Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 149 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

149 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

5.0 stars

149 reviews | 4.8 out of 5

97%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
122
4 stars
22
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 127 total reviews
97%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews
Great TV but NOT Internet Connected
5/28/2011

Customer review by seraph909

5.0 stars 5/28/2011 by seraph909
by seraph909

While LG is a great TV, we expected that "Internet Connected" meant just that. We had to buy an Ethernet cable (50') and connect our DSL modem, via the cable, to the TV. There are about 5 or so Internet choices where the only one that is of any value is "You Tube". Even that one is not really Internet connected, you have to choose your You Tube video, save it to Favorites, and then you can bring it up on the TV under Favorites. All the other videos available on the TV are pre-chosen by ?someone, and are just about useless. The only way we can access the Internet will be to connect to our PC with an HDMI cable. I imagine one can do that with most new TVs, Internet Ready or not. The sound does not even come close to the quality of our 15 year old TV, so will have to buy and connect to a decent sound system. The picture is beautiful and controls are easy to use. We did a lot of checking and this seemed to be the best buy and best Consumers Report rated TV.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
seraph909
Boulder, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Meets all expectations
6/8/2010

Customer review by treatmeright

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by treatmeright
by treatmeright

Researched T.V.'s for several days and this one seemed to have everything I was looking for. It is unsurpassed in performance. Already had an LG DVD player and the two are 100% compatible, never touch the DVD remote. Tried to buy this t.v. from another company but they did not live up to their advertisement. Never did receive the unit. Purchased from Wal-mart and the unit was delivered in less than 48 hours. You can't go wrong purchasing this T.V. from Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (37) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
treatmeright
Milton, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
#1 LED HDTV
1/1/2011

Customer review by MissyLouWho

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by MissyLouWho
by MissyLouWho

The picture on this LG LED HDTV is absolutely superior!! It is the best of all the tvs we considered buying. We love love love VUDU and watching all the trailers to decide which movie to instantly stream, it makes watching a movie so convenient. I do think the wifi adaptor should have been included with the tv but found it on amazon for $40. We especially like how super thin it is, would look so sleek hanging on the wall. Very satisfied customer

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MissyLouWho
Whoville, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Value For Your Money!!
2/13/2011

Customer review by Bigslim

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by Bigslim
by Bigslim

I researched for weeks for LCD tv's and decided one day to check out what LED/LCD's had to offer. To my suprise the 42LE5400 LED/LCD gave me a huge bang for my buck! The only knock on the tv at the time was the audio which most user reviews reported as poor quality citing the volume was not loud enough due to the rear speaker position. The volume goes to 50 and rarely turn the volume past 20 even with sporting events and movies. Needless to say, I have no idea how so many people had their audio set up, all I can say is they had it wrong. I do not use a home thertre system and my living room is about 18x16. I am impressed with the easy menu navigation and self calibration (makes for a great picture). U can opt for the professional calibration but this is pretty good, I have had some shuttering on the bottom stat line on ESPNNEWS and TNT movies only. All other channels seem to work fine, so im chalking that up to the networks. I recommend this TV to anyone!!

Bigslim
Jackson, MS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Couldn't Ask for Better
7/18/2010

Customer review by TPABay

5.0 stars 7/18/2010 by TPABay
by TPABay

I've been looking for an HDTV for a while and liked the new LED versions but waited for more brands to come on the market. When I saw the LG LED, I was immediately interested since I was so pleased with my LG Plasma that I had for 5 years at my prior home. Needless to say I am thrilled with the new TV. Everything you could ask for in picture quality, sound and convenience to use is there, and the lighter weight makes wall mounting easy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TPABay
Tampa, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Probably not for the wall
9/10/2010

Customer review by sloto

4.0 stars 9/10/2010 by sloto
by sloto

Picture and features are fine. However the speakers are not for the hard of hearing. Being on the back side, I think wall mounting will only work with home audio. Be prepared to spend a lot for a system that has an optical digital input as the only sound out put that the TV has is optical or headset. For the hard of hearing: The volume goes from 0-100. Any thing above 50 is hardly noticed by me. Can you believe I run with 100?

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sloto
Pensacola
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV and love it !!
12/6/2010

Customer review by Vinsh

5.0 stars 12/6/2010 by Vinsh
by Vinsh

I am very impressed with the quality and features of the TV. As soon as I connected the TV to the internet and pressed the netcast button, TV received 2 consequent updates. Pros: - Good Picture Quality. - Good Sound Quality - Easy to setup. - Netcast feature is good and could have added more apps. - Wireless feature is good. Easy to setup. Plugin the Adaptor and it detected. I purchased a LG Wifi adaptor and works great. No Streaming issues either with Netflix or Youtube. Cons: - Miss the Picture in Picture. (PIP) This would have been a good feature. - There is some noticeable input lag for gaming. Connected WII and have some difficulties in playing due to the input lag. I read that most of the LED TV's have the input lag. - I see new Yahoo widgets are added, but I think there is a limit to number of widgets which can be added/installed to the current list. So, I had to swap out the widgets when the limit was reached.

Vinsh
Westboro, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Absolutely Amazing
9/10/2010

Customer review by MrsMotes

5.0 stars 9/10/2010 by MrsMotes
by MrsMotes

My husband and I have been wanting to upgrade our living room television for a while, but we did not want to settle for something of low quality just bc of a low price. This television is worth every penny! Even after finding this on walmart.com we looked at other sites to compare prices and none even came close. There are many amazing options but the picture alone makes it well worth the money

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MrsMotes
Palestine TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Awesome Picture
5/18/2011

Customer review by DaveWho

5.0 stars 5/18/2011 by DaveWho
by DaveWho

I too did several weeks of research, both on line and visiting several stores before deciding on this product. I couldn't be more pleased. I currently have three HD TV's in my home all connected to Directv in High Definition. This new TV absolutely blows away my other TV's in picture quality. I bought this TV for the bedroom, and now my wife is upset because I spend so much time there. The downside, I now have to purchase a new TV in the DEN. It's that much of a difference. My neighbor who has a new high end Plasma couldn't believe the picture quality on my LG. Great deal and highly recommended. The people at walmart were extremely friendly when I picked up the TV at the store (free shipping). If you haven't shopped at Walmart lately, they really are focused on customer service as stated in their new advertising.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DaveWho
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/18/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 5/18/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Very nice Led tv for the money or any price! very slim ...very clear picture and with a Blu Ray disc. it looks amazing! I have a 40" Sony Bravia that we moved to the bedroom and The LG 5400 is far superior picture. Very happy with my purchase .

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
NH, seacoast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pretty nice overall
4/25/2011

Customer review by Mgmken

4.0 stars 4/25/2011 by Mgmken
by Mgmken

Ive had the TV about 2 weeks. The picture when watching an HD movie is absolutely amazing. My wife doesn't like it because it's too clear and shows the imperfections of the movies! It's a beautiful set, even when off. However, the sound--although loud enough--sounds like a tin can. You will want a sound bar or home theatre system for movies. The refresh rate says 120hz, and it gets blurry at fast action movies and in sports. Watching NBA now, and you can see the blur. Also watched Planet 51 with my son, and the explosion scenes were very blurry. Not sure if this is just an LCD issue with all 120hz, or just this LG. If you like sports, better get the 240hz at minimum.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mgmken
Coronado, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Stunning picture, great features, poor sound
6/21/2011

Customer review by magicjake7

4.0 stars 6/21/2011 by magicjake7
by magicjake7

This was our first flat screen TV purchase. We had done a substantial amount of research into brands, types, processing power and picture clarity (1080 vs 720). We finally decided that it was either going to be a LG or a Samsung, but Samsung being so expensive ruled that out quick. We also decided that LCD/LED was a better option than plasma. We found this television for a lower price than all competitors and have so far been very impressed. The picture is absolutely amazing, the trumotion makes a bit of a difference. Unless you're really paying attention, you don't notice blurs. The multiple ports made it so easy to hook up all our electronics without any hassle. We have not really used the internet feature, but have heard it needs an additional part. We do use a PS3 with it and bought a standard HDMI cable for gaming/netflix. The only thing that is disappointing is the sound quality/volume. The speakers are so weak that we need to close windows, at times, so that we do not have to turn the volume up too high. We are definitely going to purchase additional speakers to improve the sound. Overall, very satisfied.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
magicjake7
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sweet
3/30/2011

Customer review by hairmandan

5.0 stars 3/30/2011 by hairmandan
by hairmandan

Love it! 10 days after I got it I checked the webpage and it was cheaper! They said no refund at the store, because I ordered it online. So shot off an email to corporate and waa-laa....same day got back to me and said, "We have refunded your account in the amount of 94.95" All I can say is sweet!!! Thank you, Wal-Mart!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
hairmandan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best investment we've made to date!
8/4/2010

Customer review by Butch1234

5.0 stars 8/4/2010 by Butch1234
by Butch1234

Spent M-A-N-Y hours checking out the different brands, models and types. This TV had everything we wanted at a price that was so low that it was hard to believe. Placed the order with Walmart at 10:30 in the evening and a day and a half later it was at our door! Clearest picture we've seen on A-N-Y flat screen TV LCD, Plasma or LED-LCD! Has so many "goodies" we really have a hard time finding the time to play with them. We would highly recommend this Product/brand/type to any and all our friends. Should have gone to Walmart first; it would have saved a lot of time and energy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Butch1234
Upstate Western New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it
5/20/2011

Customer review by Klaas

5.0 stars 5/20/2011 by Klaas
by Klaas

This is our first flat screen HD TV. Have had it for a week but very satisfied so far. Very easy to set up. I had been watching for a good deal as our old analog tv was telling us it was time to upgrade. After considering several others I could not pass up this deal at Walmart.com. No other retailer was even close on price and I knew this was the one. Could not be happier with the picture quality. The only negative is the sound quality is not as good as the old tv and I am considering some external speakers, but otherwise the best value out there at this time.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Klaas
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Television...expected a little more
6/1/2011

Customer review by chynagirl703

4.0 stars 6/1/2011 by chynagirl703
by chynagirl703

I am going to tell you all the good first. The picture is awesome. It is really then and has an incredibly sleek design. Everything was very easy to hook up. Now the bad. It did not come with the internet connectivity. You have to buy an adapter which Best Buy will tell you is being discontinued so you better go get it quickly. I got mine for a pretty good price online, but I was slightly disappointed that I needed to purchase it. On the LG site, they tell you Netcast has Pandora. I still do not have that app on my Netcast and that was one I was looking forward to having since I already have an Apple TV for Netflix. Before I hooked it to my surround sound, I was not impressed with the sound coming from the tv. Overall, I am very satisfied with this tv for the price. I would buy it again if I were still looking.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chynagirl703
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Goodbutnotperfect
4/11/2011

Customer review by NewtoHDok

4.0 stars 4/11/2011 by NewtoHDok
by NewtoHDok

Good to go except for some little things. Even after purchase I can’t find one that I believe has better value. However, it is not truly internet ready. Gotta buy some more stuff. I am a Netflix subscriber and have to access through the Wii. No big deal but internet connected was one of the features I weighed while deciding. Not as advertised. The only other thing is the sound. Not great but OK. Goes from 0 to 100, haven’t needed above 40 even with a roomful. It will go loud but doesn’t have any bass. As I am a renter and am planning to move in the next few months my surround sound system will stay packed as the sound is good enough. Anyone new to HD will be amazed by the picture as I was. Must buy LCD.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewtoHDok
Sacramento
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Love it
5/14/2011

Customer review by DSgt

5.0 stars 5/14/2011 by DSgt
by DSgt

I did a lot of shopping around both online and in stores before purchasing this TV. For the price of 799.00 @ Walmart I just couldn't beat the features. As with most TVs these days the sound isn't the greatest, but not terrible. I do wish it had built in wifi, but it's nice that I can get a USB adapter later. The picture is amazing. The whole family sits and marvels at the size and clarity. We love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DSgt
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy
4/17/2010

Customer review by tree63fan

5.0 stars 4/17/2010 by tree63fan
by tree63fan

I purchased the 42" LED LCD TV since it was the largest TV I could fit into my limited homemade cabinet space. It fits perfect and looks wonderful. The swivel allows me to store items behind the unit and easily get to them. The functions for adjusting the picture quality are easy to use, as is most everything else. I would have loved to be able to adjust the swivel a bit. 20 degrees each way is nice, but I would have loved to 40 degrees one way. If there is any negative, it would be that there is only optical audio out. This forced me to buy a newer receiver, but in the end, I'm getting better sound. My plan was to upgrade piece by piece, but not a problem. I can't review how my PC works using the TV yet, but I'm sure that will be easy too.

tree63fan
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing TV!!
5/15/2011

Customer review by jfire21

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by jfire21
by jfire21

This tv is simply amazing! It is 42 inches but only weighs about 40 lbs.! The picture is crisp and clear and the sound is beautiful! I love the internet hookup and I used it already! If you want a big tv for a good price this is the one to get!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jfire21
Akron, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 127 total reviews
1-20 of 127 reviews