Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 123 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

123 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
73
4 stars
28
3 stars
7
2 stars
13
1 stars
2
1-20 of 105 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews
A very good value for the money
8/2/2010

Customer review by Bmmil

5.0 stars 8/2/2010 by Bmmil
by Bmmil

This TV is a great value for what you pay. Its price is the biggest Pro by far. The sound is fine in my opinion. Many reviews complain tirelessly about the lack of bass, but it is a 22 inch TV ...not a 50 incher with large speakers built in. The easy and obvious fix for this is to plug computer (or external) speakers into the headphone jack on the tv. The biggest Con of the TV is the tedious amount of tuning needed to produce a nice looking picture. It is very easy to claim this tv doesn't have a good picture if you don't know how to maximize the picture. An easy way to do this is to plug in your computer and go online to find images to use to tune the contrast brightness...etc...etc. GREAT FOR SPORTS. NO muddiness or "ghosting" during high movement shots. Soccer looks amazing. Make sure you know how to set up and tweak a TV if you are buying this to maximize what you get out of it. It is a great TV if you know what your doing...if not your review will be like many others on here claiming that the TV picture is poor.

Was this review helpful? (61) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Bmmil
Kingsford, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good Mid-Range LED TV
5/6/2010

Customer review by cynicalhuang

4.0 stars 5/6/2010 by cynicalhuang
by cynicalhuang

This TV has it's quirks: the remote is a little stiff and can be a little fickle sometimes. The stand is difficult to put on, and in all honestly it literally took me a good 15 minutes to figure it out. However, despite these flaws, this television does deliver where it matters. Picture quality is quite good, especially for a TV in its price range. High-definition content looks excellent, and I have had good experiences watching 720p/1080p movies from my laptop (through the VGA output). The picture is bright, crisp, and contrast is great. Blacks are rich and solid, without losing the subtle detail in the content. Keep in mind, though, that in order to get the most mileage, you will need to spend some time to calibrate the settings to give you an optimal picture quality. Games look great and there is no ghosting with the TV's fast 5ms response time. Sound quality on the other hand is nothing to write home about. The speakers are a bit weak, but this is easily solved by using a set of external speakers. I am currently using an old set of computer speakers hooked up via the headphone jack on the TV, and they sound infinitely better than the TV speakers after turning off the "SRS TruSurround" option (some sort of faux-surround sound simulator). All in all, this is a good TV. It is certainly not perfect, and if you have more money to spend I would encourage you to shoot for a higher-end model. But for what it's worth, the VIZIO M220VA is a tough beast to beat in its division.

Was this review helpful? (49) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cynicalhuang
Gainesville, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great Television
6/9/2010

Customer review by WillyLilly

4.0 stars 6/9/2010 by WillyLilly
by WillyLilly

Pros: The picture quality is crisp, with vibrant colors. It has just about every kind of port you could possibly want. It weighs next to nothing, and is super thin, which is great for those who have limited space. No annoying standby light. This isnt critical, but good to know for anyone who plans on using this as a bedroom television. Cons: The speakers are a bit weak. I plugged in an old set of computer speakers and was infinitely happier. The remote control has a mind of its own. It will randomly interpret whatever button you press as the "off" button. The stand. Lets just say that I will never take the tv off its stand, for fear of ever having to put it back on. Just when you have given up all hope, it will finally just snap into place, as it should have done 10 minutes earlier. Overall, I am thrilled with my purchase. It does what it is supposed to, and does it at a price I can agree with.

Was this review helpful? (22) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WillyLilly
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amazing TV at a great price!
7/16/2010

Customer review by Judge63

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by Judge63
by Judge63

I was looking for a TV to use in my dorm room that was at least 22" and had a QAM tuner and I stumbled upon this Vizio. Right out of the box (be persistent with the stand) I loved what I saw. My XBOX looks absolutely great on this display. The sound left some to be desired, but after the first few minutes I never even thought about it. I truly recommend this television to anyone looking in this size range. It's a great value all around.

Was this review helpful? (15) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Judge63
Mishicot, WI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great TV
9/1/2010

Customer review by Chalengr

5.0 stars 9/1/2010 by Chalengr
by Chalengr

Bottom line in reality; you can not tell that this is a bargain brand TV. The name Vizio has already made its way through our minds that it's a bargain TV and then it must be of lower quality and/or features. Well; that couldn't be further from the truth. The TVs design is modern and very sleek. It's razor like appearance is extremely stylish and will easily go with anyones high tech decor. I found the picture to be flawless and the sound to be much better than what I expected from reading the reviews here. It's a small TV with small speakers, so anyone buying this should not be expecting heart pounding bass but surprisingly there was bass and the sound is easily adjusted through the menu and there are several options on how to taylor your sound. The picture is also equally adjustable. The same feature that you would find in a major name brand. Yes the price might be cheaper. You are not being a fool or making a mistake by buying this TV. You would only be a fool if you were to rule out this TV solely based on it's name and reputation of being a "bargain" TV. I bought 4 of them for the kids rooms and they are on constantly; even when they're not in their rooms (that 's all I've got to complain about them); they all are woking flawlessly, they were so worth it.

Was this review helpful? (14) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Chalengr
Adirondacks NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Good STUFF!!
8/28/2010

Customer review by rob207

5.0 stars 8/28/2010 by rob207
by rob207

Have this model for over three months now. Very pleased with the picture quality. Use as home office PC monitor and with a dvd player. I use external speakers, and you will probably want to also. Regardless, I am very pleased with my purchase.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rob207
Bloomingdale, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
VIZIO does it again!
7/7/2010

Customer review by TheSunshineLady

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by TheSunshineLady
by TheSunshineLady

Great Television. I'd been looking for some time for a good television at a reasonable price. Hit the jackpot with the 22" Vizio M220VA. It's the perfect size for our RV and exceeded my expectations. This is our third Vizio and they just keep getting better.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheSunshineLady
Grants Pass, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Small kitchen TV
8/25/2010

Customer review by hoopman

4.0 stars 8/25/2010 by hoopman
by hoopman

This is a fine product, the newer ones have built in wifi, and cost more, and have another thing to break. The sound is adequate, the picture is adequate-what do you want for an inexpensive TV; we do not have it hooked up to HDTV and the pix is fine. I do wish Visio would put in more than 3 watt speakers, but the bottom soundbar is far superior to side speakers on other small sets. It is fine to watch baseball while in the kitchen. I have a 52" hooked up to HDTV, it is fine too. actually superb, but space wise this 22inch tv is perfect, and the screen size is an inch+ bigger than the one that now is going in the guest room. We too took 15 minutes to hook up the base (mild pressure?) it took extreme pressure, so much I though the plastic hooks might break, but they did not. I like the low base as size was very important-fits into a shelf.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hoopman
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every day
Great TV
5/5/2010

Customer review by ajh1300

5.0 stars 5/5/2010 by ajh1300
by ajh1300

I love it. The picture in HD is mind blowing. It also serves as my computer monitor. Just push a button to switch between the two. I'm looking for another one for my wife's computer. They are hard to find.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajh1300
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
22" Vizio HDTV
10/15/2010

Customer review by jh53

4.0 stars 10/15/2010 by jh53
by jh53

Bought this for use in the bedroom. Very sleek, excellent picture, sharpness and clarity. A little disappointed in the sound quality.....sounds tinny as the volume increases. Will probably replace with a larger unit. The distance away from the screen makes it harder to view and impossible to read guide screen.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jh53
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice Picture Poor Sound
1/16/2011

Customer review by GrandpaJimbo

2.0 stars 1/16/2011 by GrandpaJimbo
by GrandpaJimbo

22" VIZIO M229VA Purchased from WalMart. We have had the TV for 2 months and are very satisfied with the picture quality but very unsatisfied with the sound quality. So back to WalMart today and purchased a set of HP MULTIMEDIA SPEAKERS for $21. They came with a cable that connects to the headphone jack and a cable that connects to the USB2 port on the TV. We now have acceptable sound that is controlled from the remote.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GrandpaJimbo
Hibbing, Mn
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
great
2/19/2011

Customer review by sidgreat

5.0 stars 2/19/2011 by sidgreat
by sidgreat

very ;nice tv, excellant picture quality, I purchased this for my bedroom and I am very pleased! /the sound is verygood.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sidgreat
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Extremely Good Product
10/31/2010

Customer review by CorvetteFinatic

5.0 stars 10/31/2010 by CorvetteFinatic
by CorvetteFinatic

Ive had a 19" tube tv for a long time now, and when i bought this tv i was ASTOUNDED!! The picture quality (with hdmi cord) looked amazing on my xbox. The sound quality was also great, I dont see why everyone complains about it. The only trouble i had with this tv was putting the stand on. Other than that, a GREAT tv. I would recommend this tv to anyone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CorvetteFinatic
Kingsport, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great choice
11/13/2010

Customer review by rynana

5.0 stars 11/13/2010 by rynana
by rynana

I just recently bought this TV, which is my first flat screen purchase. It was easy to set up, just a few extra seconds to get the stand to pop on. The sound was great. I am using it in my bedroom and the first time I watched it, I was turning the sound down. I am very pleased with this experience and am looking forward to replacing my TV in the livingroom soon!

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rynana
Euless, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
GREAT 1080 FULL HD TV'S 0.75" THIN
5/12/2010

Customer review by 2VIZIOTVS

5.0 stars 5/12/2010 by 2VIZIOTVS
by 2VIZIOTVS

I HAVE 2 VIZIO 22" HDTV ONE FOR MY LAPTOP & DESK TOP ONE TV IS FOR DVD'S AND VIDEO GAMES _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_ THE PIC IS GREAT NOT PLUG IN TO A BLUE RAY YET CANT WANT TO GET ONE I KNOW IT WILL LOOK GREAT ON VIZIO TV'S . HAD LOOK INTO DVD PLAYERS THAT PUT OUT 1080 THERE NON BLUE RAY'S I DO THINK THEY WILL ALL SO LOOK GREAT ON VIZIO TV'S _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_ IN BACK 2 HDMI HD INPUTS (5 DIFFENT COLOR'S) AND CABLE INPUT _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_ INPUT ( BEST WAY TO GET YOUR VGA TO VIZIO SCEEN IS TO TRUN YOUR TV TO RGB ) _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_ ON THE SIDE THIS TV HAS A USB FOR PIC / INPUTS FOR (YELLOW,WHITE,RED) _-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_-_ THE PIC'S ARE OF MY DESK WITH 2 VIZIO HD 1080 TV'S

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
2VIZIOTVS
NORTH CAL -209
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Moving gift to myself
11/24/2010

Customer review by smilesabunch

5.0 stars 11/24/2010 by smilesabunch
by smilesabunch

I needed a flat screen for my new room and someone suggested I check walmart first, then compare with other stores. It was the best deal for my money, I luv my tv. I use it everyday night and day and I have no issues. It's definitely a great buy, especially as a gift for the holidays.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smilesabunch
Paterson, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great Buy
10/6/2010

Customer review by GiGi55

5.0 stars 10/6/2010 by GiGi55
by GiGi55

This is a wonderful product for so little money and it being an LED/LCD/HD. I read some of the other reviews, noticed some people had problems with snapping on the bottom of the t.v., but I had NO problem at all. Picture quality is awesome, sound is great for a small t.v.; overall I am thoroughly pleased/happy with this TV set. Great buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GiGi55
Knoxville, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Decent for size
9/5/2010

Customer review by ncc12683

3.0 stars 9/5/2010 by ncc12683
by ncc12683

Not bad at all for 22"-1080...ps3 looks good. haven't tried bluray yet. small bedroom. bright enough. stupid remote. better than sanyo! hahahahaha! sure beats having a tube tv any day. night and day difference....and yes i have bigger hd's i just like this tv because its perfect for my room (2 feet from my face). so far so good! oh and no lag during gaming...that i like...a lot.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ncc12683
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very dissappointing
5/15/2010

Customer review by wLywd

2.0 stars 5/15/2010 by wLywd
by wLywd

I highly doubt this TV stays true to it's aspects. It's not true 1080p HD. The sound is horrible and the quality is so uncrisp my TV with dvd/vcr is better. Very disappointing and I do not recommend this TV to anyone. Returning it tomorrow if I have time.

Was this review helpful? (4) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
wLywd
Maple Valley
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very Dissapointed
5/18/2010

Customer review by husbandandfatherof2

2.0 stars 5/18/2010 by husbandandfatherof2
by husbandandfatherof2

When you think of a LED tv you think of great picture.That is not the case with this tv. Compared to other led tvs that have a 3,000,000:1 contrast ratio why does this one only have a 20,000:1? My 37" vizio lcd has a 15,000:1 contrast ratio and has a lot better picture quality than this one. The lighting is not very good,there is not much you can do to change the picture at all, The sound on the tv is very hollow. For a tv that is suppose to be 1080p my wifes xbox 360 still looks a little blurry on it. When putting the stand on it took about 20 minutes and I was afraid something was going to break it was very hard. Would have been much easier to have a stand that screws on. If you have had a full high def tv before I would not suggest buying this tv because you will be dissapointed with it.

Was this review helpful? (7) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
husbandandfatherof2
Chillicothe, OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 105 total reviews
1-20 of 105 reviews