Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 4.1out of 5 stars
4.1 out of 5 | 35 reviews
5 stars
22
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
1
1 stars
5
Sort by: 
1-20 of 34 reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Great Meter!
2/2/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
The ReliOn Confirm glucose meter is made by Arkray, which makes the Glucocard 01 meter. The Glucocard is a top of the line meter that can cost a lot. The ReliOn Confirm is almost identical except that it does not have the same extensive memory (both 7-day and 30-day averages available at all times, etc.) and the test strips are not interchangable between the Relion Confirm and Glucocard 01 meter. I was diagnosed as Type 2 about four years ago. I have used or tried almost every meter made. I used a FreeStyle Lite for several years. But, I did not like the old test strips; they did not wick blood very well. I like small sample size meters. At .3 micro liters, the sample size of the ReliOn Confirm is very small. And, the test strips wick blood much better than the old strips for the FreeStyle Lite (I understand that Abott now has new and better test strips for their FreeStyle meters). For the price of the meters and strips, you cannot beat ReliOn meters. Where else can you get a quality meter made by Arkray, a great company, at a fraction of Arkray's usual retail price. I highly recommend the ReliOn Confirm blood glucose meter.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (145)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great for the price!
9/12/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
As a newly diagnosed type II, it's a crazy world out there. I managed to do some online research and avoid the free OneTouch, FreeStyle and AccuCheck meters. The meters are free, it's the cost of the test strips that kills ya - nearly a buck apiece! The cost of the Relion strips is much better, $20 for 50 and $37-$38 for 100. The only drawback is that the lancet device could be better, it's kind of chintzy. And the case is plain ugly black. But for the price, this meter is terrific. I plan to get another one.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (83)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to Use, Most Affordable on the Market
11/12/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
When my test strips from my old meter, whose name I will not mention, went to $65, I just had to find something more affordable. 50 strips for this meter run about $9, a $56 savings! And the tester itself is very affordable, around $15. And as a bonus, the tester requires very little blood, and sucks it up immediately. I did a period of testing, comparing this to my old meter, and the readings were close to each other. Now if I want to test more than twice a day, I don't think twice because it is so affordable. It has allowed me to get a better handle on my blood sugar. Thank you ReliOn for offering such an affordable way to manage my health!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (47)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Value! Cheap strips!
12/15/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Very impressed with meter, very easy to use. The kit came with instructions, case, lancets, meter, & logbook. You can't beat that for $9! The strips are only $10 for 20. Cheapest i've found so far. It takes a minute amount of blood and fast reading. Doesn't need coding. Records previous readings. Highly recommended for price and ease of use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (34)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ReliOn is NOT so reliable!
7/14/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am currently 28 weeks pregnant with twins and have been testing my sugars daily since I was 10 weeks along to prevent gestational diabetes. I started off using the FreeStyle which worked fine, I just couldn't spend the exorbitant amount on the test strips. I switched to the ReliOn Confirm about 3 months ago. Here I'm thinking I'm getting accurate readings, and I'm not. I am following a gestational diabetes diet and getting wacky readings. Decided to test myself twice in a row with the same blood sample with the ReliOn and then use the FreeStyle meter with the same sample. This was done two hours after my breakfast. First reading on ReliOn was 128, second was 159 - yes, all from same blood sample on finger. The FreeStyle reading was 88. I am going back to the brand I know I can trust. Apparently cheaper isn't always better when it comes to protecting the health of myself and these babies.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (5)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Relion confirm blood glucose meter
11/10/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I am a first time user of any blood sugar monitoring products. I bought this item because I am pre-diabetic and needed to keep track of glucose levels. Excellent price and I love the color (pink). I did alot of looking and decided this would meet my needs. This meter sems to be very accurate according to hospital's results. This item comes with lancet and 10 lances, nice carrying case and instructions. I am very pleased so far.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (64)No (12)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Relion Confirm manual is online
5/9/2016
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Several recent reviews have complained about not having a manual. Here is the online link to their pdf manual http://www.manualslib.com/manual/455647/Relion-Confirm.html
Was this review helpful?
Yes (11)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great affordable meter
4/29/2012
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I just found out I am type 2 diabetic, and I am uninsured. The doctor gave me a free Freestyle Lite meter, but the test strips are about $70 for 50. The pharmacist recommended I buy the ReliOn meter, because of the lower prices on the test strips & lancets. I paid under $50 for the meter, 100 test strips & 100 lancets! It is easy to use, easy to read, and takes very little blood. The meter is light weight, and slim. I would recommend this meter to anyone. My mom uses the Breeze2 meter & she is know considering buying the ReliOn, once her test strips are gone, so she can better afford the supplies, since her insurance does not cover lancets & test strips.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (15)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Accurate meter with affordable test strips
2/7/2012
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
i've been using the Relion for several years, as I pay for strips out-of-pocket, and need an inexpensive AND accurate meter, and these seem to fit both requirements. I like the simplicity of use and the small amount of blood needed, but mainly appreciate the accuracy (according to Consumer Reports it's as accurate as most of the more expensive brands) and the cost.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great price
3/6/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
seems accurate....love the price...needs only a bit of blood...able to afford to test more often....thanks for a great machine...
Was this review helpful?
Yes (14)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Not All the Bells and Whistles
12/2/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Does not have all the bells and whistles but didn't cost Bell & Whistle money either. Well worth the money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (18)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/6/2010
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I think overall price and quality are excellent
Was this review helpful?
Yes (24)No (4)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Seems pretty reliable so far!
5/15/2017
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
For years now, I have been around the insulin resistant/pre-diabetic range off and on. I had been eating much healthier and losing weight this year, but after another strict 40 day sugar/carb diet, i wanted some friggin ice cream....and completely lost track of my senses. I ate the whole pint of chocolate/cookie dough/sin deliciousness in one sitting, and a few hours later, i was excessively thirsty and had some other weird symptoms. This continued for days. I was worried I finally crossed the diabetic border and shot myself in the foot. I went into carb control mode again for a while and tested my blood sugar on a family members ReliOn Prime meter: 70. I was stunned (and happy). I took it again and it was 66. I was elated, but still suspicious. On the way home, i picked up this pink ReliOn confirm because i had heard some good things about it. It had been 3 hours since my last meal, so i took it again 3 times because i thought i kept messing up and not getting enough blood. Turns out .3 ml is really that small! Thats awesome. All 3 readings were in the upper 60s. I checked that with my lab results from a year ago, and my fasting lab glucose then was 77. This was starting to seem pretty accurate. Time for the ultimate test! I ate (reasonable portions) of ice cream and a bowl of watermelon. An hour later, the reading was 119, which reflected I at least was capable of having higher, but thankfully still normal, levels. This morning i took it when I woke up, and it was 76. I have no reason to distrust this as it seems pretty in line with my past history when im mostly healthy. I ordered the free control solution, so i will test that when it comes. But the tiny amount of blood required is great, and the unit seems very user friendly if you follow the instructions. Its not the fanciest looking device in the world, but the test strips dont cost 2 bucks a piece and thats what i care about as much as accuracy! So there ya go! Results in one day checked with the Confirm and a Prime unit. Back to eating healthy (most of the time anyway...)
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Little Meter
9/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
 Top 1000 contributer
This little meter is accurate and easy to use. I have 2 of them so I can check one with the other when my blood sugar is too high or low. They are within 5 points of each other. Strips and lances are affordable TOO. Love the little pouch easy to carry anywhere.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Meter at a great Price!
8/10/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Meets all my expectations!! Thanks for making a meter people can afford!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
2/14/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
LAST YEAR MY INSURANCE ONLY PAID A PORTION OF MY NEW METER (ACCU-CHEK) NOTHING ON THE TEST SCRIPTS. VERY PRICEY: THIS YEAR I DECIDED THERE MUST BE A CHEAPER WAY TO TEST. DID MY RESEARCH ONLINE FOUND RELION TO BE A GOOD PRICE RANGE TRIED IT. TODAY I'M HAPPY TO SAY ITS WORTH IT ALL. GET ONE YOU'LL SEE!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
reads high
7/11/2017
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I have two of these meters and they both run high by 40 points or so. I have an aviva plus meter, which is one of the best and it reads lower and more in line with my glucose blood test done by doctor. I also use this meter for my cat which runs 70 to 75 point lower that a meter specifically for pets. So I add on the points to get a m ore accurate reading on the relion comfort. the strips for the pet meter one dollar each which is unaffordable.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
This meter reads high.
2/19/2012
Average rating:3out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This reads non-consitent up to twenty point difference from my Ultima, Feels cheap. I went ahead and purchased the micro and I like it the best.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Easy to use.
4/28/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I liked it because it is affordable and easy to use.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great price
6/5/2015
Average rating:4out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Found out my insurance company wont cover my testing supplies so decided to give this meter a try so i could at least check my sugars. PROS: Affordable test strips, light weight and sleek design, easy to use, comes in colors other then black. CONS: Reads high sometimes, made cheaper then my Aviva. Overall its a good meter given my situation.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184640685, DC-prod-dfw3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-