Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 312 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

312 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

4.5 stars

312 reviews | 4.7 out of 5

95%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
246
4 stars
51
3 stars
6
2 stars
4
1 stars
5
1-20 of 274 total reviews
95%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 274 total reviews
1-20 of 274 reviews
Great tv
10/5/2011

Customer review by AuntieD50

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by AuntieD50
by AuntieD50

I absolutely LOVE this tv! Purchased this LG tv almost six months ago and still love it as much as day one. I wanted the largest tv that would fit in my entertainment center and after online research this model was one of my choices. Once I saw this LG on display, the picture quality at such a great price made the choice an easy one. This is our first flatscreen tv and there is just no comparison to the old bulky box tv we had. The picture is so crisp and clear. The colors are so vivid and lifelike. Great sound. Setup was a breeze and all our components were easy to hook up. I particularly like the side jacks-we are able to plug in our karaoke machine without having to get to the back of the tv. We have gotten so many compliments on our tv. My 16 year old son liked playing his game system on it so much so that he bought himself a 42 inch LG tv for his room. We are very happy with our purchases and would recommend LG tvs for their quality and great value as well as making tv viewing a better experience.

AuntieD50
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
okMays
10/29/2011

Customer review by booyah

5.0 stars 10/29/2011 by booyah
by booyah

my wife and I have enjoyed this television since it was first hooked up. It stayed in the box for a couple of months until we moved in our new house (a year ago at the end of this month). The picture quality is amazing. We have HD satellite service and wouldn't have it any other way. I would only ask for another HDMI connection. We have a HTS connected with a bluray and I LOVE THE QUALITY! The picture is beautiful. Just the other day (for the first time) I connected a flashdrive and watche a slideshow presentation of our wedding and I felt like I was THERE all over again because the pictures were so beautiful. The speakers on the TV have an amazing sound quality also. I really get excited when I connect the Wii because thats beautiful also (the streamed videos are amazing also). Here is the shocker... there is even a VCR CONNECTED AND VIDEOS ON THAT ARE AS IF WE ARE WATCHING HD. I've been forced to keep all of my VHS tapes because the tv makes them beautiful. I COULD NOT BE MORE PLEASED!!! We will be purchasing another LG for the bedroom within the month. Proud to be a part of the LG family!

booyah
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Crash
10/25/2011

Customer review by dkingak

5.0 stars 10/25/2011 by dkingak
by dkingak

I bought my 42ld450 TV when I lived in Alaska. I got transfered to Washington State in June 2011. Just after entering Canada the tongue on my trailer bent then broke. Everything I owned including my TV had a very rough ride. I gathered together my stuff and put it on the trailer and drug it down the road to someones house. I had to drive 800 miles round trip to purchase a new trailer. While I was gone it rained and soaked everything, including me while I was loading the new trailer. While loading the trailer I dropped my TV about six feet to the ground. I thought, "Well it's already ruined, with the crash and rain", So I threw it back up on the trailer and forgot about it until I got to my new home. When I got home I decided after a few days to unpack it and see if it still worked. I am glad to say that it works just as good as it did when it was brand new, (maybe even better).

dkingak
Mt. Rainier, Washington
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not the Greatest
7/19/2010

Customer review by ct8558

3.0 stars 7/19/2010 by ct8558
by ct8558

I bought this TV back in December of 2007. When I first purchased it, it worked fantastic. The picture quality was great. I had no complaints. Then suddenly, for some unknown reason, the TV began to behave irregularly. When I would turn the TV on I could hear the sound but there was no picture to be seen, just black background. I have had several visits from Best Buy technicians resulting in the replacement of circuit boards within the TV, none of which has solved the problem. The last resort, so I am told, is to replace the panel completely, which is equivalent to buying a new TV. Short of doing that I have just been dealing with the fact that it does not turn on when I want it to. I just turn it on and then off repeatedly until the screen decides to turn on as it should. Once that happens everything is fine.

ct8558
Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Buy
10/5/2011

Customer review by Matt

5.0 stars 10/5/2011 by Matt
by Matt

I purchased my T.V. last X-mas, I have had nothing but exceptional performance from my T.V.. I would recommend almost any L.G. product to anyone. I have had mulitple different L.G. products, from phones, to a washing machine, even a A/C window unit. All have prformed beyond my expectations. I was only disapointed about one thing on the model T.V.; this was after I had made the purchase and got home, I found that I had only one input for "Composites" , meaning when my kids play their video games, and switch from the X-box to the Wii, they must unplug the cables from the back of the T.V. and plug in the other game systems' cables to the same input. I wish I would have purchased a different model with "two" Composite inputs. But the performance is exceptional, and I love the picture.

Matt
Cincinnati, Oh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Time Will Tell Now
2/21/2011

Customer review by Skeptical

1.0 stars 2/21/2011 by Skeptical
by Skeptical

Getting the tv configured and set up was easy. However, after about 3 weeks of off and on use, it stopped working in the middle of using it. It just shut off and wouldn't power up. It's plugged into a UPS and there was no type of surge. LG put me in touch with a local technician who came out. As a precaution, I hired an electrician to come out and check my electric and he determined everything looked fine. The technician came back out w/ a new power cord and it didn't work. He ordered some parts (I think a new motherboard of some sort) and it took a few weeks for the part to come in and get my tv fixed. Luckily this isn't my main tv, otherwise I would have been absolutely livid. The new part worked and I haven't had any issues, but it has only been a couple of weeks.

Skeptical
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
I'm Very Happy
10/17/2010

Customer review by Ken

5.0 stars 10/17/2010 by Ken
by Ken

This 42 inch TV replaces a Philips 42 inch that went bad after only 18 months. So far, I am very happy at how bright and sharp the picture is. I did have one very small problem with the internal clock losing time (about one minute per day). I contacted LG service dept. and learned that I can set the clock to 'auto' and have it keep the correct time just by being connected to the cable box. It now keeps perfect time. I was impress with how quickly LG answered my concern, they sent two separate emails in less than 24 hours. They even offered to send a service tech to my home! The TV was easy to connect and the menu is well written, very easy to understand. I set the TV up about 6 or 7 weeks ago, and still feel that I made the right choice with this purchase.

Ken
St Augustine, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Feature packed for the price
7/22/2010

Customer review by LG Fan

5.0 stars 7/22/2010 by LG Fan
by LG Fan

I have been looking at TV's for quite some time before purchasing the 42LD450. While other 42" models offer more features this TV has everything I was looking for, mostly the ability to use the ISF ready calibration. You will not find this feature on any other manufacturer's models in this price range. Granted, the picture is great right out of the box but if you get a calibration DVD and use the 2 and 10 Point IRE settings the picture is unbelievable! The only shortcoming of this unit is the limited number of HDMI connections but considering everything else it offers, this TV is hard to beat. Feel very comfortable making the plunge when you purchase this TV!

LG Fan
Arlington, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Clara
9/27/2011

Customer review by Clara

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by Clara
by Clara

5 Star ++++ LG doesn't just make Life Good, it makes Life Great! I had a LG 42 inch television that had 4 HDMI portals and many other incredible features. I was in love with this TV. It had incredibly crisp colors. It was stolen and my life was a mess. I cried for days because it couldn't be replaced. It had top notch everything. Yes, I was in love. My son was able to buy me a television and I refused all other name brands, if it was not an LG, and he finally got me another LG. The quality of the LG supersedes all expectations and is just as exceptional, if not better than those other expensive brand names. Love's Grand, Life's Great, Life's Good

Clara
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV
12/9/2010

Customer review by den

5.0 stars 12/9/2010 by den
by den

I bought this TV on a whim, I was looking for a large flatscreen and this one was on sale on Black Friday and I ended up buying it because the less expensive TV's had sold out. So far so good, picutre quality is great, features is so easy to use, I especially love the energy saving picture feature. Although I had not done my research with picture quality and sound I really do believe I lucked out and bought a TV that far surpasses ones I had been looking at. The only reservation I have with buying a flat screen is how long do they last? Regular old style TV's last years upon years, hopefully this LG LCD stands the test of time.

den
Tacoma, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Deal
10/21/2010

Customer review by kgor

4.0 stars 10/21/2010 by kgor
by kgor

Great deal for the price. Ordered from Circuit City with multiple discounts; it was easily the cheapest price out there for this model. Overall I am happy with the unit. The picture is sometimes grainy though; I am not "up on all the latest" so this could be something I've not connected correctly or because I don't have HD satillite service. Also, I haven't been able to connect my existing surround sound (approx 8 years old) to it yet because there are additional items needed to purchase for connection. Overall, very happy with the purchase and would recommend.

kgor
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent picture, perfect size for small city apt
4/26/2010

Customer review by flynnbm01

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by flynnbm01
by flynnbm01

I purchased this TV based on picture quality, size, and cost at my local electronics store. I find it to be the perfect size for a relatively small city apt, yet it still provides the picture you'd want in a basement theater set up. Cost was within the price range I was looking to spend as well. Only downfall is the lag in picture start up when you first turn the TV on -- it takes a good 10 seconds to see the picture emerge after you hit the on button. Aside from that -- I am very satisfied with this product.

flynnbm01
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
volume control range not good
1/29/2011

Customer review by sailr

4.0 stars 1/29/2011 by sailr
by sailr

We LOVE our new TV! The picture, etc, is phenomenal. However, the range from which we can control the volume is unacceptable! We could always control our old TV's volume from the kitchen, about 20-25 feet away, but this TV's remote cannot control the volume from more than about 15'! That is a rediculous inconvenience! Our telephone is in the kitchen. When we go to answer the phone, we would like to be able to turn the volume down on the TV. It's not possible. BAD BAD BAD!

sailr
Land O Lakes, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
good buy
4/26/2010

Customer review by lguser jim

5.0 stars 4/26/2010 by lguser jim
by lguser jim

This is my first flat-screen so I don't know what to expect, but I'm very impressed with the picture and the ease of use. If you just take a little time to read the instructions, you,ll find that all you have to do to use the on-screen instructions is to push the menu button, then push the green button below it. I had it up and running, and figured out, in about two hours. It inter-faces smoothly with my xbox 360. I'm very happy with the way it works, and with the price!

lguser jim
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice!
7/13/2010

Customer review by xfiguy

5.0 stars 7/13/2010 by xfiguy
by xfiguy

This TV has the clearest picture I have ever seen and the sound quality is excellant. Settings are perfect right out of the box. Installation is so simple anyone can do it. The remote control is easy to use; no confusion at all. The performance of this product more than exceeded my expectations and I love the style and design, especially the side connections which are out of view. I am totally satisfied with this purchase and highly recommend it.

xfiguy
Port Neches, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Love it
12/14/2010

Customer review by threehangers

5.0 stars 12/14/2010 by threehangers
by threehangers

My daughter has owned this television for several months now and I have seen it many times and always admired the quality. My old tv crashed about two months ago and I painfully waited until the selling season to get the best price. When the TV arrived I had it up and operating within twenty minutes. Could not believe how easy it was. I have yet to acquire HD service but movies are great and the clarity with basic satellite is good for now.

threehangers
Griffin, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Giving LG a shot
11/2/2010

Customer review by Goldstar

4.0 stars 11/2/2010 by Goldstar
by Goldstar

It's hard to know how good any product is after only 3 months. LG used to be Goldstar, some of the worst electronics made. So far it's been good. Good picture quality, ease of setup, features and price. My only gripe so far is that there are no RCA jacks for audio output. I have to use the built in headphone jack with the use of an adapter or the optical jack. Using the headphone jack disables any audio adjustments. The price was right.

Goldstar
Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? No
Superior Sigh and Sound!
2/7/2011

Customer review by Bruiser

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Bruiser
by Bruiser

Bought this LCD for my wife's birthday, and had it professionally mounted on our master bedroom wall. BOTH of us are thrilled with the picture and sound quality, as well as the easy adaptability of our "cable remote control" as it applies to the 42LD45o features. We have mailed/applied for a "rebate" through our dealer and are hoping to receive it soon. We have recommended this TV (or any LG product) to our family and friends.

Bruiser
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Life is truly Good
6/4/2010

Customer review by badboytoy

5.0 stars 6/4/2010 by badboytoy
by badboytoy

This model TV is perfect for us retired folk. We don't need more than 2 HDMI & a bunch of other jacks for additional components. For those that do, this model obviously would not be the right one. Other than that, one could not find a crisper,beautiful picture & VERY USER FRIENDLY menu to make changes, choices,etc.. Love the swivel stand! One could not make a better choice for the dollar spent, in my humble opinion

badboytoy
Clayton, Georgia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
My 42LDE450 Flatscreen TV is Awesome!!
11/22/2010

Customer review by Julesybugs

5.0 stars 11/22/2010 by Julesybugs
by Julesybugs

I went from watching a 25" oldschool TV to watching this 42" flatscreen TV, and WOW what a difference. It's so amazing the difference with the clarity that I'm going through and watching all my DVD's and BluRays over again. What a pleasure to watch all the HD cable channels, enjoying the total full screen. The palladia channel, with the concerts, is completely awesome! I'd say, overall, my TV is great! Thanks LG!!

Julesybugs
Kent, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 274 total reviews
1-20 of 274 reviews