Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 168 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

168 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

168 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
115
4 stars
26
3 stars
9
2 stars
7
1 stars
11
1-20 of 142 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews
Great TV, Great Price
7/21/2010

Customer review by WisconsinBeerlover

5.0 stars 7/21/2010 by WisconsinBeerlover
by WisconsinBeerlover

I originally purchased the 40" Element TV and ended up returning it for this one. The picture quality is better, the picture seems much more stable, and the connections are easier to get to. I would like a single button control on the remote to switch between modes, or better yet, an auto-mode would be good. All that aside I am extremely happy with this set. Vizio made a believer out of me. A solid set for a very reasonable price.

Was this review helpful? (89) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WisconsinBeerlover
WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Best LCD For The Price!
9/3/2010

Customer review by doug78

5.0 stars 9/3/2010 by doug78
by doug78

I did a lot of research before buying an LCD TV. I call Sony, Samsung, and Vizio asking questions about their warranty coverage and so forth. When I got to the store, I was going to get the Sony '40 but the picture wasn't as good as the others. Samsung had the best picture, but it's also has the most problems than any other brand. The Sony was on sale for $628 and then went back to $699, but when I went to the store the price was still $628, so if you find a TV that's in the store be sure to call and see if the prices match. I took a chance with the Vizio and I was more impressed than I thought I would be. If something goes wrong, Vizio doen't send you a refurbished TV, but one that someone returned to the store. Vizio's do contain some Sony parts due to the fact that their TV's are made by AmTran and Foxconn which are companies that make LCD and Plasma TV's for other companies as well(Sony, LG, etc...).

Was this review helpful? (57) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
doug78
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
I'm very happy.
9/24/2010

Customer review by Shelbinian

5.0 stars 9/24/2010 by Shelbinian
by Shelbinian

I have been reading reviews on LCD's for about 2 weeks. The reviews scared me. The issue of 60hz versus 120hz refresh rate made me think I would not be happy with the 60hz LCD. It may not be quite as clear, but it is not bad. Also, consistent unfavorable reviews for the sound quality scared me. I think the sound is more than adequate. In fact it is very good. The picture on this thing is awesome. It exceeds my expectations and I would buy again.

Was this review helpful? (31) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Shelbinian
Shelbina, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
awesome tv
7/5/2010

Customer review by stormyeyes

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by stormyeyes
by stormyeyes

I bought this tv on fri the 1st It took me about thirty minues to hook up the other stuff i had like dvd dish network and my surround sound it is a brite clear picture easy to adjust i almost bought one at sears that was rated high on consumer reports and it only had 50,000 to one ratio and this one has 100,000 and the picture clearness is awesume i was happy with he price i would recomend it i hear no buzzing noise like the other reveiw maybe it was the connnection i used a hdmi cable worked great love it!!!!

Was this review helpful? (23) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stormyeyes
englewood fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Cant beat the price
8/17/2010

Customer review by belugie

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by belugie
by belugie

Weve had vizio tvs for years and never had any problems, so when this went on sale for 548 we swooped it up and it works great. Picture looks great and there is no delay in switching channels like some of the other tvs. I would highly recommend it. Weve had it for a few weeks now and no probelms at all.

Was this review helpful? (21) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
belugie
Farmington Hills, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great TV, Good Price
12/7/2010

Customer review by RynoXgamer

5.0 stars 12/7/2010 by RynoXgamer
by RynoXgamer

I bought this TV just a coupe weeks ago and love it. It's got many features and easy access to the connectors/inputs. Remote has many buttons for quick access and the TV is easy to set up. Picture quality is superb and I've had no issues with sound quality or the "low buzz" many people have complained about. This is a great TV & a good price.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RynoXgamer
Huntsville, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Value
12/4/2010

Customer review by NRAMember

5.0 stars 12/4/2010 by NRAMember
by NRAMember

I am a vendor that does a lot of business with bars/pubs. 90% of all my customers have Vizio TV's in their establishments.....most of the time they will have 5+ TV's. This is one of the main selling points for me to choose Vizio. Some of these people NEVER turn their TV's off. They will run 24 hours a day for many weeks of the year. I rarely hear any negatives about Vizio TV's from these people......but let's face it, there's no such thing as a perfect manufacturer. We got a great deal on this 42" TV for $498. I paid over $1100 for my 42" Philips 3 years ago. I do experience the 'buzzing' from the Vizio's speakers, which I believe has to do with some sort of interference from the screen because it gets worse with a bright picture. You can only hear it if you're standing within a couple of feet of the TV and only if the volume is low (normal volume drowns out the buzz). The sound quality is not 'outstanding', just OK, but I've never seen a flat panel TV with great sound from it's built-in speakers...regardless of brand/price. A good surround sound solves a lot of sound quality issues. The picture is outstanding with a little tweaking here and there. Mine is connected to a HD satellite receiver via a HDMI cable and most HD channels are about as good as I've seen even compared to higher end brands. 2 thumbs up, here.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NRAMember
Northeast, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
2/4/2011

Customer review by guppyboy

5.0 stars 2/4/2011 by guppyboy
by guppyboy

Bought this as my second TV. Was very impressed at it's quality. Some of the reviews talk about a buzz coming from the speakers. That is because they hooked up the dvd player incorrectly. Switching the video cable to the correct input will fix that. This will happen on any TV if the DVD player is hooked up incorrectly. The sound is very good. Very easy to set up. Very light in weight too.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
guppyboy
Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Buzzing in Speakers
10/27/2010

Customer review by Anasazi

4.0 stars 10/27/2010 by Anasazi
by Anasazi

Overall this is a wonderful tv with good size and quality for the price. The downside of this is (and you can google about it) the television produces a very loud buzzing noise at volume 1 or higher. You can turn the set up to about 20 to 'drown' out the buzz but for night watching or a bedroom set it can be a bit annoying. The audio from the tv is great at higher volume but the buzz can be very frustrating at lower levels.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anasazi
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Exceeds expectations
10/25/2010

Customer review by Ringo5000

5.0 stars 10/25/2010 by Ringo5000
by Ringo5000

I looked TVs for a year before buying. I am very picky about my electronics... This TV is amazing, especially for the price. Vizio TVs beat out almost all the competition. The Aquos TVs are better, but the cost is 4 times more and they arent THAT much better. That said, the sound is pretty flat. No matter, I dont use the internal speakers. Spend some of the money your saved on a good surround sound system.

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ringo5000
Johns Creek, Ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
12/17/2010

Customer review by Vizioman1

5.0 stars 12/17/2010 by Vizioman1
by Vizioman1

The quality of picture and sound are fantastic. I ordered this product online and it arrived on my doorstep in 3 days instead of the expected 1-1 1/2 weeks. Setup was a breeze. I contacted Direct TV to get the Vizio remote programmed with Direct TV's remote, also a breeze.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Vizioman1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
We LOVE this TV!!
9/16/2010

Customer review by realanzan

5.0 stars 9/16/2010 by realanzan
by realanzan

We shopped around a lot before purchasing this TV, and we are very happy with our decision! The picture quality is great and this is a fabulous value! We highly recommend this television to anyone who wants a good TV at a great price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
realanzan
Frankfort, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Problems with Audio
9/28/2010

Customer review by GregHD

2.0 stars 9/28/2010 by GregHD
by GregHD

Purchased and installed this TV and noticed a buzzing noise from the speakers. Called Vizio and described the problem. Vizio suggested several things to try to eliminate the buzzing. -nothing worked. Called Dish Network out to check HD receiver and connections. Problem is with the TV. Called Vizio again and they said there is an isolated problem with a circuit board in the TV and they will replace the board in 7 to 10 days. Took the TV back to Walmart and exchanged for another 42" Vizio. SAME buzzing noise from 2nd TV. Vizio refused to replace the TV with a model that does not have the circuit board problem. Not a good experiance with Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GregHD
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Happy with Visio HD
12/2/2010

Customer review by TK17

5.0 stars 12/2/2010 by TK17
by TK17

I'm totally enamored of my Visio 42" HD flat screen TV. The picture is amazing. I watch a lot of sports and it's like being there ... so clear and big! The only slight complaint is it seems to take a long time for the HDMI connection to handshake with my satellite dish. Probably no more than 10 seconds but it seems like forever compared to non-HD sat. TV which connects immediately. I would heartily recommend this TV to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TK17
Antioch, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Nice TV for the $$ but.....
6/28/2010

Customer review by Anniesunshine

3.0 stars 6/28/2010 by Anniesunshine
by Anniesunshine

I bought this TV about 1 1/2 weeks ago. TV has nice appearance, was easy to set up and has a great picture. From day 1 I have noticed if the volumn is low you can hear a constant sort of buzzing sound. This is the first Vizio we have ever purchased. I think I'm going to return it for another and see what happens with that one. The only reason I chose NO as a recommendation is because we want to see what happens with a replacement of the same TV. If all is OK with the replacement, I will post another review. We also purchased a stand (online from Walmart). We haven't had a chance to even take it out of the box yet. We'll see how the TV adjusts to the stand (or vice versa) which has a mount that we plan to use.

Was this review helpful? (10) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Anniesunshine
Billerica, MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Great TV for the money!
12/6/2010

Customer review by GettingMarried10

4.0 stars 12/6/2010 by GettingMarried10
by GettingMarried10

We bought this TV because we didn't want to spend more than $500. This TV is worth every penny. There is little to no glare in our living room, and we have a very large windown and a smaller one, no noticeable glare! Sound could be better, but it is not bad at all. Big recommendation: use componet cables! Do not use the bottom of the barrell cables, it will make a huge difference (with any tv). We used our standard cables from our old TV (the huge old TV's that they dont make anymore) and it didn't look that great. We bought HDTV componet cables and HUGE difference! Overall, GREAT tv for the money!! Very happy with it!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GettingMarried10
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
8/1/2010

Customer review by bcs48

4.0 stars 8/1/2010 by bcs48
by bcs48

This is a good product with very good quality. I found the remote menus to be somewhat confusing. Also, the connections face directly towards the rear and are somewhat hard to access if you have a dvd player off to one side. The picture quality and sound are really good, though. Definitely worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bcs48
Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Vizio 42
11/10/2010

Customer review by Dennisbn514

1.0 stars 11/10/2010 by Dennisbn514
by Dennisbn514

For the first 2 years we loved the picture quality and features of our Vizio. But like several other reviewers, our Vizio died after about 2 years. The technician found it to be a bad "main board" which cost nearly $500 for parts and labor to repair. Of course the warranty is one year, so we were out of luck. From my research, Vizio has a history of a very short life, so buy the extended warranty or avoid the Vizio.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Dennisbn514
Central, Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Speaker buzz distress
11/20/2010

Customer review by docofrock2000

2.0 stars 11/20/2010 by docofrock2000
by docofrock2000

Great picture, lousy internal speaker buzz audible at low but normal volumes. Exchanged 2 and still have it. Going to exchange again for a different model. External speakers? Don't know.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
docofrock2000
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
DON'T BUY THIS TV!!!!!!!!!!!
8/23/2010

Customer review by AppleDude

1.0 stars 8/23/2010 by AppleDude
by AppleDude

I say not to buy this TV because, I had my Vizio for 1 year and 3 months and then anything black on the screen, for the first 30 minutes, is a pixly green. Called Vizio and they told me there was nothing they could do!

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AppleDude
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 142 total reviews
1-20 of 142 reviews