Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

81 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

81 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
45
4 stars
16
3 stars
14
2 stars
3
1 stars
3
1-20 of 73 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
One of the BEST purchases ever!
9/10/2010

Customer review by 31chevymike

5.0 stars 9/10/2010 by 31chevymike
by 31chevymike

I just bought this home theater system (the first of its kind) just over a month ago and continue to be extremely pleased with its everyday use! The only issue I discovered is setting up the distance of the rear speakers to your TV (I called customer service to help in this case) and eventually purchased speaker stands to balance the height of the front and rear speakers. I found directing the the rear speakers on a 45 degree angle toward the TV gave me the best results! I also was surprised upon learning that once I began setting up the system that it also features an AM/FM stereo output (in the Home menu displayed on your TV) once the antennas are hooked up! Something I never expected! Now you can preset your favorite radio stations and hear that awesome stereo surround sound thru the theater speakers! Some of the movies are so intense with surround sound that you feel the need to lower the volume! You cannot be dissappointed with this system!

31chevymike
Boynton Beach, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LG LHB535 Home Theater is a quality product
5/31/2010

Customer review by leighei

5.0 stars 5/31/2010 by leighei
by leighei

I have owned a number of Home Theater In Box (HTIB) systems. So far this one is the best I have had. The sound quality is excellent. The features are creative and innovative. The network features are great. The sole feature for my specific case that seems to be missing is the system doesn't give a option to hook up external speakers for the outside i.e. Zone B or a stereo only option so you can use a external A/B switch. Other than this minor point the system over all deliveries all you will expect and more.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
leighei
Boston, MA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Awesome home theater system
5/30/2010

Customer review by tinkerfarie

5.0 stars 5/30/2010 by tinkerfarie
by tinkerfarie

Wow, wow, wow!!!!! This is an amazing home theater system that has so many features. I love that you can connect wireless or wired so it works for all households. You can connect to netflix, pandora, and yahoo which is nice. It also connects to youtube other popular internet sites. The tuner on the stero part is exceptional quality. We live in a rural area yet get great reception on stations 80 miles away. The picture quality for the blu ray player is outstanding and the functions for the menu are great. I love how the theater sysem is easy to work and figure out. It is not at all complicated to switch between our tv, game sysytems and theater sysytem. The sound is also as clear as the picture. I am truly impressed with the quality and it matches our new LG tv. When looking for a home theater system I wanted it to be the same brand as our new tv which is also capable of internet options. We have also been able to connect wirelessly to our computers which through the home theater system we have access to music, movies and photos from our g-drive. This system has everything that people want to update thiers. It is in my opinion top of the line for under 500 dollars. Also the speakers are nice and sleek but have alot of power. This is a system that will not dissapoint.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tinkerfarie
South Dakota
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Amaaaaaazing
10/4/2011

Customer review by nickoroni

5.0 stars 10/4/2011 by nickoroni
by nickoroni

I have owned it for 9 months. My old surround reciever burned up right after I bought my Lg tv. So I researched Lg Surround. I was sold. It has so many features, none you dont want. Ipod right on the front...Bluray is awesome. Plays dvds awesome, looks HD. The fact that the LG's talk to each other is awesome. Turn the tv off, the receiver shuts off. Turn the receiver on, the tv turns on. Put dvd in, and the tv automaticlly changes input. The player, has awesome streaming ability, Pandora is awesome for music, Netflix streams awesome, Hd streaming through Netflix is flawless. The sound and volume is got to be the best I have ever heard. So much power. Enough to bring the neighbors over, a block away. very very happy. Wired vs. Wireless......You will never have a faster connection with wireless. Wired is the fastest connection you can have, to take full advantage of bandwidth, besides its not portable, so why wireless!

nickoroni
Michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Netflix Does Not Work, LG Has No Fix Yet
6/3/2010

Customer review by jraencore

3.0 stars 6/3/2010 by jraencore
by jraencore

If your not planning on using the live streaming of Netflix movies than this system works great for just a budget surround sound system. But I spent over an hour on the phone with LG Tech Support and they said it has been an on going issue trying to get netflix live streaming to work.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jraencore
Frisco, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
LG LHB 535 review
7/1/2010

Customer review by dead1ycool

1.0 stars 7/1/2010 by dead1ycool
by dead1ycool

I would not recommend this product to anyone unless they liked a constant high pitched whistling noise coming out of the right speakers. I have tried every possible solution to fixing the noise but nothing has worked. I've actually bought two of these because I thought the first one I bought was just a bad unit. I was wrong. The second one I bought after I returned the first one did the exact same thing. After some researching I found out I wasnt the only one out there experiencing this problem. If it wasnt for the whistling noise this would be an outstanding system. Unless you cant hear high pitched noises I would'nt buy this.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dead1ycool
Chicago, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Good All-Purpose Surround Sound
6/23/2010

Customer review by Overthehill2

4.0 stars 6/23/2010 by Overthehill2
by Overthehill2

The LG system delivers good sound and is very up-to-date in the techno-features...wifi (that needs a 'super signal'to work); internet access to movies, music, pictures, etc.; and Blu-Ray/DVD player, plus I-Pod all built-in. If you are ready to update and don't want to wait for the 3-D units, give this system a try. Or if you like to save a few dollars the same system without wifi is available from LG. Note: LG suggest using a wired connection for movie streaming.

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Overthehill2
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Entry Level System
5/4/2010

Customer review by Not2Blu

3.0 stars 5/4/2010 by Not2Blu
by Not2Blu

I purchased this system because I own an LG television and this system has the best features in it's price range. The sound is adequate but not as good as my old outdated Yamaha system. The images from Blu-Ray disc are as good as any. I also purchased this system because I do not have room for a huge receiver and a seperate disc player in my components cabinet. Be aware, you get what you pay for. The speakers with this system are cheap and the speaker wires are throw away quality. The flip down door over the disc entry and USB port is flimsy and will easily break off if you're not careful. Don't be surprised if this unit needs a firmware update right out of the box. Your first disc should be the latest and hottest Blu-Ray disc such as Avatar to see if yours needs a update.

Not2Blu
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Sound, but the hissing is annoying
11/5/2010

Customer review by Nakattack

3.0 stars 11/5/2010 by Nakattack
by Nakattack

I think the sound quality on this system is great for a living room. Strong base, and clear background noises on the surround speakers. The ipod dock is great if you own an ipod, unfortunately I do not, and I've yet to find a way to get my Zune to play through this system. (I've tried connecting a usb, and a cable that connects into both headphone jacks. Zune does not register with the LG.). The hissing/whistling sound from the speakers is only noticeable during quiet parts of movies, it's a minor nuscance, but it's not a deal breaker. The Blu-Ray player works great, load times are quick and the picture and sound are superb (Paired with my LED LG tv.). The web features work fine, but I found the user interface on my tv with the same features to be easier to use.

Nakattack
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Features, Bad Sound
11/28/2010

Customer review by rahrah215

3.0 stars 11/28/2010 by rahrah215
by rahrah215

Netcast Features, HDMI In, 2 Optical, and Blu-Ray....Perfect on paper....But when you get home..unbox and connect equipment and you hear a tea kettle whistle coming out of your speakers and every time you change the cable channel you get a pop coming from the speakers because of the amplifier turning off and on or something it gets real annoying really quickly. As long as i have the volume turned up loud enough to drown out the tea kettle whistle and I don't change the channel so I don't hear the annoying pop everything is fine. But if I listen to it at what i consider a decent bedroom volume (Vol Lvl 6-7), the whistle is very noticeable and that makes the good things it does less valuable.

rahrah215
VA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Poor Firmware Support
9/1/2015

Customer review by AllinOne

3.0 stars 9/1/2015 by AllinOne
by AllinOne

I love the specs and ease of use but several firmware updates had their drawbacks. First the removed Searching on Netflix and now Youtube does not connect to the servers. Once in a while it locks up and cannot fast forward on certain DLNA files, which means the codecs need updating. Also, there is some nasty hissing from the speakers for a few minutes when it turns on. Going from powering On to finally starting a Netflix video also takes forever. Too many things load just to move through the menu.

AllinOne
Rhode Island, United States
Would recommend to a friend? No
Had problems from the start
2/23/2012

Customer review by angry

2.0 stars 2/23/2012 by angry
by angry

Purchased this unit around Thankgiving of 2010, had to take it back the NEXT DAY due to it not being able to play a regular DVD. Over the course of the next 14 months there were several additional times I had to actually take DVD and Blu-Ray discs back to the video store due to the unit flashing "Error" and not being able to play the movie. After 14 months this unit quit playing any DVD or Blu-Ray discs whatsoever and everytime it is turned on the disc tray opens up as if I requested to put a movie in. I have a 47 inch LG flat panel that works well but I am not sure about their other products. Would not recommend at all.

angry
Indianapolis
Would recommend to a friend? No
Sound Issues
11/7/2010

Customer review by Sammy

4.0 stars 11/7/2010 by Sammy
by Sammy

When I plugged in and powered on I got a high pitch whistle sound (sounded like a tea kettle) which came out of the front right, rear right, and sometimes the center speaker. I read other reviews that said they had the same issue but it was only with product that had a January 2010 time stamp on the box. But mine had a April 2010 time stamp on the box. I will call LG to see if they can fix this, but with the whistle I will not keep this product. If I can get it fixed this will be my home theater of choice. I like that it plays all my recorded DVDs and has a lip sync off set option.

Sammy
Beaverton, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No more LG products for me
2/3/2013

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 2/3/2013 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Had always heard good things about LG, so I bought this along with one of their TVs, thinking setup and operation would be seamless. Wrong, and their manuals were of very little help, with most of the information therein devoted to plugging the various services you can $ign up for using their equipment. (And like their on-screen prompts, their manuals are written by someone for whom English is not their first language.) Now the wireless has stopped working for no apparent reason, but I'm kind of grateful for that since now I have an excuse to go out and buy anyone else's product.

An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
great surround sound for the price
10/26/2011

Customer review by mattax11

5.0 stars 10/26/2011 by mattax11
by mattax11

this was my first real home theater purchase and i had looked at alot of them and decided this was the best for what i was willing to spend. didnt take long at all to set up and is really user friendly. i have had it for several months now and really like it. some things i wish it had were the ability to add a powered subwoofer to it because the one included is not much of bass at all. also i wish it had the ability to add apps like tversity to stream music or movies from my computer over the network. other than that i am pleased with the purchase.

mattax11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Awesome and Easy
9/14/2010

Customer review by Mark

5.0 stars 9/14/2010 by Mark
by Mark

Purchased the LBH335 and purchased an LG Flat Screen TV in July. I have found the installation to be extremely easy and the quality is absolutely ridiculous. I now find that I can no longer watch TV on anything but my LG system. The quality of sound and features from the HTIB are incredible. Just recently I hooked up my system to my home LAN. It was simply to do. My family will now watch Youtube and listen to Pandora from my LG system. LG keep the Netcast features coming...

Mark
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Tin can theater
8/31/2010

Customer review by tbot

1.0 stars 8/31/2010 by tbot
by tbot

Purchase the LG without researching, my bad. I need to write Wal-mart to see if they'll take it back. Blu Player is...if-fie. Sometimes it works well and sometimes not so well. It and the TV have an issue with compatibility(resolution) and the picture flashes. Turn it off and back on ...problem solved. The sound though is horrible, reminds me of two tin cans and string when I was a kid. The speakers are cheap 4 ohms with no umpf at all. The subwoofer is non- existen no matter what you do. It is not powered. Save your money, go to store and listen to your system before you buy.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
tbot
washington dc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Wires, wires everywhere
9/28/2011

Customer review by AKSnowy

3.0 stars 9/28/2011 by AKSnowy
by AKSnowy

After positioning speakers and adjusting sound, I watched my favorite movie in BR (Dark Knight). EXCELLent surround sound. When the movie was over, I got up and immediately forgot I had wires everywhere and tripped and nearly wiped out the whole system. So this system is best to build a living room around, instead of bringing into a room that shows wires. Love the sound though. Is there a replacement, and what is it like?

AKSnowy
Would recommend to a friend? No
All-in-one value | poor feature integration
8/24/2010

Customer review by Applepuppy

3.0 stars 8/24/2010 by Applepuppy
by Applepuppy

Lots of features packed into a relatively small box compared to my original home theater. Decent price point. Nice to have features - just wish they had gone further. LG didnt incorporate native 802.11n support, which means more wires going into the back of the home theater. Customers shouldnt have to run extra wires or buy an additional switch to run all of their network capable home theater devices. Would have also been nice had they incorporated some sort of DVR / save to external hard drive functionality to this device. Watching .mkv video with subtitles crashes the device. Online features are accessable via a secondary sub-menu. More work should have been done to present the online application experience along with the primary device experience (e.g. one menu, not two). The secondary online feature menu looks really cheezy - and you cannot remove the applications that you dont care about. It's cool that they incoporated local weather status into the menu, but this should have been done at the top level interface and not in a secondary menu against an unprofessional looking cartoon cityscape. The YouTube feature application should have the ability to make your YouTube account your home page, or to remember favorites. Unfortunately every time you want to see a YouTube video you have to search for it through a painful search process. Poor HDMI compatability with our Vizio 55" VF552XVT LCD television - have to power devices on in a specific order, or it wont talk to the television. VERY tempted to return the device for the HDMI experience with the VF552XVT.

Applepuppy
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great buy
3/13/2010

Customer review by Tim

4.0 stars 3/13/2010 by Tim
by Tim

I've been looking pretty hard for a Bluray ready or HTIB system and took a gamble not seeing any reviews on this. I'm very impressed with the quality sound and style of the system. The features are awesome. My only beef is the ease of use, when signing into pandora or netflix etc you have to type everything in and can't use your number pad to type letters in. Anywho Great product, loving it so far!

Tim
South East Arizona
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews