Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 312 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

312 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

312 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
246
4 stars
51
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 274 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 274 total reviews
1-20 of 274 reviews
great buy
2/14/2011

Customer review by cheepster

5.0 stars 2/14/2011 by cheepster
by cheepster

the picture is best i ever had , and i guess i can simply say look at the star rating , that says it all.Th e picture is great , the sound is fine , and there are so many whistles and bells , i just don't know how they all work...but it is easy to set up, and adjust. I have had this set for 7 months , and still very pleased with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cheepster
Delaware , Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I'm blown away!
11/23/2010

Customer review by WS4V

5.0 stars 11/23/2010 by WS4V
by WS4V

First thanks to the others who rated this TV. You helped greatly with my decision to purchase it. Now for the good stuff. We are on cable with 60 channels, but when I did a channel search on the LG we now have 99 channels, many in HD AT NO EXTRA COST! (We don't have a cable box) The LG searches every possible channel for unscrambled pictures and sure found a lot! Our favorite local channel is so sharp we can see individual hairs on the news anchors head. The colors are perfect, contrast is excellent and we couldn't be happier. I did buy the two year extended service plan with the set for peace of mind but this thing works great!! Since cable companies are always messing around with channels I will do a channel search from time to time and see if they add anymore HD channel for me for free! We couldn't be happier with the TV! Even the normal TV channels appear much sharper than the TV we had before and it beats my 37" Vizio in my basement den all to pieces. We are very happy with the purchase.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WS4V
SW VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
TIP TOP TV!
4/8/2010

Customer review by Brinkle20

5.0 stars 4/8/2010 by Brinkle20
by Brinkle20

When I went to Walmart to finally buy a new TV, I thought I had gone prepared, I was mistaken. I was going to buy the 42" Phillips as I was convinced this was a good purchase for me, however when I got there this LG 42LD450 was right next to it and the picture on both sets spoke volumnes. For an Additional $30 I was going to buy the LG. The in store price in my area of Pensacola FL was approx $40 less than the on-line price. And only $30 more than the Phillips. The Dynamic Contrast Ratio is a very important componant and on the Phillips was 29,000;1 the LG however was 1000,000;1 !! Blacker blacks and an overall sharper picture, hands down. Everything in MHO is perfect except for features. It only has 2 HDMI ports and one will need to purchase an HDMI hub for additional electronics such as game consoles etc. This TV also has a swivel base, which was a happy surprise. In doing my research of Walmarts 42" sets this was one that was not in my price range originally so Ihad no idea what features it posessed, the swivel base was a nice one. Another thing I would like to comment on is the LG website itself. I registered my TV on-line there and was rewarded with an e-mail from them that explained thier mission statement and I appreciated it very much. This is a very nice affordable quality TV and I think you will be pleased if you decide it is for you.

Was this review helpful? (61) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Brinkle20
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
LG Shines
7/5/2010

Customer review by Atlalan

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by Atlalan
by Atlalan

I love LG televisions. I purchased the 32" and loved it so much I purchased the 42". Both were easy to assemble, just slide the stand in and attach with a screw. The pic is incredible. Wait until you see your regular shows on an HDTV. WOW!

Was this review helpful? (56) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Atlalan
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
4/9/2010

Customer review by RedBullFan

5.0 stars 4/9/2010 by RedBullFan
by RedBullFan

I was surprised to see LG tv's at walmart. I bought this tv 3 days ago. Let me tell you, I love it. Great Picture fits perfectly in my living room. I was gonna purchase a vizio but when I saw the quality of the LG i was like Im getting this one. Awesome tv. Sports games are awesome to watch on this tv. Saw the Barcelona FC vs Arsenal on high def. It felt like I was there.

Was this review helpful? (32) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RedBullFan
Highland Park, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great LCD TV at a great price
5/5/2010

Customer review by WMLA

5.0 stars 5/5/2010 by WMLA
by WMLA

This is my first flat panel TV. I held out for years since I don't watch TV much, and my old 19" CRT television has been fine for my 2 year old to watch Sesame Street DVDs. After Netflix released their streaming service for the Nintendo Wii, I figured it was time to get a decent TV and hook it up to the Wii to watch some movies. Based on consumer reviews I found, it seemed that LG was one of the two highest rated brands, so I chose them to dramatically reduce the number of models I had to consider. From there, we settled on the 42" size. And that left 3 LG 42" models to choose from. As far as I could tell, the display specs of this model were identical to the two more expensive models, and I really didn't need any of the extra features or ports offered by the higher end models. Once I settled on this model, I saw that WalMart.com was over $100 cheaper than every other web retailer. And like the others, they offered free shipping. WalMart's extended warranty sealed the deal, as the WalMart warranty starts AFTER the manufacturer rebate, whereas others start on the date of purchase. For the price and value, I'd definitely recommend the WalMart extended warranty. The TV was shipped via FedEx from a local warehouse and arrived 1 day later! I'm amazed at the price and the service of WalMart.com. The TV itself is fantastic as far as I'm concerned. I don't have a BluRay player or watch much HD TV, but the picture is phenomenal. The TV is extremely bright, lighting up the whole room at night. I have turned on the power saver mode which slightly dims the backlight and it is still very bright. The remote is relatively simple and easy to use, and the on-screen menus are surprisingly good and very intuitive. Much better than any of the older TVs that I have used. The audio quality is great, and there is plenty of sound to fill the room. The sound is natural and clean, and is not tinny or muffled or distorted. Sounds great to me. The DTV tuner seems to be very good, doing a much better job of picking up over the air HD channels compared to the cheap digital tuner box that I have on my old TV. The auto channel setup worked great, and I was able to easily 'hide' all of the random local channels I will never watch. This is my first LG electronics purchase, and I'm very impressed.

Was this review helpful? (72) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WMLA
Los Angeles
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great TV especially for the price
4/2/2010

Customer review by MPHancock

5.0 stars 4/2/2010 by MPHancock
by MPHancock

This tv blew me away. I found it at a WalMart in West Bend, WI and was amazed when my girlfriend pointed out an LG for only $658 (on the shelf.) After looking at the tv for quite some time, examining the picture, grabbing the remote and playing around with the volume, channels, menu screens, etc. , I decided that this tv was going home with me no matter what. I currently only use it for my Xbox 360, since I don't have DirectTV hooked up in my bedroom. Let me tell you, if you're a gamer, Modern Warfare 2 looks amazing on it! I'm playing my first DVD in it right now, and the graphics are still very good, but not as great as I think they would be if I had an HD DVD player with all HD cables. Right now all I use with it is my 360. The tv gets louder than most people would ever really need, but when turned up all the way or at a high level, the sound gets kind of flat. But I'm sure this could be easily corrected with a surround sound system. Overall, this tv looks awesome, and even the menu screens are cool to look at. The Input button shows you (on screen) exactly what ports you have in the back of the TV, and if they're colored in, that means you have something plugged into those ports. Which is nice. No wasting time picking the wrong inputs because you dont know where everything is plugged in! All around, I'm very happy with the TV. No problems fresh out of the box, like I've read about some Philips and Sanyos. I was very happy with this tv, and will definately look at buying an LG first for my next TV. (If I ever need one!)

Was this review helpful? (42) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MPHancock
Watertown, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
High Quality Product
9/18/2010

Customer review by Cartboy71

5.0 stars 9/18/2010 by Cartboy71
by Cartboy71

I recently purchased a 42" Philips from the Wal-Mart online store. Within 2 days I had to return it due to a short in the audio output, and I exchanged it for this LG. The 42" LG is superior in all areas to the Philips except for the number of HDMI connects. I am very pleased with the LG, the picture is sharp and clear, and the sound is fantastic. It was an easy setup from start to finish. I would recommend this product to anyone who is not planning to use more than 2 HDMI inputs.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cartboy71
Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Brilliant picture
9/24/2010

Customer review by childrenofthegods

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by childrenofthegods
by childrenofthegods

I like LG, had them in the past and I was actually looking at a Philips but none in stores only online and hey I wanted to see the item I was buying first. The picture was astounding in store. I checked for inputs and it had the basic I needed, could have done with more but that meant going to a 47 inch screen and that's another $200, sorry enough is enough. Got it home set it up and presto it ran perfectly, the menu's are so easy to see and use (unlike a 32 inch philips I have also). If you plus into any of the inputs on the back or side it detects them and asks if you want to use it...brilliant. It has two HDMI ports, would have liked three for future expansion, plus three RCA/phono inputs, 2 on the rear and 1 on the side. Oh for some reason one hdmi is on the side the other on the rear. Only one antenna input so no switching from different things there. The base is cool actually swivels about 60 degrees either way so means you can keep you tv unit straight and adjust the tv itself...simple but great idea LG. Sound is okay but we all know they do not put the best speakers in them these days assuming people are going to buy a theater system. I got a sound bar by vizio from target as it was on offer and its great, both the bar and the tv have an optical audio connector so grab a lead from amazon (a lot cheaper there) and connect that baby up....WOW its amazing trust me. All in all a great tv, the picture is amazing and have no regrets plus walmart was cheaper. Didn't take the extended warranty out for another $65 as I was now broke but it is a good idea but I would hope the tv last longer than that anyway.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
childrenofthegods
Trabuco Canyon, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great tv
10/5/2011

Customer review by AuntieD50

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by AuntieD50
by AuntieD50

I absolutely LOVE this tv! Purchased this LG tv almost six months ago and still love it as much as day one. I wanted the largest tv that would fit in my entertainment center and after online research this model was one of my choices. Once I saw this LG on display, the picture quality at such a great price made the choice an easy one. This is our first flatscreen tv and there is just no comparison to the old bulky box tv we had. The picture is so crisp and clear. The colors are so vivid and lifelike. Great sound. Setup was a breeze and all our components were easy to hook up. I particularly like the side jacks-we are able to plug in our karaoke machine without having to get to the back of the tv. We have gotten so many compliments on our tv. My 16 year old son liked playing his game system on it so much so that he bought himself a 42 inch LG tv for his room. We are very happy with our purchases and would recommend LG tvs for their quality and great value as well as making tv viewing a better experience.

AuntieD50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Amazing TV! You have to get it....
9/30/2010

Customer review by rubbutter30

5.0 stars 9/30/2010 by rubbutter30
by rubbutter30

I had a 42 Panasonic Plasma Viera that i bought couple years ago. I was just not happy with it, and the heat it put out! whoa! So i was trying to do my homework and pick the best bang for my buck. I first came across this TV but came back to it over time. I went to my local store to look at it on display and the picture was not that great, but below it was a Vizio 42 and that picture looked better. So i was confused. But the reviews on this TV was far much better than the Vizio 42'. I fugured Walmart makes more money of the Vizio. But anyways, i just went with what people were saying about this one, and boy was i glad i bought this one instead! The picture is beyond words. I don't have cable so i bought a cheap hdtv Phillips "rabbit ears" atenna for $9.96 at walamrt at the same time. I get 60 channels. All but two are in HD so the pic's are just great! I would buy this TV if i where you, you will be happy!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rubbutter30
Duncanville, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great product
10/11/2010

Customer review by 0ldman66

5.0 stars 10/11/2010 by 0ldman66
by 0ldman66

A very good value and the best picture ever. Also the service was super. Ordered on a friday at 1:30 pm and received it on saturday,(next day) at 2:pm. You can't get much better than that. Thanks

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
0ldman66
Chillicothe Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best In Class!
9/17/2010

Customer review by HappyCamper84

5.0 stars 9/17/2010 by HappyCamper84
by HappyCamper84

This TV is loaded with simple and intuitive features, has a 4ms response time (meaning that you don't see "ghosting") which is AWESOME for the XBOX360/PS3, and is also aesthetically pleasing. I returned two other TVs for the "ghosting" problem alone that were remarkably similar in specs. Of the three televisions I tried, this one ALSO has the best picture for standard cable, AND has the best sound. Price is right in the middle of them, but I still feel like I received the best deal offered by ending up with this set!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HappyCamper84
Pensacola, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
My first flat screen
5/24/2010

Customer review by MediaGuyMO

5.0 stars 5/24/2010 by MediaGuyMO
by MediaGuyMO

Well, except for computer monitors. The set arrived in two days from the order, which floored me. I wasn't prepared so I spent Saturday running around getting necessary peripherals (cables and a table). The price was a surprise, of course, as was the free shipping to my home. While we were shopping on Saturday, I saw the same monitor "on sale" in other big boxers for as much as $200 more! My son set it up Sunday evening and it worked perfectly from the instant it was powered on. Picture quality even from my analog cable box is excellent and the sound from the built-in speakers is great for the size of the speakers, but not as good as the Bose HTS to which it'll be attached on Monday. We've been fans of Roku/Netflix for a while and so we upgraded to their digital box, and that'll be here Tuesday, along with the HDMI cable for the DVD player. One thing I found interesting was the sensitivity of the built-in HD tuner, which picked up all but one of the off-the-air signals in the market without an external antenna.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MediaGuyMO
Missouri
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I switched..
4/13/2010

Customer review by MandyCCP

5.0 stars 4/13/2010 by MandyCCP
by MandyCCP

I bought a Vizio at walmart in February and had problems with a fuzzy line at the top of the screen. The screen size would vary from widescreen to full screen to tiny so I decided to exchange it today. I saw the LG, and I have always been an LG fan, so I thought it had a great picture and I should try it out. I've had it less than 24 hours but I can see a huge difference in the picture quality. I am very happy that I chose this LG tv over any other. It looks amazing, plus, it has really good sound. It's menu is much easier to understand than the vizio so I would definitely recommend this to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MandyCCP
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Fantastic Television
11/20/2015

Customer review by GaryB123

5.0 stars 11/20/2015 by GaryB123
by GaryB123

This TV was a gift but I am thoroughly pleased with it. Great clarity, no problems, great viewing angles, ease of use and will definitely will purchase more LG products.

GaryB123
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Buy
9/27/2010

Customer review by AlwaysShopWalmart2

5.0 stars 9/27/2010 by AlwaysShopWalmart2
by AlwaysShopWalmart2

I have had this LCD TV for 2 weeks. No complaints here. I hope I can say the same thing in a year from now. There are features I definately would like to have but am not willing to spend the money at this time. For now, this meets all my needs.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AlwaysShopWalmart2
MN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
good but could be better
6/18/2010

Customer review by Lauren187

4.0 stars 6/18/2010 by Lauren187
by Lauren187

well like i said the tv is good but could be better. the sound quality is very good for a flat panel so i didnt bother getting a sound bar. the picture quality is a little fuzzy on some channels but perfect on all the HD channels and some non-HD channels. its fairly user friendly if your savy with electronics so if you're not i really recommend thumbing through the manual before doing the initial setup. the menus are very easy to us and are very user friendly. hooking up multiple componets is very easy and the imput feature allows you to label each imput so you know exactly what componet is where. the remote is very easy to use with fairly large buttons. a couple of the buttons serve the same function so i find it a little redundent to have two menu buttons basically side by side (one button between). overall i would recommend getting the tv but if you can afford the extra expense i would get the 120htz LG instead.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Lauren187
College Station, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
great television
11/26/2010

Customer review by americannotirish

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by americannotirish
by americannotirish

this tv is worth every penny spent, i know there are cheaper 42in models and brands but when you get them home, thats when you see the difference. LG is head and shoulders above the rest, i have owned toshibas untill now, lg got me with this one., great picture even in standard def, and in 1080i its amazing, the sound doesnt lack muck either, but then i connect it to my surround and wow, its great,I highly recomend this tv. anyone that doesnt like this tv when they get it home is either half blind or will have to spend thousands to satisfy themselves and as with any electronic technology today, BUY THE EXTENDED WARRANTY, JUST IN CASE, ITS WORTH THE MONEY IF SOMETHING GOES WRONG, and wallmart warrantys no hassel, if it cant be fixed, they replace it. great peace of mind for something that can cost $500 to $700 to replace.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
americannotirish
arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
okMays
10/29/2011

Customer review by booyah

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by booyah
by booyah

my wife and I have enjoyed this television since it was first hooked up. It stayed in the box for a couple of months until we moved in our new house (a year ago at the end of this month). The picture quality is amazing. We have HD satellite service and wouldn't have it any other way. I would only ask for another HDMI connection. We have a HTS connected with a bluray and I LOVE THE QUALITY! The picture is beautiful. Just the other day (for the first time) I connected a flashdrive and watche a slideshow presentation of our wedding and I felt like I was THERE all over again because the pictures were so beautiful. The speakers on the TV have an amazing sound quality also. I really get excited when I connect the Wii because thats beautiful also (the streamed videos are amazing also). Here is the shocker... there is even a VCR CONNECTED AND VIDEOS ON THAT ARE AS IF WE ARE WATCHING HD. I've been forced to keep all of my VHS tapes because the tv makes them beautiful. I COULD NOT BE MORE PLEASED!!! We will be purchasing another LG for the bedroom within the month. Proud to be a part of the LG family!

booyah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 274 total reviews
1-20 of 274 reviews