Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 103 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

103 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

103 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

88%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
33
3 stars
5
2 stars
2
1 stars
8
1-20 of 83 total reviews
88%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews
WOW! What a sound for the price! Why pay more.
1/6/2011

Customer review by Carpenterhammer75

5.0 stars 1/6/2011 by Carpenterhammer75
by Carpenterhammer75

I shopped around for two weeks looking for a surround sound that had it all. I found it and it was on sale ($240.00 off) at Walmart.com. The Samsung HT-C6500 Blu-ray Home Theater System with Built-in Wifi The system has been rated by many users and also from the professionals @ CNET (CNET has a video review worth watching). The majority of the ratings are 4 stars+. There are some low ratings but you have too expect that with a system that can do so much and can be complicated to some. Don't let those reviews discourge you. It took just under two hours have it hooked up, the WIFI working and all the updates downloaded and installed. (the updates were downloaded directly from the unit's WIFI) Everything worked. The sound just blew me away. My neighbors came by and they loved it too. It took a while to get to know the remote and all it's functions. But it has so many features. You have to give yourself some time to learn the system. Pro's: All-In-One system, Blue Ray, Upscaling, WIFI ready, Sleek, Compact and just a Fantastic Sound. Con's: None as of yet.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Carpenterhammer75
Northern Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent sound quality and feature set
10/7/2010

Customer review by Bama2010

5.0 stars 10/7/2010 by Bama2010
by Bama2010

I've used a few different boxed home theater sets, but this one is easliy the best. Right out of the box, the speakers and receiver looked great, and setup was easy enough. The Blu-ray player works flawlessly, and the tools built in to the receiver are very handy. What makes this unit such a tremendous value is the sound quality. The mids and highs sounds great...much better than Bose junk. And the subwoofer, has plenty of power for bedrooms and most small living rooms. Several boxed sets out there offer the same features, but I've yet to find one that offers these features, this sound quality, for this price!

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bama2010
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good but glitchy
9/7/2010

Customer review by ILikeBooks

4.0 stars 9/7/2010 by ILikeBooks
by ILikeBooks

I've given this product 4-stars. It would probably rate a 5-star on value, but I had so much trouble with it at the beginning, I almost gave up on it. It is extremely difficult to set up the wireless internet capabilities--I was on the phone with my ISP for nearly two hours until we got the thing figured out (we had to create new sub-mask numbers on my modem as I recall). Finally, after we got it configured--and you do need to configure it as you will at least need a firmware update to make the recent wave of BluRay disks work--there was no HDMI output, and I had to send it to the repair shop after owning the machine for less than 24 hours! So, if you have the patience of Job and a Ph.D. in EE from Stanford or MIT, this may be the machine for you. Now that's it's running, I am happy with it, although there are a few other small things I don't like--it often skips sections of BluRay disks (but this is because I think BluRays are more finicky than DVDs (think BMWs versus Camry or Accord), and doesn't remember where it was in the movie when it gets turned off and on, unlike most DVD players I have used. Geez after all that, still 4 stars? OK, if you're an early adopter of technology and can put up with some initial frustration, you will like the product. I just got back from seeing The American in theaters and even on my 46" 1080p Samsung (small for these days!) that I bought more than 3 years ago, the movie experience is nearly the same as in the theaters.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ILikeBooks
Santa Maria, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A Blu-Ray Player that works.
1/13/2011

Customer review by Weathertuck

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by Weathertuck
by Weathertuck

This product works perfectly as a Blu-Ray Player. Mounting the rear speakers was a challenge, but it will be for any other product that isn't wireless. I enjoy it, it has great sound quality and picture quality (using HDMI cords). All the drawbacks are software/extra related. The ipod video feature has yet to work with my 2nd Gen iPod Touch, works with 3rd Gen. The music feautre worked after updating the software. iPod photo feature doesn't work at all, video feature will not work on the HDMI source like the Blu-Ray (have to change it to an A/V), and music doesn't allow you to play and browse simultaenously. The apps need to be worked on. There is a slim selection and most are not functional. However, after looking at other people's BR players, there isn't much of an improvement. There is tons of room for improvement, but unlike other BRP, this one does provide software upgrades. On the positive, the wireless capability links to my computer with noeffort on my part, allowing me to play material just by having it open. The device is not a wireless hotspot, but it does device link to any device with wireless capability. Overall, great product with room for some minor modification.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Weathertuck
Richmond, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome player with a few bugs
12/16/2010

Customer review by RS1991

4.0 stars 12/16/2010 by RS1991
by RS1991

I have nothing bad to say about the quality of the picture or the sound of the system. It Rocks!! There are just a few little "bugs" that maybe only affecting my unit. Is anyone having an issue with the touch sensitive buttons on top of the unit? There is no common theme causing the problem that I can tell but the issue is that when the unit is turned off the buttons on top stay illuminated and stop working completely. I’ve upgraded the firmware which didn’t help and the only thing Samsung tech support has me do is unplug the unit from the wall. The buttons start working again but only for a short amount of time and the problem reoccurs. The other issue is I purposely purchased a Samsung TV (55” LED…it rocks!) figuring the two Samsung devices would be compatible with each other. Actually there is a built in feature that is supposed to make 2 Samsung devices work better together with a single remote etc. In my opinion is makes it worse. I would recommend turning off that feature. That has made my experience much better.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RS1991
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome after setup
9/20/2010

Customer review by TechnoRookie

4.0 stars 9/20/2010 by TechnoRookie
by TechnoRookie

this home theater system sounds great. we couldnt have asked for anything more. the setup wasnt that easy. it took like 4 hours for us to finally figure everything out with what cables we needed, how to connect them and then how to adjust what settings etc. but once it was all done, we couldnt be happier. the pandora is awesome and we use the netflix all the time. its really a good buy for the money...oh and the people at samsung were very helpful when we called with our setup issues.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TechnoRookie
Mayville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
6/5/2010

Customer review by gitlo55

5.0 stars 6/5/2010 by gitlo55
by gitlo55

VUDU Internet-connected feature. Wow! What a way to watch movies instantly. I love it.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gitlo55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
WiFi NIGHTMARE!!! But good sound.
12/23/2010

Customer review by jblynn

4.0 stars 12/23/2010 by jblynn
by jblynn

It is simple to hook up, everything is color coded and labled. You cant go wrong there. Overall quality is outstanding and it performs like the best sound systems out there. Samsung Ht C6500 has great features and looks and you wont be disappointed unless.......you plan on using WiFi for internet features such as "NetFlix". WiFi Setup on this system is a virtual nightmare, and I'm not what you would call inexperianced. I fought with this machine for hours only to have it keep telling me that it was connected but then when I would try to use internet features it would say it was not connected and kept giving my the infamous "GATEWAY ERROR" (look it up it is VERY common with samsung players). Long story short, after I had to update the software on a BRAND NEW player (because somebody rushed it to production) the Wifi still does not work and im stuck with a wired connection unless I want to box it all back up. Which I'm not into. So that being said, great system if you dont use WiFi connection or if you are a Wifi guru. I would have given in five stars all the way around if not for the soft ware update (right out of the box) and the WiFi trouble, because it truley is one of the best systems Ive heard in a while.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jblynn
Sorry, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good but some issues
1/31/2011

Customer review by Phoenix28

3.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Phoenix28
by Phoenix28

I've had this system for two months now. I really like the system but I have a few issues with it. First, I have been unable to upgrade the firmaware over Wi-fi...after some troubleshooting I was able to upgrade it over usb (put the usb in the slot while system is turned off, then turn it on has worked for me). If you connect your ipod using the dock you can't control anything through the ipod, you have to use your remote and the poorly designed samsung software interface for this. Lastly, and most important, the system will not recognize the remote about an hour into a movie. This seems specific to blu-rays and doesn't happen when watching DVDs or streaming Netflix, and I can still control my Samsung TV just fine with the remote so the problem must lie with the system itself (probably be a firmware issue). It looks like another reviewer was having the same problem.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Phoenix28
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Stability Issues, DO NOT BUY!
3/9/2011

Customer review by Wings24

1.0 stars 3/9/2011 by Wings24
by Wings24

Well the system sounds great when it works, but that's the whole problem - it doesn't! When I first got the unit the setup was a breeze and everything was setup in less than an hour(I've setup many of these before, so I had a good idea where to start). Then after about a week, it starting switching modes on me randomly - we would be watching tv and the system would switch to dvd mode and cut off the sound to the tv surround sound. Then we were watching a blue ray dvd one night and it kept ejecting the dvd after about a half hour! After about 2 weeks of having these random issues, I said enough was enough and returned it to Walmart. Customer support at Samsung was ok, but they had no fix for the issue and wanted me to send the unit in for "repairs". Obviously this is a known issue with this model, probably the reason why its on clearance and why its so cheap. I would definitely recommend skipping over this unit and reading the reviews carefully for any others that you intend to buy. Seems like a lot of these all-in-one systems have issues. I think Samsung should stick to making TVs and let someone else make surround sound systems...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Wings24
Would recommend to a friend? No
Wow...nice product!
12/31/2010

Customer review by Njoydride

5.0 stars 12/31/2010 by Njoydride
by Njoydride

Well, I was skeptical about the mixed reviews. But I have to say I'm really happy with this product so far. The setup was easy...all color coded. The system is sleek and sounds INCREDIBLE. Much better than the Panasonic one we had. Had a tiny bit of trouble setting up wifi, but then I read a forum about putting in the security key properly (make sure its set on auto and that the correct letter/number setting on the keypad is selected before you begin typing in your passcode. I.E. if code is ABC123...first set the keypad to letters...type abc. Then set it to numbers...type 123. Sounds simple but I had rushed through this and was typing it in wrong. Got it in correctly and then the wifi connected effortlessly. Didn't take long to load the Internet TV stuff. Really cool product by Samsung!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Njoydride
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
ALL GOING WELL EXCEPT INTERNET@TV NOT ACTIVATING IN OTHER COUNTRY
2/3/2011

Customer review by ZEESHAN

4.0 stars 2/3/2011 by ZEESHAN
by ZEESHAN

This is a gr8 product be Samsung. The only drawback which i am still facing is the internet@tv is not activating. The reason given by samsung support team is that as i now live in Pakistan, thats why it is not working. The best part of the product is its GR8 sound quality and auto caliberation of speakers. The negative is that when i switch this to radio, the main screen of tv is blank. It would have been great, if the manu of the product shows the manu of all realted services the system running like radio etc. I would also like to appreciate efforts and support of samsung support team for this product. Although i am now residing out side US, still the samsung support had tried to take care of my support requests. Thanks SAMSUNG...

ZEESHAN
ISLAMABAD, PAKISTAN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Expert
6/6/2010

Customer review by padool1963

5.0 stars 6/6/2010 by padool1963
by padool1963

a streamlined Home Theater System that delivers huge and is coparable to big home-theater experience and is perfect for small spaces.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
padool1963
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Again AMAZING after Setup
1/18/2011

Customer review by flcn69

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by flcn69
by flcn69

Once you follow the directions and actually do the updates whatever way you need to and install everything right its great...only single downside is that the way it mounts up isnt user friendly it mounts like a picture...it would be better if it had brackets so you could ajust the angle of the speakers from the corners...BUT thats a small small price to pay for all the benifits of this system...it does it all...AND WELL!!!...My first night with it I played How to train your dragon on blue ray...EVERYTHING was amazing...if your looking for a set up like this this is the place to buy it and the one to get....Best Buy is still selling this one eactly like this for 500 bucks before taxes...on here its 379...so yeah I give it a big 5 stars....

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
flcn69
Reno Nevada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
It would be much better if a SWA5000 were included
1/27/2011

Customer review by LoveSailing

3.0 stars 1/27/2011 by LoveSailing
by LoveSailing

The sound quality and features are excellent. It's easy to use. I understand (I haven't done so yet) that you can connect it to Wi-Fi internet to get Netfix for $8/mo. The problem is that it says Wi-Fi speakers but the Wi-Fi is only for the two rear speakers and the two critical components for Wi-Fi are not included. One is a card that installs in the back of the receiver that costs $19 and the other is a SWA5000 wireless receiver. I found a reciever at Amazon for $99, but they were out of stock and will probably never be in-stock. I've found others on-line for $200 or so. That is a rather expensive component to not be included. If it weren't for the SWA5000 cost/problem it would be highly recommended and a very good value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LoveSailing
Omaha
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
great sound
2/13/2011

Customer review by Gina1258

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by Gina1258
by Gina1258

I wanted this unit from all the reviews I read on the internet but it was way too expensive for me... everywhere else it was selling for 600.00..then I happened to see that walmart had it for 399.00 I couldnt believe it..I immediately ordered it and it was shipped to my home FREE too! the sound is great the unit is quirky at times... but I got used to that and I know how to get around the quirkiness... sometimes when I'm watching a dvd it pauses by itself or shuts off and the remote is slow when you first turn on the unit... other than that great great sound... actractive unit.. and the wifi and internet access is great too! don't hesitate to buy..I even seen they dropped the price 20.00 since I bought it!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Gina1258
windsor, ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
It's good but not great
8/7/2011

Customer review by samsung72

3.0 stars 8/7/2011 by samsung72
by samsung72

I would give this review 5 stars if I could set which function I wanted to be the default function on the device. I use HDMI 1 as that is the one my satellite is connected to. Everytime I turn off my Samsung TV the Samsung Theater sets itself back to Digital Input. When i turn the TV on I have to set the Theater to HDMI 1 - by the time it gets over to HDMI 1 the TV has gone to Analog input so I have to put the TV back on HDMI 1 as well. Then the Theater back on HDMI 1 and hopefully it will stay. I have to repeat that process every time I get ready to watch tv. It gets old but you become the remote control expert before long.

samsung72
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I love this player it does anything and everything i could want
6/4/2011

Customer review by chalupa50

5.0 stars 6/4/2011 by chalupa50
by chalupa50

I absolutly love this blue ray home theater! I can jump on netflix facebook or vudu quickly from the main screen. I almost never use my wii anymore to get on netflix because the browser on this is so much more user friendly and it looks way better too. I honestly use this with my 50 inch plasma almost all day long by either listening to music or watching a movie or my kids watching cartoons. I could not imagine not having this now that I do because I use it so much. Also it talks to my tv! It turns it on and changes the modes and idk what all else but they work together so well its just awesome!!!!!

chalupa50
Shawnee, KS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Expertise:Intermediate
i like it a lot, but...
11/1/2010

Customer review by imacheapsk8

4.0 stars 11/1/2010 by imacheapsk8
by imacheapsk8

it's a fantastic system! the only thing is that there are some glitches within the user interface. it froze up twice on us, and then we installed the update (which was somewhat tricky), and it seems okay since then. It's also our first blu ray system and it does seem that blu rays are more "finicky" or something because sometimes they take for frickin ever to load, and sometimes we experienced some type of minor but noticeable 'skipping' effect...? the remote is nice and works okay with our Samsung TV, but i wish there was a Ch List button.. oh well. So aside from that stuff, and once you get it set up and updated, it is a very amazing system especially for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
imacheapsk8
Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
a couple of hiccups, but...
2/2/2011

Customer review by Greengo52

4.0 stars 2/2/2011 by Greengo52
by Greengo52

First one ordered was no good. Volume would climb spontaneously & dramatically. A reading of 15 became 23 in minutes. Returned it. Re-ordered. Second one fine but: (1) on start-up automatically changes mode from HDMI 1 (TV) to D. IN. Slight inconvenience to change it back. BOTH units did this. Tried to set up the WIFI but my router wasn't compatible. Also, if you have your cable box going into the unit and then HDMI out to your TV, the TV will not pick up the cable box unless the unit is on. So, you have to turn the 6500 on to watch TV. So, if you can live with the last two mild issues and you don't get one a crazy one like my first one, it's got a lot going for it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Greengo52
Iowa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 83 total reviews
1-20 of 83 reviews