Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

22 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
13
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-18 of 18 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Coils are the Best
7/2/2011

Customer review by pookie5649s

5.0 stars 7/2/2011 by pookie5649s
by pookie5649s

My family had been using some excellent mosquito repellents... The down side is that a person has to have good coverage because the mosquitos always find that one spot you missed like the top of the head, back of the ear, the back of the ankle... and so on. A person can go through a lot of spray for just one person when the mosquitoes are wild. I remembered that I had purchased some coils a few years back. I also remembered home much I like them a few years before. My husband set them up in a triangle in the yard. Some coils were broken but it wasn't difficult to set them up to burn. The benefits far out weighed any setback of a broken coil. Our pets were comfortable and we were able to work in the yard or sit and relax awhile. The smoke has a certain smell but no worse than when we burn wood. The smoke is much better than the black smoke that citronella candles give off. Also... citronella candles are no where near as effective as the coils. A person would hav to have an awful lot of candles on the go. The smell and smoke would be overwhelming. I love the coils!!!!! If some one is staying in a particular area... the coils are the best. They beat having to apply chemicals to the skin. My three cents worth.

Was this review helpful? (29) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
pookie5649s
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Keeps those skeeters away
6/7/2010

Customer review by OutdoorsALot

5.0 stars 6/7/2010 by OutdoorsALot
by OutdoorsALot

These Coleman coils work great. They keep the mosquito's from eating you alive and they don't affect other beneficial insects like bees, butterflies, dragonflies etc. ( unlike a spray insecticide) We use them in the backyard and on camp outs. We have used them for years and are very pleased with the performance.

Was this review helpful? (18) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OutdoorsALot
Desoto TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
The Best Anti-Mosquito weapon, Hands Down!
8/8/2013

Customer review by Cyclingmasterseller

5.0 stars 8/8/2013 by Cyclingmasterseller
by Cyclingmasterseller

THIS PRODUCT WORKS -- PLEASE, LOOK NO FURTHER! PLEASE BE CAREFUL WHEN USING THIS PRODUCT : 1. WASH OR WIPE OFF HANDS AFTER HANDLING' 2. PLACE IN WIND DIRECTION WHICH IS BLOWING OR MOVING ""AWAY"" FROM YOU -- YOUR PERSONAL SCENT IS ALSO MOVING IN THAT DIRECTION, HENCE, THE DIRECTION THE SMOKING COIL WILL MOVE IN AS WELL. THE SMOKE WILL MASK YOUR PERSONAL SCENT AND THUS KEEP THE MOSQUITO FROM BEING ATTRACTED TO YOU. 3. AND LASTLY, YOU DON'T NEED TO BURN AN ENTIRE COIL, UNLESS YOU ARE GOING TO STAY WHERE YOU ARE FOR HOURS ON END. I PERSONALLY BREAK UP A COIL INTO, SAY, 4" STRIPS AND LIGHT A COUPLE OF THEM ABOUT WITHIN 50' ~ 100' OF EACH OTHER, ONE ON THE LEFT, AND ONE ON THE RIGHT, AN IF NEED BE A THIRD STRIP BEHIND YOU 25' OR SO IF MOSQUITOES ARE REALLY BAD. EACH 4 INCH STRIP WILL LAST AROUND A HALF HOUR OR SO, OR PERHAPS LONGER. MOSQUITOES GENERALLY STAY AWAY, UNLESS IT'S DARK OUT AND VERY HUMID -- IN THIS CASE i WOULD MOST LIKELY USE LONGER STRIPS. THIS METHOD OF INSTRUCTION WILL WORK FOR YOU -- I KNOW, I'VE USED THEM FOR YEARS! GREAT CAMPING, FISHING, TO YOU! CHEERS....

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cyclingmasterseller
Grove City, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:A few times per month
Worked great
5/9/2011

Customer review by nccampers

5.0 stars 5/9/2011 by nccampers
by nccampers

We used this on our latest camping trip. Seemed to keep the critters away - even seemed to work on flies. While we were packing up everything did not have it going and had flies everywhere, but during the rest of our camping trip - no flies, no mosquitoes to speak of. The smell was no worse than the camp fire and a lot better than the citronella candles. Would highly recommend...you do need to be careful when breaking apart as they can break but as the other review stated you can still burn them.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nccampers
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Works
8/22/2010

Customer review by merrill

4.0 stars 8/22/2010 by merrill
by merrill

Worked better than the citronella candle we also tried... Coils did break apart a bit but you could still light them and stick a part in the ground

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
merrill
michigan
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
love this bug chaser
9/9/2014

Customer review by linemaam

5.0 stars 9/9/2014 by linemaam
by linemaam

I was a non-believer. On vacation and the balcony was full of mosquitos and other flying pests. A relative brought out this coil and set it on the table. He lit it and in just a few minutes(10 or so I'd guess), the bugs were gone. We enjoyed the balcony all week with these small, portable and inexpensive little gems. Of course when they were rebranded with the Coleman name, the price went from $1.50 to almost $4. They are still worth it. I had trouble finding in my local stores even though they are shown as being in stock. Good luck finding, but worth the search. I highly recommend it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
linemaam
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Good, But Not as Good as They Used to Be
6/23/2014

Customer review by JaxHomeschoolMom

4.0 stars 6/23/2014 by JaxHomeschoolMom
by JaxHomeschoolMom

I've been using these for years because of the price and satisfaction. However, it seems over the past year or so, not only have they gotten more expensive, they also are more difficult to separate, breaking where I don't want them to. They still seem to work okay, but not as well as before. Somehow, they seem less potent, requiring several 'relites' over the course of an evening. Other reviewers have stated that they break them up deliberately and stick them in the ground. I actually am too cheap to waste that bit in the ground, so use a clothespin instead. ;) Just clip it near the bottom and use the pin as a stand. I also put the open coils into a coffee can that I keep handy, along with a lighter and holders/clothespins. That way, they stay drier and last a bit longer. The coils are still better than putting spray all over you.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JaxHomeschoolMom
Jacksonville, Fl
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
work great!
8/21/2011

Customer review by bursw

5.0 stars 8/21/2011 by bursw
by bursw

these coils are great! they came well packaged. none broken. unlike the ones i have bought from the store. also, these are a fraction of the price. will be ordering more.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bursw
west hollywood,ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
stinks
9/10/2010

Customer review by ralphinhickorync

3.0 stars 9/10/2010 by ralphinhickorync
by ralphinhickorync

i bought 1 of these kits to go camping with. it wouldnt stay lite, and when it did burn it stunk. im shure it ran some of the flying little critters off but the johnson/ johnson " OFF " battery opperated a lot better and didnt produce any oder or smoke that i could smell. i think the OFF has a larger diameter repelling area also. i wouldnt waste my money on 1 of these again. live and learn. hope this helps someone.

Was this review helpful? (10) (13)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ralphinhickorync
Hickory N.C.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Love these things for the deck
9/9/2013

Customer review by SkyGirll

5.0 stars 9/9/2013 by SkyGirll
by SkyGirll

The keep mosquitos away! What more do you want from something so cheap? I use these over seas where they are a fraction of the cost. They would get 5 stars if they weren't so expensive at Walmart!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SkyGirll
Baltimore, MD
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outdoor Mosquito Coil
5/19/2014

Customer review by dmdent

5.0 stars 5/19/2014 by dmdent
by dmdent

have been using it when I go Camping or at the Patio for a few years and it do the job

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
dmdent
Dallas,Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works, but must light on fire
6/8/2015

Customer review by Mcentire88

4.0 stars 6/8/2015 by Mcentire88
by Mcentire88

I used these in my yard at a birthday party. I didn't realize until I was reading the instructions that the coil has to be lite with fire to work. The coil them smokes until it goes out. They worked great, no bugs bothered us the entire time of the party but you could smell and see the smoke until they went out.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mcentire88
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Coleman nosquito coils
5/20/2015

Customer review by Roman

5.0 stars 5/20/2015 by Roman
by Roman

If you ever have a problem these are what you need! We used them all over. Outdoors in tents, camping, out on the deck, in Canada way out in the woods! Best if used in a enclosed area or light more to get the smoke going. Kills and keeps the little buggers away! Great to put one in a outhouse if your using one!! Keeps it bug free and they last a couple hours so makes it a pleasent night! Hard to find in stores... so order a few box's and keep them ready to use! Do you have a screen poarch and the bugs still get in? Get one out and light it. Even in Florida now with these big blood suckers... they work the best!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Roman
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
This works
8/2/2015

Customer review by Sally

5.0 stars 8/2/2015 by Sally
by Sally

I've been using these coils since the drive-in days where we'd light one sit it in the floor board of the back seat and be able to enjoy the movie in s w Fla in full summer. My parents would always make me vacuum car after do to pop corn etc. and I'd find dead mosquitoes all over, I actually think I vacuumed more of them than the pop corn. Yep they've gotten more expensive and now harder to find as now walmart has another brand from Malaysia with only 4 coils for .97. Sorry but I think I'll stick wth an American made product for a couple dollars more. They work better in a contained area like screened in porch, I know they work they kill them little suckers so I'll deal with this and off at other times.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sally
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great product
8/22/2015

Customer review by movette

5.0 stars 8/22/2015 by movette
by movette

Finally I can work in my garden again! These coils are great, and I dont understand why I had to go to walmart.com to get them? Some store managers should know theses items will sell like hot cakes in mosquito infested areas of VA and MD. Bob

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
movette
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
it does a good work ..................
6/8/2015

Customer review by DONAREVALO1

4.0 stars 6/8/2015 by DONAREVALO1
by DONAREVALO1

in my country Dominican Republic was very common use of these mosquito candles and here again i find them and use them and think that they did the job, I think all those who have problems with mosquitoes should treat them and see for them self that it work, good luck...

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DONAREVALO1
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Smokin' hot
6/25/2015

Customer review by skte

4.0 stars 6/25/2015 by skte
by skte

Works well as long as there isn't a lot of wind.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
skte
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
broken
7/31/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/31/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

when I received this product, the box was fine but all of the coils were broken and turned to dust. the only way this product could repell insects would be if I thru it at them. Very disappointed.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No