Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 138 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

138 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
104
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 118 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews
Great price, without the sacrifice
2/25/2011

Customer review by jadex

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by jadex
by jadex

This TV is a great deal especially under $1000. The picture quality is great even compared to higher end models. the Picture-in-picture feature is cool & the picture out of picture is yet another plus. pic out of pic puts two screens side by side to watch two different things. the picture quality has a great 100,000:1 contrast and many picture enhancement, and personalization settings. the only setting it doesn't seem to have is gamma. The built in speakers are good quality for their size, but do lack in the deep and rich sounds. this is easily fixed with a home theater system or external speaker set. The TV it self has on board audio settings as well complete with a simple or advanced equalizer and SRS truvolume and SRS surround sound which helps give the sense of having surround sound without actually having it. The 120Hz feature is also amazing. for those who are unsure of what it means, it helps motion on the screen appear more smooth and crisp. this can also be custom tailored in the picture settings. Overall this is by far the best bang for the buck I have been able to find. Even if 47" isnt the right size for you this same tv is available in 42" and 55" sizes. All are still great deals for their price

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jadex
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Choice for vacation condo
8/3/2011

Customer review by Astrol

5.0 stars 8/3/2011 by Astrol
by Astrol

I bought this flat screen for our vacation place in Ocean City, Maryland. LCD was the tech of choice due to strong lighting issues both external with the windows and slider and internal with table lamp placements. LED LCD was also considered due to its generally deeper black levels but it made more sense to stick with regular LCD for the more matte screen and overall better screen uniformity. Happy to report I have found no panel issues thus far ... no flashlighting, no spotlighting, no clouding, etc. Perhaps I drew the lucky straw or perhaps Vizio production is just that good. Whatever the case, the set is a beauty and fits in one of the corners very nicely, which helps with the more limited LCD viewing angles. Also very glad to report that the Picture is fantastic, even though I am a plasma fan and own 2 at home. While only a 120Hz model, I can detect no obvious motion issues of any kind, which is a great relief. Audio is very nice as well, as is the overall Menu feature set and Picture/Sound adjustability. At this price range I really have no complaints. FYI, attaching the base was a breeze and the overall lightweight of the unit for its screen size made placement quite easy. Assembling the corner stand (also purchased at WalMart during pickup) was relatively easy as well with all necessary tools supplied. I plan on cleaning up the cable mess with some ties and tubing next time down. The unit was ordered online the day before we left for vacation and I had it shipped to the Ocean City store. Upon pickup, TV was unpacked out in front of the store and carefully placed into my car. I folded the box and took it with me just in case but thankfully return was unnecessary. Altogether both a great purchase and purchase experience from Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Astrol
D.C. Metro area
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Far Better Than Expected!
7/27/2010

Customer review by NomadH

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by NomadH
by NomadH

I read reviews and a lot of people loved this TV, but some people I saw online warned that it had a "really dim screen". Upon getting the TV I realized they were right, BUT after playing with the settings I found you can turn off "ambient light sensor" and the TV becomes like a SEARCH LIGHT in brightness and is absolutely amazing. Even Wii games look good as long as you're playing them at a decent distance away (the Wii, being a SD system, doesn't play games in high definition and hence things may look more pixelated closer up than it would on normal HD inputs). Most of the TV modes are kind of useless, however. You'll never end up using modes like "golf" or even "gaming" because everything just looks dull and lifeless compared to "Vivid", and that's going to be the mode you'll keep the TV on pretty much all the time. I got this TV for the rollback price of 798 dollars at my store -- its not available online anymore, it seems, but you may still be able to nab one at your local Walmart. I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (62) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NomadH
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An affordable HDTV with great features
3/5/2011

Customer review by Maverick39

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Maverick39
by Maverick39

I purchased this TV on 3/4/2011 and am really pleased with the quality and functionality it has. This TV has many features to fine tune the picture and sound. And also has a 120Hz refresh rate that makes the picture quality superb. This actually is what dictates the price and picture quality of a flat panel TV. Alternatively, consumers should keep in mind, just because the box says 1080P HDTV, their not going to experience the true High Definition picture quality without an external HD source. I'm using Dish TV with a High Definition receiver, and the picture is outstanding on this product. I noticed after reading some other reviews that people were giving this product a below average review based on an inadequate understanding of the features in this product. This is a great product in comparison to price and functionality of other flat panel TV brands. Vizio has showed their competitiveness in the flat panel industry with this TV's features and price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Maverick39
Troy, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio 47" E470VL
11/6/2010

Customer review by OneBadItalian

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by OneBadItalian
by OneBadItalian

I picked this television up on a one day sale at an unbelievable price! I was almost ready to purchase a smaller but better known brand that had pretty much the same specs. I'm so glad I decided on this television. The settings out of the box were kind of dull and unimpressive. As others have stated, you need to go in and make adjustments to suit your visual needs. After making those changes, the picture is beautiful! I have no idea why others have complained about the speakers on this television. Although, adding a surround sound system would make the audio better (when wouldn't it), this televisions speakers are more than adequate for most peoples needs. In my opinion, I don't think you'll find a better quality television, with this amount of features, even close to this price range.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OneBadItalian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5 stars + 2 - 1 rating; I Love it!
11/9/2010

Customer review by jasz

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by jasz
by jasz

5 stars for picture, sound, value, features, and that Vizio is an American company, based in California. More stars for pip, pop, 120hz, 1080p, and only using 133 watts when on and a half when off. The 47" 1080p lcd display is so much better than my old 42" 1080i plasma, samsung. That used 350 watts and weighed 110 lbs. The Vizio only uses 134 watts and weighs 44 lbs. The screen is brighter, radiates alot less heat, and doesn't reflect the other lights in the room. The sound is vibrant and rich. The SRS features work very well. The volume level goes upto 100 but 15-20 suits my hearing. Like to watch tv and surf the internet at the same time? Or watch two tv programs live, or 2 football games side by side? Hard or impossible before? Not with this tv! As long as they're not both hdmi inputs, any 2 inputs can be pip or pop. (see product details) I went to Walmart to buy the Vizio e420vl for $648 but then I saw that this e470vl was on sale for ONLY! fifty bucks more!!! What a steal,err deal. I had worked overtime that Saturday, and even though I was really tired, when I saw the price for this tv, I got out and had to buy it. This tv's refresh rate is 120hz, 8.25ms. but the screen has a 5ms response. The human eye cannot see less than a 30ms difference in time. That is why the old analog broadcasts only showed 30 frames per second but repeated each frame twice in succesion. This tv can handle any game console or multiple inputs. The minus 1 is for the remote, it can't swap the 2 screeens or even their audio.

Was this review helpful? (131) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jasz
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Too bad it is not 3D... but well worth $798+tax
9/11/2010

Customer review by WastedMoneyOnDLP

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by WastedMoneyOnDLP
by WastedMoneyOnDLP

I have to say this is my first review which i did not need to complain about everything. My Vizio is about 3 days old to me and so far I could not be happier. i don't even have it hooked up to HD cable yet (waiting on the HD DVR) but i think the standard broadcast looks excellent. I watch lots of sports and this TV has an awesome picture. I do have a PS3 hooked up with HDMI and i played modern warfare 2 for about an hour online tonight WITH NO LAG and was really relived because of other reviews i have read but usually people don't know what they are talking about i always have to experience it for myself. A couple of tips i feel you must do. 1. tweak the TV settings in a dark room, make them your own, once you like what your seeing turn off the ambient light feature the brightness goes way up. it made me squint at first seriously do it 2. if your gaming online make sure you change the settings on your game console to better fit with your new TV. i think that is what made the difference for me, again i played MW2 online with NO NOTICEABLE LAG bottom line this TV is a great value i wanted something big enough to hold me over until 3d TVs don't need glasses (its called auto stereoscopic) but for now this TV was a little over 900 with 3 year extended warranty giving me protection for 4 years this 47 inch vizio is a cant miss if you are looking for a TV this is the one and walmart is the place the protect it warranty price is unbeatable look around if you don't believe me PS i am an installer of custom home theaters and home automation equipment and i work with all the high end electronics you may not of heard of, trust me when i say if your on a budget this TV is perfect for you

Was this review helpful? (101) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WastedMoneyOnDLP
Tampa Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV!!
11/28/2010

Customer review by lynnmari

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by lynnmari
by lynnmari

I have been waiting to buy this Vizio television while watching the price for a year and a half. Now was the time! For $698 at my local Wal Mart (it went down another $100) how could I go wrong? The picture quality, sound, and features on this model are unbelievable for the price!! Easy set up too! Now I am purchasing a Blu Ray to go along with it, since those prices have gone way down too. With this kind of television, you really need a Blu Ray to get the quality picture for your DVD's on the big screen. By the way DO turn off the Ambient Light Sensor, what a huge difference in the picture quality!! I read that in a previous review myself (good tip). The fact that 2 guys from Sony left to work for Vizio is even more of a plus. I knew Vizio's were high quality and now I am happy to own my own!! Thank you Wal Mart and Vizio!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
lynnmari
SW Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
7/21/2010

Customer review by RiconTech

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by RiconTech
by RiconTech

When I noticed that many of the new McDonald's restaurants had several VIZIO tv sets installed, I took a more in depth look at their specifications. I reasoned that some qualified person had spent considerable time evaluating what would be a dependable unit in a commercial environment yet produce a high quality picture. I believe that this model VIZIO is an excellent value for the money and has a superior picture and outstanding sound processing capabilities. It was easy to install and with the magnitude of adjustments available to you, it is possible to personalize the device to your exact performance preferences. I am seriously considering buying a second unit for another room in my home.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
RiconTech
Broomfield, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/5/2010

Customer review by arreviewer

4.0 stars 7/5/2010 by arreviewer
by arreviewer

Great picture and easy setup. Also purchased Vizio Blu Ray wireless player at Walmart. The TV was purchased locally as our local instore price was cheaper by $30. Amazon was higher even when free shipping and no tax figured in to the total. Research paid off---good value and good picture. Looking for the new soundbar and wireless woofer to be released this month also.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
arreviewer
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent HDTV - exceptional value!
7/26/2011

Customer review by thousanddollarman

5.0 stars 7/26/2011 by thousanddollarman
by thousanddollarman

I actually bought the refurbished version along with the 4 year protection plan ($88). My son put the Wii remote through my 3 year old 47" Vizio so I was looking for a low cost replacement. I have had this new 47" Vizio (E470VL) for one day and so far I love it. I can tell that the picture is definitively better than my old Vizio (probably because old was 60 Hz and new is 120Hz). Standard definition channels look great! My first HDTV was a Phillips 50" plasma, which left a lot to be desired watching standard def channels, but this Vizio is exceptional. High definition channels (720p / HDMI) look awesome. I could NOT notice any blurring at all when watching a baseball game. I watched Transformers 2 via a 480p DVD player (component input). And even in Zoom mode (to fill entire screen) the picture looked crystal clear and perfect in every way. The sound was pretty good. Plenty loud for my living room (15'x20') as I sit about 10' away from the TV. I have not yet hooked up to Blu-ray or external surround sound system, but looking forward to it.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
thousanddollarman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
47" Vizio TV - the BEST
10/9/2010

Customer review by dlsstarsfan

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by dlsstarsfan
by dlsstarsfan

this is the 3rd Vizio we have purchased in 2 years from WalMart. We have one in the family room, game room and Master bedroom. We love the picture quality without getting an HD box from Directv on two of them and the audio options. I will probably never purchase another brand now that I know this is a spinoff of Sony and I owned a Sony that lasted 23 years!

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dlsstarsfan
Ft Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV during the Holidays 2010
6/6/2016

Customer review by Yardies

5.0 stars 6/6/2016 by Yardies
by Yardies

It is June 2016 and this TV is still going strong after 5 1/2 years of being on constantly. We are retired and find that we do watch alot of TV. I have a relative that after 3 years her TV went out. It was another brand but just comparing it to ours and how long it has lasted, we have not had any issues with this thus far. It does what it is supposed to do. I do agree with the brightness settings that have to be modified from the default ones when you first use it. Though I do not remember exactly what we did, but I do faintly remember that we did have to adjust the brightness in the settings to make it brighter. But that was not a big deal as we all have to tweak a few things here and there with new electronics. I do recommend this TV.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Yardies
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent tv for the money
4/7/2010

Customer review by mommyofholidaybabies

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by mommyofholidaybabies
by mommyofholidaybabies

Our first HD TV was a poloroid we got from our local walmart and it died a couple days after the warranty expired.We got this one as a replacement for the livingroom and we've had it about 2 months now with no complaints at all.It's full of features and connections and the picture in picture is nice too.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mommyofholidaybabies
houston,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Pleasantly Surprised
12/2/2010

Customer review by Redrum00

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by Redrum00
by Redrum00

I'm a huge fan of plasma products and am always amazed at how rich the colors look but I couldn't find a deal on a plasma that I liked, so I looked at LCD's. Although LCD's lack the super high contrasts and response times of a plasma, they're usually pretty inexpensive and offer decent quality. After going to the local Wal-Mart and looking at all the different brands I went with a Vizio 470VL. This TV offered many features that most of the higher priced ones didn't offer mainly a 120hz refresh rate and ambient light sensors. This was a huge step up in quality over my 30" Samsung CRT which was one of the last HD CRT TV's made back in 2004/2005. In the end I spent the same amount on the Vizio as I did on the Samsung and was getting the most bang for my buck from Vizio. Everything looks amazing on it from 480i to 1080p. Games are fluid and movies are superb. Sound is kinda wonky but TV speakers never are great. I highly recommend this TV to anybody looking for a great deal on an amazing set. You won't be disappointed. Best of all is that Vizio is made in the USA.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Redrum00
Elko, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV for the price
11/26/2010

Customer review by Big0foot

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by Big0foot
by Big0foot

I have checked for 2 monthes for a LCD TV, I have seen this one at many stores, it always looked good every time I saw it. I looked over all the reviews at many online sites and 95% of them were poistive, ( you always have some people you will never please ), and some of my coworkers have Vizio LCDs and are happy with them. Got it home and mounted it on the wall hooked it to the Satelite, my stereo, turned it on and I could't be happier about my decision.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Big0foot
Chanute, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleasant surprise.
12/7/2010

Customer review by WhataviewFarm

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by WhataviewFarm
by WhataviewFarm

The Ship to Home feature was a real plus! It came to my house within a couple business days. The TV itself is a very good value for the price. I have not found a 47" HD 1080, 120HZ TV anywhere else for the low price of $698. This Vizio does everything I was hoping for and more. I've only had this set for a couple weeks but it appears to be an excellent product. The set up was simple and well explained. I did go into the settings and turn off the ambient light feature, as recommended by others, to reveal a brighter picture all around. Anyone that can work a remote can cycle through the on screen menu to change settings for use with a DVD player and/or external sound system. So far, I love it and will recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhataviewFarm
Phelps, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great TV overall, nice price
7/21/2010

Customer review by buybuybuy1234

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by buybuybuy1234
by buybuybuy1234

I did a lot of shopping in stores and online before we settled on this one. E470VL- regarding this model number, the E stands for "economical" I've read. It's basically the same as other Vizio models that begin with other letters. This one just doesn't have a few of the extra features (they had to do with Internet usage and plug-ins). We went with this one because it was $100 cheaper at the time than those other Vizio models, and we weren't going to use those other features anyway. We are very happy with this TV. I've read that 120 HZ is good enough. It's a lot better than the 60 HZ, but pretty close in comparison to the 240 HZ (TVs with 240 HZ tend to cost a lot more). We used the Site to Store option, which was great. We did buy the 3 year protection plan on this TV just in case. I've heard sometimes Vizios have a problem with shutting off randomly and not coming back on. Time will tell, but for the price and great picture we have, I am happy with it thus far. Looks great, and I'd say it's very comparable to the more expensive Samsung brand. We liked this picture much better than brands such as LG, Panasonic and Phillips.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buybuybuy1234
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
A little too good
7/14/2010

Customer review by Drift0r

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by Drift0r
by Drift0r

The TV is huge, has great features, performs well, and does so at a value. The picture looks great if you take the time to set it to the proper preset. The only problem is that the 120hz and "trumotion" technology make it too smooth for its own good. No matter how fast the camera moves everything is perfectly in focus. This makes everything look like British TV. Its best to turn that feature off and video will look closer to normal. On the plus side, its great for gaming.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drift0r
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Unhappy is UN-knowledgeable - GREAT TV SO FAR
9/16/2010

Customer review by fast22fast

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by fast22fast
by fast22fast

Ignore the review titled "Unhappy....," That reviewer stated "We bought this tv 2 yrs. ago" and "It was over $`1200". Both statements are incorrect based on the fact that this model TV is only about 6 months old and the suggested retail is only $950. I purchased this TV last night from a local Walmart store and so far so good. It was simple to setup and the Phillies game in HD looked awesome! My teenage son couldn't get over how detailed the dirt on the field looked. Not what I was noticing but who knows where a teenagers mind is... Anyway I base these types of purchases heavily on other purchasers reviews so I hate to see something skewed like this from someone who doesn't base their review on the correct product. Hope this helps anyone else make their decision.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fast22fast
MiddleOfNowhere, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 118 total reviews
1-20 of 118 reviews