Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 322 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

322 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

322 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
242
4 stars
46
3 stars
11
2 stars
10
1 stars
13
1-20 of 272 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 272 total reviews
1-20 of 272 reviews
A Review from a normal perspective
11/25/2010

Customer review by HighTechRedneck203

5.0 stars 11/25/2010 by HighTechRedneck203
by HighTechRedneck203

Alright so i figured id write a review on this tv i just picked up last week. I was shopping around and this was the best value i could find, but the reviews where all terrible, and not helpful at all. So first off, the picture that this tv has in the store does not do it justice. As soon as you take it home and turn it to home mode, where its not set up to counteract constant flourescent lighting, it looks amazing. So far i have my xbox hooked up through HDMI and its incredible. (this is my first lcd, finally took the plunge into the high def world) although im no stranger to them. for those gamers, no lag at all. i have it juiced up to 1080p for everything and its clear as can be. (black ops looks amazing) no screen tears.if you want to run HDMI, you have to buy an adaptor for the composite cables to use your headset. (i gots me some turtles x41's) The sound on the tv is not that bad. it actually gets pretty loud, ive only turned it up to 26. im upgrading to a surround sound for a more "cinema" feel. but the stock speakers are actually quite good. Vizio is a quality product... i dont know why people always bash it. I have played regular dvd's on it, and they look good. im buying a blu ray player tomorrow. (pirates of the carribean trilogy....cant wait) Tv shows look good, i have comcast and when doing the channel scan, i actually have some digital channels hidden in there and they look good. I have had NO problem with pulsating audio like others have had. Basically, in a nut shell. this tv is a great buy, best investment i have ever made. Picture is incredible. sound is good, it has 3 HDMI ports, but you can get a blu ray with 3 inputs and run evrything through there, with a single output. so you will have enough trust me. i am a hardcore gamer, and this tv is awesome. If you are looking for a good quality tv that will not overpower a room, this is a great buy. All together im going to have set up to it a surround sound, blu ray, xbox, and wii...all HDMI (except wii....darn composite cables). great price + awesome picture + Good sound + HDMI = a happy redneck

Was this review helpful? (362) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HighTechRedneck203
bethany, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great value, great price, too!
9/26/2010

Customer review by Oklahomabarry

5.0 stars 9/26/2010 by Oklahomabarry
by Oklahomabarry

I did a lot of checking and comparison shopping. I wanted a TV that wasn't plasma, was 42" and 1080p LCD and finally was at least 120hz refresh rate. This hit all the marks. The picture was fantastic and the sound quality great. But the price was the clincher. It was great, too.

Was this review helpful? (99) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Oklahomabarry
Sparks, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Did my research and it payed off!!
7/15/2010

Customer review by RyuJDream

5.0 stars 7/15/2010 by RyuJDream
by RyuJDream

I wanna start by telling you i actually signed up just to do this review. This TV is a bang for your buck!! Its just about loaded and for $650 (after taxes) WOW. I really wanted to review this TV b/c there is not much info out there in regards to this model. I researched this TV for about a week comparing it to other LCD within the same price and i found this to be the best looking picture and features for the money. Im a huge gamer. My PS3 is my child and this TV is a great complement to my gaming needs. It switches between 1080p to 720p seamlessly unlike other tvs that do the flip to blue screen then to the final resolution. My games have never looked better! And the motion is flawless. I almost bought a plasma for this reasion alone but with TV you would really even be able to tell the difference. The HD quality and the smoothing motion of the 120hz is absolutely beautiful! It almost makes HD programming look like it was shot in your living room! The detail on this TV is just amazing. The only downfall that i have seen is that it was advertised as usb media support. Its only pictures.... now i haven't really look deep into it but the user guide says mostly the same thing....just pictures. Not mp3s, not video files, just pictures. That was one of the reasions i pulled the trigger on this but i still do not regret this purchase after i sat down and looked at the quality! There might be an upgrade or update or something for it but like i said i haven't looked deeply into it yet... For the price, as i said, this is a great buy. Do your research and you will find that this TV is the best in its price, size, quiltiy, and feature class. With all this said it is brand new and if i run into any problems i will be sure to update this review but so far so good in my eyes. This is my 2nd Vizio (1st one was a 27" that has run flawlessly for 4 years) and I couldn't be happier.

Was this review helpful? (97) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RyuJDream
Little Rock, AR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome
11/16/2010

Customer review by IndianG

5.0 stars 11/16/2010 by IndianG
by IndianG

I read reviews before looking into buying this TV, The guy who said he had a fuzzy line at the top of screen? That can be adjusted with your Vizio remote control Horizontal & Diagonal, Stretch, Wide screen. I have a Vizio i bought a couple years ago and it still looks & sounds great, no problems at all. You can now get a sound bar with wireless subwoofer that sounds great almost like surround sound AND it keeps the volume level during commercials. Ever been watching a program and commercial comes on blasting everyone out of the room? well the sound bar keeps everything the same sound level and the sub is great in the back of the room.....No wires and you can add 2 other speakers for surround sound or buy the 510 model vizio sound bar it has it all for under $ 300 at certain walmarts. Vizio is giving sony and the others a good run on electronics without the overpriced big bucks you spend on their products. I'm now a vizio buyer.

Was this review helpful? (30) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndianG
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
very happy
2/26/2011

Customer review by j5k44t6

5.0 stars 2/26/2011 by j5k44t6
by j5k44t6

i bought this tv yesterday night. i have never had an hdtv, and didn't really know what to expect. i did a lot of research and shopped around as much as i could stand. i originally wanted a 42 inch lg 1080p 120hz led/lcd but was unimpressed when i saw it at the store. i'm watching basic cable on a 15 year old cord coming out of the wall. i don't even have a digital receiver. the picture on standard def channels is spectacular, and apparently it has some kind of digital receiver built in so now i have like 40 more channels, all in hd. i mainly bought this tv to use with my ps3 and 360. the picture quality is breathtaking, especially when compared to my ten year old tube tv. this tv meets and exceeds all of my expectations. the reason i never bought an hdtv before was because when i saw them in the store, i always saw horrible picture blur, followed by the digital pixel skipping or what ever you call it. i haven't noticed any of that. i was also under the impression that it would take me all night to set up because best buy always tries to send some one home with you to install it. this tv took me ten minutes from the time i took it out of the box to completely set it up including hooking up both of my gaming systems to it. this tv is spectacular and at the price i got it for i am totally blown away at how good it is. my parents spent $300 more for a slightly larger sony that is nowhere near as nice as this tv.

Was this review helpful? (26) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
j5k44t6
farmington, ar
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great bang for the buck
11/26/2010

Customer review by mdb007

4.0 stars 11/26/2010 by mdb007
by mdb007

Purchased this the night before thanksgiving and got the last one! Setup was quite easy. It took about 2-3 minutes to scan channels for my cable system. The picture quality in 1080p and 720 HD is outstanding. Even standard channels in 480p look a bit better. Use the advanced picture features to make them look a bit better in 480. The football game looked great with minimal pixel-ling thanks to the 120hz refresh rate on this tv. Like other users said turn off the tru sound, sound leveling system they did not do a good job with this engineering, it goes up and down. And the Vizio logo on tv does not light up but based on how annoying it may be for brightness according to other users I am ok with that because the tv works fine 1.) The only features missing are channel labeling because time warner or not all the channels are passing that info through for the info display. 2.) The PIP/POP is really kind of useless. You can not swap the channels which is stupid only view a picture in corner and swap out the sound. Other than that when my family was over on Thanksgiving everyone was very impressed with picture quality. A blue ray player with the upconverting is next on list to make my collection of dvd's look even better.

Was this review helpful? (25) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mdb007
Cleveland, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Amazing Picture, Inconsistent Sound
8/5/2010

Customer review by Zoel3

4.0 stars 8/5/2010 by Zoel3
by Zoel3

This TV has unbelievable picture quality. Games are incredible to watch in HD. I have to watch normal TV shows on the regular channels because the picture is so good it makes you realize the sets are fake. However there is one drawback. My sound will change levels for no reason. It will be very quiet then very loud then back to quiet. This may be a problem with my cable box rather than the TV though. Not that big of an issue however. Overall this is a great investment for the price.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zoel3
Dallas, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good value
8/15/2010

Customer review by Mick154

5.0 stars 8/15/2010 by Mick154
by Mick154

I have only had this TV a few weeks, but it has worked great. When it was hooked up to a non-HD signal, there were issues with a fading and rising sound, but on an HD signal it was perfect. For the price, I am ver ysatisfied with the size, color and clarity. I would definitely recommend this to anyone looking for a 42"-range television but not wanting to spend too much.

Was this review helpful? (18) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mick154
York, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bang for the buck!
3/8/2011

Customer review by AnotherTechGuy

5.0 stars 3/8/2011 by AnotherTechGuy
by AnotherTechGuy

Without a doubt this Television is Awesome for the money. I shopped for a long time prior to making this decision. I am glad I compared and did my research. If some people out there bought a "lemon" then that's a bummer. I have had the TV for about two weeks now and actually bought an OTA Antenna and dumped the Cable. The picture quality on this TV is just simply amazing! It is crystal clear. Yes there are TV's out there that are probably better, LED, 3D etc. But the price also rises with these technologies...For me, coupled with the upgrade from Analog to Digital and Hi Def - I could not be happier with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AnotherTechGuy
Denver CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good purchase
1/23/2011

Customer review by deby145

5.0 stars 1/23/2011 by deby145
by deby145

I have had this TV for about 3 weeks. It has everything I want in a LCD TV. The picture is very clear and the sound is good. It was easy to set up. I am very satisfied with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
deby145
Hillsville VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Terriffic HDTV for Dummies and priced right too!
12/27/2010

Customer review by johnboy212

5.0 stars 12/27/2010 by johnboy212
by johnboy212

This is my second purchase of a HDTV. The first was not a Vizio and was only 20". Features that convinced me to buy the Vizio E420VL 42" TV were numerous, and the price was reasonable as well. Some of those features are: 1080p, 120 Hz refresh rate, progressive scan, and multiple and various inputs. There is a Composite input (red, blue, green), an RGB input (for computer), a usb input (on the side for easy connection), an A/V input, and three of the newer HDMI inputs for more up to date components (which we do not have yet). All of the inputs we have tried so far worked flawlessly. Playing pictures from a USB drive with files is relatively easy -- just connect the usb drive and follow the menus on the screen to navigate thru the pictures or see a slideshow. Another feature we like is the easily accessible switches behind the left side of the TV for basic functions so if the remote is temporarily misplaced, one can still watch a little tv. I was actually shocked at how good this TV's picture was right out of the box with only a normal Cable TV input. We do not have a cable box. I was expecting to have to purchase an HD package, but that may not be necessary now! Even our older DVD player produces a very clear picture (its progressive scan option was turned on after being connected to the TV via its composite outputs). Regular DVD's are really very clear, and I'll bet the HDMI of Blue Ray will be exceptional. I must say that the sound is pretty good for such small speakers (at least they are on the front). But we were able to vastly improve the sound by changing the audio output of the TV from fixed to variable and routing the signal using the analog audio outs into our stereo system (there is also digital output). This variable out gives the TV remote the ability to simultaneously control the volume and mute for both the TV speakers and our stereo system speakers. I'm really pleased with this TV and would recommend it to anyone. We had a limited space for installation, and the listed dimensions were accurate so we were able to get the most picture for the space we have. Every feature of the TV we have tried has worked flawlessly right out of the box -- no problems. Set up was also fast an easy. This is a great 42" TV!

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
johnboy212
Byron, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sorry It Didn't Work
7/7/2010

Customer review by DaddioIrv

1.0 stars 7/7/2010 by DaddioIrv
by DaddioIrv

I loved this set right out of the box. Easy to set up and get running. Very intuitive. Picture was beautiful. Sound was fair as you'll read when reviewing most Vizio sets. My problem; after watching for 3-4 days, the picture would fade to black on all input sources; sound still functioned. I returned to Walmart for same model. Same problem occurred after 3 days. I did note the serial numbers were very close on these two sets. Perhaps a bad lot of parts used to cause the failure. Picture on LG I bought to replace not nearly as crisp. Sorry it did not work.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DaddioIrv
Springfield, VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
7/20/2010

Customer review by NoVizio

1.0 stars 7/20/2010 by NoVizio
by NoVizio

I purchased this TV at the end of February and by the 1st of July it was no longer working. Vizio at first told me they would send out a repair technician only to call back 2 weeks later and tell me they did not have a repair technician in my area. I recieved a phone call today saying my TV would be replace with a re-furbished TV. I wish I had read the comments on this TV before I purchased it. I will never buy another Vizio product. I did not pay $700.00 for someone elses problem when I purchased this TV new...

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoVizio
Ashland, KY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Love this tv, but pay attention
11/20/2010

Customer review by theone11111

4.0 stars 11/20/2010 by theone11111
by theone11111

Did a lot of looking around and bought this tv because it looked the best in standard def. All the tv's look the same in HD, this one even looks good in SD. Read the reviews on the sound jumping around but decided to risk it. Brought it home hooked it up, I also use it as my computer monitor, Monitor cable plugs right in the back for your picture and headphone jack for sound. Everthing looks great didnt even have to adjust any reselution. After 10 min of using it the sound starts going real loud and then real soft. Come to find out if you turn the "true sound" off it works great. Also came to find out that the model I bought from wal-mart was a e420v0 instead of the e42ovL. Not sure of the difference but this one only shows pics from the usb, no video or music, also there is no picture in picture. So anyway I am very pleased with what I ended up with for the money this is an awesome tv. Just make sure the model you look at online is the same in the store

Was this review helpful? (10) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
theone11111
wichita, ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice
7/7/2010

Customer review by Manny17

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by Manny17
by Manny17

This was my first Hight Def Tv also. I took alittle time finding a tv with great picture and sound, but mostly picture. Couln't find anything I didn't like, about the Visio 42inch. My Movies, and gaming experience are what i expected them to look like. Great tv, great price!!

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Manny17
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ok for the price...sound issues are annoying
9/3/2010

Customer review by VictimoftheSystem

4.0 stars 9/3/2010 by VictimoftheSystem
by VictimoftheSystem

This TV is ok for the price. It has a great picture. The two biggest problems I have with the TV are that the "VIZIO" logo below the screen is lit up too bright and in a dark room it detracts from the screen itself. Also, as someone else mentioned, the sound goes up and down on non-HD channels and it is very annoying to have to adjust the volume up and down. Sometimes you have to turn the volume all the way up (100) and you can barely hear the people talking, then it blares really loudly when music plays or they switch scenes. I wouldn't buy it again just for that reason.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VictimoftheSystem
Would recommend to a friend? No
awsome tv for the $
9/25/2010

Customer review by bobbc

5.0 stars 9/25/2010 by bobbc
by bobbc

This is my second lcd tv and the Quick channel change,Being able to go to any source rather than one at a time threw the list of sources. Blacks are very black,the colors are very vivid the picture is very lifelike.there are several picture presets that you can adjust to your liking. Very many features are not listed.there is a good amount of bass and the 5 band eq helps.i actually watch without my surround sound all the time.except for movies and concerts..cant say enough.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bobbc
middleton Wi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
FANTASTIC TV
1/30/2011

Customer review by DRH57

5.0 stars 1/30/2011 by DRH57
by DRH57

We have had our 42" VIZIO for about 6 months now. Before buying I did a lot of research on 42" TV's, LCD's vs LED's, the whole nine yards. I also consulted with our son, who knows everything about electronics. He & his family live in a very large home, they have a TV in the Living Rm, Family Rm, Master Bedroom & each of his 4 children have a TV in their RM. Yes that is 7 TV's! Our son recommended a Sony or Vizio. We went to Walmart to compare The Sony & Vizio. I was sort of leaning towards an LED. After comparing the Sony & Vizio, & talking to the very knowledgeable Walmart salesperson. We decided on the 42" Vizio hands down. The Walmart salespersn told us that they very very rarely had a Vizio returned or had any complaints about the Vizio. He also admitted he had bought one 3 months before. We decided to buy our TV right there in the store because it was the same price as online. We also bought the top of the line HDMI cables. The picture is FANTASTIC all the feature are amazing. We have had no problem with sound. I'm wondering if the sound problem could be because maybe they didn't purchase top quality HDMI cables? Or their HD provider? This VIZIO is absolutely the best TV with an outstanding price. We will definitely buy more VIZIO's!!

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DRH57
NORTHERN CALIFORNIA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
value but
8/30/2010

Customer review by Gregb204

4.0 stars 8/30/2010 by Gregb204
by Gregb204

only has room for one opt video equip or wii. we had to leave off our dvd player to hook wii into it. but can switch to it if get to backof tv. this is very lite tv one person can carry it .

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gregb204
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
JUNK JUNK JUNK
2/14/2011

Customer review by hungryspam

1.0 stars 2/14/2011 by hungryspam
by hungryspam

I bought this t.v. May of 2010. Then all of a sudden 4 months later the channels started changing on the t.v. Called VIZIO and they said they would have a tech guy out in a week to repair it. Tech guy didn't come for 3 weeks because the parts were on back order. Now the picture on the t.v is getting all blurry an distorted, have to turn the t.v off then turn it back on for it to work normal again. Then when i switch from t.v to hdmi for either my 360 or ps3 i have to turn the t.v off then back on for the sound to work. When i'm playing a game i also have to shut off the t.v an turn it back on because my sound will disappear. Called VIZIO again said some one be out to fix in and still no one has called to to schedule a time or anything. So i called an the part is on back order so i might get fixed another 3 weeks. WONT BUY ZIVIO AGIAN!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hungryspam
IN
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 272 total reviews
1-20 of 272 reviews