Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

3.5 stars

90 reviews | 3.6 out of 5

70%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
31
4 stars
24
3 stars
15
2 stars
5
1 stars
15
1-20 of 79 total reviews
70%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews
Solar Shower
8/7/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

4.0 stars 8/7/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

The Coleman solar shower was pretty much as expected. Its a thick plastic 5 gallon bag with a short hose and tiny shower head. The bag is supported by a short length of plastic pipe in the handle. Due to weight of 5 gallons of water, a lot of stress is placed on this pipe. The first thing I did was replace the short pipe with a full length section of PVC 1/2" pipe to spread the weight over a longer length. Next I removed the provided shower head and attached a 20' length of 3/8" black vinyl tubing I purchased at Lowes for a couple of bucks. To this hose I attached a cheap garden hose pistol sprayer. Now I have a shower that can be hung high in the sun and allows me to run the hose into a shower tent for easy clean ups. The higher the bag is hung the more water pressure on the sprayer. It works great..!

Was this review helpful? (119) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Alabama
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great investment
7/21/2011

Customer review by KEJChan

5.0 stars 7/21/2011 by KEJChan
by KEJChan

Purchased this for camping so I would not have to go to the hot bath house in the afternoons. I love it. I would fill it up and set it out around noon and leave it until the sun went down. The chart on the bag will tell you how long to leave it for the temperature of the day and your desired temperature of water. I was impressed with the flow of the water out of the nozzle. I would turn the water on only when I needed to rinse off or prepare to wash my hair. This used as little water as possible and I was able to wash myself and my two year old twice out of one bag of water. The only complaint I would have is that once you have soap on your hands it is hard to turn the nozzle to get the water back on. This is easily done though using a washcloth to get a grip on the nozzle. I purchased a camping shower to use with this but it would not hold the bag when it was full so I had to hang it from a pole at the campsite. The hole in the bag is plenty big enough to hang it from most anything. For the money and convenience, this is a great investment. I will be purchasing more for my family.

Was this review helpful? (62) (7)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KEJChan
Savannah, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Awesome
7/9/2010

Customer review by AkoleaDivah

5.0 stars 7/9/2010 by AkoleaDivah
by AkoleaDivah

This solar shower is great! Used it this past weekend while camping and freediving and it was almost too hot! Seems pretty durable and the PVC handle and on/off nozzle are awesome features. The water got hot quickly and you can't beat the price!

Was this review helpful? (32) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AkoleaDivah
Maui, HI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Surprising
8/30/2013

Customer review by Gpawcamper

4.0 stars 8/30/2013 by Gpawcamper
by Gpawcamper

I bought this on a whim thinking for the price I would give it a try. It got the water nice and warm even though the day was overcast. It is amazing how clean you can get with this little amount of water. Both my wife and I took showers and had water left. She didn't wash her hair so that probably would have used more...I don't have much hair to wash so it was no problem. I was pleasantly surprised.

Was this review helpful? (27) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gpawcamper
Placerville CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works Great
8/23/2010

Customer review by Kramher

5.0 stars 8/23/2010 by Kramher
by Kramher

I bought 2 of these and just used them out camping for the first time and loved it! They work really good, the water was perfect. Only down fall is it is hard to open the shower head when you get soap on your hands so I had to modifiy it alittle. Other than that they are worth the investment.

Was this review helpful? (25) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kramher
Fortuna, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
LEAKED
7/18/2012

Customer review by capecoddad

1.0 stars 7/18/2012 by capecoddad
by capecoddad

Tried this out for a few days in backyard before going camping. Seemed that the fill valve started to leak as it got hot and more flexible, so no big deal. When camping on the 2nd fill the bottom of the bag on the seam came apart and completely drained overnight. Called Coleman and got a new one on the mail, will need to bring a backup next time just in case the same thing happens again.

Was this review helpful? (25) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
capecoddad
Falmouth MA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
BARELY COULD USE ONCE!
8/4/2011

Customer review by calgal1

1.0 stars 8/4/2011 by calgal1
by calgal1

Normally, Coleman makes great products, but we bought one of these showers recently, went to lay it in the sun to get water warm. The Fill Valve leaked - tried opening and shutting several times, still leaked. So, we had to prop that part of the bag upright and we were still able to use for a shower, took back to store when we returned home.

Was this review helpful? (15) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
calgal1
San Diego, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
junk
6/18/2012

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 6/18/2012 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

the first one i purchased worked great and lasted 2 years and had a shower head that you pushed and pulled for on and off the second one i bought i had to twist the shower head for off and on(real tough with soapy hands) it started leaking where it comes out of the bag after just 2 uses so i bought a 3rd one that i didn't even get to use it leaked where i comes out of the bag when i first filled it. coleman changed their supplier i will not buy another

Was this review helpful? (12) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
wadsworth,ohio
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
7/20/2010

Customer review by Lendeland

1.0 stars 7/20/2010 by Lendeland
by Lendeland

Watch what you buy, it was leaking were the hose is attached to the bag, not made very well, like some of the other solar showers on the market. I know these solar showers work nicely, if you get one that's decent. I'm not thrilled with this one.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lendeland
Hemet, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Bad nozzle design
4/13/2013

Customer review by RunsWithDaffodils

1.0 stars 4/13/2013 by RunsWithDaffodils
by RunsWithDaffodils

The red nozzle is a twist nozzle that doesn't work when your hands are soapy or wet. There is nothing to hang onto or grip. Then it spins in the plastic tube, so it actually takes a pair of pliers to hold it steady, then another pair to make it turn. I tried a hose clamp and that didn't help. I bought a second one at the time "just in case" and they both have nozzle/tube problems. There is a competing brand that has a pinch mechanism in the clear tube, and that works perfectly, whether your hands are slippery or not.

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
RunsWithDaffodils
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
I have even a better use for it!
11/19/2010

Customer review by CampingFool2

5.0 stars 11/19/2010 by CampingFool2
by CampingFool2

We bought one to do the dishes with. Getting them clean with hot water works better!

Was this review helpful? (7) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
CampingFool2
Antelope Ca.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Worked Well
9/20/2010

Customer review by ATVParkCamper

5.0 stars 9/20/2010 by ATVParkCamper
by ATVParkCamper

We let these lay out all day in the sun. We showered at night and they were the perfect temp. My only complaint is when used inside the shower tent they are too big. They have to hang in the center and is constantly smacking into you like a punching bag. If you are planning to use it in a privacy shelter or camp shower tent - get a couple of the small bags instead.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ATVParkCamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Do not buy
7/31/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 7/31/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I purchased this item for our recent camping trip. Much to my surprise the bag was leaking by the seam where the nozzle is connected. I only got 1 use out of this bag. Very disappoint by the quality of this product.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
graden grove, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Too flimsy.
7/28/2014

Customer review by tommyCamper

1.0 stars 7/28/2014 by tommyCamper
by tommyCamper

Just bought a replacement Coleman shower and it is flimsy and light-weight compared to the one we had been using for 15 years. The new one seems to have a thinner bag and the hose is so thin that it kinks. The water filing cap is so soft that it can pop open just moving it around or setting it down and the shower head pulled out of the hose every time you tried to pull open the shower nozzle. Used it once and its going back. Looks like Coleman has lowered their standards and this product (made in China) will not last. Our old Coleman shower was sturdy and rugged. Only problem it had was with the cap that was hard to open or close.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tommyCamper
Would recommend to a friend? No
My second camp shower and it is impoved
5/16/2013

Customer review by sweetie02151

5.0 stars 5/16/2013 by sweetie02151
by sweetie02151

The nozzle is easier to use than the old style that was a clamp. Gets plenty hot and holds plenty water. For the money is it a great porduct. I wash my dogs with it!! One issue I had in the past and it still remains is the bag has to hung up very high for the water to flow down and shower upon me. the bag itself is long from top to bottom and the hose is long also.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sweetie02151
chelmsford, ma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Worked perfectly
5/31/2014

Customer review by ETENZ

5.0 stars 5/31/2014 by ETENZ
by ETENZ

Bought two of these to use after clean up work in our forest. Carried out the recommended cleaning first and filled both. 4 hours in mostly direct sun and we had comfortably hot water. Used some rope over a branch to haul one up high enough to have the shower above head height but in easy reach. In one bag there was enough water for the two of us to clean up and still a bit left.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ETENZ
East Tennessee
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great for the price
7/15/2012

Customer review by hypnosisdoc

4.0 stars 7/15/2012 by hypnosisdoc
by hypnosisdoc

This gets the job done. It is heavy when full and you do have to put it high so that it is over your head. Good shower head, no problem with flow and it is actually adjustable. Heating up in the sun is no issue and you can even lay it on rocks that retain heat or heat it up. Can also be used as a drinking water source. I actually took a ver,very long shower and then just hung out underneath it until it was empty. Strong plastic and a strong handle that is necessary for the weight, remember a gallon of water weighs 8 lbs., so if it is full that's 40lbs....

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
hypnosisdoc
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works, but better with a 5-gallon bucket
8/9/2010

Customer review by OnShoppingTherapy

4.0 stars 8/9/2010 by OnShoppingTherapy
by OnShoppingTherapy

Got this and a privacy tent to shower outdoors.. The bag did heat up and the nozzle worked better than expected.. However, after hooking the bag onto the ceiling of the privacy tent, the bag became too low for the hose to work properly - you basically cannot rinse your upper body w/o kneeling.. Every time you pick up the hose, it's too high for the water to come out of the bag.. Fortunately, I got a 5-gallon bucket to do the job; and moved this one to the tree where we used it to rinse our feet instead..

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OnShoppingTherapy
Rosemead, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
very nice portable shower!
8/18/2013

Customer review by JRgrad2011

4.0 stars 8/18/2013 by JRgrad2011
by JRgrad2011

Very durable little shower!! We read another review that a guy bought the shower and replaced the pvc pipe with a longer one and the tubing so we did too and it works a thousand times better! My husband replaced the 18 in 3/8in plastic tubing with a longer 5 ft one so we can hang it from a tree instead of in the shower tent so it could be in constant sun to worm it up. The pvc pipe was replaced just to enhance the weight support, its a lot of weight on that little pipe. The shower head works AWESOME, you can pull it on and push it off. Very nice little shower for the price, it worked well before the modifications and can be used just as that.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JRgrad2011
Upland CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
5/13/2013

Customer review by FlyingPegasus

2.0 stars 5/13/2013 by FlyingPegasus
by FlyingPegasus

I previously owned one of these shower bags and loved it. This time I was very disappointed in this product it leaked, I exchanged it and the second one leaks also. Coleman needs to work on the cap design so bag does not have to stay in upright position.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FlyingPegasus
Calif.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 79 total reviews
1-20 of 79 reviews