Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 137 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

137 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

137 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
103
4 stars
18
3 stars
6
2 stars
3
1 stars
7
1-20 of 117 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews
5 stars + 2 - 1 rating; I Love it!
11/9/2010

Customer review by jasz

5.0 stars 11/9/2010 by jasz
by jasz

5 stars for picture, sound, value, features, and that Vizio is an American company, based in California. More stars for pip, pop, 120hz, 1080p, and only using 133 watts when on and a half when off. The 47" 1080p lcd display is so much better than my old 42" 1080i plasma, samsung. That used 350 watts and weighed 110 lbs. The Vizio only uses 134 watts and weighs 44 lbs. The screen is brighter, radiates alot less heat, and doesn't reflect the other lights in the room. The sound is vibrant and rich. The SRS features work very well. The volume level goes upto 100 but 15-20 suits my hearing. Like to watch tv and surf the internet at the same time? Or watch two tv programs live, or 2 football games side by side? Hard or impossible before? Not with this tv! As long as they're not both hdmi inputs, any 2 inputs can be pip or pop. (see product details) I went to Walmart to buy the Vizio e420vl for $648 but then I saw that this e470vl was on sale for ONLY! fifty bucks more!!! What a steal,err deal. I had worked overtime that Saturday, and even though I was really tired, when I saw the price for this tv, I got out and had to buy it. This tv's refresh rate is 120hz, 8.25ms. but the screen has a 5ms response. The human eye cannot see less than a 30ms difference in time. That is why the old analog broadcasts only showed 30 frames per second but repeated each frame twice in succesion. This tv can handle any game console or multiple inputs. The minus 1 is for the remote, it can't swap the 2 screeens or even their audio.

Was this review helpful? (131) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jasz
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 1000 contributor
Too bad it is not 3D... but well worth $798+tax
9/11/2010

Customer review by WastedMoneyOnDLP

5.0 stars 9/11/2010 by WastedMoneyOnDLP
by WastedMoneyOnDLP

I have to say this is my first review which i did not need to complain about everything. My Vizio is about 3 days old to me and so far I could not be happier. i don't even have it hooked up to HD cable yet (waiting on the HD DVR) but i think the standard broadcast looks excellent. I watch lots of sports and this TV has an awesome picture. I do have a PS3 hooked up with HDMI and i played modern warfare 2 for about an hour online tonight WITH NO LAG and was really relived because of other reviews i have read but usually people don't know what they are talking about i always have to experience it for myself. A couple of tips i feel you must do. 1. tweak the TV settings in a dark room, make them your own, once you like what your seeing turn off the ambient light feature the brightness goes way up. it made me squint at first seriously do it 2. if your gaming online make sure you change the settings on your game console to better fit with your new TV. i think that is what made the difference for me, again i played MW2 online with NO NOTICEABLE LAG bottom line this TV is a great value i wanted something big enough to hold me over until 3d TVs don't need glasses (its called auto stereoscopic) but for now this TV was a little over 900 with 3 year extended warranty giving me protection for 4 years this 47 inch vizio is a cant miss if you are looking for a TV this is the one and walmart is the place the protect it warranty price is unbeatable look around if you don't believe me PS i am an installer of custom home theaters and home automation equipment and i work with all the high end electronics you may not of heard of, trust me when i say if your on a budget this TV is perfect for you

Was this review helpful? (101) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WastedMoneyOnDLP
Tampa Bay, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/5/2010

Customer review by arreviewer

4.0 stars 7/5/2010 by arreviewer
by arreviewer

Great picture and easy setup. Also purchased Vizio Blu Ray wireless player at Walmart. The TV was purchased locally as our local instore price was cheaper by $30. Amazon was higher even when free shipping and no tax figured in to the total. Research paid off---good value and good picture. Looking for the new soundbar and wireless woofer to be released this month also.

Was this review helpful? (48) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
arreviewer
Arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Far Better Than Expected!
7/27/2010

Customer review by NomadH

5.0 stars 7/27/2010 by NomadH
by NomadH

I read reviews and a lot of people loved this TV, but some people I saw online warned that it had a "really dim screen". Upon getting the TV I realized they were right, BUT after playing with the settings I found you can turn off "ambient light sensor" and the TV becomes like a SEARCH LIGHT in brightness and is absolutely amazing. Even Wii games look good as long as you're playing them at a decent distance away (the Wii, being a SD system, doesn't play games in high definition and hence things may look more pixelated closer up than it would on normal HD inputs). Most of the TV modes are kind of useless, however. You'll never end up using modes like "golf" or even "gaming" because everything just looks dull and lifeless compared to "Vivid", and that's going to be the mode you'll keep the TV on pretty much all the time. I got this TV for the rollback price of 798 dollars at my store -- its not available online anymore, it seems, but you may still be able to nab one at your local Walmart. I highly recommend it!

Was this review helpful? (62) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NomadH
Memphis, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent tv for the money
4/7/2010

Customer review by mommyofholidaybabies

5.0 stars 4/7/2010 by mommyofholidaybabies
by mommyofholidaybabies

Our first HD TV was a poloroid we got from our local walmart and it died a couple days after the warranty expired.We got this one as a replacement for the livingroom and we've had it about 2 months now with no complaints at all.It's full of features and connections and the picture in picture is nice too.

Was this review helpful? (29) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mommyofholidaybabies
houston,tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
47" Vizio TV - the BEST
10/9/2010

Customer review by dlsstarsfan

5.0 stars 10/9/2010 by dlsstarsfan
by dlsstarsfan

this is the 3rd Vizio we have purchased in 2 years from WalMart. We have one in the family room, game room and Master bedroom. We love the picture quality without getting an HD box from Directv on two of them and the audio options. I will probably never purchase another brand now that I know this is a spinoff of Sony and I owned a Sony that lasted 23 years!

Was this review helpful? (26) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dlsstarsfan
Ft Worth TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Excellent Value
7/21/2010

Customer review by RiconTech

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by RiconTech
by RiconTech

When I noticed that many of the new McDonald's restaurants had several VIZIO tv sets installed, I took a more in depth look at their specifications. I reasoned that some qualified person had spent considerable time evaluating what would be a dependable unit in a commercial environment yet produce a high quality picture. I believe that this model VIZIO is an excellent value for the money and has a superior picture and outstanding sound processing capabilities. It was easy to install and with the magnitude of adjustments available to you, it is possible to personalize the device to your exact performance preferences. I am seriously considering buying a second unit for another room in my home.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RiconTech
Broomfield, Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio 47" E470VL
11/6/2010

Customer review by OneBadItalian

5.0 stars 11/6/2010 by OneBadItalian
by OneBadItalian

I picked this television up on a one day sale at an unbelievable price! I was almost ready to purchase a smaller but better known brand that had pretty much the same specs. I'm so glad I decided on this television. The settings out of the box were kind of dull and unimpressive. As others have stated, you need to go in and make adjustments to suit your visual needs. After making those changes, the picture is beautiful! I have no idea why others have complained about the speakers on this television. Although, adding a surround sound system would make the audio better (when wouldn't it), this televisions speakers are more than adequate for most peoples needs. In my opinion, I don't think you'll find a better quality television, with this amount of features, even close to this price range.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OneBadItalian
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great TV for the price
11/26/2010

Customer review by Big0foot

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by Big0foot
by Big0foot

I have checked for 2 monthes for a LCD TV, I have seen this one at many stores, it always looked good every time I saw it. I looked over all the reviews at many online sites and 95% of them were poistive, ( you always have some people you will never please ), and some of my coworkers have Vizio LCDs and are happy with them. Got it home and mounted it on the wall hooked it to the Satelite, my stereo, turned it on and I could't be happier about my decision.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Big0foot
Chanute, Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Not 120Hz
9/17/2010

Customer review by MoLoveWalmart

3.0 stars 9/17/2010 by MoLoveWalmart
by MoLoveWalmart

Ok, My first TV I bought from Walmart broke, and it was still under warranty. So I got to change it with another one, so I decided to invest more money to buy a TV with 120Hz refresh rate so I can play 3D movies/games (The technology that requires 3D Glasses). I bought this TV because it says on the specs on the website and on Box that it’s 120Hz, I paid couple hundred dollars extra for this feature (The 120Hz). I was very excited and I went back home, first thing I did I connected it to my computer using HDMI (Tried VGA too) I could get 60Hz refresh rate only. So I contacted Vizio support several times. They say its 120 Hz refresh rate but not on with the computer it’s only with other devices, when I asked what kind of “other devices”? One of the reps told me when you run it as TV!?? And then they get frustrated and tell me “I have given you all the information you need, you need to call in the tomorrow early during day time in order to speak to level 3 support”. I called again and spoke with a tech support for 45Minutes. After she consulted the level 3 Support, she told me The TV will work on 60Hz only, but the TV is capable with “specific” devices by doubling the 60Hz and play it as 120Hz. But it will work as 60Hz only, then she told me “I gave you all the information you need”. They tell me I should look in the manual where it says it will work 60Hz only with 1080P! When you buy a device, do you open the box and read the manual before buying it or you read the specs on the box? One of the reps told me “I would do some research on the Internet before I buy stuff”. OK! On the Internet, Vizio, Walmart and other websites it says it’s a 120Hz refresh rate! I am so disappointed, and I admit, I should have been more careful about choosing the TV, a one that is reviewed and fully tested to work @120Hz. But I did not have enough time as I was exchanging it with my broken TV. Don’t get me wrong, this TV has a great picture, nice colors and solid made. If you don’t want the 120Hz refresh rate capability, you can’t go wrong with it.

Was this review helpful? (25) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MoLoveWalmart
Long Beach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
An affordable HDTV with great features
3/5/2011

Customer review by Maverick39

5.0 stars 3/5/2011 by Maverick39
by Maverick39

I purchased this TV on 3/4/2011 and am really pleased with the quality and functionality it has. This TV has many features to fine tune the picture and sound. And also has a 120Hz refresh rate that makes the picture quality superb. This actually is what dictates the price and picture quality of a flat panel TV. Alternatively, consumers should keep in mind, just because the box says 1080P HDTV, their not going to experience the true High Definition picture quality without an external HD source. I'm using Dish TV with a High Definition receiver, and the picture is outstanding on this product. I noticed after reading some other reviews that people were giving this product a below average review based on an inadequate understanding of the features in this product. This is a great product in comparison to price and functionality of other flat panel TV brands. Vizio has showed their competitiveness in the flat panel industry with this TV's features and price.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Maverick39
Troy, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A little too good
7/14/2010

Customer review by Drift0r

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by Drift0r
by Drift0r

The TV is huge, has great features, performs well, and does so at a value. The picture looks great if you take the time to set it to the proper preset. The only problem is that the 120hz and "trumotion" technology make it too smooth for its own good. No matter how fast the camera moves everything is perfectly in focus. This makes everything look like British TV. Its best to turn that feature off and video will look closer to normal. On the plus side, its great for gaming.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Drift0r
Mississippi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
8/30/2010

Customer review by havingfun00

5.0 stars 8/30/2010 by havingfun00
by havingfun00

Great price, easy set-up. Sound could be better.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
havingfun00
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I Love My Vizio!
8/24/2010

Customer review by BrgainBOB

5.0 stars 8/24/2010 by BrgainBOB
by BrgainBOB

Well let me start with, I bought the 37" Vizio 60 hz and took it back for a larger screen and the speakers weren't that good. I really love this new one. I have had it for a month now and will keep it for sure. I have not had any issues with the sound quality at all. i have it in a loft in my home and i can hear it clearly in my kitchen on the 1st floor. It does take a little bit of adjusting to get it the way I like the picture but its self explanatory. With the money I saved I'm buying a 42" for my bedroom. I have 2 47" LG also and my Vizio has as good or better of a picture. The LG's have more options but I don't really use them. When i realized I was taking back the 37" I did my home work and there is no better TV for this money. By the way mine cost $798.00. I only put that up because the prices drop so fast and it was a great buy at that let alone if you can get it cheaper. I can hook my notebook up in less than a min. and it has a USB port for a flash drive so you can view photos. My son and I play Xbox 360 on it constantly and the 120hz refresh rate makes a difference. A good rule of thumb when buying a LCD flatscreen is to look for the following specs. 120hz or more on any screen larger than 32", at least 75,000 dynamic conrtrast ratio, pixel response time 5ms or less, viewing angle no less than 176 degrees. For what companies want for a TV that is internet ready you can buy a notebook computer and this TV and hook it up as a huge monitor with wireless keyboard and mouse. Just get it you'll love it and have money left over!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrgainBOB
Somerdale,NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great price, without the sacrifice
2/25/2011

Customer review by jadex

5.0 stars 2/25/2011 by jadex
by jadex

This TV is a great deal especially under $1000. The picture quality is great even compared to higher end models. the Picture-in-picture feature is cool & the picture out of picture is yet another plus. pic out of pic puts two screens side by side to watch two different things. the picture quality has a great 100,000:1 contrast and many picture enhancement, and personalization settings. the only setting it doesn't seem to have is gamma. The built in speakers are good quality for their size, but do lack in the deep and rich sounds. this is easily fixed with a home theater system or external speaker set. The TV it self has on board audio settings as well complete with a simple or advanced equalizer and SRS truvolume and SRS surround sound which helps give the sense of having surround sound without actually having it. The 120Hz feature is also amazing. for those who are unsure of what it means, it helps motion on the screen appear more smooth and crisp. this can also be custom tailored in the picture settings. Overall this is by far the best bang for the buck I have been able to find. Even if 47" isnt the right size for you this same tv is available in 42" and 55" sizes. All are still great deals for their price

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jadex
New York
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great TV!!
11/28/2010

Customer review by lynnmari

5.0 stars 11/28/2010 by lynnmari
by lynnmari

I have been waiting to buy this Vizio television while watching the price for a year and a half. Now was the time! For $698 at my local Wal Mart (it went down another $100) how could I go wrong? The picture quality, sound, and features on this model are unbelievable for the price!! Easy set up too! Now I am purchasing a Blu Ray to go along with it, since those prices have gone way down too. With this kind of television, you really need a Blu Ray to get the quality picture for your DVD's on the big screen. By the way DO turn off the Ambient Light Sensor, what a huge difference in the picture quality!! I read that in a previous review myself (good tip). The fact that 2 guys from Sony left to work for Vizio is even more of a plus. I knew Vizio's were high quality and now I am happy to own my own!! Thank you Wal Mart and Vizio!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
lynnmari
SW Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Unhappy is UN-knowledgeable - GREAT TV SO FAR
9/16/2010

Customer review by fast22fast

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by fast22fast
by fast22fast

Ignore the review titled "Unhappy....," That reviewer stated "We bought this tv 2 yrs. ago" and "It was over $`1200". Both statements are incorrect based on the fact that this model TV is only about 6 months old and the suggested retail is only $950. I purchased this TV last night from a local Walmart store and so far so good. It was simple to setup and the Phillies game in HD looked awesome! My teenage son couldn't get over how detailed the dirt on the field looked. Not what I was noticing but who knows where a teenagers mind is... Anyway I base these types of purchases heavily on other purchasers reviews so I hate to see something skewed like this from someone who doesn't base their review on the correct product. Hope this helps anyone else make their decision.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fast22fast
MiddleOfNowhere, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Pleasant surprise.
12/7/2010

Customer review by WhataviewFarm

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by WhataviewFarm
by WhataviewFarm

The Ship to Home feature was a real plus! It came to my house within a couple business days. The TV itself is a very good value for the price. I have not found a 47" HD 1080, 120HZ TV anywhere else for the low price of $698. This Vizio does everything I was hoping for and more. I've only had this set for a couple weeks but it appears to be an excellent product. The set up was simple and well explained. I did go into the settings and turn off the ambient light feature, as recommended by others, to reveal a brighter picture all around. Anyone that can work a remote can cycle through the on screen menu to change settings for use with a DVD player and/or external sound system. So far, I love it and will recommend to anyone!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WhataviewFarm
Phelps, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Cheap PC Boards
7/13/2011

Customer review by ptowngramps

1.0 stars 7/13/2011 by ptowngramps
by ptowngramps

Had my TV 1mo. Had to replace the main board under warranty. My power went on and off and the HDHI Tuner quit working. They would not fix under warranty. The TV is only 3mos. old. Found out they have had to replace many many Main boards. I'm getting it fixed at my own expense. SAVE YOUR MONEY!!!! Look at something else.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ptowngramps
Canton, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Vizio HD Awesome.. for a while
9/24/2010

Customer review by NanaWalmartaholic

1.0 stars 9/24/2010 by NanaWalmartaholic
by NanaWalmartaholic

We own a 47" Vizio 1080i, paid near 1200. just under 2 years ago. I LOVED it, Picture everything was fabulous. UNTILL you need a repair which in less than 2 years is disappointing. It just started a buzzing/hissing noise. Probably the capacitor. Go online and research and you find this is a disposable television. Local repair shop says $50 to look, no guarantee. Vizio parts are hard to get cost a lot and the company offers no tech assistance for repair. Best Buy told us straight up it will not be cost effective to repair IF it was even possible. No one wants to waste their time because they say it is cheaper to buy a new one. Sad. Had I known that I would not have bought Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (12) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NanaWalmartaholic
Portage, WI
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 117 total reviews
1-20 of 117 reviews