Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

3.5 stars

71 reviews | 3.4 out of 5

60%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
33
4 stars
6
3 stars
6
2 stars
7
1 stars
19
1-20 of 67 total reviews
60%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews
Not consistent or accurate enough for me
9/25/2016

Customer review by Humeston

1.0 stars 9/25/2016 by Humeston
by Humeston

I just purchased the ReliOn Prime meter from Walmart and the test strips. I may be losing health insurance soon so wanted to see if this would work for me. I tested it right after a large meal, so expected high readings. (I am Type II). I tested four times, using the same finger, different test strips etc. My readings were 262, 270,301,260. If I did not have that 301 reading I would have been OK. The range from 262 to 270 is pretty good actually. But tossing in a 301? Yikes. Granted, many meters are less accurate with high sugar readings, so I am going to test it again later today when I am experiencing lower numbers and see how it works. By contrast, my Bayer Contour USB meter stayed within 8 points. I encourage everyone to test your meter to see the range.

Was this review helpful? (13) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Humeston
Would recommend to a friend? No
DOES NOT HAVE A CONTROL SOLUTION BOTTLE
1/28/2017

Customer review by Heidi

1.0 stars 1/28/2017 by Heidi
by Heidi

The prices looked great, but I regret it now. I looked at the item description and it did not say anything about what you'd get in the package. When it arrived, the box had a glucose monitor, lancing device, 10 lancets, a case, instructions, and a logbook. IT DID NOT HAVE A CONTROL SOLUTION BOTTLE. In fact, it said that I had to go online or call for my "complimentary bottle". Whose bright idea was it to remove the solution from the package if it's supposed to be free? The lady on the phone told me that it'd take 7 to 14 business days for the control solution bottle to arrive. That is dangerous. Yes, you still can "use it," but you won't know if the results are accurate. I'm returning everything immediately. Don't waste your money on this. I'm poor, but I don't have a choice. I'm already rationing my own insulin supply, and I have to buy the super expensive testing strips to stay alive!

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Heidi
Would recommend to a friend? No
Very good meter BUT...
1/15/2017

Customer review by TruckerZach

5.0 stars 1/15/2017 by TruckerZach
by TruckerZach

This meter is small, downloadable and feature packed. However, control solution is not readily available for it at the Walmart pharmacy. There is good news however... Simply pick up OneTouch Ultra solution when you buy this meter. It'll solve most of the issues that pertain to the accuracy of this model. I have several meters including this one (the ReliOn Confirm), a ReliOn Ultima, 2 OneTouch Ultras, 2 Accu-Cheks and 2 Bayer Contour Nexts in my collection and this meter reads very close to those after calibration. Also if you have an iPhone or Android phone, subscribe to Glooko and get the MeterSync Blue once you buy this meter so you can get rid of paper logs for good.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TruckerZach
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product but...
4/16/2011

Customer review by OldDinosaur

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by OldDinosaur
by OldDinosaur

I bought this meter because I had inadvertently purchased the test strips for it thinking they were for the old Reli On meter I've had for several years. After I opened the box I realized I had the wrong strips. Since I couldn't return them I decided to upgrade to the new meter (it was only $9.00). It's a great meter, but so was the old one. I only gave it 4 stars for the overall & features ratings because of a couple of fairly minor things. 1st, there are not as many pockets to hold everything as the old meter (only two). At first, it was difficult to tell when enough blood had been absorbed, but that's a matter of learning how to use it. Also, I think it may be more difficult to tell when you are running out of strips because of the container - it would help if it were transparent. It reads as quickly as my previous Reli On. My suggestion for those who have the older Reli On meter is to keep the old one until it stops working. But for those who don't have a Reli On, buy it! It is a great buy compared to the major brands.

Was this review helpful? (40) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
OldDinosaur
Germantown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great product
1/29/2011

Customer review by BonzoFromBozo

5.0 stars 1/29/2011 by BonzoFromBozo
by BonzoFromBozo

Does everything I wanted in a blood glucose monitor. I notice some people are concerned about the accuracy of these home blood glucose monitors. One thing to consider is that consistency is more important than absolute accuracy, and this monitor is quite consistent. That is, you want several samples taken right after one another to give close results, even if all those results are somewhat high or low, since you can later calibrate the monitor by comparing with lab results. Or you can use the control solution, which I've sent off for (free from Relion) but haven't yet received. I have no reason to think the monitor isn't accurate in an absolute sense, I should note. In any case, the monitor definitely does do what I wanted. Namely, show me which foods tend to cause blood sugar spikes and allow me to do home glucose tolerance testing to see how my insulin sensitivity is coming back now that I've lost weight. This device is much cheaper than the other monitors (only 40 cents per test strip versus a dollar for the others) and the fingerprick device is fairly painless.

Was this review helpful? (129) (22)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BonzoFromBozo
bozo, US
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Terribly Inaccurate
9/29/2016

Customer review by TLaez

1.0 stars 9/29/2016 by TLaez
by TLaez

I purchased this meter while pregnant to check my blood glucose levels just out of curiosity because I was worried about getting gestational diabetes. I tested myself a few times a day for weeks and my levels were always showing up between 100- 120, even before breakfast in the mornings. On the day I went for my gestational diabetes test, I tested myself right before drinking the glucose drink and I tested at 76. Then after waiting the 1 hour my blood was drawn by the hospital lab for the test. I went into the hospital bathroom and took my own blood glucose test with this meter and the result showed 102. My blood work came in and my blood glucose level from the lab draw was 64!!! Here I have been so worried that I was borderline diabetic because of this monitor!!! What a Terrible product!! My doctor told me to get rid of this moniter and never use it again. What a waste of time and money.

Was this review helpful? (10) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TLaez
Would recommend to a friend? No
ReliOn Prime Blood Glucose Meter
2/27/2016

Customer review by TiborC

1.0 stars 2/27/2016 by TiborC
by TiborC

This meter and the associated test strips are very inaccurate and inconsistent. I am predictable and wanted to find out what foods and exercise would affect my blood glucose level. So i conducted a large number of test. At one point I found that within after running for .2 miles my level would drop 6, 12, even 18 points at different times. Then one day it did not drop instead it went up 6, 10 or more points. I thought that did not make sense. I decided to make up to four measurements one right after another getting blood from four different fingers on the same hand. The results were 82, 92, 97, 106. Wow how could that be? Could I have different blood glucose levels in different fingers all with a couple of minutes? My measurement technique was the same. I decided to get a larger sample of blood from the same finger and measure it four times. The results were 112, 104, 102, 112. Now I know the only variable were the four different test strips I used. With such a huge variation this product has no credibility with me. IF you have a similar product I would suggest conducting a similar test.

Was this review helpful? (49) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TiborC
Would recommend to a friend? No
Save your money. Do not buy this.
6/30/2016

Customer review by Bluekitty1969

1.0 stars 6/30/2016 by Bluekitty1969
by Bluekitty1969

I am recently diagnosed diabetic and and test myself two maybe three times a day as I am learning about my numbers. The first meter I bought is the Accu-Chek Aviva Plus. But, I ran out of the test strips and thought I would purchase this Relion meter and strips until my insurance came through for more test strips. Here is what I noticed: When I use the Relion meter my glucose number was 9 points higher than when I tested on the same place at the same time as when I used the Accu-Chek. That is a big jump for me because it means I would have to be prescribed medicine versus continuing on with diet and Excersize. I should have read the reviews on this before I bought it. It is extremely inaccurate and I have wasted my money. I will be going to the pharmacy first thing tomorrow to buy my Accu-Check test strips out of pocket before I do another test with this meter. It is garbage.

Was this review helpful? (18) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Bluekitty1969
Would recommend to a friend? No
Get rid of it. Not an accurate and will fool you
1/18/2017

Customer review by Rinty

1.0 stars 1/18/2017 by Rinty
by Rinty

I am a pregnant on my last trimester. I purchased this kit to help me keep tracking my blood sugar/glucose. Based its results i had to believe that I do not have to worry about this decease. In fact, when I took a tolerance test I realized that i made a huge mistake in my life trusting this wortless product. I have not only wasted my money, but I actually trapped myself in a bad situation. Please stay away from it

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rinty
Would recommend to a friend? No
New to All This!
8/13/2010

Customer review by dblankenship7

5.0 stars 8/13/2010 by dblankenship7
by dblankenship7

I recently turned 50 and during a routine physical was told my blood sugar was 229mg. I have been on medication for 2 weeks now, and have changed my diet. My Dr. said to test at least 3-4 times a day for the first month, so I was definately looking for value. I chose the Confirm Blue because the strips were only $20 for 50ct. It works great and very quick and easy to do, no codes to enter and very little blood is necessary for strips to work. I also called and got the control solution (no charge) just to be sure everything was working right, and it was accurate. I like being able to just scroll back and see how my numbers have continued to drop over the last 2 weeks since starting my program. I'm very happy with the product and the price can't be beat!!

Was this review helpful? (125) (21)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
dblankenship7
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
high readings
7/2/2016

Customer review by mark

1.0 stars 7/2/2016 by mark
by mark

whether it's the test strips or the meter i constantly get readings 20-25 pts higher than my accu-chek if my glucose level is above 100..under 100 it's pretty close. I bought this meter to save on test strips but i don't trust it.......

Was this review helpful? (13) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mark
Would recommend to a friend? No
Don't rely on this
10/20/2016

Customer review by Rickynnc

1.0 stars 10/20/2016 by Rickynnc
by Rickynnc

I am not diabetic but I still like to keep a check on my blood glucose. I recently went to Walmart to purchase test strips for my acu-check meter. Walmart was out of the strips. Being that Walmart was out of the test strips I decided to buy this meter. Every time I have checked my results with this meter the readings have been through the roof, much higher than my old acu-check. I also had my wife check her glucose and it was over 140 in the morning before eating. My wife has never had an issue with high glucose EVER even her doctor told her she would never have to worry about diabetes because of her metabolism. This meter can't be trusted!

Was this review helpful? (8) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rickynnc
Would recommend to a friend? No
What's happening with your product?
5/26/2016

Customer review by diabeticeducator

4.0 stars 5/26/2016 by diabeticeducator
by diabeticeducator

I am a diabetic educator and I prescribe the Rely On for my clients who are self pay. My husband and I have used the product for years as well and are well satisfied with it. I just sent a patient to pick her's up and she was to bring it to her first class so I could show her how to use it. When I opened the package. which was factory sealed, the only thing in the box was the glucometer. All our previous models came with a few lancets, a few strips , and a lancing device. I called our local Walmart and they said I should have written for a lancing device as they are not included. Since when? That is really cheap on your part. I will think twice before I write another script for your product.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
diabeticeducator
Would recommend to a friend? No
Nice meter, great value
1/27/2011

Customer review by JinksB

4.0 stars 1/27/2011 by JinksB
by JinksB

I was happy with my old glucose meter, but my insurance company raised the co-pay on the strips, and they were too expensive for me to afford. I decided to buy the Relion solely for its cheaper strips. I wasn't expecting much, but I was pleasantly surprised. The meter is accurate, the lancing device much better than my old one, and the strips require much less blood. My only quibble is the non-intuitive interface. I'm very happy with the Relion meter. (And it's cuter than my old one, too.)

Was this review helpful? (50) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JinksB
Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Perfect for testing a diabetic cat
12/17/2012

Customer review by fuonk

5.0 stars 12/17/2012 by fuonk
by fuonk
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought the meter to test the blood glucose levels of my cat. For this purpose, my number one requirement was a meter which required as small a quantity of blood as possible. This meter requires 0.3 microliters, which ties with the lowest amounts required by any other commercially available meters I could find. I have used the meter for about three weeks now, and so far, I have no complaints whatsoever. It was easy to learn to use, the capillary action of the test strips is capable of sucking up a tiny drop of blood even when I can barely see it, and the results seem consistent and reliable (the first result was very close to that produced by a recent laboratory test). The meter stores the most recent results-- I forget how many, but at least a hundred-- which is a convenient aid in keeping records. (I think having the results transmitted to a computer via wireless is overkill, but this model doesn't have that feature, if that's what you want.) The test strips are not the least expensive ones on the market, but they are fairly low in price. Three weeks is a short time for reviewing any device, but if it continues to function as well as it has so far, I would say that it is an excellent purchase. I tested it on my own blood, too, so it is not only useful for cats. :-)

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
fuonk
Sarastota, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Do not use this device
10/28/2013

Customer review by QualityTester127

1.0 stars 10/28/2013 by QualityTester127
by QualityTester127
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Despite the attractive price point for this product, this meter is very unreliable. After purchasing this meter, I conducted two tests. First, I executed two test readings on a bollod sample from the same site, 30 seconds apart. The test results revealed a variance of 55 points. In the second test I tested another sample using this device and another, more expensive, device that has proved to be reliable over a number of years. The test used the same blood sample five seconds apart. This device delivered a reading 55 points higher than my older device. Three similar tests produced similar results.

Was this review helpful? (42) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
QualityTester127
Delaware
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't beat this
6/8/2010

Customer review by DealSurferAlso

5.0 stars 6/8/2010 by DealSurferAlso
by DealSurferAlso

Works great and the test strips are the best price there is! No reason not to use this.

Was this review helpful? (47) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DealSurferAlso
Orlando
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Easy to use
4/27/2011

Customer review by snave51

5.0 stars 4/27/2011 by snave51
by snave51

I did have to read the instructions-lol. I am new to doing this procedure, however I had a very short learning curve with this meter. It has memory storage, which is helpful. It came with a case, lancet holder, sample lancets. I was pleasantly surprised with that. I like this product line and would recommend it. The test strips are not as pricey as other meters I researched.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snave51
Ocean Shores, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every day
Great little meter.
9/27/2011

Customer review by GRAINBOY1

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by GRAINBOY1
by GRAINBOY1

Bought this meter because of price and because i don't have insurance.I compaired it with my freestyle meter and the relion meter was 4 points lower.I took it with me on my last visit to see my doctor and checked it with his test at the lab and it was right on the mark. my freestyle was 3 points higher.my doc was impressed because it was so cheap and worked that good.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GRAINBOY1
Alliance,Nebraska.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
RELY ON CAN NOT BE RELIED ON
11/19/2013

Customer review by artyellowdog

1.0 stars 11/19/2013 by artyellowdog
by artyellowdog

HAVE BEEN USING FOR A WHILE..GETTING LOW READINGS (50'S AND 60'S) AND LOW PRINT....RESULTS ..BUT I FELT OK. SO FINALLY I GOT MYSELF ONE TOUCH AND FREE STYLE...WITH THE SAME BLOOD SAMPLE FROM THE SAME FINGER, I TESTED NORMAL 82... I HAVE GOTTEN READINGS ON RELY ON OVER 230 AND IMMEDIATELY RECHECKED SAME RELY ON METER SECONDS AFTER AND IT TESTED 98...THE READINGS ARE UNRELIABLE...I HAVE TWO RELY ON METERS..SO IT IS NOT THAT ONE METER IS INACCURATE..THEY BOTH ARE.. SO I WOULD NOT RECOMMEND THIS METER

Was this review helpful? (28) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
artyellowdog
Brooklyn,NY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 67 total reviews
1-20 of 67 reviews