Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 41 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

4.0 stars

41 reviews | 3.9 out of 5

71%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
24
4 stars
4
3 stars
3
2 stars
4
1 stars
6
1-20 of 34 total reviews
71%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews
Less than impressive to say the least...
7/19/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

3.0 stars 7/19/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Bought 2 of these coolers based on other reviewers stating they had good luck with them. (On another site) Used these during the 4th of July weekend. Sadly, 7Lbs. of ice and 12 cans of pop and 88 degree temps with this cooler in the shade 100% of the time equals no ice after 8 hours. Again, bought 2 and neither keep ice. Added another 14Lbs of ice, drained the water out and had ice for about 20 hours. Another problem is the terrible hinges. These are binding the lid so the lid can not stay closed. The lid will 'pop' back open a tad unless you fix this (as I did prior to use). No lid latch which I knew prior to the purchase but all coolers should have one for just this reason. I have been using Coleman coolers for 30 years and I can sadly say that this is the most poorly made and useless model I have ever purchased. Dusted off my big 10 year old plastic Igloo cooler that I just used for the past 3 days... held its ice for 3 days straight in 94 degree heat (shaded). 15 glass bottles, 33 cans, 12 plastic water bottles, 4 steaks, 3.5Lbs of ground beef plus a whole watermellon. All stayed cold, still had ice left and with 21Lbs of ice initially. Now thats a REAL cooler. Unfortunately this model from Coleman has failed miserably to say the least. Not sure what Colemen has for outside temps to get 3 days with ice?? Maybe 32 degrees?? Its defiantly NOT 90 degrees as stated.... unless the coolers inside and the outside is 90?? Bottom line, do NOT buy this cooler if you want ice for 3 days. Its simply not going to happen.

Was this review helpful? (57) (8)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Cooler!!
4/20/2010

Customer review by Glideman

5.0 stars 4/20/2010 by Glideman
by Glideman

You can't beat this cooler for the price. It has a large capacity for its size and it has kept things cool much longer than many other coolers that I have had that cost several dollars more. It is tough, yet lightweight. The insulation does what it is advertised to do and that is keeping things cold even when it's hot outside. I would highly recommend this cooler for anyone looking for a great value for their dollar.

Was this review helpful? (24) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Glideman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
a good value but ice melts!!!
6/28/2010

Customer review by Joe3556

3.0 stars 6/28/2010 by Joe3556
by Joe3556

I purchased this cooler and this weekend it was around 90 on my boat. I had to add a bag of ice each day. The claim that ice keeps for 3 days is not true. This is a great cooler for undr 20 bucks and will hold alot and also has two cup holders on top. I like the fact that it doesn't take up much space. Every day I had extremely cold ice water with floating small cubes of ice. I did have very cold drinks but like I mentioned before, I had to add a bag of ice each day. hope this helps.

Was this review helpful? (24) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Joe3556
Caldwell, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Come on People, use common sense
7/17/2012

Customer review by Workn2play

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by Workn2play
by Workn2play

I almost made the mistake of passing up this great deal due to some of the bad reviews posted by people with no common sense. Luckily I bought it because I would have missed out on the great value this product offers. Its great quality, especially for the price and it fits perfect in the Sevylor Cooler Float so you can float all day with tasty beverages.

Was this review helpful? (11) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Workn2play
Discovery Bay, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
dont buy
7/19/2010

Customer review by nahl

1.0 stars 7/19/2010 by nahl
by nahl

This cooler does not keep ice for 3 days as stated. A bag of ice lasts for about 6 hours on a warm day. Would not recomend this cooler if you wish to keep products cool for a full day or even overnight.

Was this review helpful? (13) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nahl
arkansas
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Once per week
Very happy with this cooler.
7/24/2011

Customer review by IndyCamper

4.0 stars 7/24/2011 by IndyCamper
by IndyCamper

I originally wanted the larger size of this cooler but I was unable to find it in the store. We just took this cooler on a 2 day camping trip with 90+ degree temperatures all day. We added a bit more ice each morning but this cooler did a great job of keeping everything nice and cold even in the heat. I really like the way the lid for this cooler seems to snap shut, but I don't like that the lid doesn't want to stay open, which makes it difficult to load. Overall this is a great cooler, and the size is actually going to be much better for storage than the larger one anyway.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
IndyCamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
LOVE IT!!!
7/16/2010

Customer review by twinsmama23

5.0 stars 7/16/2010 by twinsmama23
by twinsmama23

This cooler has met all my expectations. Needed something smaller than our "big" cooler for weekend trips, but bigger than our large insulated "lunch bag" cooler, and this fits the bill. Very sturdy construction, and does keep things cold for a long time, though have not tested the guarantee on how long it keeps things cold. Will be testing that in a couple of weeks, and am sure it will live up to it's guarantee.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
twinsmama23
Philadelphia, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
GREAT VALUE
8/15/2012

Customer review by DareMe

5.0 stars 8/15/2012 by DareMe
by DareMe

This is a good cooler for your money.In 95 degree FL. weather,10 hours a day in back of a black truck and not shaded it keeps ice more than 24 hours.I have an ice machine that makes better quality ice than you buy at most stores,which could be the prob for some.So consider the ice quality it does matter.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DareMe
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
They should carry these in stores
7/8/2010

Customer review by veggiesrock

5.0 stars 7/8/2010 by veggiesrock
by veggiesrock

This cooler is just what we wanted. We looked at many stores and they were either too bulky or the hinge was cheaply made. So we ordered this one online. It was a GREAT PRICE and is made very well. We are so glad we bought it.;i9

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
veggiesrock
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Ice chest for the Fire Engine.
11/20/2011

Customer review by Battalion13

5.0 stars 11/20/2011 by Battalion13
by Battalion13

The ice chest works great for 1-2 people.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Battalion13
Madera, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Excellent Cooler
11/8/2011

Customer review by Racing21

5.0 stars 11/8/2011 by Racing21
by Racing21

This cooler is big enough for your needs yet small enough to carry. Ice held well in this cooler. Good deal.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Racing21
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Best cooler I ever bought
11/9/2013

Customer review by Fejo

5.0 stars 11/9/2013 by Fejo
by Fejo

I have used this cooler for many years now and I think it's design and quality are excellent. It's just the right size to serve one or two persons. The lid is hinged and removable, and it's handle allows you to CARRY IT WITH ONE HAND, leaving your other hand free to open doors or carry other stuff. The handle is sturdy enough when the cooler is fully loaded. I travelled across the country in a sports car (where space is at a premium) with this cooler, where it's compact size and ease of lifting in and out of the car really showed it's benefits. Know what else is great about it? You can buy a nice sturdy plastic tray that fits inside perfectly where you can put things like sandwiches, deserts, eggs, zip-locked or packaged meats, cheeses, etc. to keep them uncrushed and dry from the melted ice and bottles below. Ingenious!! Highly recommended! I found my tray on Ebay, but you may be able to find it at other retailers. Just do searches for "Tray for Coleman 28 Qt. Cooler", or maybe this link still works: http://www.ebay.ca/itm/141097182583ssPageName=STRK:MESELX:IT&_trksid=p3984.m1555.l2649

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Fejo
Malone, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Coleman 28-Quart Premium Cooler
7/17/2012

Customer review by BearAssault

5.0 stars 7/17/2012 by BearAssault
by BearAssault

AWESOME cooler, I use it at work during outdoors days, I freeze my water bottles over night then in morning, pre-chill the cooler with something else to just make it cool inside then put whatever things u want to bring. this was like 8am, that day was 85-90 degrees, by 7pm all my water bottles were thawed but still cold!

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BearAssault
Plum, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Not so much Ice chest
2/4/2013

Customer review by ChefLogan

2.0 stars 2/4/2013 by ChefLogan
by ChefLogan

THIS CAME FAST. lOOKS GREAT. But keeps ice for three days, NOT SO MUCH. Ifilled itwithice, andwas melting In an hour or so. Liquid in around three hrs. I figured it was because it had a case of warm water bottles. But the more ice I put in it, the more water I got. Not what I expected. But I still like thesize and will not complain. but if you buy it get lots of ice.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ChefLogan
Manhattan, Mt.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Disapointed by this considering it is Coleman
6/20/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

2.0 stars 6/20/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Typically Coleman products are amazing, this one is not. I use this in the office, I keep soda iced down. I figured 3 days would be great because I would rarely have to ice it down. It stays about 72 degrees in the office year round. I ice the cooler down daily at 7am, all the ice is melted by noon. I am going to research and buy a different performance cooler. If you just need something for a picnic, this will work. But it is not a 3 day cooler, it is a 5 hr cooler.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Highland, IL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Keeps ice for only a few hours...
7/7/2010

Customer review by MamaWhale

1.0 stars 7/7/2010 by MamaWhale
by MamaWhale

I set this cooler in my house with the air conditioner running because it is hot down here in the deep south! I put in a 2 quart bowl of solid ice that I had frozen just for this test. I checked the cooler 14 hours later. The water in the bowl was cold but not one bit of solid ice did I find! Very disappointing. Taking this cooler back to the store today! While it is inexpensive there is no point in my paying for another ice chest when I already have 3 regular ice chests that keep ice just as long, if not longer, than this one. I suppose I will try one of the larger "5 day" coolers and see if I can get at least 3 days of ice out of it. I have avoided getting the larger one because of space constraints in my truck. It is a shame that this one doesn't work as advertised by Coleman.

Was this review helpful? (6) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MamaWhale
Baton Rouge, Louisiana... The food is always good!
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
poor handle design
8/4/2012

Customer review by y25z26

1.0 stars 8/4/2012 by y25z26
by y25z26

After about a year and only 12-15 outings & the flanges holding the handle came apart making the handle useless. Bought different make with side mounted flip handles hopefully last longer.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
y25z26
carlisle, pa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
a very convienant cooler
4/25/2010

Customer review by bigdaddygeo

5.0 stars 4/25/2010 by bigdaddygeo
by bigdaddygeo

keeps food and drinks cold and keeps ice for about three days can be tricky to use with 2-lt bottles

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bigdaddygeo
Brighton Tn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Not recommended
5/30/2012

Customer review by VHJM

1.0 stars 5/30/2012 by VHJM
by VHJM

I bought this cooler and the first time we used it, the spot where the handle attaches to the cooler melted and the handle broke away from the side....20 bucks wasted

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
VHJM
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pleased with purchase
8/8/2012

Customer review by Jaclka

5.0 stars 8/8/2012 by Jaclka
by Jaclka

I bought this cooler despite the negative comments. How long the ice lasts depends on the temperature. On cool days, yes I have seen a few cubes the next day. On hot days, it was all water many hours later. I like the size and the amount it holds. It was a great purchase for the price.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Jaclka
Roanoke, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
1-20 of 34 total reviews
1-20 of 34 reviews