Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 40 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

40 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

4.5 stars

40 reviews | 4.5 out of 5

93%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
27
4 stars
9
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
1
1-20 of 38 total reviews
93%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews
A Big Surprise in a Cheap, Great Knife
8/17/2010

Customer review by BornToVenture

4.0 stars 8/17/2010 by BornToVenture
by BornToVenture

This knife has surpassed every expectation I had when I bought it. A $10 knife is just that, a cheap knife; however this one is much different. Overall I would recommend this knife to anyone for a great camping, hiking, hunting, fishing, etc. knife. The blade is a full tang and so far has proven to be very tough. I have used it several times now for cutting down trees in the 2"-4" range by batoning it with another stick. The blade has not broken or chipped in any way and has held a very good edge. The thickness of the blade is my main concern with side loads when prying so because of it's thinness I've strayed away from these actions. The handle is a bit small for my hands (6'3") but is still very comfortable for everyday use. Overall I would recommend this knife to anyone and plan to buy another or two before they disappear. I am using this knife as my main knife except on multi-day treks where my RAT3 is what I trust with my life.

Was this review helpful? (44) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BornToVenture
Northeast Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
10 bucks goes a long way!
2/10/2011

Customer review by cyclist01222

5.0 stars 2/10/2011 by cyclist01222
by cyclist01222

I would agree with most all favorable reviews here. This is not the hardiest, most sturdy knife in the world but it is impressive and surprisingly useful for the money. I've batoned with it quite easily with excellent results. I can't believe it hasn't snapped in half yet because it is a thin blade... about 3mm thick. Maybe this is its secret in getting through small logs for fire making. The handle is smallish but shaped well and feels fine in my hand. The thumb jimping has sharp edges and I had to put the rotory tool grinder to it and smooth it out a bit... ahhhh...that feels better! It sharpens to a good edge easily and I love the belly on this blade... great for skinning. It must be some series of 400 steel I'm sure. Easy carry for a hike since it weighs next to nothing. This isn't a serious survival tool but it is remarkably handy. The nylon sheath is nothing to write home to mom about but it does the job it needs to. Quick - run to Walmart and pick one up!

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cyclist01222
Williamsburg, VA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Hundred Dollar Knife for 10 Bucks!
9/29/2010

Customer review by briargoatkilla

4.0 stars 9/29/2010 by briargoatkilla
by briargoatkilla

I saw this knife in the camping section @ my local store. I bought it because it looked cool, and I needed a beater camp knife. Boy was I pleased when I opened the package. It is a really, really good knife for the money. It comes with a decent edge, but i can get it scary sharp in minutes. Well balanced. Perfect handle and thumb grip. The blade is thin and the sheath is not holding up well to every day carry, but for ten bucks you can't go wrong. This is serious knife.

Was this review helpful? (29) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
briargoatkilla
Brevard,NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
good for value
4/21/2010

Customer review by grnchicken

4.0 stars 4/21/2010 by grnchicken
by grnchicken

This is a great product for the value. I bought it at the store because I saw the cheap price. It far exceeded my expectations. Right out of the package this knife was sharp. great value for the price. Can't wait to see how it preforms when I take it camping next week.

Was this review helpful? (26) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
grnchicken
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Surprised!
2/23/2011

Customer review by Gawain

5.0 stars 2/23/2011 by Gawain
by Gawain

I just bought this knife and I'm extremely impressed so far. I picked it up because the price was reasonable and I liked the design. I wasn't expecting much when I opened it, but I was pleasantly surprised. Not only is the design minimal and very elegant, but the knife is well-balanced and quite comfortable in my hands. Knife-making was once a hobby for me so I rarely buy or use stainless knives. I've found carbon steel to be much more dependable, especially in terms of edge-retention and sharpening. I can't testify to how this knife holds up yet, but it came with a very nice edge (and I love the brushed steel look of this blade.) Other reviewers have said the stainless blade sharpens well, so I'm hopeful. I also subjected this knife to an immediate testing of lateral stability. The knife had slight give under a considerable amount of pressure, but the blade did NOT bend or snap, meaning whatever steel they've used is quite tough. The minimalistic design of this blade is not only pleasant to look at and hold, but will also make it easier to maintain. It would be quite simple to make new handle slabs for this knife, or do similar customizations- Not that you need to, because the rosewood handle is very appealing in appearance.

Was this review helpful? (11) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gawain
Nor Cal
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Knife
1/18/2011

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/18/2011 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

This is great for a camp knife. It's about 9.3 inches long with a 5 inch blade. The blade steel runs through the tang for strength. It's very sharp. It has some ridges on top where you can put your thumb so it won't slip. If I was given the job of improving it I might change the snap on the sheath to Velcro or something similar. The wood on the handle could be made a bit thicker and or knurled for a better grip. Maybe the handle could be a half inch longer. That's all being nit picky. It's not supposed to be a combat knife so it's fine the way it is. Any changes like that would probably drive up the price. Maybe they could sell a deluxe version for 5 bucks more. As it is, it's a very good knife at a very good price.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Can't be beat
5/24/2011

Customer review by micron1967

4.0 stars 5/24/2011 by micron1967
by micron1967

Great knife for the money. So far this knife has help up to all kinds of use. chopping, carving, wood splitting up 3". all this after some time spent getting the edge the way i like it & it stills shaves hair. my only complaint is the sheath, all though well made bad design. it is designed to keep the knife out of the way behind your front paints pocket opening. the belt loop wears more than the rest of it. i have had this knife for about a year. the knife is going to be good for years to come, the sheath time will tell. the sheath is the ONLY reason i gave this knife 4 stars & not 5.

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
micron1967
Gainesville,GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Excellent, but...
3/31/2011

Customer review by ColdKill

5.0 stars 3/31/2011 by ColdKill
by ColdKill

I bought this because I figured I wanted a fixed blade knife to beat the living daylights out of. I bought my second one because this knife is AMAZING! I have but one minor issue, the knife itself is merely a punched out piece of steel, and it has very sharp edges on the entire outside of the knife. Very sharp, easy to resharpen, and pretty much perfectly balanced as a throwing knife. I would suggest to Plasti-dip the handle or wrap it in paracord or duct tape, etc., etc. For buying and a beat up and trash knife, best $10 I have ever spent. Already have recommended it to multiple people.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ColdKill
Anderson, IN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great Buy!!!
8/17/2010

Customer review by outdoors3698

5.0 stars 8/17/2010 by outdoors3698
by outdoors3698

Being in the BoyScouts of America, I have definately seen my share of knives over the last several years. This is by far the best for the value knife that I have bought. Coleman has a long reputation of making outstanding camping gear, which I can attest to, having used many of their products on camping trips. Although BSA policy does not permit sheath knives on BSA campouts, I will still find plenty of uses for this knife.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
outdoors3698
Memphis, Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great knife for the price
8/31/2011

Customer review by Flyfisher94

5.0 stars 8/31/2011 by Flyfisher94
by Flyfisher94

I just bought this knife a couple of days ago and it came out of the package sharp. Not as sharp as i personally like so i sharpened it to what i like. But, the is a really good fixed blade knife for the price that it is. The end of the blade gets a little thin but im fine with that. The sheath is pretty cheap though. Nothings wrong with it but you can tell its cheap. Other than that though you can't beat this knife for the price its at

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Flyfisher94
San Diego
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:14 - 18
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Best $11 I ever spent
1/17/2011

Customer review by BIGDOLLARS

5.0 stars 1/17/2011 by BIGDOLLARS
by BIGDOLLARS

Much better quality than I figured. I had to sharpen it but once I did it was great. I recomend highly.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BIGDOLLARS
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great Knife Even better Price
2/7/2011

Customer review by Tactical1911

5.0 stars 2/7/2011 by Tactical1911
by Tactical1911

This is a great knife for the money, i would easily pay $30 bucks for it. Great for any application, and it works great as a defensive knife for carry. Don't pass it up!

Was this review helpful? (3) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tactical1911
Harlingen, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:5 - 6 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great backup knife for bob
6/25/2012

Customer review by Modfather

4.0 stars 6/25/2012 by Modfather
by Modfather

Cheap, durable, full tang, and light weight makes this a great secondary knife. The knocks against it are the sheath, the scales are offset on the tang (will cause hand fatigue with prolonged usage), short blade length (limits it for wood processing), thinness of the blade (be careful removing it when it gets stuck in wood), uneven grind (heel of the blade common on cheap knives, straightened out with my diamond life sharpening block), and unfinished edge which I fixed on my leather strop with compound. This can be sharpened to a hair shaving edge that holds very well for stainless steel. Great first knife for the novice, the casual outdoors person, or anyone really concerned about weight. Won't hold an edge like a Mora/Opinel but due to full tang I feel it's more durable.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Modfather
Wichita, ks
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
5/28/2011

Customer review by 34t1tt1t34tttyuh

5.0 stars 5/28/2011 by 34t1tt1t34tttyuh
by 34t1tt1t34tttyuh

Great knife. Great balance and durability.

Was this review helpful? (3) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
34t1tt1t34tttyuh
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Gender:Male
Coleman Fixed Blade Knife
9/6/2010

Customer review by MountainDude

5.0 stars 9/6/2010 by MountainDude
by MountainDude

One of the most important tools any outdoorsman needs is a good knife. The Coleman Fixed Blade Knife is more than just a tool. It is one of the best all-round knives I've used. The first time you grab this knife, you'll notice how well it fits your hand. The grooves on the top of the blade provide a non-slip surface for your thumb. This knife also comes with a very good edge that should keep it good and sharp for a long time. The Rosewood handle adds a nice finishing touch. This knife is one that I'll wear and use on a daily basis.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MountainDude
Crestline, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Decent cheap knife!
10/24/2011

Customer review by RiverNwoods

4.0 stars 10/24/2011 by RiverNwoods
by RiverNwoods

I spend a lot of time on the water and in the woods here in NW Florida and like to keep a few knives with me. I was in the market for a new fixed blade one that wasn't very expensive so I wouldn't care if I lost it! I saw this one in the local walmart and thought it looked good for the price, I have to say I didn't have much luck with the first one. The blade began to chip on the first time out in the woods with it. I did some shopping around for a month or so and decided that I'd give this another try. Having a better knowlege of what the blade being so thin can and can't handle I think it will last me a nice while of abuse for the price. I wouldn't advise you try to do prying type of actions with it and use a machette to clear your path or over growth of limbs, but you can shave kindling and baton 3" logs for a fire and make stakes for your tarp. It's alright as a camp knife, but have a backup and I have to agree with the others the sheath is cheap and will not wear well.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RiverNwoods
NW Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Great for the price
1/26/2012

Customer review by Swamprat1

5.0 stars 1/26/2012 by Swamprat1
by Swamprat1

First thing I did after opening was to put this knife in my sharpening jig and put a 20% edge on it with diamond plates. Knife is razor sharp and seems to stay that way. I would put this knife in a class with several I own that were in the 60.00$ and more range. Nice thing about it is if it gets lost, stolen, or falls overboard, Ill just buy another one. This is a knife you can use and not worry about. I might add it was sharp right out of the package, I just like them to be as sharp as I can get them.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Swamprat1
Sebring Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great knife
7/9/2014

Customer review by Sam117

5.0 stars 7/9/2014 by Sam117
by Sam117

I was very suprised to see how well this knife worked straight from the package. Needed minimal sharpening but when I did sharpen it, it was flawless. Highly recommended.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Sam117
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Inexpensive Stainless Steel Knife
6/22/2011

Customer review by teba

5.0 stars 6/22/2011 by teba
by teba

Just what I needed around the yard works great !

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
teba
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great fixed blade.
6/6/2012

Customer review by Mogue

5.0 stars 6/6/2012 by Mogue
by Mogue

husband uses as a work knife he loves it.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mogue
Rochester, Texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
1-20 of 38 total reviews
1-20 of 38 reviews