Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 74 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

4.5 stars

74 reviews | 4.6 out of 5

96%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
52
4 stars
15
3 stars
4
2 stars
2
1 stars
1
1-20 of 66 total reviews
96%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews
Coleman Dome Tent
9/8/2010

Customer review by environment

4.0 stars 9/8/2010 by environment
by environment

Quick set up, nicely made, screens front & back and compartments in front & back. Best bang for your buck. Last tent I purchased was Ozark Trail for $22.00 I used it 4 times, poles broke... you get what you pay for... Queen size mattress fits nicely with room for some gear on either side, I would say this is a two person (we slept two adults and one black lab)....

Was this review helpful? (36) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
environment
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
9/1/2013

Customer review by rparr

4.0 stars 9/1/2013 by rparr
by rparr

used 3 times at Sturgis. stayed dry. ok for one person with twin air bed and gear. easy to assemble.

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
rparr
st.louis
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Great 1 person tent
8/23/2010

Customer review by omysweetcarolina

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by omysweetcarolina
by omysweetcarolina

This is a great product. Very easy to set up, very well made. I bought this to use when camping alone, which I do frequently. It is really small. I knew it would be, but it is even smaller than I imagined, because of the inward/upward narrowing of the walls. This was a problem with my twin air mattress, because I use an elevated mattress. I did squeeze it in there but it was bulging the sides out, which would have caused the tent to leak if it had rained. I could not have inflated it inside the tent, so thank goodness it fit through the door. So now I am going to have to buy a regular thin air mattress to make this tent work for me. I'm not thrilled about that 'cause I love my high mattress, but it will definitely not work with this tent. Just a heads-up to those who have tall mattresses. If I had a do-over I would get the same tent but the next size up. Unfortunately, I don't think WM carries that size.

Was this review helpful? (21) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
omysweetcarolina
Charleston, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Great buy
7/5/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 7/5/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Short and sweet- this is a good buy! You can fit three people on a queen air mattress in it with no problem. Very easy to put together and very light. My only suggestion is that you bring a fan with you. The vents work great, but in 104 degree weather, even they can't do enough.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Lebanon, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Awesome
5/19/2011

Customer review by jewelkkk

5.0 stars 5/19/2011 by jewelkkk
by jewelkkk

i like all coleman tents because they are alll very water proof and i will atach a video of a storm while people are camping in a coleman tent and they dont not get wet and the tent didnt not leak one bit

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jewelkkk
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
great combination of features, quality, and price
1/9/2011

Customer review by WhittTX

5.0 stars 1/9/2011 by WhittTX
by WhittTX

Replaced a tent we have had for over 20 years because it had lived a full life. Looking for something that would sleep three with easy setup. This tent has it all. I was able to set it up by myself at night with a flashlight in around 10 minutes. First the features. Single wide door for easy access. Size is just right for a queen air mattress if you use them with some space on one size for clothes, cooler, etc. Has a small port in the back that you can use to access a cooler or in our case use as a doggie door for our two medium size 65 pound mixes. Also has an electrical pass thru so it doesn't obstruct one of the other openings. Quality is better then the price suggests and should be judged on that basis. If you want better then you will need to spend two to three times this amount. Sleeps three easily of average size. Several nice little features such as two small item bags, hold back ties for the windows and doors, and a place in center to hang your lantern. As you can see very happy with purchase.

Was this review helpful? (95) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
WhittTX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Buy
10/10/2010

Customer review by IntheMiddleofNoWhere100

4.0 stars 10/10/2010 by IntheMiddleofNoWhere100
by IntheMiddleofNoWhere100

I purchased this tent for a weekend campout with family. It sets up in 5 to 10 minutes. A queen size air mattress fits perfectly with a little extra room for gear. It is rated for 3 persons but I would say 2 with some gear would be the limit. There was a thunderstorm during the first night with 3 inches of HEAVY rain and 30 mph sustained winds and gust up to 40. The tent preformed fantastically. Everything stayed in place and there was not a drop of water inside the tent after the storm. I was there for another two days and no moisture came through anywhere though the ground around was still soggy. The only thing that I was a little disappointed in was that the mesh vent in the door is only the upper half and not the full door. Other than that I have no complaints. Definitely the Coleman quality I expected.

Was this review helpful? (127) (14)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
IntheMiddleofNoWhere100
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Stayed Completely Dry
6/26/2012

Customer review by cdubplow

5.0 stars 6/26/2012 by cdubplow
by cdubplow

First of all, I ordered this item on a Wednesday and it arrived on Friday with standard shipping which I thought was pretty quick. Set up was super easy. The first time took me about 12 minutes. After i was familiar with it, it took me 7 minutes. My son and i went on a 3 day hike last weekend. We hiked over 15 miles total and i never felt the tent was too heavy. On the second day we had a tremendous thunderstorm with heavy rain and strong winds. Only then did I realize I had forgot to apply my seam sealer. Well, it didn't matter because the tent stayed completely dry. My son pointed out that there was about 2 inches of water under the tent because he could make waves with his had. No water seeped in from underneath or seeped in from the top. I could not have been more pleased and the price is great to say the least.

Was this review helpful? (17) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cdubplow
Albany, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great tent for the price
7/3/2012

Customer review by FirstTimeBeachCampers

5.0 stars 7/3/2012 by FirstTimeBeachCampers
by FirstTimeBeachCampers

My wife and I purchased this tent for a weekend camping trip at the beach. If you plan on camping on the beach also, I would recommend you buy some bigger tent stakes like we did. The ones that come with the tent are pretty small and thin and will not work well in sand. It was pretty easy to set up, even for our very first time setting up a tent. The product description claims this is a '3-person tent', but I wouldn't recommend it be used for 3 adults. More like 2 and maybe a small child, and if you bring an inflatable mattress, then forget about the small child it will be too crowded. If you have 3 adults, then maybe a 4-person tent would be better suited. It rained a little that night, and was somewhat breezy on that beach, but the tent held fast and kept us dry. Use the guy lines, it will fortify the tent. The tent has ventilation flaps in both the front and the back of the tent, so it didn't get too muggy as tents tend to get when you have people zipped up inside. The only major complaint is we couldn't get the tent back into the carrying bag afterwards, but it doesn't deserve any less stars.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FirstTimeBeachCampers
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Excellent quality
6/21/2016

Customer review by Debbie

5.0 stars 6/21/2016 by Debbie
by Debbie
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I was needing a new tent and wanted something more "name" brand. I know Coleman is a good brand so I decided on this one. My last tent was from Walmart and lasted me 11 years, however it was past it's prime. I wanted something the same size and just as easy to set up and take down. The added benefit of it being more rain resistant was what sold me on it.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Debbie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Excellent Tent
4/13/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 4/13/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I recently purchased this tent for a camping trip with just me and my dog. Before I took it out I tested it in my backyard during a thunderstorm. Without seam sealing it stayed dry in heavy rains and moderate to heavy winds. It is well ventilated and better quality than the cheaper store brand tents. I really like that the seams are all sewn inside and that it can be set up in 5 minutes (even for the inexperienced.) This is an excellent tent for the price. Naturally there are going to be better tents for the lightweight backpackers or harsh weather campers, but those people know they will pay more for those specific needs. But if you just want to get away for a few weekends a year I would recommend this tent for 2 adults and a small child or a dog.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Perfect!
7/22/2013

Customer review by Miguel

5.0 stars 7/22/2013 by Miguel
by Miguel

I needed a tent that wasn't too big to pack on my motorcycle but was big enough for 2 adults along with storage for gear. This Colman dome tent was perfect! Its quick & Easy to setup takes me less than 10 minutes it is extremely well ventilated so ideal for warm weather and it is very waterproof and does not leak! Had 70-80 mph winds blow through campground up north last month with Heavy rains and this tent wasn't fazed a bit. This tent also rolls up very compact and lightweight & setup is so easy anyone can do it. It has a large front zippered door and you get a nice breeze with the zippered screens open 5 vented areas total.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Miguel
Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:9 - 10 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Just what I needed
9/13/2010

Customer review by Goodreviewer746123

5.0 stars 9/13/2010 by Goodreviewer746123
by Goodreviewer746123

I am not a big camper, just needed something to get me through a weekend. This was perfect. Just big enough for a double air mattress, but it must be inflated in the tent. Had a horrible rain storm and with the rain cover nothing got in except from a small zipper opening in a corner, which was user error, not product deficiency. Easy to put together and take apart. Great for the newbie camper or just a small couple, perhaps kids sharing a tent. I strongly recommend this tent. Make sure to get a tarp for under the tent in case of rain!

Was this review helpful? (20) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Goodreviewer746123
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great value
4/19/2011

Customer review by randyeaglescout

5.0 stars 4/19/2011 by randyeaglescout
by randyeaglescout

Purchased for smaller tent for camping when just myself or one child. Great quality, setup VERY easy, zippers and opening well done. Light enough for backbacking, would recommend better stakes if rough weather is predicted. Should be a great tent for years.

Was this review helpful? (37) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
randyeaglescout
Southwest Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
coleman 7x7 sundome tent
7/11/2010

Customer review by mmstme

5.0 stars 7/11/2010 by mmstme
by mmstme

We used it for the first time and it was a great buy. It was well ventilated and sturdy. Nothing broke and easily setup and took down. great Buy for 49.00.

Was this review helpful? (38) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mmstme
lafayette tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Great starter tent
9/11/2012

Customer review by cosmokramer3

4.0 stars 9/11/2012 by cosmokramer3
by cosmokramer3

We just had our first weekend using this Coleman tent and it rained the second night. No leaking! The only slight condensation we had was due to an air mattress touching the side of the tent. After we moved it away from the side there was no more problems. Overall, we are really happy with this tent. It is just big enough for two people and luggage despite it being 3 person tent. I guess a small child could fit in too though. Make sure to buy and apply a seam sealer before using which we found to be really helpful in maintaining water proof quality. Also the top two side panels are all mesh, so it doesn't retain heat as well as other tents, so make sure you have enough blankets if you are camping when nights get cool.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
cosmokramer3
Chicago,IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Go With The "Hooligan 2."
6/19/2011

Customer review by Muchohombre

3.0 stars 6/19/2011 by Muchohombre
by Muchohombre

I own this tent and the "Hooligan 2" which is also made by Coleman. In my opinion the "Hooligan 2" is superior in every way. While this tent is one square foot bigger the " Hooligan 2" is laid out better. With a higher roof line. It also has a bigger door so it is easier to enter and exit it. The tent itself on the "Hooligan 2" is made entirely of mesh. This provides great ventilation. During wet weather the "Hooligan 2" has a full coverage rain fly which you attach to the tent. Making it very waterproof. Of course always seam seal a new tent! The rain fly also gives you a small vestibule at the door. A good place to keep your shoes or other small items you don't want to have inside the tent. Unlike this tent the "Hooligan 2" is not a free standing tent. So buy better tent stakes. Both my "Coleman" tents came with the same kind of stakes. Which I could best describe as paperclips on steroids. They will bend on you! Even though this tent is rated for 3 people I wouldn't want to try and fit more than 2 in either one. Most people will find it strange that I have spent more time reviewing the "Hooligan 2" tent than this "Sundome" tent. That's because I feel that 99% of people will like the "Hooligan 2" tent better. One last thing. If you shop around online you will find that both these tents are about the same price.

Was this review helpful? (18) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Muchohombre
Mercer, Pa.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:7 - 8 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Camping Experience
7/31/2010

Customer review by CampOutdoor

4.0 stars 7/31/2010 by CampOutdoor
by CampOutdoor

1st experience camping. The tent was smaller than anticipated. A queen size air mattress did fit, but little room elsewhere. Did have a great camping experience.

Was this review helpful? (22) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CampOutdoor
WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Coleman Tent
8/9/2015

Customer review by Autodoc55

5.0 stars 8/9/2015 by Autodoc55
by Autodoc55

Used the tent for overnight fishing/camping trip for me it is perfect size to hold all my gear and still have room for me and my dog. This is my second tent from Coleman (last one 4 person slept 2 people, dog and all gear) my first one lasted me 15 years with that tent I camped in dry and wet conditions. In wet raining conditions the sides did get wet even with scotch guard but cheap blue tarp as extra rain fly solved that trouble. To me for the money this is a great value easy to set up and store after use.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Autodoc55
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Very nice
9/30/2010

Customer review by snayke

5.0 stars 9/30/2010 by snayke
by snayke

I bought this tent to go kayacking and camping for the weekend.Very easy to set out and to take down.Love the ventalation.It was hot during the day and cool at night,so the tent did very well.The small cooler acsess in the corner worked well for a vent at my head.Alot of due feel at night,and I stayed dry all night.Sleep in sleeping bag right on the tent floor.Nothing got wet. Great buy.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snayke
Baxley Ga.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
1-20 of 66 total reviews
1-20 of 66 reviews