Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

35 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
21
4 stars
11
3 stars
1
2 stars
1
1 stars
1
1-20 of 32 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews
Great product at a great price
5/29/2010

Customer review by kneepaddler

5.0 stars 5/29/2010 by kneepaddler
by kneepaddler

I bought this after much research. I wanted a bluetooth headphone that fit over the ears, was wireless, that I could use with my iPhone & MacBook Pro. The Sony DRBT50 met all of my expectations and the sound is awesome, even when making & receiving phone calls. This unit sells for much more at most places, but is reasonably priced at WalMart. I think that you would be hard pressed to find a comparable unit at this price.

Was this review helpful? (12) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
kneepaddler
Waikiki Beach, Hawaii
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
beware of latency and pitch/tempo shifting!
1/24/2011

Customer review by ackerman76

2.0 stars 1/24/2011 by ackerman76
by ackerman76

These are my first bluetooth stereo headphones. I have tried them with iPhone 4, Windows 7 computer and Apple OSX leopard computer. Latency as stereo headphones is at best in the range of 100 to 120 milliseconds. This means when watching movies, the sound is noticeably behind the picture. The threshold for human perception is about 40 to 50 milliseconds, so all people will notice and may find annoying. Unfortuntely on my Windows 7 computer watching netflix at only 10 foot range, there was clipping and catch-up of the sound. Sound would drop for around half a second, then play catch up. The worst problem with these, and probably all bluetooth headphones, PITCH and TEMPO SHIFTING! I am a musician so it bothers more than average, depending on the music. If you listen to voice its not bad; but in some music, whenever there are long sustained notes, you can hear the music slow down speed up, and hear the pitch shifted up and down slightly. It seems the bluetooth stack is getting behind and playing catch up by squeezing and stretching the signal. I have noticed this with both computers and iPhone. The better the range, the less the effect of clipping and squeezing. At 4-5 feet, it's better, but at that range I can use a wired headset, right? I am a violinist so pitch changes are annoying, as well as when listening to other music, say trance or electronic, it feels like I am watching an old tv show like the incredible hulk from the 70s and 80s where the theme music on the magnetic tape is changing speed. FYI, on both my computers, I could not use stereo headphones and microphone as input at the same time. There is the old "headset" mode (like for phone calls) which is mono plus mic. Then there is a "headphones" mode which is the new A2dp stereo mode (no mic). You can only connect in one mode or the other. But you could use it as a dedicated mic input - only. This is the same for both computers. Phone calls are -as others put it- like a speaker phone. Your sound is great, but people receiving your call are getting the shaft. People tell me they didn't hear this or that when I talk when using paired to my iPhone 4. Controls buttons are not great, not well designed. I wish Apple would design something. These cover the ears but do not block out all the sound. They are comfortable and light though. I have other wired headphones that completely block out all external sound, even on an airplane; those others also sound Excellent for only $99. Pluses: wireless- handy for maybe working out, speaker quality is not amazing but very good. Battery life is very good. I am not willing to trade my better wired (and cheaper) headphones for annoying bluetooth pitch and tempo shifting, so these are going back to walmart.com. However, if you are willing to deal with the minuses, then these are a good value for what is out there.

Was this review helpful? (12) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ackerman76
CO
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Nice bluetooth stereo headsets
1/31/2011

Customer review by jaylh

4.0 stars 1/31/2011 by jaylh
by jaylh

I'm very satisfied. It paired easily to my MAC. It connects fine regardless of the sound source. The headset stays connected. Sound quality is good. My only criticism is that, sometimes, if I use both the headphones and my wireless mouse, I get a bluetooth freeze. Neither peripheral will function, although sound through the hardware speakers and the trackpad work fine. I haven't found a fix other than rebooting. If I had to guess - I am not a techie - I'd think this is a MAC issue, not one of either of my wireless items.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jaylh
NY, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Bluetooth headset
5/5/2011

Customer review by eachavez

4.0 stars 5/5/2011 by eachavez
by eachavez

Pros: The headset works as designed. The sound quality is good. I am able to control the volume using the headset. Cons: The headset is very tight on the head. I had to work with it by pulling it apart. It is better but not the best. The volume control is not easy to turn up or down. The headset ear peace could be a little larger and it would be nice if the ear peace would turn sideways so that it does not take up so much space in the laptop case.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
eachavez
Carlsbad, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
DR-BT50, my first Bluetooth device
11/15/2009

Customer review by Islander

4.0 stars 11/15/2009 by Islander
by Islander

The SONY DR-BT50 is my first Bluetooth device. I received it on the same day that I installed the internal BT adapter in my DELL Inspiron 1520, particularly to eliminate more cord and cable clutter. By the time the chip was installed, so was the DR-BT50 charged and shortly I had stumbled through the configuration - all new to me. As a stereo headset the performance is better than my 60 y.o. ears. The balance between the headset controls and my VLC media player's control allow convenient operation. My ears, my auricula are large enough that the ear cups sit do not enclose the auricula. The clamping force of the headband is strong enough to press the ear canal, auditory meatus shut. Larger in both diameters, major and minor ear pads will cure both ills.

Islander
Washington Island, Wisconsin
Would recommend to a friend? No
SONY ROCKS!
6/10/2010

Customer review by SULLIVANMUSICFOUNDATION

5.0 stars 6/10/2010 by SULLIVANMUSICFOUNDATION
by SULLIVANMUSICFOUNDATION

Sony Rocks! This is an AWESOME product! I HIGHLY suggest you get one! I love mine!!!

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SULLIVANMUSICFOUNDATION
South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Music, Talking, Gaming on PSP
11/1/2010

Customer review by PSGJ

5.0 stars 11/1/2010 by PSGJ
by PSGJ

The Sony DR-BT50 is a great Bluetooth Stereo headset to own. I've had it for 10 months and have no regrets of purchasing this at Sony Style year when it was on sale refurbished for $60. Its crisp, clear sounds and its balance with its base are great attributes. My only complaint is that the frame going to the speakers are fragile. My headphones fell off once in class and it collected a series of cracks, 2 months later one of the four legs broke. So now it is super-glued and taped together. I'll still rate this five starts for its quality, however if Sony revises the DR-BT50 I hope they'll use a more durable plastic material or use a metal frame.

PSGJ
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Headphones, Great Sound
6/10/2010

Customer review by Stujersey

4.0 stars 6/10/2010 by Stujersey
by Stujersey

I had these headphones for about five or six years (whenever they first came out). The sound quality and noise reduction is excellent. The battery life is amazing and lasts far longer than I ever needed it to. I never ran the battery out before I had the opportunity to recharge. The big drawback comes in the durability. The plastic arms and everything plastic that supports the actual cans broke over time. Every single support arm degraded and broke over time. I was broken hearted when I had to throw them away. I will not be purchasing this item again for that reason (too pricey to have something fall apart)

Stujersey
Chapin, South Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sound and feel great.
9/19/2011

Customer review by PaulC

5.0 stars 9/19/2011 by PaulC
by PaulC

I bought these 3 years ago after my Kenwood KPM-610's ear pads disintegrated. Back then I was afraid wireless audio wouldn't measure up, but it does. The ear pad's on DR-BT50's are about 10x more comfortable than my Kenwood's were. Positioning the drivers at an angle means they can be worn long hours without constant pressure on the ear lobes. I use them for TV, movies and music. All sound great. These headphones show no wear at all, after 3 years of heavy use. The only thing that would make them better is if they had an option for corded operation, so I could use them even more.

PaulC
Montebello, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great headphones
7/16/2010

Customer review by Kionte

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by Kionte
by Kionte

Love the headphones, no wires. Sounds are great. Light on the head Easy to conect to Ipod.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kionte
Philadelphia,PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
The Best Hi-FI Bluetooth around!!!
1/2/2010

Customer review by Razor

5.0 stars 1/2/2010 by Razor
by Razor

Got this for a week! I can't believe these headphones are actually wireless, the sound quality is so excellent. I've owned several bluetooth stereo headphones like those from motorola, iogear and wirevo, these headphones were way superior in sound quality. Bass are so rich, trebles are very crisp and clear. The best part is that you don't hear any hissing sound at all which were very noticeable in most bluetooth headphones if no song is playing. Overall, it's also very light and very comfortable to wear. Except for being pricey, you really get what you paid for!!!

Razor
Cleveland, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Best Bluetooth Headset I have ever bought
8/27/2009

Customer review by USAF

5.0 stars 8/27/2009 by USAF
by USAF

I bought this headset to allow me to listen to music while in the gym working out. The first day I was on the weights I received a business call and it went seamlessly from music to phone and back without me doing much except pull my blackberry out of its holster. The sound quality is excellent and I am impressed with the range I get in the gym. If you have tried other headsets (I own a Bose) without Bluetooth I would say this is the top of the line and I recommend it to everyone.

USAF
Tallahassee, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Solid headphones
1/31/2011

Customer review by Sonyfan35

4.0 stars 1/31/2011 by Sonyfan35
by Sonyfan35

The headphones are good and have good sound. The fit could be better, tends to hurt your ears wearing them for prolonged periods of time. The controls for the headphones take some getting used to but the sound is what you expect from Sony and the range is excellent. I have had time of interference (like standing in front of the microwave while it was on) which is to be expected but it connects to my Toshiba and my iPhone 4 with no problems and the controls work well with my iPhone 4. Overall it is a solid headphone and the price is very reasonable. I'm glad I made this purchase and recommend this item.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sonyfan35
Harrisburg, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great sounding headphones
1/26/2009

Customer review by hurl

4.0 stars 1/26/2009 by hurl
by hurl

These headphones sound great and are very comfortable. I purchased these wireless bluetooth headphones to use with my I-Pod touch and Playstation 3 and I am very happy with them. The only complaint I have is the volume control on the headphone is very small and it is hard to adjust the volume with them on my head.

hurl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE it!
12/15/2009

Customer review by MLBeep

5.0 stars 12/15/2009 by MLBeep
by MLBeep

A real treat to use. Works well with my bluetooth laptop and with a Verizon Droid phone. Now if they would only make a noise-canceling version..... Not the most well built set ever, then again, they ARE light and foldable for easy carry in the laptop case...... I'd buy them again.

MLBeep
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Does not always connect, sound choppy
1/25/2012

Customer review by Pawel

1.0 stars 1/25/2012 by Pawel
by Pawel

I bought that set because it was the best wireless set available and was willing to pay premium for a good brand. What a disappointement. Most of the times it does not connect. If I sit next to the computer and when it connnects it is nice sound.

Pawel
Irvine
Would recommend to a friend? No
Good headphones for IPad 2 and IPhone 4
11/29/2011

Customer review by Ipodtouchfanatic

4.0 stars 11/29/2011 by Ipodtouchfanatic
by Ipodtouchfanatic

No one could tell me if this product worked with the IPad 2, so I bought it on a wing and a prayer! It works great! The sound is good for phone and music use. The buttons to operate the music are a bit difficult to reach during a work out. They could have been placed in a more easy to reach location on the headset. Overall I would recommend these headphones. Also, the Sony store had them for about $100 more and they wouldn't even price match! Oh well, Sony's lost is Walmart's gain!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ipodtouchfanatic
Carrollton, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Outstanding Headphones
2/13/2011

Customer review by TravelPro787

5.0 stars 2/13/2011 by TravelPro787
by TravelPro787

I have had the BT-50 headset for almost 2 years and think they are just amazing. The sound quality is ourstanding. I highly recommend this product.

TravelPro787
Redmond, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Excellent headphones
3/4/2011

Customer review by jtsauburn

5.0 stars 3/4/2011 by jtsauburn
by jtsauburn

These are great headphones. The sound quality is terrific! Easily synced to my phone. Long battery life. Comfortable to wear

jtsauburn
Auburn, Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Sound and Wireless Performance
1/28/2010

Customer review by GoodOldFashionedBoy

5.0 stars 1/28/2010 by GoodOldFashionedBoy
by GoodOldFashionedBoy

This headphones are the best for both wireless and sound quality. Only if they were a bit bigger for bigger ears :)

GoodOldFashionedBoy
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 32 total reviews
1-20 of 32 reviews