Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 116 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

116 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

116 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 104 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews
Good for 5 hours!!!
9/16/2010

Customer review by NVMiner

1.0 stars 9/16/2010 by NVMiner
by NVMiner

Picked up the TV from my local store, brought it home, mounted it on the wall, connected my satellite and blue ray, & and everything worked great for the first night. Approximately 3 hours! turned it on the next morning and after about a half hour the picture froze and the the lines starting to form on the screen. Called LG customer service and was told that this is odd that it happened with a brand new set!!! But I could call the closest repair facility myself (located approx. 250 miles away). When I called I was told they couldn't do anything until LG contacted them with a warranty authorization number. I decided to just box up the set and return it to the store. WalMart took the set back with absolutely no hassles. If they hadn't I would have had to probably wait for who knows how long for the repair facility to actually come over the 250 miles and hopefully repair a brand new, used less than 5 hour set!!! I am now looking for another tv and it will be a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (7) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NVMiner
Spring Creek, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Great - a couple of look outs
6/26/2010

Customer review by FunTimes2

5.0 stars 6/26/2010 by FunTimes2
by FunTimes2

Wireless adapter not included. Only gets you access to LGs chosen websites. If you want full Internet you will have to connect your PC via VGA. Select wall mount carefully, ensuring you have enough space between the wall and the TV to hook up your components. I had to replace regular HDMI with swivel HDMI. Great TV. I paired it with LG Blu-Ray Home Theater. Both purchased from Wal-Mart and delivered to the house as promised. I would buy both again.

Was this review helpful? (40) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FunTimes2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
LG 55LE5400
5/2/2010

Customer review by InTheLoveOfChrist

5.0 stars 5/2/2010 by InTheLoveOfChrist
by InTheLoveOfChrist

This is an outstanding LCD LED lit TV. It arrived ahead of the projected date and was in perfect condition. The things I like about this model is the non-glare surface, the picture quality, the easy wireless connection to the internet along with the pre-loaded widgets (more about that later), the price is excellent at Wal-mart.com, and the easy navigation using the remote. The only disappointment was the lack of Skype as a pre-loaded Widget. The LG site had Skype listed as being pre-loaded in their specifications page and they touted it as a big part of their new line of LED TVs. The advertisements leading up to the release went on and on about how this is what people want, so why was it not part of the release? I called customer service at LG and they said they would have to get back to me. After a couple of days I called them again and the person said they had the wrong telephone number and that is why I had not heard anything. Bottom line, Skype was not ready for release when the TV was, but they expect it to be on the ones that will ship midsummer or August time frame. They said they would notify customers when it is ready and we can download it to the TV. Should you buy this TV? I think you will be very happy with it. It does not have the almost artificial colors of some of the other top-end TVs--I think it is more natural. Finally, I use an A/V surround system, so I don't use the TV's speakers, therefore I can't comment on the sound quality. I've been watching it for the past month now and would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
InTheLoveOfChrist
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great but not the best
10/24/2011

Customer review by Emil

4.0 stars 10/24/2011 by Emil
by Emil

I have had this TV for over a year and it works really great. Here are my Pros and Cons. Pros: Easy to use Video quality is really great with the right HDMI. I started with a BestBuy Rocketfish HDMI so I upgraded using a AudioQuest "Cinnamon" HDMI wire and the picture improved a lot. Gaming and watching movies cleared up after that. Remote control lights up. Cons: Not wifi ready, a month later I bought this then Wifi ready TVs came out. You can purchase a wifi usb attachment for around 80 dollars but if you buy a cat5 wire for half the price. data transfers are a lot faster and you save a lot more money. The stand it comes with is okay but wish it was more rock solid foundation. When watching Blue Ray movies Blur is pretty bad. Slow processor for the kind of apps it has. If the power goes out or you turn off your power strip the internal battery does not save your time and date but it saves your tv settings. Wish the tv input button would scroll through your active wire inputs instead of choosing wich port I want to use.

Emil
Honolulu, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
onlyOK
5/20/2010

Customer review by waldomartshopper

3.0 stars 5/20/2010 by waldomartshopper
by waldomartshopper

brought this TV home along with the sony kdl ex500, compared them side by side and the sony picture quality blew this TV away. I couldn't get the picture to match the sony no matter what I did with the settings. It's not a bad TV but you can get far better picture quality for less money if you don't need the thin factor of this TV

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
waldomartshopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great product for price
9/9/2010

Customer review by BTLgrad

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by BTLgrad
by BTLgrad

The price difference between store and online was considerable. If you're going to do wireless don't forget to order the network dongle online it's probably cheaper. Using some of the network features might be better over a wired connection. Hanging this on the wall was about my only option and the Peerless 37 - 60 Universal Tilt wall mount worked well since we only needed it to tilt a little. In my opinion the picture was unsurpassed by anything in the store, and the online price just made it better. Too bad they can't sell it from the store for the same price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BTLgrad
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
More to Come
6/29/2010

Customer review by hockeynut

3.0 stars 6/29/2010 by hockeynut
by hockeynut

I have had this TV for just under 2 months and after a software update the other night two separate bands about 6 inches wide appeared on the screen. I will reserve further comment on this issue until I see how LG fixes this problem. A technician is scheduled to look at the TV in a few days. Prior to this problem I have had no issues with the TV. The picture quality is fantastic and overall use is easy. The NetCast feature is great for a TV. I am using the wireless adapter on this TV and have had no issues with streaming. Like others have said the sound can be a bit of a downer. I have connected the TV and Blue Ray player to a home theater system so it does not bother me too much. Overall I was extremely satisfied with this TV until the other night. My feelings are I prefer for LG to replace this unit with a new one since this should not have occurred. I also have an 47" model of this same TV and am keeping my fingers crossed.

hockeynut
Hoffman Estates, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A fantastic Product
10/4/2010

Customer review by capture

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by capture
by capture

One of the best purchases we have made, very happy with the quality, cost and best around picture quality...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
capture
Kempner, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic
9/16/2010

Customer review by RelaxedinColorado

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by RelaxedinColorado
by RelaxedinColorado

Everything about the LG 55" LCD/LED is FANTASTIC. The picture is perfect in every way. The only thing I can say didn't meet expectations is the sound. But I understand if I add a surround sound system it's out of this world. Would recommend this unit to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RelaxedinColorado
Mosca, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LG
3/21/2010

Customer review by TNTRecycling

4.0 stars 3/21/2010 by TNTRecycling
by TNTRecycling

Picture quality is great souds good. a little disappointed in the fact that you still have some scene not being used, also the features are seemingly easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (28) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TNTRecycling
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Good Picture
5/29/2010

Customer review by bf

4.0 stars 5/29/2010 by bf
by bf

Really good picture,especially if you use your own video presets. Amazing improvement over 3 year old Sony. The set is thin but unexpectedly heavy. The sound quality is pretty good considering the dimensions of the TV. The internet access through the TV is kind of limited and slow; punching text in through the remote is a painful ordeal. The remote feels cheap, the buttons don't respond well to user inputs, and of course, it doesn't play well with the cable box, DVD player, and other TV sound accessories - the couch is littered with remotes needed for program to program changes. The remote seems to be an after thought just thrown in to complete the package; it isn't up to the performance and technology of the TV. Every time I use the TV, I notice once again how poor the remote's engineering is. If you never use the remote, this is one of the best TV's available today. The shiney black plastic front bezel shows every fingerprint and smudge and it reflects light back at the viewer. Too bad it doesn't have a more matte finish. It would be a great TV if it could sense and reduce audio boost on all commercials.

bf
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV
9/16/2011

Customer review by ctmartin1

5.0 stars 9/16/2011 by ctmartin1
by ctmartin1

We bought this LED TV about 5 months ago. EXCELLENT! Pretty easy to hook-up with anything. The network feature works well (you have to get a separate wireless USB dongle to work wirelessly, but you can also hook-up direct to the internet via a network cable to your router). Adjusting the settings to get it to work was pretty easy -- almost automatic. I've really enjoyed watching NetFlix and VUDU from the TV without needing to hookup my laptop. But when it comes to NetFlix, I have one complaint: it plays all movies in full-screen "HD-style" video. Of course, not all movies are formatted as HD movies. For those movies you need to watch them with an incorrect aspect ratio -- people look squashed, etc. When you're watching TV/cable/video you can simply enter the menu and adjust the aspect ratio to match the program you're watching (or simply let it "auto-detect" the signal and adjust itself). But unfortunately, when you're watching NetFlix you can't adjust the aspect ratio -- it's just "hardwired" to full-screen mode. Otherwise, it's an excellent TV and I would recommend it to anyone. Much better than any others I compared to prior to purchase.

ctmartin1
Los Angeles, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
GOOD VALUE
7/1/2010

Customer review by Bellad0nna

4.0 stars 7/1/2010 by Bellad0nna
by Bellad0nna

In reading these customer reviews I was able to make my decision. THANKS to all of you who took the time to provide your opinion. I am not tech savy nor am I ignorant. I am however, a T.V. addict! The HD on this outstanding. The widgets and all the "extras" in conjunction with the specs of this model at this price, is hard to beat. I'm greatful I didn't buy the Sony. I wasn't impressed with shipping time. I chose to buy from the web site because there is/was enough of a price difference to make it worth while. I also chose ship to store for added security of undamaged product. Seriously, if you're on the fence, jump off and buy this set.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bellad0nna
Marquette, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Product not worth s---
9/6/2012

Customer review by Lolo

1.0 stars 9/6/2012 by Lolo
by Lolo

We bought this TV less than 2 years ago from Best Buy. We spent quite a bit of money getting the TV, Blu-Ray player and the wireless router. Two (2) weeks ago the TV picture and sound went off. The sound came back on, but the picture did not. We only have vertical gray lines. Since then, we have had a repairman come to the house, and he tho't the problem might be a T-Con board, which he needed to order. He called today to let me know he can't get a T-Con board. I called another repairman who tho't it was probably another problem, but he wasn't able to locate the particular part(s) online for the repair. Both repairmen have indicated that if it ends up being the processor board that needs to be replaced, we should just buy another TV. Has the world become just a throw-away society? I will just use my 10-year-old computer.

Lolo
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing LG 55LE5400
4/15/2010

Customer review by JayT

4.0 stars 4/15/2010 by JayT
by JayT

I just installed this LG TV, replacing an older lcd projection system. My configuration includes a BlueRay player (included as a package) as well as a HT pc, carousel dvd player, A Wii, and a VCR (yes still use it) all conected to a HD Satelite provider and Home theater sound system. The picture is nothing less then amazing. Any HD content looks like your in the room with them and blueray content is even better. Standard analog broadcasts are fair to good. The tv came with an adequate count of HDMI connectors but could use another set of composite and component connectors to polish the terminal round up. I do miss my PIP from my older tv but will learn to live without it... Set up was easy after wrestling the flat panel out of the box (just me, no help), and attaching the base. With a swivel on the base pedestal, I could find the ports and make cable commections without pulling out the console from the wall. I have not used the internet features yet but they do look like a plus for those who would be renting a lot of movies. You will need to have a network drop and small network switch for the TV, BlueRay player and any other networked components. I would not recomend wireless if at all possible.

JayT
Northfield, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value for money
12/5/2010

Customer review by sokoris

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by sokoris
by sokoris

Replaced a 65" DLP in our family room with this TV. Had earlier bought a 50" LG in the UK, and decided to go with the brand again. Very pleased with the quality of the image, sound, initial set up and ease of use. Use Directv DVR and LG Blue Ray/internet box (also purchased from Walmart). Movie quality from the DVD player is excellent as is the broadcast TV image. Have not yet connected to the internet, but do so shortly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sokoris
Bealeton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Choice
9/14/2010

Customer review by HereItComes

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by HereItComes
by HereItComes

I was very surprised when I received my new TV. It more then met my expectations and was well worth the money that I paid for it. The picture quality was beyond anything that i expected and setting it up was easier then I thought it would be. However, the sound quality is good, but this set plays even better with a surround sound system. I would highly recommend this TV set to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HereItComes
Springfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Watching is a pleasure
7/21/2010

Customer review by wastingtime

4.0 stars 7/21/2010 by wastingtime
by wastingtime

My first HD TV, and better than I had ever expected. Easy to set up, great value for money and feature packed. The picture is crystal clear in bright light and in dark wih clear noise-free sound. Even the awful World Cup Soccer finals was fun to watch! I now waste far more time watching Netflix and Vudu, and Instead of guests poring over the family photo album on a computer screen, we really enjoy watching it on the TV. The Picasa, Flickr (and all other Yahoo Widgets), as well as the DLNA support all work great: it can even browse the files straight from the USB. Haven't yet tried to use it as a computer screen, but didn't need to. With so many features, the lack of a few stand out. It would have been easy to implement a built in web browser and a published open standard for adding to Netcast. Support for a wider variety of video formats (and video over DLNA) would have been nice: that way, I could have watched the AVI files written by Canon cameras straight from the card. Exif autorotate when reading from USB would also have been desireable. And most importantly, the utility of Netcast would increase enormously if it could use external USB storage as a buffer (encrypted if necessary for copy protection) to help in streaming over slow internet connection.

wastingtime
Los Alamos, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great T.V. at a great price!
9/14/2010

Customer review by VickieE

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by VickieE
by VickieE

This was a very good product and a good price. Makes a beautiful picture. The Football games are like being there!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
VickieE
Abilene, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV recommendation
12/21/2010

Customer review by Rainbowsea

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by Rainbowsea
by Rainbowsea

I've only had the tv for a couple weeks, but I was impressed right out of the box. It is sleek, and had a great picture from the get go. I'll be honest to say I haven't played with all the features yet. I'm going to get an HDMI ethernet cord to make things a little easier with the extra features. I'm also in the process of ordering a surround sound system. It is true with this flatter screen, you practically have to turn the volume all the way up to hear it decently. But, that is just standard with these sorts of tv's as I understand it. You could survive with out the surround, but I think it will make it better. So be prepared for that extra expense. All in all, I would purchase this tv again. For the look and the price, it is a good tv most would be happy to have.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rainbowsea
Jasper, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews