Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 46 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

4.0 stars

46 reviews | 4.2 out of 5

5 stars
29
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
0
1 stars
5
87%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 37 total reviews
Wonderful way to see nature up-close!
6/14/2011

Customer review by TrainKid41

5.0 stars by TrainKid41

WOW! I always look forward to the arrival of spring because it means it is time to harvest butterflies! The larvae arrive in a small plastic cup--with air holes on the lid. The food for the larvae is right in the cup and it is in the clear cup you can watch the larvae grow into caterpillars! Once the caterpillars are ready for the transformation into butterflies, they attatch themselves to the inner paper lid (below the plastic lid). From this point, all you need to do is attach the "lid" with cocoons attatched and gently transfer them into the inside of the canopy where the walls are mesh! This canopy is very well made; so easy to store , too as it "collapses" into itself and can be stored in the original box. It is fun to track to growth of the butterflies from the very beginning; each stage is unique and amazing to observe from start to finish!

Was this review helpful? (53) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TrainKid41
Madison Heights, MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
5/25/2012

Customer review by GeoffB

1.0 stars by GeoffB

I am more than a little upset that I purchased this product for my son's birthday over one month ago and we still have yet to get our caterpillars. I have not heard anything from RibbitsGalore even though they state that they will notify me if any delays are incurred with shipping. Not only that but this product was somewhere around $16 plus you have to pay for the caterpillars which is another $6.50 (although you do get free shipping and save $6) I just think it is very poor advertising that there is nothing on the box indicative of the extra fee for the caterpillars but on top of it all there is nothing stating that it will take a minimum of two to three weeks to get the caterpillars. If they said that on the box I would have ordered the caterpillars at least one week before my son's birthday. As it stands, until RibbitsGalore satisfies me by somehow rectifying the situation they are only getting one star. If anything changes I will update this review as needed. The ball is in your court Ribbits.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
GeoffB
Rochester, NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
6/11/2012

Customer review by Mommy2013

5.0 stars by Mommy2013

I bought this for my 7 year old which loves to explore everything especially how one animal transforms into another animal. She was amazed the whole time. I bought it for $15 & then I went online & ordered the caterpillars & paid $5. So just $20 & I get 5 butterfly's. Not bad at all. The caterpillars come from California. They arrived fast on regular delivery. My daughter is waiting for the cacoon to hatch as of today. I will order more caterpillars as soon as we release the butterflies.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Mommy2013
Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Neat idea, but lacking the butterflies
5/9/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars by An anonymous customer

I bought this product for my nieces ages 5 and 7. They loved the idea, but could hardly wait to get the caterpillars which you have to send off for separately. I was not aware of this when I ordered the Butterly Garden. They are, however, anxiously awaiting the arrival of their caterpillars.

Was this review helpful? (15) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Ozark, MO
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
great product to help kids learn
7/24/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars by An anonymous customer

My son absolutely loves this product :)

Was this review helpful? (14) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
An anonymous customer
Bristol, CT
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Bummer
7/14/2012

Customer review by Svan83

1.0 stars by Svan83

Purchased the butterfly garden at walmart and when I went to purchase the caterpillars on their website I was told they will not ship to AZ because its too hot. Awesome, now I've got a 3 year old super excited to grow butterflies and no way to do it. Awesome......

Was this review helpful? (9) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Svan83
AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
The caterpillars arrived quickly.
6/10/2012

Customer review by Piper6142

5.0 stars by Piper6142

I gave this as a present last weekend and this weekend the recipient said they already received the caterpillars! They looked like they came in good condition. Excited to hear what happens.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Piper6142
Queen Creek, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Great for all child care providers
11/14/2013

Customer review by MEBID

5.0 stars by MEBID

Every year at Peace of Mind Child Care & Early Learning Place, we hatch butterflies. The children love watching the process and then releasing their butterflies into the sky. We do this every year but the certificate to get the butterflies after the first time you have purchased the net, cost around $16.00. Buying it from WalMart on line cost me $10.00 and I have a whole new set instead of just getting the butterflies. Great, great deal!!!!

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MEBID
Calvert County
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Don't buy this one
7/18/2012

Customer review by ottermommy

1.0 stars by ottermommy

I bought this and ordered the "free" caterpillars which cost over $6 for shipping. The caterpillars did not arrive because "Ribbits Galore", which is where you order the caterpillars, didn't have any. When they finally did ship 2 months later, the caterpillars were so tiny you could hardly see them and they were dead. I contacted them via email, no phone number available, saying I wanted my shipping $$ back and would order from another vendor that I had used before and they did not respond to my email nor refund my money. Buy your Butterfly Garden elsewhere and order caterpillars from Insect Lore.

Was this review helpful? (5) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ottermommy
Rio Rancho, NM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Love this product!
7/21/2012

Customer review by MaryC1

5.0 stars by MaryC1

I bought this for my 3 year old daughter because she loves butterflies. Even though it was explained in preschool how the life cycle works I wanted her to understand through her own visualization. It is a great learning activity and at the end of the journey she watched her butterflies fly away to make their own families. Hard to say goodbye, but still a great activity to do together.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MaryC1
Reseda, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Nature Up close and personal
8/10/2012

Customer review by MOMMYYYY

5.0 stars by MOMMYYYY

My 3 1/2 yr old loved this. We watched the catepillars get big, then cocoon and then turn into gorgeous butterflies. We got 5 out of 5 and then let them go. Great gift for kids of all ages.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MOMMYYYY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great class science project!
9/27/2012

Customer review by MrsHC

5.0 stars by MrsHC

I got this for my 4th graders & they are loving it! We are enjoying watching the caterpillars make their cocoons. The kids can't wait to see what the butterflies will look like.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
MrsHC
Abilene, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
A great gift
12/28/2013

Customer review by Avasmomatl

5.0 stars by Avasmomatl

Great product. Fun and educational!!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Avasmomatl
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for curious children
8/4/2012

Customer review by SammyD0428

5.0 stars by SammyD0428

I bought this for my friend's 6 year old daughter and she was very excited to do it. She took it out of the box immediately and began setting everything up and I get an update on they do everyday. She is a very hands on child and loves to be involved in everything.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
SammyD0428
Cincinnati, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
10/29/2012

Customer review by tlunicorn

4.0 stars by tlunicorn

You have to send away for the catapillars, but got it for my daughter's science project. It's fun watching them grow.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
tlunicorn
McKinney, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect gift for children
12/1/2013

Customer review by Jedev

5.0 stars by Jedev

I purchased a Butterfly Garden for my grandchild. She LOVED it. It is a fun and educationl gift. I have ordered three more for nieces and nephews.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Jedev
Savannah, ga
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT for young kids and young at heart adults.
3/24/2013

Customer review by Grandmommyy

5.0 stars by Grandmommyy

My great Grandughter called this morning sooooo excited. Her butterflies arrived and "They are moving around and eating" She is 5yrs.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Grandmommyy
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good price for all-in-one set
4/1/2014

Customer review by holdog31505

4.0 stars by holdog31505

Price is good for the whole set. I was not excited to see that I would have to pay the $5 S&H for the actual insects, as I assumed that it was included in the total price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
holdog31505
Houston, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Extra Cost Involved
5/7/2014

Customer review by chubecky

3.0 stars by chubecky

I wanted to get some catterpillars for my daughter's school project. We got this because it was a little less than getting the catterpillars alone and said it included a certificate for catterpillars. However, when it came, I found out that you have to pay $5 shipping for them to send you the catterpillars. Nothing was mentioned about this additional cost online. Otherwise, I have been pleased with this purchase so far. I have not received the catterpillars yet, or used the "habitat".

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
chubecky
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
I NEVER RECEIVED IT
11/30/2013

Customer review by Kfiene

1.0 stars by Kfiene

DESPITE CALLING FED-EX 3 TIMES, I STILL HAVE NOT RECEIVED THIS FOR MY GRANDSON. I DON'T KNOW IF THE PROBLEM IS WITH FED-EX OR WALMART.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Kfiene
Santa Fe
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 37 total reviews