Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

20 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

5 stars
11
4 stars
5
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
0
85%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Good Hiker Tent
7/7/2010

Customer review by HikerDude987

4.0 stars by HikerDude987

I Like this tent. It weighs about 4lb 10oz if you cut off all the extraneous stuff like labels and shed the extra poles and stake sacks. It has only been in light rain with no problem. The rainfly is seamsealed, so I don't expect leaks. For the price to weight ratio, this tent cannot be beat. Sure, there are lighter tents, but for $70? I can't buy all the material for that price. This is a great compromise between price and weight. Plenty of room inside for two, nice vestibule area, and for $70 the value can't be beat. I've looked at alot of hiker tents and most comparables in this weight category are $120-$200.

Was this review helpful? (65) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
HikerDude987
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Excellent little tent
8/8/2011

Customer review by dezertq

5.0 stars by dezertq

I purchased this tent for my 15 yr old daughter to use on a wilderness hike in Northeastern Arizona in July. I helped her set it up the first time in the yard, then had her take it down and put it back up alone. She had no problem rolling it up and then setting it up again. It fit into a mid-sized internal frame backpack along with her sleeping bag, clothing, food, etc. All weighed in at 28lbs-- largely due to the light tent. This is a small two-man that may be tight for two adult men, but would work fine for anyone smaller. While in the mountains it rained hard one whole day, but the tent stayed dry inside via the rainfly. It is well made and we are very pleased with its performance.

Was this review helpful? (38) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dezertq
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Suprising value for the price.
12/23/2011

Customer review by Sebago

5.0 stars by Sebago

I recently bought two of these Coleman Max 2 person backpacking tents for my family from Walmart.com. I must admit that I was quite shocked at the excellent value this tent represents for the extremely reasonable price of only $70. I have researched many similar backpacking tents from other companies and vendors, and I have found that you cannot buy a (new) nice tent with such quality components for this small price anywhere else. This tent has aluminum poles, aluminum stakes, a nylon floor, a vestibule, and an included gear loft. The tent is light weight and compacts into a very reasonable size for backpacking. In terms of comparison, I also have a Coleman Hooligan 2 tent and a Slumberjack Trail Tent 2 which are both in the similar price range as the Coleman Max 2 tent. This Coleman Max 2 Tent (although quite smaller than the Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent and slightly smaller that the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2) is much lighter and of much higher quality than these two other tents. The Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent and the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2 both have heavier and cheaper fiberglass poles, unlike the Coleman Max 2 Tent with its high quality aluminum poles. The Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent and the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2 both come with heavy, cheap steel stakes. The Coleman Max 2 Tent comes with light weight, strong aluminum stakes. The Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent comes with a heavy, cheap polyethylene floor, whereas the Coleman Max 2 Tent (and the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2) has a nice quality nylon floor. The Coleman Max 2 Tent comes with an included overhead net gear loft that is very useful. Neither the Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent or the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2 offer this handy feature. The Coleman Max 2 Tent (like the Coleman Hooligan 2 Tent and the Slumberjack Trail Tent 2) has a nice, practical vestibule. In conclusion, I will repeat that the Coleman Max 2 Tent is a wonderful small tent that is offered through Walmart.com as an incredible deal at this low price. I truly do not believe it is possible to find another backpacking tent with such similar quality components at this great price!

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Sebago
Maine
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Great value for the price!
9/6/2010

Customer review by TallGirl3

4.0 stars by TallGirl3

This tent is great for the value. It's about $60-90 less than a comparable tent from REI. I'm not a huge camper, but I go camping 1-3 times a year with friends. This tent is perfect for that. I just used it for the first time on Lake Conasauga in Georgia, elevation 3,150 ft. It was pretty windy at night, and the rain fly gave us good protection, and wasn't even that noisy. My boyfriend and I (who are both about 6' tall) fit comfortably in it with room to spare. Easy set up, only took about 5 minutes for two people. I'm not sure how it does in the rain though, it didn't rain on us on this trip. Overall, this tent is a great buy for someone who isn't a crazy camper, but likes to take a short camping trip every now and then.

Was this review helpful? (20) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TallGirl3
Atlanta, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Tent exceeds expectations at price
1/7/2012

Customer review by scottmcon

5.0 stars by scottmcon

Bought the tent at Walmart by online sale $70 price [[only $70 when purchased online]. Pick-up at the local store was fast and easy. The price on sale was a deciding factor; but I was seriously considering the tent at the regular $85 price. Lightweight, just over 5 lbs, am going to use for backpacking & car camping. Tent has rings (clips) and seams with aluminum shock cord poles (3 poles). Aluminum poles can be lighter and do not break as fiberglass may; a returning popularity in these tents. Fly completely covers the tent and has two adjustable vents - front over the door, and a rear vent with stiff stay connected by velcro. Instructions for setup & re-packing & care are printed on a two-sided fabric inside the stuff sack. It can be free standing, an easy tent to set-up the first time in a bedroom, about 10 to 15 minutes; comes with 12 stakes. The tent's double vents were a material consideration due to condensation concerns -the vents reduce condensation Tent has one "D" double mesh/solid door, with a pair of two way zippers. Nylon zippers, good grommets for the poles. Guidelnes are attached by looping /tying through sewn loop attachments on the tent bottom and on tent sides. Poles cross without clip through half sleeve seams at the tent top. Without the fly, the tent is a full tight mesh -great 360 & overhead view. Fly creates a vestibule; loop stays tie up the doors when opened; strap-buckle-clips attach the rainfly to the tent bottom at straps sewn to pole grommet straps. Rainfly pole in gold has gold-yellow straps with clips & easily attaches at tent front; more than an adquate number of guidelines. It features comparable to those seen in $100 to $140 tents. Floor is bathtub style with tarp like heavy nylon finish. Aluminum poles are color coded, gold pole for rain-fly. Door has double zipper; rainfly has velcro attached stay on rear and velcro with zipper on front vent. Rain fly has full zipper (one way top to bottom) with velcro closures on seam. Tent is extremely light and airy without fly; vents well with fly through roof vents and fly door. Height is comfortable, higher than expected and a medium height man or woman can step out through door just by ducking. Packs well about 24 " wide. A mesh gear basket with clip for hanging is included in the tent bag, and one inside pocket. Tent is comfortably tight with ventilation as described when fly is fully attached. Only improvements in its class might be an optional ground vent; and roll-up inside panels for privacy (dressing) when fly is not attached; and an inside adjustability for the rear fly vent. Have just purchased this tent, and set it up; will follow this review with more after use. WalMart sells a low-cost ground cloth (footprint) 5 x 7 ft which is at $6-9, a good additional investment. A terrific value for the lightweight tent class.

Was this review helpful? (16) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
scottmcon
Western Massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Decent tent for the price
8/13/2010

Customer review by mahimahi12

3.0 stars by mahimahi12

Overall this is a good little tent for one person. You can fit a twin air mattress in it with a little space on the side to fit accessories. The trouble with it is the rain fly is kind of a strange design. It doesn't zip up the full length of the actual door to the tent so it's a little hard to get in and out. I have never seen a tent with the rainfly poles on the outside either which is a little awkward. In any case, it's easy to put up and a decent tent for the price. Be careful though...the screen material on the walls of the tent pull and rip very easily if something slightly grazes it.

Was this review helpful? (27) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mahimahi12
Pawleys Island, SC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Nice little tent
5/21/2012

Customer review by ATDusty

5.0 stars by ATDusty

I bought this tent as a replacement tent to take on an upcoming multi-week section hike of the Appalachian Trail. While pack sniffers usually scoff at using anything from Walmart or made by Coleman, after reading the reviews on it from multiple sources I decided why not try it. It fits my limited budget and fits just within my basic specs as far as wants and needs. After a few test setup and take downs over the past week, I set up "camp" in my backyard (after being cautious and waterproofing it all up. I hope to do a test in the rain as soon as it decides to rain here ;-) .). This tent exceeds my expectations. It is easy setup, can be used freestanding, no hassles, light enough and an overall great value for Walmarts $70 pricetag. I didn't experience any condensation in it. I had several types of bugs and insects trying to get in but the mesh is fine enough that their efforts were unsuccessful. I only wished there was a way to close the back vent up without having to get out of the tent, but unless it's downpouring out, not a huge deal. Just a minor inconvenience. As with any tent with a primarily mesh construction, take it easy on the mesh as a precaution against holes. I am 5' 2" and had plenty of room to bring my Z-Lite pad, sleeping bag and pack in. I intend on using it as a solo instead of a 2-person. While it will fit 2 people, it would be a tighter squeeze than I like. When packed up, it fits in my pack perfectly. The poles did not come with a sleeve for easy carrying, so I made one out of a ripstop material with a drawstring to strap to my pack. For backpacking, I would recommend the Outdoor Products 5'x7' backpackers tarp that is in the camping section of your local Walmart (I have not seen it online here yet), or the old hiker standby of a piece of tyvek as a ground cloth. The backpackers tarp isn't bad at all for $10. It definitely did it's job last night in protecting the bottom of my tent. I would definitely, without a doubt, recommend this tent as a spring/summer tent. Having not tested it in the fall, I can't speak for that yet. But I bet with the proper layering and sleeping bag, it's possible for use as a good 3 season tent.

Was this review helpful? (10) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ATDusty
Upstate, NY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
You can't beat it, from Alaska to Florida
7/13/2012

Customer review by bulldozer11

5.0 stars by bulldozer11

It is a great product. The first time I took it was on my trip to Alaska, for 7 days it rained twice, first time was a downpour, the tent was dry. Had it for 3 years now and had no problems, wind rain, sun, you name it. Buy it, you will love it. Oh yeah, ultra light too.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
bulldozer11
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Coleman Max 2-Person tent
5/21/2012

Customer review by dualsport

5.0 stars by dualsport

I purchased this tent for motorcycle camping. It replaced a 3 man Coleman dome tent. The Coleman Max 2-Person tent is smaller and lighter than the tent it replaced, saving space and weight in the saddle bags. I used the tent on a 4 day dualsport ride in Mississippi this past week. It was easy and quick to erect after inital setup. There is plenty of room for all my gear along one side of the air mattress. I can not comment on its ability to keep you dry during a rain as it never rained on the trip. But I can only assume it will be fine, as it is a Coleman! I am very happy with the purchase!! Delivery from Walmart.com was lightning fast. Brad

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
dualsport
Armington, Illinois
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Good, light backpacking tent
8/20/2012

Customer review by Alex53

5.0 stars by Alex53

My first night got a great test. Six hours of outrageous rain. I only had some drops, while others in the campsite (with more expensive tents) where screaming because they had two inches of water in their tent. Typical of most “two person” tents, it’s really only big enough for one person, if you’re going to keep your gear inside. The upper part is total screen and lets the sun in. The rain cover only has the door and two small vents, so the Max can get very hot if pitched in direct sunlight. Overall great, light-weight backpacking tent

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Alex53
Phila, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good design for $ but heavy
9/15/2012

Customer review by hd20301

2.0 stars by hd20301

I like the fly design and construction but I'm concerned about the bottom of the tent resisting moisture. I think you either need a tent tarp or waterproof. It's also on the heavy side for backpacking tents but I guess that's to be expected for a fraction of the price. Haven't used it in the rain yet. This would probably be a good tent for someone like me who wants to start backpacking but doesn't want to invest hundreds.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
hd20301
Brewster, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Almost perfect except...
4/17/2012

Customer review by 2Piece

4.0 stars by 2Piece

This tent is almost perfect except... it's not long enough. I am a backpacker and I am always looking for a good deal on a decent light weight tent. This Coleman Max almost delivers., It's light weight, sealed/ taped seams, nice aluminum poles, full cover fly. I am 6'2" and when I lay in this tent both my head and feet touch the sides, in fact when I roll out my standard size sleeping bags they too touch both sides. If it were another 6-8" longer in would be an incredible value at $70.00, equal to my $250.00 REI tent.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
2Piece
Virginia
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Works well!
11/3/2012

Customer review by mowmowman

4.0 stars by mowmowman

My only problem is that I' am 5ft 11in and when I'm lying down, my feet or head will touch the side fabric. Buyer will need to buy straps if they plan to strap the carring bag to a hiking pack. Solid and well built tent.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
mowmowman
Lebanon, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/3/2011

Customer review by roadwarrior26

5.0 stars by roadwarrior26

Was this review helpful? (4) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
roadwarrior26
ny
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
8/25/2011

Customer review by ron625

4.0 stars by ron625

Got this tent today every thing was ok all items where in package . Took less then 30min to set this tent up in my hose. And fits in my pack with plenty of room for all the rest of my gear. Can't wait to take this tent out and try it out.

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
ron625
Indianapolis In
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
1/5/2013

Customer review by TrailRex

5.0 stars by TrailRex

Have not used yet, but know we can depend on this equipment to perform as we need it to in the field.

Was this review helpful? (0) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
TrailRex
30533
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
11/21/2012

Customer review by Captmidnite

2.0 stars by Captmidnite

NO INSTRUCTIONS CAME WITH TENT. BOOOOOO1 BAD

Was this review helpful? (1) (12)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Captmidnite
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
A Great Tent for the Money
2/6/2012

Customer review by okbandit

5.0 stars by okbandit

I'm going to go camping with our Boy Scout troop in a couple of weeks so I'll know better by then. However, I can tell you from the price, packaging, delivery, & pickup that it was as good of an experience as any other item I've purchased from site to store with Wal-Mart.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
okbandit
Tulsa, OK
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
stands up to heavy rain and wind
8/6/2012

Customer review by barker321

5.0 stars by barker321

also good without the rain flap for stargazing on hot summer nights

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
barker321
Would recommend to a friend? Yes