Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 116 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

116 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

116 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

92%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
83
4 stars
23
3 stars
4
2 stars
0
1 stars
6
1-20 of 104 total reviews
92%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews
Great - a couple of look outs
6/26/2010

Customer review by FunTimes2

5.0 stars 6/26/2010 by FunTimes2
by FunTimes2

Wireless adapter not included. Only gets you access to LGs chosen websites. If you want full Internet you will have to connect your PC via VGA. Select wall mount carefully, ensuring you have enough space between the wall and the TV to hook up your components. I had to replace regular HDMI with swivel HDMI. Great TV. I paired it with LG Blu-Ray Home Theater. Both purchased from Wal-Mart and delivered to the house as promised. I would buy both again.

Was this review helpful? (40) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FunTimes2
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
LG 55LE5400
5/2/2010

Customer review by InTheLoveOfChrist

5.0 stars 5/2/2010 by InTheLoveOfChrist
by InTheLoveOfChrist

This is an outstanding LCD LED lit TV. It arrived ahead of the projected date and was in perfect condition. The things I like about this model is the non-glare surface, the picture quality, the easy wireless connection to the internet along with the pre-loaded widgets (more about that later), the price is excellent at Wal-mart.com, and the easy navigation using the remote. The only disappointment was the lack of Skype as a pre-loaded Widget. The LG site had Skype listed as being pre-loaded in their specifications page and they touted it as a big part of their new line of LED TVs. The advertisements leading up to the release went on and on about how this is what people want, so why was it not part of the release? I called customer service at LG and they said they would have to get back to me. After a couple of days I called them again and the person said they had the wrong telephone number and that is why I had not heard anything. Bottom line, Skype was not ready for release when the TV was, but they expect it to be on the ones that will ship midsummer or August time frame. They said they would notify customers when it is ready and we can download it to the TV. Should you buy this TV? I think you will be very happy with it. It does not have the almost artificial colors of some of the other top-end TVs--I think it is more natural. Finally, I use an A/V surround system, so I don't use the TV's speakers, therefore I can't comment on the sound quality. I've been watching it for the past month now and would buy it again.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
InTheLoveOfChrist
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
onlyOK
5/20/2010

Customer review by waldomartshopper

3.0 stars 5/20/2010 by waldomartshopper
by waldomartshopper

brought this TV home along with the sony kdl ex500, compared them side by side and the sony picture quality blew this TV away. I couldn't get the picture to match the sony no matter what I did with the settings. It's not a bad TV but you can get far better picture quality for less money if you don't need the thin factor of this TV

Was this review helpful? (17) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
waldomartshopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
LG
3/21/2010

Customer review by TNTRecycling

4.0 stars 3/21/2010 by TNTRecycling
by TNTRecycling

Picture quality is great souds good. a little disappointed in the fact that you still have some scene not being used, also the features are seemingly easy to use.

Was this review helpful? (28) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TNTRecycling
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good for 5 hours!!!
9/16/2010

Customer review by NVMiner

1.0 stars 9/16/2010 by NVMiner
by NVMiner

Picked up the TV from my local store, brought it home, mounted it on the wall, connected my satellite and blue ray, & and everything worked great for the first night. Approximately 3 hours! turned it on the next morning and after about a half hour the picture froze and the the lines starting to form on the screen. Called LG customer service and was told that this is odd that it happened with a brand new set!!! But I could call the closest repair facility myself (located approx. 250 miles away). When I called I was told they couldn't do anything until LG contacted them with a warranty authorization number. I decided to just box up the set and return it to the store. WalMart took the set back with absolutely no hassles. If they hadn't I would have had to probably wait for who knows how long for the repair facility to actually come over the 250 miles and hopefully repair a brand new, used less than 5 hour set!!! I am now looking for another tv and it will be a different brand.

Was this review helpful? (7) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NVMiner
Spring Creek, NV
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
A fantastic Product
10/4/2010

Customer review by capture

5.0 stars 10/4/2010 by capture
by capture

One of the best purchases we have made, very happy with the quality, cost and best around picture quality...

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
capture
Kempner, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product for price
9/9/2010

Customer review by BTLgrad

5.0 stars 9/9/2010 by BTLgrad
by BTLgrad

The price difference between store and online was considerable. If you're going to do wireless don't forget to order the network dongle online it's probably cheaper. Using some of the network features might be better over a wired connection. Hanging this on the wall was about my only option and the Peerless 37 - 60 Universal Tilt wall mount worked well since we only needed it to tilt a little. In my opinion the picture was unsurpassed by anything in the store, and the online price just made it better. Too bad they can't sell it from the store for the same price.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BTLgrad
IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Fantastic
9/16/2010

Customer review by RelaxedinColorado

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by RelaxedinColorado
by RelaxedinColorado

Everything about the LG 55" LCD/LED is FANTASTIC. The picture is perfect in every way. The only thing I can say didn't meet expectations is the sound. But I understand if I add a surround sound system it's out of this world. Would recommend this unit to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RelaxedinColorado
Mosca, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great T.V. at a great price!
9/14/2010

Customer review by VickieE

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by VickieE
by VickieE

This was a very good product and a good price. Makes a beautiful picture. The Football games are like being there!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VickieE
Abilene, Tx.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great value for money
12/5/2010

Customer review by sokoris

5.0 stars 12/5/2010 by sokoris
by sokoris

Replaced a 65" DLP in our family room with this TV. Had earlier bought a 50" LG in the UK, and decided to go with the brand again. Very pleased with the quality of the image, sound, initial set up and ease of use. Use Directv DVR and LG Blue Ray/internet box (also purchased from Walmart). Movie quality from the DVD player is excellent as is the broadcast TV image. Have not yet connected to the internet, but do so shortly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sokoris
Bealeton, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent Choice
9/14/2010

Customer review by HereItComes

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by HereItComes
by HereItComes

I was very surprised when I received my new TV. It more then met my expectations and was well worth the money that I paid for it. The picture quality was beyond anything that i expected and setting it up was easier then I thought it would be. However, the sound quality is good, but this set plays even better with a surround sound system. I would highly recommend this TV set to everyone.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HereItComes
Springfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
GOOD VALUE
7/1/2010

Customer review by Bellad0nna

4.0 stars 7/1/2010 by Bellad0nna
by Bellad0nna

In reading these customer reviews I was able to make my decision. THANKS to all of you who took the time to provide your opinion. I am not tech savy nor am I ignorant. I am however, a T.V. addict! The HD on this outstanding. The widgets and all the "extras" in conjunction with the specs of this model at this price, is hard to beat. I'm greatful I didn't buy the Sony. I wasn't impressed with shipping time. I chose to buy from the web site because there is/was enough of a price difference to make it worth while. I also chose ship to store for added security of undamaged product. Seriously, if you're on the fence, jump off and buy this set.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bellad0nna
Marquette, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great T.V.
5/9/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 5/9/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Hands down, a great HDTV for the price, Very easy to set up and even though it goes through a Home Theater System I test the internal speakers and they work great. The picture is outstanding and when tied to a Blu-Ray it makes for enjoyable family movie time,

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Worth the Money I paid
12/17/2010

Customer review by researchhappygirl

4.0 stars 12/17/2010 by researchhappygirl
by researchhappygirl

I took my time deciding which 55 to buy and I am glad I chose my LG

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
researchhappygirl
ft. myers, fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Don't buy an LG
12/13/2010

Customer review by EddieIsMadAtLG

1.0 stars 12/13/2010 by EddieIsMadAtLG
by EddieIsMadAtLG

I bought the LG 55LE5400 from Walmart online. Order went well, Walmart delivered on time etc. This set has very poor picture and sound quality. I was at a friends yesterday and he has two large screen LED edge lit HDTV's on a common cable feed. One is a Samsung and the other a LG. There is a very noticeable difference in the picture and sound quality from the Samsung as compared to the LG. Same football game, same channel. Almost everyone watched the Samsung. Man, am I mad at myself for buying the LG. I wasted $1700.00. The clincher: Then I want to hook the sound output from the TV to my stereo. Guess what... You can't. You need an optical cable to transmit digital sound and this naturally won't connect through RCA plugs to an existing stereo. You would think LG could provide two simple connectors for an analog output wouldn't you. And of course when calling a store including Walmart about it, nobody knows this is the case. Calling LG direct, naturally with a person barely speaking English, put me on hold for several minutes then mentioned an opto cable and converter. So now I have an additional $125 worth of cable and audio digital to analog converter on order. Oh, and if you order a converter be sure to get the more expensiive one that supports Dolvy and has a delay feature to sync sound with moving lips on the screen. *Note to all potential buyers of TV's with optical digital sound output. When using this wonderful digital sound output, the TV no longer controls the volume output. You must change volume level on the sound equipment you are using. LG? Never again.

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
EddieIsMadAtLG
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great TV recommendation
12/21/2010

Customer review by Rainbowsea

5.0 stars 12/21/2010 by Rainbowsea
by Rainbowsea

I've only had the tv for a couple weeks, but I was impressed right out of the box. It is sleek, and had a great picture from the get go. I'll be honest to say I haven't played with all the features yet. I'm going to get an HDMI ethernet cord to make things a little easier with the extra features. I'm also in the process of ordering a surround sound system. It is true with this flatter screen, you practically have to turn the volume all the way up to hear it decently. But, that is just standard with these sorts of tv's as I understand it. You could survive with out the surround, but I think it will make it better. So be prepared for that extra expense. All in all, I would purchase this tv again. For the look and the price, it is a good tv most would be happy to have.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rainbowsea
Jasper, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LG 55" LED-LCD - Best TV I've Ever Owned
8/12/2010

Customer review by LittleBit69

5.0 stars 8/12/2010 by LittleBit69
by LittleBit69

I love this TV. From the minute I turned it on. The picture is fantastic. Unbelievably real looking, takes a little getting used to. My dog saw a dog on TV barking and thought it was in our house. I don't worry about the sound as I use a home theater surround bar and woofer, but the sound is not that bad if you use the TV. I think the features are good, really haven't had time to try them all out yet as it does not come with what you need to hook it up WIFI, you have to buy something extra. I would definitely recommend this TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LittleBit69
Northlake Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
What a TV
6/15/2010

Customer review by Larryto

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by Larryto
by Larryto

Free delivery a plus, HD unbelieveable, very thin and what a TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Larryto
Hoover, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great T.V. !!!!!
1/13/2011

Customer review by jjlsll

5.0 stars 1/13/2011 by jjlsll
by jjlsll

I love this TV. This is our first hd tv. We did not have HD programming and wow what difference! The sound is different coming from the rear but I think it just takes some getting used too. Some reviews led us to believe the sound on flat screens were terrible but this is not bad. I have had this TV since Dec 28 and I love it! I have no regrets !

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjlsll
Ofallon Mo
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
better than expectations
7/6/2010

Customer review by lovetoreadbooksallthetime

5.0 stars 7/6/2010 by lovetoreadbooksallthetime
by lovetoreadbooksallthetime

have had the TV for a little over a week. the picture quality is better than expected. Had a DLP tv before this one. this picture is very sharp and almost looks 3D

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lovetoreadbooksallthetime
CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 104 total reviews
1-20 of 104 reviews