Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 118 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

118 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

118 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

94%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
91
4 stars
21
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 108 total reviews
94%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews
A good price for a LED.
8/20/2010

Customer review by NickatNite905

4.0 stars 8/20/2010 by NickatNite905
by NickatNite905

Overall, a nicely priced tv. Internet features are great, but it does not support wireless internet/widgets without a media box purchase. Picture looks great with dynamic contrast turned on. I only have two issues. The first being trivial. I cannot custom name inputs, which seems odd to me. Most standard LCDs have no problem in adding this feature. The other issue is the 120 Hz. When I play games like Halo 3 and Fallout on my Xbox, the movements do not feel smooth at all. In fact, a lot of screen tearing occurs, often making your movements feel clumsy. Not true for every game, but I noticed it on these two. It was honestly better to play Halo 3 with the refresh rate set to 60 Hz. Otherwise, movies look great on this set. I also enjoy watching MP4s from my flashdrive on the tv. Again, if you're not a gamer, this tv has no downside. But if you're like me and want wireless internet connection, more luxurious features and better gaming capacity, consider a different tv.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NickatNite905
St. Cloud, MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Get the extended warranty - problems to come
10/21/2010

Customer review by sjungdahl

2.0 stars 10/21/2010 by sjungdahl
by sjungdahl

I've had problems with this tv. The Network software updates fail over and over. I'm a network engineer so I know its the TV with the problem. Don't spend the money for a networked TV such as this. You're better off with seperates. Luckily I had seperates for most networked functions. Just get a good picture HDTV 1080p and leave the network stuff to seperate devices.

Was this review helpful? (27) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
sjungdahl
Would recommend to a friend? No
Our very first HDTV - worth the wait!!
6/15/2010

Customer review by MGoBlue94

5.0 stars 6/15/2010 by MGoBlue94
by MGoBlue94

I can't begin to tell you how excited I was to get rid of our old 27" tube TV and finally upgrade! I was impressed by the reviews of LG on this and several other websites, which is why I put them into my consideration set. I must say, after watching TV on this beauty, I've become a complete Hi-Def snob...I can't imagine how I was watching TV on our old one? The picture on the TV is incredible in HD, so as long as you have a cable box or something to receive the HD signal, you're in for a fantastic treat. I don't think standard def looks that great on this or any other TV but again, that's my Hi-Def snobbery coming out. The TV is an LED LCD, so it's thin and extremely sleek. The matching stand swivels, which was great for us b/c we have it on a TV console near the corner of a room and the swivel allows us to center the TV in the middle of the console and still swivel it slightly so that the screen faces directly towards our sofa. I never thought I needed an internet-ready TV but now that I've experienced it, again - I can't imagine going back. We are able to stream Netflix on our TV and it looks great. We've already streamed Avatar on Vudu for the full 1080p/hi-def experience and it looked amazing! We're able to also browse YouTube, but I'm not sure if that's through our TV or Blu-ray player. Regardless, it's been pretty cool to pull up videos on YouTube of friends and show them on our TV when they come over - they're blown away. There is definitely a nice "dazzle" factor with the TV, in terms of appearance, quality of picture, and the very cool features. One friend of mine who incessantly razzed me about our antiquated TV set up, suddenly changed his tune and admitted he'd been leapfrogged by our new TV set up. We also have Y! widgets on the TV, though we haven't explored them as much and therefore don't use them as much. Pandora has been great and all of these apps are very easy to use. Honestly, I don't have any complaints with the TV. I've seen other reviews that complain about the sound. I'm not an audiophile and the volume on this TV works more than fine for our needs (our room is approximately 30' x 20'). I highly recommend this TV and am thrilled to own one!

Was this review helpful? (67) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MGoBlue94
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LG LED Wireless "Ready" TV
5/7/2010

Customer review by PAVBDR

4.0 stars 5/7/2010 by PAVBDR
by PAVBDR

The LED technology makes the picture pop out at you, especially when watching a DVD. The colors are vivid. The only issue is the networking capability. Unless you buy a $79.00 wireless USB adapter, you need to hook up the network via an ethernet cable. Not many people have ethernet near thier TV. The advertising and product description did not make this clear, so I'm a little disappointed. However this is the best picture and color I've seen on any TV ever.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
PAVBDR
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wonderful Purchase
9/22/2010

Customer review by buyersdream

5.0 stars 9/22/2010 by buyersdream
by buyersdream

I let someone talk me into the LED technology and am I glad that they did. I have 2 LCD tv's and while they are both good; they do not measure up to the quality of my new LED. I look forward to using the many features this tv offers. This was a very easy setup. I looked at many prices for an LED tv and Walmart offered the very best. I love shopping at Walmart. I am a fan of Walmart and so are many family members. This is a great buy!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buyersdream
Baltimore, Maryland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Best TV on the market!
9/17/2011

Customer review by Quiet One

5.0 stars 9/17/2011 by Quiet One
by Quiet One

This is the clearest television I ever purchased in my life! It is not a 3D television yet when my friends come over they ask because the picture is so clear and it appears the people are talking right in front of you. I love the fact there are several HDMI ports for my PS3, Blu Ray, and cable box. I love how there is an energy saving feature where if you forget to turn it off after shutting off your cable box it turns off automatically. I love the fact that the television was extremely affordable. Setting up the television was 1-2-3. I rarely use any of the widgets that come with the television but when I did, It was the weather widget and some sort of game. They were easy to use. I believe you had to connect your television to the internet to be able to use them. Lastly, a couple weeks after I purchased the television there was an update for it and I updated my TV right away. This is a great television and I recommend it to everyone!

Quiet One
Hudson Valley, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Lg-47LE5400
7/21/2010

Customer review by led4me

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by led4me
by led4me

Originally I purchased the LG47LD520 to replace a Samsung that had been damaged by my kid; however, I changed my mind, returned the unopened LD520 and decided to buy an LED TV instead. I had to balance price with quality and features. I chose the 47LE5400 because the picture quality just blew me away. It was very easy to setup and connect to my home AV system. The advance picture feature makes it a snap to adjust the picture to your liking. My wife said the picture is so realistic that it looks like you're looking through a window. Besides the beautiful picture, the ultra thin design give it the "Cool" factor. The only down side, and this is true of all ultra thin televisions today is the weak sounding speakers; however if you're going to spend that much money for a TV, then you should connect it to either a home AV system or sound bar. If you can't afford the INFINIA system you can't go wrong selecting the LE5400 series set.

led4me
St. Louis, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LE5400 WHOA
10/8/2011

Customer review by QSDCALIDUDE

4.0 stars 10/8/2011 by QSDCALIDUDE
by QSDCALIDUDE

I HAVE HAD A OTHER LG TV'S PRIOR TO THIS ONE A 42" LCD AND BOTH HAVE BEEN GOOD TV'S OVERALL .PICTURE OUSTANDING AND VIVID. I ALSO HAVE A SONY 46" LCD IN HOUSE AND BY FAR MY SIGNIFICANT OTHER WANTS TO TAKE MY TV OUT OF MY ROOM AND PLACE IN THE LIVING ROOM ,,BUT ITS NOT GOING TO HAPPEN ESPECIALLY THE LED " LE5400 " THE NETFLIX ON IT LOOKS GOOD ,BUT REALLY SHINES WITH VUDU HD .... WHOAAA,,,, FORGET BUYING BLURAY WHEN ALL MOVIES ARE PRETTY VIVID AND ALMOST 3D LIKE. THE ECO GREEN IS ALSO A GREAT FEATURE , IT LETS YOU MINIMIZE THE POWER CONSUMPTION MANUALLY OR BY AUTOMATIC DIMMING SENSOR,,, THE TV FOR THE SIZE AND AND QUALITY IS GREAT,,, AND SEEMS LIKE THEY MADE A LG CONSUMER OUT OF ME ,,AND A TRUE BELEIVER IN THE PRODUCT,, BY THE WAY TH FEATURE RECEIVED A LOWER SCORE DUE TO NOT ENOUGH WIDGETS AVAILABLE YET ,,,BUT EVERY THING ELSE THATS LG HAS ON TV IS TOP OF THE TV MARKET AND ALWAYS INOVATIVE..............THANK YOU L.G.

QSDCALIDUDE
CALIFORNIA, SOUTHERN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LG 47 LED
4/1/2011

Customer review by ElLobo

5.0 stars 4/1/2011 by ElLobo
by ElLobo

Our 1st HD LCD TV and we waited for prices to drop so we could try to get an LG. While we had another, respected brand have a major part break on set-up, we returned that one and hoped we could find an LG. We had a chance at a great price on a slightly used LG 47" LED / LCD TV at SEARS and took the opportunity to get it for only slightly more than we were going to pay for the 42" LED we had unsuccessfully tired. We set up the digital cable box and the TV was easy to connect and set up and has put out awesome displays ever since. The 2X speed digital is great for watching sports, etc. Movies are like seeing them in a theater! The sound is very good but we also use our sound system, which runs through the digital cable box. Great TV, Great price, Best Buy has a very, very good price on them right now. We are very, very glad we waited for the LG, our grown children are amazed at the video quality!

ElLobo
SE Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Disappointment
9/29/2015

Customer review by AngelaV

1.0 stars 9/29/2015 by AngelaV
by AngelaV

Our TV is only a few years old and EVERY HDMI port has quit working.

AngelaV
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
47LE5400 Review
9/24/2011

Customer review by D

4.0 stars 9/24/2011 by D
by D

Although this was my first TV, I researched a lot before deciding to buy this one. PROS: The quality is very good for the price and is very easy to use for any TV buyer. The TV also comes with presets for video watching so that you can skip adjusting color schemes and brightness changes. The features of this TV are excellent in its widgets that lets you watch netflix, youtube and other online streaming websites. This TV also comes with clearvoice tech. which should be standard on all TVs. This allows voice volume to be increased without increasing entire sound volume which helps aid in watching movies and shows! CONS: One thing that bothered me was that it lacked minor things it said was included; one being the auto off with no signal (TV would stay on for hours). Overall, the value of this is great and I would definitely consider buying another LG in the future

D
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
So far...So good.
7/10/2010

Customer review by fsonline

5.0 stars 7/10/2010 by fsonline
by fsonline

I'm really happy with what I've experienced in the first (yes the first) day of owning my LG 42" LED/LCD TV. really nice, so far. I only have one issue, and that is that the TV dies not have any analog outputs. When you've got a $5,000 stereo setup that you've used for years with past televisions to pipe TV sound, as well as the music you get from your provider, into the ceiling speakers in every room of the house, it's frustrating to have to chnange all of that to get access to the optical sound ouput that this TV offers. I couldn't believe it when if fished around behind the TV and with all the connections there wasn't one analog output for a stereo. I even called the support number, which by the way was quickly answered, and well handled, but they confirmed the lack of an analog output... rats. But the image quality is nice.

fsonline
South East Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Overall good tv with a little issues
2/24/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 2/24/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I upgraded from a tube tv. My first impression was that the picture was fantastic. Blueray, regular DVD player and regular tv picture are great. But after a few weeks started to notice small issues that are common with lcd/led tvs (halo effect). I still am trying to figure out the best picture for my viewing habits. I feel that the Trumotion feature makes the picture really clear but increases the halo effect, jitters and "fake look." I don't know if that is partially due to the fact that I just have it hooked up through an antenna. I don't want to pay for cable and don't watch that much tv. Overall I enjoy the tv. I got a good deal. It came with the blue ray player and wifi adapter. I don't know if an average person could tell the difference in picture between a LCD tv and this one. But overall pretty satisfied with the tv.

An anonymous customer
Indianapolis, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This TV has many inputs/settings
3/26/2015

Customer review by eric1984

5.0 stars 3/26/2015 by eric1984
by eric1984

I purchased this TV around superbowl time in 2012 and at the time it was a higher priced TV for 120Hz refresh rate. I was very happy with the 3 HDMI inputs, the optical audio output, and other inputs/outputs that it has. The swivel stand is one of the features that drew me to the TV as it provides more flexibility if we decided to move the TV from room to room over time. TV has worked perfectly for more than 3 years now. The only real negative (for all LG products I own) is the limited number of applications (netflix, Vudu, etc). Wish there were more options like are available on some gaming systems like the Wii U. Highly recommend this TV!

eric1984
South Lyon, MI 48178, USA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No worries here.
9/20/2011

Customer review by Fraleyte

4.0 stars 9/20/2011 by Fraleyte
by Fraleyte

This has been an excellent HD television. Everything has worked flawless. Easy set-up with all the cables you'll need plus more. I'm really getting a lot of use out of all the inputs. The USB inputs on the side are so handy for pictures. When connected to the internet, firmware updates are seamless. The NetCast (eg You-tube) capability provides almost endless viewing possibilities. I can even ebay right from my living room tv using the online widgets. I wanted to wall mount this and almost did but the room just didn't fit it right. This TV in our living room was a BIG worry at first due to tipping over (two kids under 5), but it been very sturdy once in its place. This tv has not let me down yet, and I would highly recommend it

Fraleyte
Cincinnati,OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
would rcomend this TV to everyone
7/4/2010

Customer review by thommers

5.0 stars 7/4/2010 by thommers
by thommers

More than I expected. The features are more than I will use. But I love the quality, the size. Best of all I love the people who see it , and are just blown away.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thommers
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not for PC use
10/23/2010

Customer review by M&M

4.0 stars 10/23/2010 by M&M
by M&M

Good TV. I believe I got a good deal on it. I ordered via Amazon.com. I am using it as a TV but also as my main computer monitor. Setup was easy and I like that it has Netflix built in. The reason I do not give it all 5 stars is because this TV does not come with its own PC drivers. Instead it defaults to the Windows Generic PNP Monitor. That means your refresh rate is limited to 60Hz which is half of the refresh rate advertised for this product. I get the best results by setting the picture mode to Expert 2 but the image is still not as crisp as my previous monitor. Prior to this I used a 3 year old Dell 23 inch LCD monitor. I am thinking of going back to it and just using the big screen for TV, movies and Xbox.

M&M
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? No
Better then expected
6/16/2010

Customer review by Knick

5.0 stars 6/16/2010 by Knick
by Knick

I bought my last TV 13 years ago and spent some good money on it. Recently our furniture change pushed me into a flat screen. I knew I wanted an LED LCD in the 46-47" range. I asked the folks in the store and they recommended LG, it was top of my list anyways. Despite finding only few reviews on this model, it had what I needed and wanted. It would have been a no-brainer if it was atleast 240hz and less than 2ms response. After getting it home and watching it for a few weeks I couldn't honestly tell if that matters anymore. I am amazed at the clarity and the quality of the picture. I'm really new to HDTV though, even regular DVD's at 480i look really good to me. I hope to have this TV for 13 yrs also.

Knick
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome
2/23/2011

Customer review by Shay

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by Shay
by Shay

We have been wanting a new TV for a long time and it wasn't until our old monstrosity died that we actually went out and bought a new one. I researched a lot of different brands and this one stood out. I was set on getting a TV that was internet connectible for the ease of watching movies from online sites instead of renting all the time...This TV was easy to set up, has an absolutely amazing picture and is very stream lined and takes up very little space. The fact that it has WIFI..was a bonus...we already had a home network set up so connecting it was a breeze...The deal that we got was out of this world with the TV, Blue-Ray player, and wireless adapter...we could not pass it up.

Shay
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV!
1/3/2011

Customer review by LindaEll

5.0 stars 1/3/2011 by LindaEll
by LindaEll

I bought this TV on faith in LG - sight unseen. It was the last one left in a local retailer's Black Friday special, and was in the box, with no demo. This was a little scary, but this retailer has been our local electronics "expert" for 70 years, so I trusted the opinion of the salesperson. I have to say, this TV has exceeded my expectations. The colors are exceptionally true, and needed almost no adjustment. The picture quality is extraordinary, and the viewing angle is superb. Like most very thin screens, the sound is a little tinny, so it's best to run sound through the home theater system. Overall, I am thrilled with this purchase and would recommend this TV.

LindaEll
upstate NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 108 total reviews
1-20 of 108 reviews