Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

37 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

81%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
25
4 stars
4
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
2
1-20 of 36 total reviews
81%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews
Nice Birthday Gift
3/18/2010

Customer review by AndyD74

5.0 stars 3/18/2010 by AndyD74
by AndyD74

Got this system for my birthday and hooked it up to my Sony Bravia and PS 3 with HDMI cables. I now hear sounds during gameplay that I never heard before. It has changed my gaming experience. Movies sound great as well. I'm lovin it. I believe the price is pretty decent as well.

Was this review helpful? (19) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AndyD74
Gilbertsville, KY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Sony HT-SS370 5.1 Channel Blu-Ray Surround Sound S
5/17/2010

Customer review by Stubbs341

5.0 stars 5/17/2010 by Stubbs341
by Stubbs341

The Sony Blu-Ray was easy to setup and the sound is outstanding, and it is worth the purchase price. I followed the placement instructions for the speakers and the sound is unbelievable.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Stubbs341
Killeen TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
A great addition to any TV
5/3/2010

Customer review by gamerman82

4.0 stars 5/3/2010 by gamerman82
by gamerman82

I just want to clear up some information about this unit from the start. Although the description says Blu-ray in it, you need to read the full description to understand it. Blu-ray Surround Sound is what this product offers. It is able to decode Dolby® TrueHD™ and DTS® HD Master Audio. All the other 5.1 systems I've ever seen only decoded Dolby® Digital 5.1 and DTS® non HD Master Audio formats. This is a great buy.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gamerman82
North Platte, NE
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Very nice home theater system!
6/20/2010

Customer review by mmicmac

5.0 stars 6/20/2010 by mmicmac
by mmicmac

Prior to this I had purchased a Dream System (pseudo surround 2.1) due to space limitations which worked OK, but let's face it, 2.1 is not 5.1. And I could not add other devices. I have been looking for a system that offered more than a single HDMI input and supported HDMI pass-though. I not only want to watch and listen to Blu-ray, but wanted to also hook up my cable tuner and my Apple TV. This system offers all of that. I also wanted wireless connection to the rear speakers so that I did not have to feed those wires under the floor. When I initially bought the system, the WAHT-10 surround unit had been discontinued and so I had to live without the rear-speakers. I recently took delivery of the WAHT-20 receiver and purchased the companion BD-37 Blu-ray player. For the space in which I have this set up, the system is great. The sound is very nice, the surround really fills the space, and all my connections work flawlessly. Great product for a great price!

mmicmac
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice Blu-Ray Surround sound system
7/5/2010

Customer review by TheMannn

5.0 stars 7/5/2010 by TheMannn
by TheMannn

Easy installation... No, it does not include a Blu-Ray player but this surround sound system has plenty of power and sounds great. Not a fan of the automatic speaker setup using the supplied mic but by far a great system.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheMannn
Pennsylvania
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
3/29/2010

Customer review by shootert

3.0 stars 3/29/2010 by shootert
by shootert

No BluRay player included with this product. Will not play CD's/DVD's or BluRays. I expected an all-in-one unit like another Sony unit I have, but wanted to upgrade to BluRay. I upgraded alright, after I had to purchase a stand alone BluRay player. Now I am starting another componet tower, which is exactly what I didn't want to do. Equipment seems to work well, it's just not what I thought I was ordering.

Was this review helpful? (14) (19)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shootert
Would recommend to a friend? No
Warning!!!
8/31/2011

Customer review by Wicky

5.0 stars 8/31/2011 by Wicky
by Wicky

Basically i found out through reading many reviews to be not all there with the pros and cons. i don't know to much about theater systems but i have a master bed room and while watching Inception not even on HALF power the room was shaking house was rattling and the roommates were screaming that can't hear their TV! its like a earth quake is going on in your house while using HDMI on it, with the blue and red cords its just a wimpy tv speaker for the most part, this system provides theater quality sound in a room such as mine. i use mine with my ps3 and the games are amazing shooting games are great, if u got the volume up and all the sudden BANG BANG BANG you'll jump its so loud.(with HDMI cord that is). As far as customization for each speaker(5 plus a sub) u can control them to -6 or +6 in loudness i guess, i just did the sub to +6 so the base comes in great. I'd defiantly recommend this to ANYONE who is going to use this with a HDMI cord but a definite no to the red/white cord. I haven't tried components because HDMI is superior. when you get this surround system watch Inception to get a feel for the power even if you already watched it, its sooooo worth it!

Wicky
Trenton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
4/12/2010

Customer review by BigMac124

3.0 stars 4/12/2010 by BigMac124
by BigMac124

Product Discription says Blu-Ray This item does not have a blu-ray player. It is only compatible with a blu-ray player.

Was this review helpful? (11) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BigMac124
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Once per week
Sony HTS-S370 5.1
11/17/2010

Customer review by temsmail

5.0 stars 11/17/2010 by temsmail
by temsmail

Hi-Def is not Hi-Def without a good Hi-Def home theater sound system. While this one is not high end in price it meets my needs well. I have some hearing loss and could not hear the difference between this system and more expensive ones, but people with normal hearing tell me they enjoy it as well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
temsmail
Dyersburg, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
For 2010 system, should have 3D HDMI passthrough!
8/22/2010

Customer review by MRK94117

2.0 stars 8/22/2010 by MRK94117
by MRK94117

Great if you want to stay in the 2D world. Useless if you want to upgrade to a 3D TV. I bought this sound system and the SS570 3D Blu ray player at the same time back in May 2010. A few months later after the 3D firmware update to my blu ray player, I bought a 3D TV. The HDMI inputs on this receiver do not support passing 3D signals through to the TV! The only way to get 3D to work was to connect the blu ray player directly to the TV and use the audio return channel from the TV to get 2 channels of HDMI HD sound from the sound system! Very disappointed as I'll have to upgrade my A/V system if I want to enjoy HD surround sound and 3D at the same time.

MRK94117
San Francisco
Would recommend to a friend? No
Perfect for living room home theaters
4/20/2010

Customer review by RAWRscary

3.0 stars 4/20/2010 by RAWRscary
by RAWRscary

I wont write a huge review. I mainly want to comment on this unit not having headphone output in case someone is expecting this. Pretty much any amp you buy, which is essentially what this system is if you take away the speakers and sub, has a headphone output jack. Sadly for whatever reason, Sony skipped out on such a simple feature. Further more, this system has plenty of 'inputs' but has zero outputs for anything aside from 1 hdmi port. I bought this system with a PS3 for blu ray playback and games. Sadly I cant use headphones unless its coming from the PS3 only. This means I cant watch anything on TV and get sound from this system via headphones.

RAWRscary
Would recommend to a friend? No
Amazing Sound
3/6/2010

Customer review by Donegal

5.0 stars 3/6/2010 by Donegal
by Donegal

Setup was very easy, one HDMI cable from the Sony HT-SS370 Receiver to my Sony HD TV, and then all my HI-Def. components(Blu Ray Player, HD DVD Player and HD Cable Box) each connected to the HT-SS370 Receiver with HDMI cables. What is nice about this Receiver is that you can pass thru the Audio and Video to your HD TV speakers in the event you do not want to use the HT-SS370 Receiver. The Surround Sound is so rich and full that you feel you are in the middle of all the action from any Movie. I would highly recommend this System and I am certain you will not be disappointed.

Donegal
McHenry, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Terrific Value
3/2/2010

Customer review by spaceaged

5.0 stars 3/2/2010 by spaceaged
by spaceaged

For a simple system this is excellent. I just have a 3 HDMI inputs so this is perfect. The display is less than a half inch high. There is no headphone jack on the amplifier unit. A headphone jack is part of the compatible surround speaker amplifier unit that is sold separately. My workaround is to enable HDMI pass through when the HT unit is off. This allows the audio to pass through to the TV, and then use the TV audio output RCA to connect to wireless headphones. All in all a great value.

spaceaged
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice sound
2/22/2010

Customer review by Scout

5.0 stars 2/22/2010 by Scout
by Scout

I am very happy with this unit. Good sound's with very easy setup. I have a head injury and could set it up with very little problems. I like that I can plug my PS3, cable box and others to it and then only run 1 HDMI to my TV. I really like the Auto Calibration Mic. After all speakers are set up, you plug this into reciver and set it back at about ear level in middle of room. Scroll through menu to turn it on and it will calibrate your speakers for optimal sound. Well worth the money.

Scout
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Really Great Sound!
3/7/2011

Customer review by keyboardguy

5.0 stars 3/7/2011 by keyboardguy
by keyboardguy

Overall great system, I upgraded to from my other Sony system that was infrared wireless and it worked just as good, but then i started upgrading all of my components so i wanted something better and this is perfect. Its fully wireless but for a cheaper price there is another wireless system that works with this unit and I have been using it with no problems. It blends well with my other components that are shiny black and flat black.

keyboardguy
Alberta, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
No more movie theaters for me!
9/12/2010

Customer review by cypher1954

5.0 stars 9/12/2010 by cypher1954
by cypher1954

I bought this unit (HT-SS370) yesterday and it knocked my socks off! I'm still going through the learning phase with it, but the leaning is impressive and very simple! As much that this unit involves, it is becoming a most desirable unit and more so every minute. It is very impressive. It just shows how valuable a complete matched system. Everything I run this system through is Sony. (50" Bravia LCD TV and Sony 3D Bluray)

cypher1954
Indinapolis Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very good upgradable unit
2/21/2011

Customer review by Basala

5.0 stars 2/21/2011 by Basala
by Basala

Love the unit, purchased it for a very good price $200 on sale. Would recommend it for someone who lives in an apartment and doesn't need too much power or big speakers. Perfect companion to my PS3. Like that it's compatible with S-Air so the back speakers can be wireless (maybe I'll do that later when I move to a bigger place), Final thoughts would be, buy it its a great unit for a good price if its $250 or under.

Basala
Denver, CO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Product for the price
11/4/2010

Customer review by Saboken

4.0 stars 11/4/2010 by Saboken
by Saboken

The system doesn't support 3D unless you connect your 3d blue ray directly to the TV you might get full surround this way if you connect the TV to the receiver via fiber optic? I haven't tested it yet but I think the fiber optic passes whatever audio the Bluray player sends up the HDMI, otherwise it's a great system and I don't plan on going 3D anytime soon! my Bravia 2D still has a lot of life left in it!

Saboken
Johnstown, Pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
blu ray disc "MATCHING"
11/30/2010

Customer review by AaronK

5.0 stars 11/30/2010 by AaronK
by AaronK

Helped a friend purchase this as a gift for his girlfriend. I told him there is this great value for a home theatre with blu ray. When it arrived, he was arguing that it is only a sound system. After finding out that sonystyle requires you to send it back at your own expense, decided to try it. Quality is amazing for this little box, so purchased a sony blu ray separately and kept this unit!

AaronK
Montreal, Canada
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excelent sound for teh Money
2/1/2011

Customer review by Dkeen

4.0 stars 2/1/2011 by Dkeen
by Dkeen

My wife loves/hates the system. She is technologically challenged and is learning to navigate but still has problems,. For the money, this is the best Sony system on the market, that will sync with my Sony 46" and my Sony BD. I absolutely am 100% satisfied. I just receive optical cables to run from the cable box and from the blue ray player, the sound will only get better!

Dkeen
Northeast OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 36 total reviews
1-20 of 36 reviews