Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.2out of 5 stars
4.2 out of 5 | 48 reviews
5 stars
31
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 39 reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Great for all child care providers
11/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Every year at Peace of Mind Child Care & Early Learning Place, we hatch butterflies. The children love watching the process and then releasing their butterflies into the sky. We do this every year but the certificate to get the butterflies after the first time you have purchased the net, cost around $16.00. Buying it from WalMart on line cost me $10.00 and I have a whole new set instead of just getting the butterflies. Great, great deal!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (9)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
5/25/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am more than a little upset that I purchased this product for my son's birthday over one month ago and we still have yet to get our caterpillars. I have not heard anything from RibbitsGalore even though they state that they will notify me if any delays are incurred with shipping. Not only that but this product was somewhere around $16 plus you have to pay for the caterpillars which is another $6.50 (although you do get free shipping and save $6) I just think it is very poor advertising that there is nothing on the box indicative of the extra fee for the caterpillars but on top of it all there is nothing stating that it will take a minimum of two to three weeks to get the caterpillars. If they said that on the box I would have ordered the caterpillars at least one week before my son's birthday. As it stands, until RibbitsGalore satisfies me by somehow rectifying the situation they are only getting one star. If anything changes I will update this review as needed. The ball is in your court Ribbits.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (35)No (10)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Wonderful way to see nature up-close!
6/14/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
WOW! I always look forward to the arrival of spring because it means it is time to harvest butterflies! The larvae arrive in a small plastic cup--with air holes on the lid. The food for the larvae is right in the cup and it is in the clear cup you can watch the larvae grow into caterpillars! Once the caterpillars are ready for the transformation into butterflies, they attatch themselves to the inner paper lid (below the plastic lid). From this point, all you need to do is attach the "lid" with cocoons attatched and gently transfer them into the inside of the canopy where the walls are mesh! This canopy is very well made; so easy to store , too as it "collapses" into itself and can be stored in the original box. It is fun to track to growth of the butterflies from the very beginning; each stage is unique and amazing to observe from start to finish!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (68)No (8)
Report
Was this review helpful?
6/11/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my 7 year old which loves to explore everything especially how one animal transforms into another animal. She was amazed the whole time. I bought it for $15 & then I went online & ordered the caterpillars & paid $5. So just $20 & I get 5 butterfly's. Not bad at all. The caterpillars come from California. They arrived fast on regular delivery. My daughter is waiting for the cacoon to hatch as of today. I will order more caterpillars as soon as we release the butterflies.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't buy this one
7/18/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this and ordered the "free" caterpillars which cost over $6 for shipping. The caterpillars did not arrive because "Ribbits Galore", which is where you order the caterpillars, didn't have any. When they finally did ship 2 months later, the caterpillars were so tiny you could hardly see them and they were dead. I contacted them via email, no phone number available, saying I wanted my shipping $$ back and would order from another vendor that I had used before and they did not respond to my email nor refund my money. Buy your Butterfly Garden elsewhere and order caterpillars from Insect Lore.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (12)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Fun & educational activity!
3/17/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When my daughter was in preschool, the teacher had one of these & the kids had a great time with it. I bought a kit for my daughter a few years later & we had a great time watching them metamorphose into butterflies (she had a little difficulty letting them go--they would not exactly leave the "home"). I bought another set last year (lost the first set) & plan to order more caterpillars (first set is free with S&H; I will be using it this year). Kids can learn about how caterpillars transform into butterflies, you will be helping the monarch butterfly population (which may be endangered), & this will be a fun "experiment" for both adults & children. I highly recommend this!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Bummer
7/14/2012
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Purchased the butterfly garden at walmart and when I went to purchase the caterpillars on their website I was told they will not ship to AZ because its too hot. Awesome, now I've got a 3 year old super excited to grow butterflies and no way to do it. Awesome......
Was this review helpful?
Yes (13)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Neat idea, but lacking the butterflies
5/9/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this product for my nieces ages 5 and 7. They loved the idea, but could hardly wait to get the caterpillars which you have to send off for separately. I was not aware of this when I ordered the Butterly Garden. They are, however, anxiously awaiting the arrival of their caterpillars.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (6)
Report
Was this review helpful?
The caterpillars arrived quickly.
6/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I gave this as a present last weekend and this weekend the recipient said they already received the caterpillars! They looked like they came in good condition. Excited to hear what happens.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Nature Up close and personal
8/10/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My 3 1/2 yr old loved this. We watched the catepillars get big, then cocoon and then turn into gorgeous butterflies. We got 5 out of 5 and then let them go. Great gift for kids of all ages.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great product to help kids learn
7/24/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
My son absolutely loves this product :)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (9)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for curious children
8/4/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my friend's 6 year old daughter and she was very excited to do it. She took it out of the box immediately and began setting everything up and I get an update on they do everyday. She is a very hands on child and loves to be involved in everything.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great class science project!
9/27/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I got this for my 4th graders & they are loving it! We are enjoying watching the caterpillars make their cocoons. The kids can't wait to see what the butterflies will look like.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/29/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
You have to send away for the catapillars, but got it for my daughter's science project. It's fun watching them grow.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
A great gift
12/28/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Great product. Fun and educational!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Love this product!
7/21/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought this for my 3 year old daughter because she loves butterflies. Even though it was explained in preschool how the life cycle works I wanted her to understand through her own visualization. It is a great learning activity and at the end of the journey she watched her butterflies fly away to make their own families. Hard to say goodbye, but still a great activity to do together.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Extra Cost Involved
5/7/2014
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I wanted to get some catterpillars for my daughter's school project. We got this because it was a little less than getting the catterpillars alone and said it included a certificate for catterpillars. However, when it came, I found out that you have to pay $5 shipping for them to send you the catterpillars. Nothing was mentioned about this additional cost online. Otherwise, I have been pleased with this purchase so far. I have not received the catterpillars yet, or used the "habitat".
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great product! Fun and educational!
3/3/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
We get this butterfly kit every spring for our kids. We received our caterpillars less than a week after ordering them online with the code included in the box. Our girls LOVE this and it's a great way to teach them about life cycles. We bought a similar product from a competing brand a couple of years ago and it was a huge mistake, the other company had horrid customer service and most of the caterpillars were DOA. From now on we will only be purchasing Insect Lore brand live kits!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
My Granddaughter is very excited
9/30/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 500 contributer
My Granddaughter is very excited to get this, we had to order the caterpillar and we got then quick within a few days, she can't wait to see them grow, they came with everything they need to grow already in the cup they come in. there suppose to grow within 3 to 4 weeks so I haven't seen that happen yet but just to see a child be so excited to watch them grow is really cut. I would recommend they to you.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Good price for all-in-one set
4/1/2014
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Price is good for the whole set. I was not excited to see that I would have to pay the $5 S&H for the actual insects, as I assumed that it was included in the total price.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184643937, DC-prod-dal4, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-