Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 39 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

39 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

72%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
17
4 stars
10
3 stars
0
2 stars
3
1 stars
9
1-20 of 39 total reviews
72%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews
Will only last 6 trips to the beach
6/11/2016

Customer review by Sharsby

2.0 stars 6/11/2016 by Sharsby
by Sharsby

I have bought/returned this canopy 3 times. I just bought it again for the fourth time and it has already broken (2 weeks). The coleman 12x12 is made with thinner x cross bars that span from leg to leg. They open and close in order to fold the canopy up and down. Since the metal is thinner and less is used for each tube that makes each x, they are very flimsy. The weak point is where the x interests and a bolt is needed to join the 2 pieces of metal. Since the metal is very thin there is little to no metal surrounding the bolt. The cross bars will break right around the bolt. It has happened to my family and I 4 times now. We go to the beach every weekend, and it will last an average of 6 trips to the beach. It does provide a great amount of shade for a family of 4 and friends, but the product does not last.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sharsby
Would recommend to a friend? No
poor quality
7/29/2016

Customer review by mudcurls

1.0 stars 7/29/2016 by mudcurls
by mudcurls
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Do not purchase this item if you do not plan to take it down after every use. I had this sun shelter up in my yard and there was a light rain storm that occurred and the center of the frame snapped and bent and just broke at all the poorly welded joints. This was great and easy to put up , it did take 2 of us but it was up in minutes. I did return it to Walmart as defective and there were no questions asked. Great customer service. I tried and purchased another one and receive it , again we had it up for a week and it was doing great, another rain shower came through and destroyed the entire frame. It was not made like it was three years ago when we first purchased a Coleman pop up sub shelter, we kept it up in our yard all summer long and had no issues and it lasted three years until tre canopy fabric got so weathered from the sun it dry rotted and tore .

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mudcurls
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
product poor construction poor warrenty
6/16/2016

Customer review by DocAndrew

1.0 stars 6/16/2016 by DocAndrew
by DocAndrew

We purchased this canopy for its convenience of easy set up and it appeared to be heavy duty construction, We saw on the Coleman web site the canopy's wind tests with gusts up to 40 mph. We had the canopy only one week when a rain storm came through our area and destroyed the canopy. I called the Coleman customer service people an they said we should have taken the canopy down every night and before any rain storm. This after showing video of at withstanding a wind test. imagine taking down the canopy with the rain coming down and winds gusting. I thought it was a canopy cover to protect you from the storms. Thank you Walmart for the cash refund

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DocAndrew
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great canopy!!
8/23/2016

Customer review by Kimberrock

5.0 stars 8/23/2016 by Kimberrock
by Kimberrock
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Easy to set up and looks great.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kimberrock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
The standard by which the others are measured.
6/4/2016

Customer review by Sparky57

5.0 stars 6/4/2016 by Sparky57
by Sparky57
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is not my first 12x12 from Coleman. For a consumer type canopy I have not seen anything better. a commercial grade canopy will probably cost double. It is much more spacious than the 10x10, and should also be distinguished from the other "eve" type canopies, where the legs are 10' square and the top overhangs the legs, or the slant leg jobs. I got three long (9 month?) seasons out of my last one on Long Island, and it would have been longer but for stormy weather damage. The material on this one seems ever so slightly thinner and more reflective than the last one. There has also been a redesign of the ceiling area which seems sturdier than before and maybe a foot or 2 taller than they were. The screened vent panels in the ceiling have been eliminated. I think this is an improvement because it keeps the rain out better than before. This is a little funny because the product is now marked "Instant Sun Shelter" on the sides. The stakes that come with the canopy are only for the absolute "windless" days. Mine is set up on a concrete patio, so I installed it first with lag bolts through the feet into lead anchors drilled into the concrete. The wind would progressively loosen these, so I then tied the unit down using bungee cords from the loops at the top corners of the canopy to nearby anchor points like fencing or railings. This way the thing can move around a little without loosening. On soft ground, I think those corkscrew type anchors (often used to tie out dogs) would be the minimum necessary. Enjoy the dry shade this canopy will provide, but remember it is a very large parachute kind of shaped object which will catch the wind, and can easily go flying/tumbling away, harming persons and property in its path.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Sparky57
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great quality for the money
7/7/2010

Customer review by natrlvr

5.0 stars 7/7/2010 by natrlvr
by natrlvr

This is an excellent product for the money. It was easy to set up and the frame seems very sturdy. We have it set up permanently on our patio and it provides protection from both sun and rain.

Was this review helpful? (36) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
natrlvr
Buffalo, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Very Nice Canopy!
2/7/2015

Customer review by res101FL

4.0 stars 2/7/2015 by res101FL
by res101FL

Very pleased with this Canopy. We wanted it for over our outdoor patio, so it is used and up for long periods of time. it's easy to put up and down with two people and very sturdy, just don't use the cheaper stakes that it comes with for the cords to fasten it down with. We had to replace canopy with a second because one of the cord spikes pulled up over night within the first week of having it from wind and rain, water collected in loose pocket of canopy and buckled the frame in. We did like it enough to replace and this time purchased heavier duty tent spikes for the cords to secure it down better, that's all it needed.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
res101FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great Canopy!
5/27/2016

Customer review by ROCStarShopper16

5.0 stars 5/27/2016 by ROCStarShopper16
by ROCStarShopper16
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I bought this canopy to use at the park for our upcoming family reunion, but we tested it out on our deck to see how it would look. It was very easy to set up, and we liked that the frame is very strong. It covers our deck, which is great, and the design is really nice! Can't wait to set this up permanently on the deck, after the reunion!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
ROCStarShopper16
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great looking, sturdy tent
6/22/2011

Customer review by escrimador582

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by escrimador582
by escrimador582

Purchased this last-minute for a backyard party. It was to provide cover from rain rather than shade from the sun. It's a very good looking tent, and since the party was to celebrate our engagement we dressed it up by hanging large paper globes from the poles inside. It is quite sturdy so we just tied the 10 lbs dumb bells to the strings. Initial setup was very quick and easy. I was unsure what size tent we'd need. Once it was set up I realized this one was perfect. We had two 3x6 folding tables under the tent with plenty of room. All folded up the tent probably stores as a 5x1 rectangular box. This is a bargain at the current price and looks like it will last for years.

Was this review helpful? (25) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
escrimador582
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Poor quality
4/19/2014

Customer review by Mi2mod

2.0 stars 4/19/2014 by Mi2mod
by Mi2mod
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Bought this tent after much research and like the look. Delivery came on time as advertised. We need it for Easter brunch. We tried to set it up today for Easter brunch tomorrow. Guess what? One of the frames broke. We have to had it taped for now and hope it won't collapse during brunch tomorrow. It took more time and strength to set it up, and being tall would have the advantage because the tent is high. I must say, it looks very nice once it is up. Overall, disappointed because it broke the first time we set it up. Poor quality.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mi2mod
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
IT BROKE AFTER 2 WEEKS
8/15/2016

Customer review by CANOPY

1.0 stars 8/15/2016 by CANOPY
by CANOPY

HAD A PREVIOUS ONE THAT LASTED 3-4 YRS, THIS NEW ONE BROKE ON THE 1ST RAIN STORM

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CANOPY
Would recommend to a friend? No
Easy to use
5/5/2010

Customer review by clothespinchic

4.0 stars 5/5/2010 by clothespinchic
by clothespinchic

This canopy tent is easy to put together and provides nice shade. Would highly recommend. Coleman products are reliable!

Was this review helpful? (21) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
clothespinchic
Ocala, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per week
Coleman
8/25/2014

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 8/25/2014 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Recently purchased Cole auto drip coffee pot for my 2 burmer stove and a 12X12 easy up. Used them for the first time this past weekend camping. Rained for 2 days straigt but we had plenty of hot coffee and a large area to sit and talk without getting wet. Great buy and would reccomend both for camping or anyother outdoor activity.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
United States
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
5/11/2012

Customer review by Barbie58

1.0 stars 5/11/2012 by Barbie58
by Barbie58

The first time we used this camping it rained at night...when we got up the water had pooled on one end and it had crashed down and bent the frame...would not recommend this at all!

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Barbie58
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Ownership:1 week or less
Usage:Once per year
It is very attractive.
1/31/2013

Customer review by NashingMyTeeth

4.0 stars 1/31/2013 by NashingMyTeeth
by NashingMyTeeth
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We've had a lot of canopies over the years, but this is by far our favorite and most attractive. It is very tall in the center, and the overall look is quite colorful and fun. We will set it up as a permanenet cover over our small patio area for spring/summer/fall. Only time will tell if we get more than one year out of it. ..the material is not as thick as I would have hoped. Set up is quick and easy if you have two people. We lower the canopy on especially windy days.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NashingMyTeeth
NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Coleman 12' x 12 Canopy
5/2/2016

Customer review by SWPitt

4.0 stars 5/2/2016 by SWPitt
by SWPitt

I had purchased one some 15 moths ago and the material canopy had perished when I went to put it up again. I tried to purchase another canopy but they ha ve changed the design of the roof so it did not fit. I ordered a new setup and while I did not need the frame had to purchase it. I would suggest the purchase of a second spare canopy though. The quality is great and we use ours through out the summer but the material is only covered by a limited guaranteed for 1 year. But the fact we bought anoth one shows we were happy with the first one. I just hope they keep the same design for a few years!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SWPitt
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great tent for the beach.
7/19/2011

Customer review by TessCat

4.0 stars 7/19/2011 by TessCat
by TessCat

This tent is well packaged in it's on rolling zippered case. Easy to set-up. I did purchase the heavy metal screw stakes from Coleman as I use this tent at the beach and wanted to make certain it didn't blow away. So far, so good!!

Was this review helpful? (13) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TessCat
Crystal Beach, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Needs waterproofing
6/7/2015

Customer review by Marty

4.0 stars 6/7/2015 by Marty
by Marty

We've used our canopy many times over the last 5 years. Only complaints are it leaks during heavy rains and water will pool on the lower edges. Usually when camping not too much a problem. But when using as a work canopy, electrical tools must be covered with plastic. Other than these minor issues, we have enjoyed it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Marty
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Broke easily, no parts available, don't buy it
8/19/2014

Customer review by LarryZ7

1.0 stars 8/19/2014 by LarryZ7
by LarryZ7

No parts available for this piece of junk product. 4 little plastic pieces broke, now it all has to go in the trash because Coleman does not have replacement parts available. I called Coleman and they told me they do not make replacement parts for this canopy. Don't buy it!

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LarryZ7
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
6/13/2011

Customer review by 3AKOH

5.0 stars 6/13/2011 by 3AKOH
by 3AKOH

Recommend to all campers, best thing when you outdoors and when it rains :) we end up using it this past weekend and nevertheless we where glad we bought this. It is money worth purchase, we love our instant shelter, it takes 2 people to set it up, easy set up, takes 3 minutes to set it up, durable and does the job. Fits a table for at least 6 people with most of our equipment in it.

Was this review helpful? (19) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
3AKOH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 39 total reviews
1-20 of 39 reviews