Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 96 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

96 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

5.0 stars

96 reviews | 4.9 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
86
4 stars
8
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
0
1-20 of 90 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews
Amazingly good sound
7/13/2010

Customer review by PeachySnapple

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by PeachySnapple
by PeachySnapple

These headphones are great. I've had them for 7 months now, and they are very durable with not a scratch, crack, or faulty wire. They have EXCELLENT sound, very very nice deep bass, but not boomy like other headphones (Roxy headphones have this "boomy" effect). Clear, pure treble. I have not regretted buying them, not once!! Except I payed $80 for them at Best Buy. But that doesn't really matter. Overall, fabulous headphones with excellent sound. A must-have!!

Was this review helpful? (24) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PeachySnapple
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
These is Legit!
1/31/2011

Customer review by WALMARTisFUNatMIDNIGHT

5.0 stars 1/31/2011 by WALMARTisFUNatMIDNIGHT
by WALMARTisFUNatMIDNIGHT

I cannot say enough how much I love these headphones! They are AMAZING! I hear parts of songs I've never heard before! You get the complete music-listening experience with these! they really turn heads at school too! Many asked if they were "Beats!" Although I've never heard music through Beats, these have GOT to compare! I don't think you can get much better than these Sony's! They are legit-good! Bass is SUPERIOR! Especially with movie-soundtrack orchestra songs, the bass of the string instruments blows you away! Ok, ya know when you watch a really cool action movie at a huge theater with a really loud sound system in the theater? And at a big part in the movie, it's so loud and powerful that it feels like there's a wind blowing you back into your seat? That is what it is like to listen with these headphones! Anyone would be crazy not to buy these! If they compare to $450 headphones, then these $50 ones are a major steal! The only downside is that it drains the iPod battery a little faster than smaller headphones because the iPod's battery powers the headphones, but that's not bad at all compared to how great they are! They are also so comfortable and they really keep the music in (they don't leak sound unless turned up all the way) and they keep outside noise out! I can't hear ANYthing with these babies on!

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WALMARTisFUNatMIDNIGHT
Platteville, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
They sound better than headphones 5x their price
8/31/2011

Customer review by Karlb21

5.0 stars 8/31/2011 by Karlb21
by Karlb21

I consider myself an experienced user of headphones, as I use them every day for music, audiobooks, and gaming. I have gone through more pairs of headphones than I care to count and have used almost every style at some point. I first tried a demo of these headphones alongside several more expensive models from companies like Bose, and much more expensive than these Extra Bass headphones. These headphones stood out for several reasons. First, the earcups are massive, and big enough that your ears do not feel squished or at all uncomfortable. The headband is also wide and padded which only improves the comfort. As for the audio quality, these headphones definitely live up to their name. The bass is full and obvious without overpowering the rest of the sound spectrum. The extra Bass headphones feel very durable, though I have not had them long enough to make an accurate statement. The cord is flat, so seems almost impossible to tangle. Overall, these are some of the best headphones I have ever tried and I hope their long-term durability lives up to their apparent quality.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Karlb21
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Most comfortable headphones yet
3/5/2010

Customer review by TechTalkGuy

5.0 stars 3/5/2010 by TechTalkGuy
by TechTalkGuy

Unlike some other brands, the Sony MDR-XB500 (extra base) headphones really deliver. When compared to other brands, these really deliver a quality sound at a reasonable price. Package includes a carry pouch with straps. The size is a bit large and it does not fold, but if your primary use is at home or the office, then you will be pleased with the comfort -- these are truly the most comfortable headphones I have ever worn (I am wearing it as I write this review, that's how comfortable it is). I never realized how impressive music sounded on my Macbook until I plugged this headphone in. Wow -- I am listening right now and am feeling the base thumping to the beat! You can turn the volume down and still hear it loud and clear. The soft ear pads feel like pillows on my ears. Good job, Sony !! Rediscover your music all over again with the Sony MDR-XB500 (extra base) headphones. I am going to be watching movies with these for the full effect. Recommended: Yes

TechTalkGuy
New York, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Delivers what's advertised.
10/1/2012

Customer review by Bluefire4545

4.0 stars 10/1/2012 by Bluefire4545
by Bluefire4545

The bass in these headphones surpasses anything to be expected for a headphone of it's pricerange. The boomy feel provides that hardcore vibe that EDM/Techno/Rap listeners love. When EQ'd properly, these headphones provide an incredibly solid, powerful bassline, that doesn't muddy up the highs or mids. The highs are powerful, and quite unique, actually, though without an EQ or amp, they can sound quite bright, or harsh at times. The mids unfortunately are not as defined, and unless you EQ them, they will not deliver as expected. These headphones are incredible for you dubstep heads out there, though for you metal fans, it may be better to stick with another line. However, even if you own a high-end pair of headphones , these headphones are a great, fun piece to add to your hi-fi collection, and they'll have you appreciating deep, powerful bass. These headphones truly live up to their advertising, and I've thoroughly enjoyed the experience.

Bluefire4545
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Worth Every Penny!
1/27/2010

Customer review by SooksVI

5.0 stars 1/27/2010 by SooksVI
by SooksVI

I have been looking for a good pair of headphones lately, not just good, but great! After looking around different websites and stores, I compared these headphones to the Beats by Dr. Dre and I have to tell you, these sound way better and are much cheaper. After all the frequency response on these headphones are much wider than most other headphones in its class, giving you superb low bass, mids, and crisp highs. I have even fallen asleep with these on because they were so comfortable and I didn't have to wake up in pain; some of you may know what I am talking about. The only con is that the sounds leaks a bit, so other people can hear what you are listening to; its not a big issue for me though. These headphones are sturdy, comfortable enough to sleep in, and sound good enough to brag about to your friends who spent hundreds on Bose or Dr. Dre Beats :). Compared to more expensive headphones, these give you the most bang for your buck.

SooksVI
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
9/13/2011

Customer review by Schmuale

5.0 stars 9/13/2011 by Schmuale
by Schmuale

Excellent value! Smooth response from low to highs. Accurate sound reproduction! Low power consumption for longer battery life in portable CD player! Very comfortable!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Schmuale
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing Headphones!
10/31/2009

Customer review by JamaicanIdler

5.0 stars 10/31/2009 by JamaicanIdler
by JamaicanIdler

This is the best purchase I have made all year. I used to own a pair of zune 2 earbuds which in my opinion has great bass and audio quality. They stopped working however and I decided to get headphones instead of earbuds. When I made my purchase and bought these, they immediately blew the Zune v2 earbuds and anything else I could have bought out of the water! They are extremely comfortable! The "King Size" sofa cushions are definitely softer than you will ever expect andf they ear easy on your ears, making long usage comforting. The sound quality is amazing and the bass is killer. For those worrying about size, any over the ear headphones one buys is going to be big, but these are just right. Also, the volume is so audible that you wont need to play anything at more than half the volume. If you do this, you will block all sound around you without need to deafen you. I give these headphones 5 out of 5.

JamaicanIdler
Savannah GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This is what true Love is. And FAAAAST delivery
8/25/2011

Customer review by Deathstar223

5.0 stars 8/25/2011 by Deathstar223
by Deathstar223

Wow. You cant really appreciate these until you own a pair. I have always had great experiences with anything Sony! Right away you notice the light weight of the things. The ear muffs are like a giant comfy clouds. I have a bigger than normal head, and wear glasses. these are a fantastic, with no pinch or discomfort. the sound is as predicted amazing. Highs lows, and in between!!,And if you like bass these are it. Dont assume that since they are 50 bucks they are on the lower end. Not at all. They sound like there is a true sub-woofer in them. If you like action movies youl never watch another movie without these again. ( im watching Batman dark night and just too cool)you can feel the exlopsions. If you really want a set of cans that will put you into whatever you watch or listen to these are it!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Deathstar223
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Comfortable with great sound
5/7/2011

Customer review by Slowlane

5.0 stars 5/7/2011 by Slowlane
by Slowlane

Comfortable enough for a 2 hour movie. Excellent sound. I am in the process of buying another set. Only one problem - no in-line volume control. Bought one from ebay.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Slowlane
Middle Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
READ ME
12/31/2011

Customer review by Newjerseymostnotoriouz

5.0 stars 12/31/2011 by Newjerseymostnotoriouz
by Newjerseymostnotoriouz

I've had high-end headphones since Around The Ear By Bose I loved them till the wire broke had the AE2 and a friend loved them so much he bought them off me and bought then I got Bose QC 15 and was very disappointing return them and I didn't wanna be like every other young guy and buy a pair of Dr Dre Beat's and just happen to see this little Sony display that lets you try your own music and not just stupid samples I immediately fell in love but my local best buy didn't have any in stock so i went home and started doing research on the human ear and learn it can pic k up between 20 Hertz to 20,000 Hertz the Studio headphones by dr dre deliver 20 hertz to 20,000 hertz not impressive considering that price tag of $299.99 at all these Sony MDR-XB500 deliver 4 hertz to 24,000 hertz I' don't favor brands I like quality the make of these headphones could have been a bit better but the sound is what sold me these headphone I would have love to been able to purchse the Sony MDR-XB700 but i was completely satisfied with the Sony MDR-XB500 so with the money i saved I got some clothing from the ralph lauren website

Newjerseymostnotoriouz
New Jersey
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Forget the Beats, these are a Sony steal!!!
12/15/2011

Customer review by TeeRex

5.0 stars 12/15/2011 by TeeRex
by TeeRex

Don't let the Cons turn you away from these awesome headphones. If you listen to music quite often and are looking to get you a decent pair of headphones...these are IT!!! I am an avid music listener (listen more than I watch television) and was thinking about getting the Beats. But, Sony being my favorite electronic brand, I had to give the company a chance at what it can offer. Boy did Sony deliver with this series model. I own the XB-500's and have enjoyed every listening minute with them. In comparison to the Beats, honestly, I think they sound just as excellent if not better!!! This is no exaggeration, these headphones will seriously keep your ears tuned into what you're listening to (especially when you begin to appreciate how beautiful the whole-some bass sounds!!!) I wouldn't consider myself an audiophile but if you are honest with yourself...these headphones are a sound investment to make without having to fork up a few hundred bills for a pair of Beats. Nevermind the Cons I mentioned, chances are you'll forget about them once these cuff soundly around your ears. Like I said earlier, if you're in the market for some headphones, you'll appreciate this post. You won't be disappointed!! Go Sony!!!

TeeRex
Southern California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Bring on the BASS!!!!!
4/5/2010

Customer review by Roydon

5.0 stars 4/5/2010 by Roydon
by Roydon

I've been hunting for a good sounding pair of headphones that have good bass and comfortable at the same time for a reasonable price and so far there was nothing...Until now :) Unfortunately these aren't available in India yet so I had them shipped from Amazon through a friend and it was completely worth it. Be warned though, to get the most out of it it's better you connect it to a PC with a good sound card. I first tried it with my iPod but the bass was overpowering a little muddy, nothing a little EQ settings cant fix but still. On a PC though, they sound completely different and are perfect out of the box, no tinkering with the EQ required. All those people complaining about sound leakage are probably using it with their mp3 players cause with an iPod, for some weird reason the sound leaks a lot since you have to turn up the volume quite high to power these 40mm drivers. The only thing negative is the stupidly short cord which is a bit of a problem when hooking up to the PC like in my case. You could use a extension cord but I would say dont, just plug it into your front panel connector. Overall I could not be happier with these and I strongly recommend you get these over anything else, they're a steal at this price!

Roydon
Mumbai, India
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
great purchase worth every penny !!!!
12/28/2011

Customer review by ryanmc1522

5.0 stars 12/28/2011 by ryanmc1522
by ryanmc1522

I am currently listening to these headphones as I write this review. these headphones have exceptional bass, highs, and mids, overall a very clear sound that bumps when the time comes. I listen to a lot of hip hop and dubstep and these headphones the heavy bass from both music genres. if you are worried about the sound leaking and want to know how loud it actually sounds, just put the headphones around your knee and add a little bit of pressure .....trust me it's not a lot of sound leakage so i wouldn't worry about it. overall these headphones have excelled my expectations especially since I saw them in the store on sale for 49.99 and then looked on here and saw they were 119.99 so I got a fantastic deal and got a great pair of headphones.

ryanmc1522
ontario, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/27/2011

Customer review by elmerfudd49

5.0 stars 12/27/2011 by elmerfudd49
by elmerfudd49

Headphones offer a great bass response and the over all sound quality is excellent. Very comfortable to wear and isolates outside sounds without the need for for more expensive headphones. A Walmart competitor had a " special sale " at the price of $89.00. Walmart's price of $49.00 is a fantastic value. I am more than happy with this purchase

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
elmerfudd49
northeast Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Forget about beats
5/26/2011

Customer review by bboyk

5.0 stars 5/26/2011 by bboyk
by bboyk

These are beast headphones and beat the BEATS by comfort and bass. What i have to say is that the cushions are really i mean really comfortable also the you get a nice thump out of the headphones due to XtraBass put don't worry if you like listening to classical & jazz music you can always turn up the tremble on the equaliser. These are amazing for watching movies the suround sounds are better than most surround sound systems no joke. Plus they look quite cool if you carry them around your neck also the flat wire looks really stylish and trust me you won't get let down by these. So bassically these are all rounders you can use them for home cinema, music, gaming and for electrical instruments. So just get them what are you waiting for.

bboyk
dublin
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
3/21/2011

Customer review by slosher11

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by slosher11
by slosher11

These headphones are awesome, I have listened to headphones that cost 3 times the price of these,and the sony extra bass sound just as good or better then those. They also are very comfy to where, and they look trendy. Do yourself a favor and purchase these headphones, you wont be disapointed.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
slosher11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
EXTREMELY COMFORTABLE and LOVE THE SOUND!!
7/27/2010

Customer review by XJ89

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by XJ89
by XJ89

its ridiculous how comfortable these headphones are!! and the sound is great that extra bass sound really good!! i can listen to music for hours with these.. and walmart offers a way better price then other stores who want to charge almost $80 for the exact same ones..

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XJ89
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT
7/2/2010

Customer review by ibuy123

5.0 stars 7/2/2010 by ibuy123
by ibuy123

I HAD BOSE IN EAR HEADPHONES, AND THESE SOUND JUST LIKE THEM. IF YOU LOVE BASS LIKE ME THIS IS IT. THEYRE JUST LIKE THE BEATS BY DRE ONES. TRUST ME! WORTH EVERY PENNY.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ibuy123
long island ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
11/23/2011

Customer review by Arod13

5.0 stars 11/23/2011 by Arod13
by Arod13

Great value , super bass , worth the purchase ! If you enjoy rock or hip-hop , these are perfect ! I'm really surprised at the quality , just fantastic !

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Arod13
Bahston
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 90 total reviews
1-20 of 90 reviews