Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

4.0 stars

56 reviews | 3.8 out of 5

73%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
5
3 stars
5
2 stars
7
1 stars
8
1-20 of 52 total reviews
73%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews
Great product
1/29/2011

Customer review by BonzoFromBozo

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by BonzoFromBozo
by BonzoFromBozo

Does everything I wanted in a blood glucose monitor. I notice some people are concerned about the accuracy of these home blood glucose monitors. One thing to consider is that consistency is more important than absolute accuracy, and this monitor is quite consistent. That is, you want several samples taken right after one another to give close results, even if all those results are somewhat high or low, since you can later calibrate the monitor by comparing with lab results. Or you can use the control solution, which I've sent off for (free from Relion) but haven't yet received. I have no reason to think the monitor isn't accurate in an absolute sense, I should note. In any case, the monitor definitely does do what I wanted. Namely, show me which foods tend to cause blood sugar spikes and allow me to do home glucose tolerance testing to see how my insulin sensitivity is coming back now that I've lost weight. This device is much cheaper than the other monitors (only 40 cents per test strip versus a dollar for the others) and the fingerprick device is fairly painless.

Was this review helpful? (99) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BonzoFromBozo
bozo, US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product but...
4/16/2011

Customer review by OldDinosaur

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by OldDinosaur
by OldDinosaur

I bought this meter because I had inadvertently purchased the test strips for it thinking they were for the old Reli On meter I've had for several years. After I opened the box I realized I had the wrong strips. Since I couldn't return them I decided to upgrade to the new meter (it was only $9.00). It's a great meter, but so was the old one. I only gave it 4 stars for the overall & features ratings because of a couple of fairly minor things. 1st, there are not as many pockets to hold everything as the old meter (only two). At first, it was difficult to tell when enough blood had been absorbed, but that's a matter of learning how to use it. Also, I think it may be more difficult to tell when you are running out of strips because of the container - it would help if it were transparent. It reads as quickly as my previous Reli On. My suggestion for those who have the older Reli On meter is to keep the old one until it stops working. But for those who don't have a Reli On, buy it! It is a great buy compared to the major brands.

Was this review helpful? (17) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldDinosaur
Germantown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
New to All This!
8/13/2010

Customer review by dblankenship7

5.0 stars 8/13/2010 by dblankenship7
by dblankenship7

I recently turned 50 and during a routine physical was told my blood sugar was 229mg. I have been on medication for 2 weeks now, and have changed my diet. My Dr. said to test at least 3-4 times a day for the first month, so I was definately looking for value. I chose the Confirm Blue because the strips were only $20 for 50ct. It works great and very quick and easy to do, no codes to enter and very little blood is necessary for strips to work. I also called and got the control solution (no charge) just to be sure everything was working right, and it was accurate. I like being able to just scroll back and see how my numbers have continued to drop over the last 2 weeks since starting my program. I'm very happy with the product and the price can't be beat!!

Was this review helpful? (113) (15)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dblankenship7
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Better Than Others for CATS/DOGS!!!
1/27/2016

Customer review by bichons9

5.0 stars 1/27/2016 by bichons9
by bichons9

If unable to use Pet Glucometer, Relion results are closer to sought results over Bayer. Accept or realize low to high differences will be noted using a human meter on pet. Having used 3 human meters, in addition to a "pet glucometer", Relion, so far, gives best results of the three human meters, when comparing results to pet meter. Pet meter is still best advised by my DVM. But many individuals simply cannot afford the AlphaTRAK Meter STRIPS. Good luck

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bichons9
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Nice meter, great value
1/27/2011

Customer review by JinksB

4.0 stars 1/27/2011 by JinksB
by JinksB

I was happy with my old glucose meter, but my insurance company raised the co-pay on the strips, and they were too expensive for me to afford. I decided to buy the Relion solely for its cheaper strips. I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The meter is accurate, the lancing device much better than my old one, and the strips require much less blood. My only quibble is the non-intuitive interface. I'm very happy with the Relion meter. (And it's cuter than my old one, too.)

Was this review helpful? (47) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JinksB
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great little meter.
9/27/2011

Customer review by GRAINBOY1

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by GRAINBOY1
by GRAINBOY1

Bought this meter because of price and because i don't have insurance.I compaired it with my freestyle meter and the relion meter was 4 points lower.I took it with me on my last visit to see my doctor and checked it with his test at the lab and it was right on the mark. my freestyle was 3 points higher.my doc was impressed because it was so cheap and worked that good.

Was this review helpful? (11) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GRAINBOY1
Alliance,Nebraska.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Can't beat this
6/8/2010

Customer review by DealSurferAlso

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by DealSurferAlso
by DealSurferAlso

Works great and the test strips are the best price there is! No reason not to use this.

Was this review helpful? (45) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DealSurferAlso
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
A great value!!
2/24/2011

Customer review by AnatomyLady

5.0 stars 2/24/2011 by AnatomyLady
by AnatomyLady

I am an insulin-dependent diabetic. One of the most important factors in maintaining control of diabetes is frequent blood glucose testing. Unfortunately, maintaining a supply of glucose test strips is one of the greatest expenses for diabetes. I have used Relion blood glucose testing equipment for several years now, and have recently switched to the Relion Confirm model. The Relion Confirm meter has worked great thus far -- I have had absolutely no problems with it. The test strips are extremely cost-effective, and require a much smaller drop of blood for each test.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AnatomyLady
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
extememly inaccurate
9/23/2015

Customer review by gravey

1.0 stars 9/23/2015 by gravey
by gravey

reli-on meters need to be taken off the market. very in accurate. My readings are constantly between 500-600. If that was correct, I should be DEAD!!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
gravey
Would recommend to a friend? No
I wish these were more consistent
11/23/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 11/23/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I've been using a Bayer Contour meter which Consumer Reports rated as "average" in accuracy. Since the Relion strips are cheaper, I switched to them with a Confirm meter, which was rated as 'above average' in accuracy. But, it measured 15 points higher than the Contour meter from the same blood drop! So I bought a Relion Micro, which was rated "excellent" in accuracy. Since both the Confirm and Micro use the same strips I didn't see how there could be a difference in accuracy, but there was. If, for example, the Contour measured 100 and the Confirm measured 115, the Micro measured 108 - again all from the same blood drop! The FDA requires accuracy within 20%, which all these meters meet, but that's potentially 40-point difference!. My advice? Get the Micro.

Was this review helpful? (17) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Washington State
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great little meter
2/12/2014

Customer review by Patrizia11

5.0 stars 2/12/2014 by Patrizia11
by Patrizia11
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I wasn't sure what to expect but I am very pleased with this little meter. It is replacing a OneTouch Ultra (which I loved) and I have found they come up with the same reading when testing!!! n And this one is a LOT more affordable!!!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Patrizia11
Athens, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not use this device
10/28/2013

Customer review by QualityTester127

1.0 stars 10/28/2013 by QualityTester127
by QualityTester127
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Despite the attractive price point for this product, this meter is very unreliable. After purchasing this meter, I conducted two tests. First, I executed two test readings on a bollod sample from the same site, 30 seconds apart. The test results revealed a variance of 55 points. In the second test I tested another sample using this device and another, more expensive, device that has proved to be reliable over a number of years. The test used the same blood sample five seconds apart. This device delivered a reading 55 points higher than my older device. Three similar tests produced similar results.

Was this review helpful? (23) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QualityTester127
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Easy to use
4/27/2011

Customer review by snave51

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by snave51
by snave51

I did have to read the instructions-lol. I am new to doing this procedure, however I had a very short learning curve with this meter. It has memory storage, which is helpful. It came with a case, lancet holder, sample lancets. I was pleasantly surprised with that. I like this product line and would recommend it. The test strips are not as pricey as other meters I researched.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snave51
Ocean Shores, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Not fancy, but does the job well
7/3/2011

Customer review by petuniafish

5.0 stars 7/3/2011 by petuniafish
by petuniafish

Don't think you can beat the price on this. $9 for the meter and then you buy 100 strips for $39. That's amazing compared to other systems. Under $50 for the whole shebang. (the lancets are additional $3 for 100.) Not all the features as on costlier machines, but you can buy TWO of these and still be money ahead. Very happy with the purchase. It's very accurate most importantly.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
petuniafish
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
5/10/2012

Customer review by betty62

2.0 stars 5/10/2012 by betty62
by betty62

this one runs high numbers to other meters , i used my daughters meter and the doctors office meter and this one gave me a much higher read

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
betty62
Trenton, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
RELY ON CAN NOT BE RELIED ON
11/19/2013

Customer review by artyellowdog

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by artyellowdog
by artyellowdog

HAVE BEEN USING FOR A WHILE..GETTING LOW READINGS (50'S AND 60'S) AND LOW PRINT....RESULTS ..BUT I FELT OK. SO FINALLY I GOT MYSELF ONE TOUCH AND FREE STYLE...WITH THE SAME BLOOD SAMPLE FROM THE SAME FINGER, I TESTED NORMAL 82... I HAVE GOTTEN READINGS ON RELY ON OVER 230 AND IMMEDIATELY RECHECKED SAME RELY ON METER SECONDS AFTER AND IT TESTED 98...THE READINGS ARE UNRELIABLE...I HAVE TWO RELY ON METERS..SO IT IS NOT THAT ONE METER IS INACCURATE..THEY BOTH ARE.. SO I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS METER

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
artyellowdog
Brooklyn,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Basic But Works Well And Affordable
3/3/2012

Customer review by ANewCustomer

4.0 stars 3/3/2012 by ANewCustomer
by ANewCustomer

I have been using the Relion Confirm for one week now, testing about four times a day, and I feel confident in recommending it to others who are not sure of which blood glucose meter to get. It seems to be: 1) Accurate 2) Consistent 3) Easy to use 4) Requires only a small (3 ML) blood sample (some other meters require a blood sample two or three times as large) 5) Affordable 6) Automatic coding of test strips The negatives of this meter are that: 1) Less memory than some other meters (350 tests compared to 450 or more tests) 2) No control solution included with it (have to send away for it from relion - but it is apparently free) 3) No included cable or software to download results (to be fair, most other meters require you to buy the cable and software separately, too, and if they HAD included it, the price would be significantly higher). 4) The carrying case is a little bit on the small side. Some people might think of that as a plus, since it will be more convenient to carry. However, I like to carry my glucose tabs and logbook in my case, and putting both those in there makes it too difficult to close the case. All in all, an affordable meter with affordable test strips that gets the job done.

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ANewCustomer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Perfect for testing a diabetic cat
12/17/2012

Customer review by fuonk

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by fuonk
by fuonk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the meter to test the blood glucose levels of my cat. For this purpose, my number one requirement was a meter which required as small a quantity of blood as possible. This meter requires 0.3 microliters, which ties with the lowest amounts required by any other commercially available meters I could find. I have used the meter for about three weeks now, and so far, I have no complaints whatsoever. It was easy to learn to use, the capillary action of the test strips is capable of sucking up a tiny drop of blood even when I can barely see it, and the results seem consistent and reliable (the first result was very close to that produced by a recent laboratory test). The meter stores the most recent results-- I forget how many, but at least a hundred-- which is a convenient aid in keeping records. (I think having the results transmitted to a computer via wireless is overkill, but this model doesn't have that feature, if that's what you want.) The test strips are not the least expensive ones on the market, but they are fairly low in price. Three weeks is a short time for reviewing any device, but if it continues to function as well as it has so far, I would say that it is an excellent purchase. I tested it on my own blood, too, so it is not only useful for cats. :-)

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fuonk
Sarastota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Extremely Inaccurate
1/10/2015

Customer review by Drumb

1.0 stars 1/10/2015 by Drumb
by Drumb

I purchased this meter, lancets and test trips. I checked it against two other meters for accuracy. six out of eight tests it was 70 points higher than the other meters (in the two hundred range). I wished I could get my money back. Do not use this meter.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Drumb
Would recommend to a friend? No
extremely inaccurate meter
10/26/2014

Customer review by BeDeT1

1.0 stars 10/26/2014 by BeDeT1
by BeDeT1

I usually use a One Touch Ultra Mini that I really like, but the strips are very expensive and my insurance company will not give me as many as I need per month. I bought this meter to use as a backup when I run out of strips for my other meter because of the low cost of strips. The results that I get when comparing the two meters vary by as much as 80 points. I understand that the fda only requires that meters be 20% accurate, but this is unacceptable. I don't recommend this meter to anyone who actually cares what his/her blood glucose is.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BeDeT1
Would recommend to a friend? No
1-20 of 52 total reviews
1-20 of 52 reviews