2011

Customer review by 864213586

1.0 stars 6/3/2011 by 864213586
by 864213586

At 1st I was quite pleased w/ this product - easy to set up etc.... However, I've now owned it over 3 months and regret having ever purchased it. My DVD/Bluray is often held ransom, with the door unable to be openned leaving me to watching reruns or the same movie over and over. Othertimes it will simply stop working in the middle of a movie. My recommendation is to save a bit more money and buy a different and better name brand.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
864213586
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 113 total reviews
1-20 of 113 reviews