Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 58 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

58 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

58 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
23
4 stars
13
3 stars
2
2 stars
7
1 stars
13
1-20 of 57 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews
So far,, Great
4/14/2010

Customer review by BrushyBill

4.0 stars 4/14/2010 by BrushyBill
by BrushyBill

Have cut over 1 1/2 acres with it 4 times now. I have been using it as a side discharge. It has done very well. The deck seems to "breath good" there are no clogging problems even in taller grass. The blade is of very good quality, seems to hold an edge very well. I did file and stone it when it was new. This is the first self propelled mower I have owned. Very happy with it. Would say that the pace it keeps is in the 2 1/2 - 3 mile an hour range, very comfortable walking pace. Along the road in front of my house there is a steep hill, it will pull itself right up it. If it does slip, just a little upward pressure on the handle puts enough weight on the drive wheels to get it going. Otherwise, it pulls very good. The local store had this mower for $260 like I said, I am very happy with it. I have not tried the bagging option as of yet, probably wont. It chops the clippings well enough I leave them on the lawn. The "wash out port" does not get all the clippings from under the deck, it comes close, but still have to raise it up and use the hose nozzle. This is the reason I did not give it 5 stars in the overall rating. It seems to run about an hour and a half on a full tank of fuel. Starts very easily, even when it has ran for a while.

Was this review helpful? (137) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BrushyBill
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Gender:Male
So Close, Yet...
5/5/2010

Customer review by Strategizer

3.0 stars 5/5/2010 by Strategizer
by Strategizer

First, let me say that if I was only rating the engine and cutting power, I'd be giving it a 5 star out of the box. One pull and it cranks with no priming. Went through some amazingly tall and thick grass, only bogging down once or twice. Kudos to Briggs & Stratton for that. However, after only five strips of grass under my belt, only in service for a few minutes, I pivoted the mower around to go back the other direction and the back wheel came off. I thought it might just have been loose, but a closer inspection saw the PLASTIC wheel was in pieces! (I was amazed to find another testimony on here about the same thing.) I have a huge peeve right now about companies, in general, overusing plastic on parts that should be metal or some other sturdier material. Having had wheels come off my rolling garbage container, I am putting wheels in that category. Still, being too lazy and not wanting to return it, I called their customer service number and told them that if they sent me TWO wheels, one to fix this and one as a backup for the future, I would keep it. They did that without hesitation. I guess customer service would get kudos on that front. The other strange thing is the self-propel feature. Engaging it seems simple and straightforward, but I can't figure out how to disengage it. I tried releasing the blade lever, like my Craftsman does, and it doesn't do that. It will disengage itself in the middle of a mowing strip, all on its own. I might have to actually <gasp> read the manual, but it seems it should be more intuitive than that. Until they change the wheel design or get better, I can't recommend it. However, if you buy it and don't experience this problem, I think you'll love it. The setup is intuitive and very quick. I had it out and mowing in only a few minutes, hooking everything up with only a glance or two at the manual. It is truly a monster at getting the grass cut, too.

Was this review helpful? (63) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Strategizer
Farmers Branch, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Disappointed...
5/9/2010

Customer review by MtnJohn

2.0 stars 5/9/2010 by MtnJohn
by MtnJohn

I bought this mower late last season and probably had used it for 4 weeks last year. The mower started on the first pull this spring and runs great. However, half way through the first mowing this year, it looked like the rear wheel was not tracking right. Upon inspection, each spoke of the plastic wheel has started to crack at the hub. The other rear wheel has fractures beginning as well. Brute really needs to fix this problem. Now I have a mower that runs great, sitting in my garage while I try to find replacement wheels. Save yourself the headache and skip this mower until the problem is fixed.

Was this review helpful? (60) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MtnJohn
Colorado
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
great mower
4/6/2010

Customer review by Zonk39

5.0 stars 4/6/2010 by Zonk39
by Zonk39

Best mower I have ever owned. Plenty of power starts with half a pull. Who ever designed this mower has cut grass.

Was this review helpful? (35) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Zonk39
Pensacola,FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Disappointed but satisfied
6/24/2010

Customer review by tom4cats

3.0 stars 6/24/2010 by tom4cats
by tom4cats

Ordered this mower on line on June 11, 2010 and it was delivered on June 16. Set up was quick and easy, however, I noticed the back wheel was wobbling while cutting grass. Checking it out I found the wheel was cracked in three places. I saw a review stating they had the same problem. I don't know if it is a defective design or was damaged in transit. Called the Briggs and Stratton customer service number listed on the mower on 6/17 and was told a new wheel would be sent via UPS and they apologized for the inconvenience. Received the new wheel on 6/23. Mower works great, starts on first pull, self propelled pace is right.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tom4cats
Lake Wales, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Disappointing
7/6/2010

Customer review by Learning43

1.0 stars 7/6/2010 by Learning43
by Learning43

I was initially very excited to purchase this mower after reading many positive reviews however we got a lemon. Set up was easy but it took over 40 tries to get the mower started. I called their help line to inquire about this problem and got a computer generated answering machine with no real solution to the problem. There was no way to contact a human being via phone unless of course I went to their website, but I didn't have a computer handy at the time. After waiting about an hour my husband finally got it started. Everything sounded good, we liked the powerful motor and it cut the grass very well. After about 3 rows of cutting the mower died on us and began leaking gasoline. We let the gas pour into a jar, packed up the mower and took it back to Wal-Mart for a refund. The store refunded our money with no problems but I don't think I will buy another mower from Wal-mart. You get what you pay for and we got a piece of junk. Hope Briggs and Stratton improve their customer service help line

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Learning43
Tinley Park, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Works great
7/10/2010

Customer review by CITGAB

5.0 stars 7/10/2010 by CITGAB
by CITGAB

Works great so far. Has plenty of power. By adjusting to highest cutting level I was able to mow dense 3 feet tall weeds and grass. I have not used bagger. Mowing speed is just right for me and my wife, not too fast or too slow. I am 68 years old and I have NEVER experienced an easier starting rope start mower. No reason anyone should ever need an electric starter. I have a riding mower that is temporarily out of service so we got this one to fill in. It works great and complements the rider in tight places where the larger mower does not fit.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CITGAB
Missouri Ozarks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A good mower at a good price
7/5/2010

Customer review by Boatswain

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by Boatswain
by Boatswain

I bought this mower a month ago after doing plenty of research and review reading on other similar models. This mower has features that other brands charge much more for, and in reality is almost identical to many out there. Out of the box it has worked great and I have had no problems with it. I followed the instructions for set up to the letter and it never fails to start on the first pull and seems to be holding up well. Time will tell of course, but for under $300 it is a really good mower.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Boatswain
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
very powerful mower
7/3/2010

Customer review by hunter64

4.0 stars 7/3/2010 by hunter64
by hunter64

Purchased this mower because of the 190cc engine it exceeded my expectation as it easily cut through grass of 18 inches with no struggle at all . the only thing that I found to be a problem is its plastic wheels make sure you check the box before bringing it home . Mine had a broken wheel in the box .

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hunter64
sturgis south dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great mower
4/30/2010

Customer review by biblicalcoach

4.0 stars 4/30/2010 by biblicalcoach
by biblicalcoach

Just bought this and used today. This mower was very easy to set up and use. I had been using a mower on our lawn that mulched but it still left a lot of grass lying on top of the lawn. This mower with its bagging - the lawn looks like the pro's did it! So far - so good!!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
biblicalcoach
Belleville IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Every few days
Great value for the price paid!
4/9/2011

Customer review by RNinWA

4.0 stars 4/9/2011 by RNinWA
by RNinWA

I just got this mower today after doing tons of research on mowers from HD, Lowes, Walmart, etc. This mower was in stock at my local store, so I was able to pick it up right away. I checked to make sure the wheels were all intact before leaving as I had read that was a common complaint. Mower was ready to go in 10 minutes, started up great, and ran no problems! Our lawn was quite long, approx 18-20 inches some places, and it powered through without any difficulty. Self propelled worked wonderfully, didn't feel like I was doing any actual lawn work. Only downside was we have a couple slight hills/slants in our yard and since it is front wheel drive, it didn't help a ton there, but still wasn't an issue. I don't forsee having any problems mowing this summer, even being up to 9 months pregnant. Now I can't wait for my daughter to get up so we can go play on our nice lawn and not have to pretend we're hiking through the jungle anymore!

Was this review helpful? (8) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RNinWA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Value
7/14/2010

Customer review by BoogieDude

5.0 stars 7/14/2010 by BoogieDude
by BoogieDude

Just moved to Las Vegas and renting a house that actually has grass in the backyard. Didn't want to spend much for a mower since the yard is so small. Went to the Wal-Mart @ W Craig & Clayton and this model was marked down to $140 (all of them brandnew). It starts easy and cuts good. Bagging works well if you only clip up to an inch off the grass, otherwise it cloggs pretty quickly. None of the wheels are cracked like others have mentioned. I don't like FWD, but for the price, you can't beat it. At another Wal-Mart it was still $270...so go figure. I also got the 1 year additional warranty plan for about $10...what a bargain.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BoogieDude
North Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
poorly constructed
6/18/2010

Customer review by prettynails

1.0 stars 6/18/2010 by prettynails
by prettynails

I purchased this lawn mower on walmart.com. when it arrived the back wheels where cracked and broken. I did not realize that the wheels where made of light weight plastic. I was able to return mower to my local Walmart, but discovered the same lawn mower had been returned by other customers because of the light weight plastic wheels. The wheels were unsteady and not durable. However there was another Briggs & Stratton that was $100 more but worth it(the $350 one). I have had mower for about a month, no proble,s and I love it!!

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
prettynails
Deptford, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Hunk of junk
4/10/2010

Customer review by NoRipoffs

1.0 stars 4/10/2010 by NoRipoffs
by NoRipoffs

After getting this mower out of the box it looked all nice and shiny. A closer look told a far different story. The bag was so flimsy I couldn't believe it even qualified for lawn work. After trying one quick pass to test it, I noticed a huge crack on one of the rear wheels. A damaged wheel right out of the box spoiled any enthusiasm I had for this new mower. To me it was a telling sign that this is simply NOT a quality product and off to the return department in the morning.

Was this review helpful? (13) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NoRipoffs
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great mower!
5/20/2010

Customer review by JasonScG

5.0 stars 5/20/2010 by JasonScG
by JasonScG

Without a doubt, a great mower. Followed the instructions, setup was a breeze, started on the VERY first pull. I had grass well over 2 feet tall, the mower didn't even slow down. Mowed nearly 2 acres of high grass and hills in under 2 hours. HIGHLY reccommend you get this. Bargain for the money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JasonScG
Frederick, Md
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Meets Expectations
4/15/2010

Customer review by BearsFan13

5.0 stars 4/15/2010 by BearsFan13
by BearsFan13

I purchased this product today. It was actually $260 at my local walmart. The box had everything in it, and the directions for setting it up were very simple. I also used it today. It worked very well. I had a lot of places in my yard where the grass was very thick and long and the mower had no problems going right through it. The self propel was very nice. First time buying a lawn mower and so far i've had no issues with it...

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BearsFan13
Kankakee, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works Great!!!
6/7/2010

Customer review by Yarddog224

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by Yarddog224
by Yarddog224

This is a great mower and a great value! Starts first pull and never bogs even in tall wet grass. The big rear wheels are a must for rough terrain. I've had a couple of Sears Craftsman self powered mowers and this out performs them and was less money! Excellent value!!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Yarddog224
Oregon Coast
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
poor design rear wheel
3/26/2012

Customer review by fried34

1.0 stars 3/26/2012 by fried34
by fried34

After using mower less than 10 times the spoke on the rear wheel failed.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
fried34
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Blade Replacement
6/7/2010

Customer review by CoolCalCat

4.0 stars 6/7/2010 by CoolCalCat
by CoolCalCat

While mowing the lawn, I hit a hidden tree stump. It bent the blade in a 90 degree angle down. That isn't the problem. The problem is finding that blade replacement. I Checked several places where the lawn mower is sold at and others as well, and found a blade lablled Brute 22" 3 in 1 blade. I went home and put it on and found that the blade sharpened edge is on the back side of the blade when installed the way the original one was. The shaft fitting is suppose to wedge in the groove to prevent spinning on the shaft. If it was installed that way the blade would be upside down. The problem is that the replacement blade is not easily found. I haven't found it yet. It would be nice if replacement parts could be purchased locally. The lawn mower is great and does a fabulous job. I would just like to locate the blades within a 30 mile radius. I do recommend the lawn mower.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CoolCalCat
Cortland, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great mower
6/17/2011

Customer review by dadeyo

5.0 stars 6/17/2011 by dadeyo
by dadeyo

Easy starting and has a lot of power. Also is a good cardio workout keeping up with the self propelled fully engaged. Has a variable speed so you can slow it down if full speed ahead get to be too much. I like this unit very much. Very good buy.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dadeyo
Wahoo, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
1-20 of 57 total reviews
1-20 of 57 reviews