Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 227 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

227 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

227 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

79%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
148
4 stars
36
3 stars
15
2 stars
12
1 stars
16
1-20 of 225 total reviews
79%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 225 total reviews
1-20 of 225 reviews
A close shave that lasts!
8/14/2016

Customer review by extravagantgeek

5.0 stars 8/14/2016 by extravagantgeek
by extravagantgeek

I've always been a fan of razors from Gillette Venus so when I was given the opportunity from Gillette to try these (and for free no less) I was overjoyed. I've used a few different Venus razors over the years and I think I have to be honest and say that this is my new favorite. It leaves my legs feeling incredibly smooth which is a pleasant surprise as my hair usually gives razors a bit of a challenge. I can't see very well in the shower without my glasses on so I often think I've gotten everything only to find there are still random hairs sticking out everywhere. That was not the case with this razor it got all the hair on my legs without having to go over them repeatedly as I normally have to do. I also appreciate that the close shave means I don't have to shave them quite as much. I'm looking forward to wearing skirts, dresses and the like more often now that I don't have to hide my legs by being too lazy to shave every few days, its no longer a requirement thanks to Venus Gillette Embrace! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

extravagantgeek
Atlanta, GA
So smooth!
8/16/2016

Customer review by labcatsteph

5.0 stars 8/16/2016 by labcatsteph
by labcatsteph

Growing up I was never a blade girl. After breaking electric razor foil after foil and never really getting those super smooth legs, I was looking for something better. Even though I was still hesitant about nicks as the handful of times I've used blades on the past they seemed inevitable, I gave Venus Embrace a try. I was not disappointed at all, and I'm proud to say nick-free!! The blades are very close to one another add compared to the few other blades I've tried and even on knees and ankles, I didn't cut myself once. I credit that, in large part, to the ultra flexible neck that does an amazing job of hugging curves and allowing me to hold the razor in a comfortable position the whole time. Together with the touch of Olay cream I easily achieved those amazingly smooth legs I've always wanted! Now, over a week later, the stubble is coming in (I'm lucky is blonde) but my legs are still soft. No prickly cactus for me! Very happy with this product, excited to continue using it and plan to stick with it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

labcatsteph
Warrington, PA
No nicks on legs!
8/8/2016

Customer review by yackyyan12

5.0 stars 8/8/2016 by yackyyan12
by yackyyan12

I think these are great razors! I happen to be extremely lazy when it comes to shaving my legs, because I rarely see the point of shaving. I work all the time and my normal attire is to wear scrubs. Not much of a need to shave for myself or other people. However, I still wanted in this campaign, because I am tired of using cheap disposable razors that just don't cut it. Since I tend to go probably too long between shavings I hate using disposable razors because the tend to have only 1-2 razor blades. That means by the time I get to the secondlegs I tend to press too hard and cut myself. No longer! So happy to have found something that is worth the cost of the razor itself. No longer do I press too hard because the blades have become dull. Also I can use the razor more than once is a bonua. I normally get 3-4 times out of the blades now, plus my legs are much smoother. Super nice to use the razor that I no longer have such large intervals between shaving. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

yackyyan12
GREEN VALLEY, AZ
Quick, Gentle, Easy! Bye bye 3 blades!
8/2/2016

Customer review by JoyceS13

5.0 stars 8/2/2016 by JoyceS13
by JoyceS13

Usually when it is time for me to shave, I am afraid of missing a spot, or my blades not being as strong as they claim to be. This 5 blade razor gets rid of all the hair in one easy stroke. I have used this multiple times and so far, the first cartridge it is still as strong as when I first popped it onto my razor! I am so used to razors becoming weaker within 2 weeks or so. With my last razor purchase I noticed my hair was growing back after 3-4 days and that is not typical of me. With this razor I am happy to say that it has been a week since I shaved my legs and there still isn't any hair growing back so that is already a huge bonus in my eyes. I received this Gillette Venus Embrace Razor for free from Gillette in exchange for my honest opinion. In no way will I be paid for giving back my positive, fully honest review. You should definitely give this razor a try if you constantly struggle to find a good razor. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

JoyceS13
New York, NY
Smoothest, Closest Shave Ever
7/26/2016

Customer review by malza015

5.0 stars 7/26/2016 by malza015
by malza015

I'll first start off by saying that this is not the first Venus razor I have tried. I have tried absolutely ALL of them! This was the only one that I had yet to add to mac collection of colorful razors in my shower. These razors give the smoothest shave I've ever experienced. It's crazy how the extra two blades make the biggest difference. I have very sensitive skin and always get razor bumps after my shave. However, with these I have not experienced any of those uncomfortable razor bumps. All thanks to the Embrace razors, I have now found my holy grail razor! I will say this, however, there is one thing I do not like about the Embrace razors and that is the price. This is most definitely a costly product and thanks to Gillette I have received this product for free. I will say that I do believe the hefty price is definitely worth the price. I will update this review once I see how long it lasts. Overall, Great Product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

malza015
Miami, FL
Clean and Smooth
7/20/2016

Customer review by KEJ123

4.0 stars 7/20/2016 by KEJ123
by KEJ123

I think the Gillette Venus Embrace Razor was the most comfortable razor I believe I have ever used. I received a free sample to try from Gillette. It fit right in my hand and the place to put my finger to guide the razor seemed like it was made just for me. Its very lightweight of soft rubber. I had to stop a couple of times to make sure it was actually shaving the hair. No chance of getting a razor cut with this. I do however think it would be better if the blades were just a tiny bit longer, because I kept having to rinse it alot from my shave lotion and reshave the spot, a little more than usual. Its perfect for a young guy or girl just starting to shave. I like the packaging, very easy to open and simple to attach the razor handle to the blade. It also comes with an extra refill blade which is very convenient. I think the name Embrace fits it well. I like the bright lime and blue colors. Overall, its a good razor. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

KEJ123
Jacksonville, AR
Not my Favorite
7/27/2016

Customer review by amdargis

2.0 stars 7/27/2016 by amdargis
by amdargis

This Gillette Venus Embrace Razor I got for free from Gillete is not my favorite. I really like the razor for shaving my legs; the five blades and the moisture/lotion strip make my legs really soft and cleanly shaven. The razor is great at getting around my knees and not leaving any little cuts, scratches, or irritation on my leg. I also really like the little area on the razor handle to put my finger to help me stabilize the razor while I shave; it makes for a lot easier and closer cut shave. The aspect I did not like about this razor was the fact that it wasn't very useful for shaving my bikini and arm pits areas. The head of the razor is too large to get around more curved areas of my body. I noticed after I used it a few time to shave my bikini and armpit area that large sections of hair were still present simply because the razor head was too large to reach where needed. I would not go out of my way to buy this razor because I'd rather own a razor that can shave all areas adequately and consistently plus I would rather not have 2 razors out at one time. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

amdargis
Columbus, OH
Truly amazing razor from Gillette!
7/22/2016

Customer review by Rottielover62

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by Rottielover62
by Rottielover62

I have always used disposable razors because I felt the ones where you replace the blades but keep the shaft were too expensive. After trying this Venus Embrace Razor from Gillette, I have changed my mind. The very first time I used it, out of the package, my legs were smooth. I realize that all razors perform well the first time out, but how many leave you without cuts? I have to be very careful when using disposable razors for the first few times because I always cut myself. This razor didn't cut me once! It has 5 blades which really work well, and a strip at the top of moisturizer as well. I used it slowly at first as I would any disposable but then decided to try it a bit faster and rougher, and still no cutting of my skin. When I was done, I ran my hand down my bare skin and it felt smooth, no bumps or missed spots. It also felt silky and moisturized to the touch. I have reformed my thinking and from now on, I am buying replacement heads for my Venus Embrace Razor. I received this sample free from BzzAgent for review purposes, but this in no way influences this review. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Rottielover62
Pioneer, CA
AMAZING for sensitive skin!
7/19/2016

Customer review by malza015

5.0 stars 7/19/2016 by malza015
by malza015

This is by far one of the best razors I have ever used. The five blades in this razor give the closest shave I have ever used. This razor also does not leave me with razor bumps which is one of my biggest pet peeve! I was genuinely surprised at how close of a shave it gave without irritating my skin as I have sensitive skin. The razor has a squishy rubber-like grip to it which makes it easy to hold on to and give you the best control over the razor. For those of you tired of dealing with razors that leave you with a stubble or razor bumps... I HIGHLY recommend this razor. I was fortunate enough to receive this razor for free from Gillette but will continue to repurchase the replacement heads. I'd say the only con to this product is the price of the replacement heads. However, I have heard that they do last a long time. Will update in the future to let you know how long it ended up lasting. BIG thumbs up! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

malza015
Miami, FL
Flexible Hold, Smooth Shave
8/12/2016

Customer review by rel328

5.0 stars 8/12/2016 by rel328
by rel328

I have used Gillette Venus Razors in the past, but because of their high prices for the past year and a half I have been using the Harry's brand of razors. Harry's Razors are generally made for and aimed at men, so it has been a while since I have used a razor designed for women. I admit, I had forgotten how nice it is to have an easy-to-hold rubbery handle and a flexible razor head. This razor is definitely more suited to shaving around curves and bumps and knees. I also love the 5 blades, as it gives a very close shave. It won't do miracles though; I don't believe any razor can make your hair grow back slower. I also like how easy it is to remove and replace the razor head--just a click of a button. If I were buying this razor in the store, I would want to know beforehand that the "moisture ribbons" outside the blades seem to be mostly for show--they did not moisturize my legs and wore out fairly quickly. Overall, I enjoyed this product. I have dark, semi-coarse leg hair and after shaving my calves were silky smooth. However, I would not buy this product if the Gillette company charges more for womens' razors than their equivalents in mens' razors. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

rel328
Newton, MA
Love it!! My leg is so smooth!!
7/22/2016

Customer review by christinechou1

5.0 stars 7/22/2016 by christinechou1
by christinechou1

My skin is very sensitive I had given up on the idea of ever shaving without getting razor burn. Thanks to the sharpness of the blades and the moisturizer that I feel I no longer suffer from razor burn. I had tried all the advice and was only using a razor twin blade razor once then throwing it away to try and reduce my skin problems. Thanks to the quality of Venus razors I have had 3 pain free shaves from one head. I had given up on ever having legs that where smooth to the touch but with this razor they are. I'm very glad BzzAgent gave me a free sample of this product to review because I had given up on ever having smooth legs or a pain free shave. After the first shave I was so happy I brought 6 refills so I wouldn't run out. With the shaving gel, shaving was made so much easier! Even though I received these products for free, my opinions are 100% true and original of my own!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

christinechou1
Flushing, NY
Love my smooth legs!!
7/20/2016

Customer review by christinechou1

5.0 stars 7/20/2016 by christinechou1
by christinechou1

My skin is very sensitive I had given up on the idea of ever shaving without getting razor burn. Thanks to the sharpness of the blades and the moisturizer that I feel I no longer suffer from razor burn. I had tried all the advice and was only using a razor twin blade razor once then throwing it away to try and reduce my skin problems. Thanks to the quality of Venus razors I have had 3 pain free shaves from one head. I had given up on ever having legs that where smooth to the touch but with this razor they are. I'm very glad BzzAgent gave me a free sample of this product to review because I had given up on ever having smooth legs or a pain free shave. After the first shave I was so happy I brought 6 refills so I wouldn't run out. With the shaving gel, shaving was made so much easier! Even though I received these products for free, my opinions are 100% true and original of my own!! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

christinechou1
Flushing, NY
5 Blades? Oh My!
8/1/2016

Customer review by gutknechbm01

3.0 stars 8/1/2016 by gutknechbm01
by gutknechbm01

This item has 5 blades and that is pretty awesome! I felt it left my legs feeling super smooth the day I shaved them. However, if you are looking for a razor that will leave a long lasting smooth this is not the one for you. I found that my skin was feeling rough the next day even with the moisture bar on the razor. I only felt the moisture bar was effective the first time I opened it or after it had been sitting in water for an extended time. I'm a girl on the go and don't have time to soak my razor to make sure I keep a smooth shave. The five blades do seem to give a close shave but also seem rough on my skin even with shave gel! Pros 5 Blades Moisture Bar on first use Cons Moisture Bar has to soak more than a couple minutes to be effective after first use Left legs feeling smooth for only 1 day, then they felt rough [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

gutknechbm01
Omaha, NE
Fearlessly Shaved Legs
8/19/2016

Customer review by LSalas2804

2.0 stars 8/19/2016 by LSalas2804
by LSalas2804

I have given the Venus Embrace Razor several tries before I decided to write this last review. First the positives, the razor moves and bends very nice over each curve, it is lubricated so you do not fear getting a cut if you shave to fast, the handle is easy to grip and it is pivots nicely for those hard to reach places. The bad, the razor gets clogged easily. I feel like the blades are so close together and the ring around the blades prevent you from rinsing the hair and gel out completely. I found myself continuously rinsing the razor so I could get a close shave. I tried shaving daily to see if this would help but it still clogs. I think this would be a perfect razor if it had one less blade. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

LSalas2804
Maplewood, MN
Love but with the Olay Shaving Cream
8/15/2016

Customer review by WolverinesMama

4.0 stars 8/15/2016 by WolverinesMama
by WolverinesMama

My first impression was a great one, loved the protective barrier on the top and bottom of the blade. Legs felt much smoother and incredibly softer, than they did with my regular razor. I also noticed luckily I could go longer without shaving, it seemed to grow slower than it usually does..husband says it's because it's summer, I say the razor. A HUGE plus was how easy it was to clean out. During summer every girl knows bikini lines are a must do! Sadly with other razors even the tiniest hair get stuck in or behind blades. With the Venus was all I needed was a few good shakes and that was it. I can not tell you how many times I've got the tips of my fingers with other razors trying to clean the hair out. There were a few things I have noticed on the downside. The protective barrier along the blades tends to stick to ANYTHING while dry and peels off very easily. When that happens the razor is not as smooth and can cause you to knick yourself. When you do knick yourself, which was the first time I've done so in a very long time, it feels more like a papercut and we all know those hurt the worst. I honestly believe the razor is much better with the shaving cream, without the protection seems to fade away quickly and cause some very painful owies! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

WolverinesMama
San Antonio, TX
Soft Touch
7/28/2016

Customer review by LSalas2804

3.0 stars 7/28/2016 by LSalas2804
by LSalas2804

I was excited to try the Gillette Venus Embrace Razor. A little background first, I shave my legs every other day. My hair is light but course. The first stroke of the razor was smooth and it felt like it removed all hair. I continued to shave and after the third stroke, the shaver felt clogged up like it was no longer a close shave. I rinsed the shaver but it never really fully got the clog of shaving cream hair combo out of the razor. I finished shaving but needed to rinse the shaver quite often. It's like the blades are too close together.. The finished shave was smooth and left my leg feeling moist. I really like that it was such a creamy feeling against my skin. I felt secure that I would not cut my skin. Next time I will try using this razor daily and a little less than average shaving cream to see if that helps the clogging. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

LSalas2804
Maplewood, MN
Nice, clean shave
8/4/2016

Customer review by bleaum

5.0 stars 8/4/2016 by bleaum
by bleaum

I don't often use shave gel, but received a sample of the Venus shave gel, along with this Venus Razor, from Gillette so I decided to give the duo a try. Using them both, my legs felt softer, smoother, and silkier than ever before! I couldn't believe how close the shave was, and especially that there wasn't a single nick. I really like that the blades have an added strip of shave conditioner built right next to the blade, for when I just need a quick touch up. I also like that the blades are replaceable. Plus, it has a great scent that lasts. However, one thing that I would like to have seen included is a suction style sort of hanger. This would be especially handy as I've found my razor stick to the shower floor a few times. Nonetheless, I'm very happy with it, and most definitely recommend it! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

bleaum
Gulf Breeze, FL
Love my smooth legs!!
8/5/2016

Customer review by christinechou1

5.0 stars 8/5/2016 by christinechou1
by christinechou1

Gilette Venus Embrace Razor has definitively improved my view towards Gillete's razors. First off, the packaging is very beautiful which looked very refreshing with the sparkles and on the back, the package is very easy to open with a pre-cut line. Getting back to the product, the blades are very safe when you use it and after using the razor, my legs feel so much smoother and it doesn't hurt at all. Even better, the handled with the special grip made it much better and the moisture glide makes it easier to be used. Gilette Venus Olay Violet Swirl shave gel was also included for free. It is much easier to shave my legs with this shave gel because it moisturizes my leg so well. Even though I received these products for free, my opinions are 100% true and original of my own! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

christinechou1
Flushing, NY
Smooth moves!
8/10/2016

Customer review by Kbgoracz

4.0 stars 8/10/2016 by Kbgoracz
by Kbgoracz

After using this razor multiple times, I am extremely happy with it's performance on my legs. I received a free Gillette Venus Embrace Razor from Gillette through a BzzAgent campaign. I had been using a Venus razor from YEARS ago, which still works well, but this new design is superb. The five blades surely provide an intensely close shave. I like the curve of the handle as it fits nicely in your hand; and it is nice and light weight. There is seriously no re-shaving with this razor- one swipe and your good. The "bumpers" that surround the blade provide excellent protection against nicks. The reason why I gave it 4/5 stars was that it was a little cumbersome around the bikini area. Thank you Gillette for such an awesome product! [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

Kbgoracz
Eureka, CA
Smooth & Moisturizing
8/6/2016

Customer review by emmalucky7

4.0 stars 8/6/2016 by emmalucky7
by emmalucky7

Overall, I was quite satisfied with the new Venus Embrace razor. I'm a big fan of the moisturizing strips, which worked better on this razor than on any I've tried in the past. Despite the new 5-blade system, the shave didn't feel particularly closer than my usual razor, but I would buy it again just for its smooth moisture and gentle treatment (gentle enough for my sensitive skin). The handle was easy to grip even with small hands and the head is slightly flexible, which I liked because it made it easier to shave places like my knees. Overall a great choice for soothing sensitive places and infusing moisture, nothing spectacular in terms of a close shave (not bad though). If your legs are dry or get irritated easily, this razor may be a good fit for you. [This review was collected as part of a promotion.]

emmalucky7
Tucson, AZ
1-20 of 225 total reviews
1-20 of 225 reviews