Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 28 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

28 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

4.5 stars

28 reviews | 4.3 out of 5

86%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
16
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 27 total reviews
86%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Great Item for the price, tips for future buyer
1/2/2013

Customer review by KansasOutdoorsman

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by KansasOutdoorsman
by KansasOutdoorsman

This is a great little water tight case, the matchers are not strike anywhere but for a buck I can't complain. I will replace them with strike anywhere ones before taking hiking. The piece of steel on the bottom is not a striking surface, there is an included small sheet of striking material in the cannister. The striking material has an adhesive backing to it. I cut a piece small enough to adheir to the inside of the cap, then placed the rest into the included bag and placed it back into the container. To keep the matches from coming into contact with the piece of striking material on the cap I put a cotton ball inside to keep the matches from moving. It can also serve as a piece of tender if need be. Overall a very useful item.

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
KansasOutdoorsman
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Great product for a buck.
5/20/2013

Customer review by 30george

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by 30george
by 30george

I originally bought this case not realizing there was matches inside. I saw it and quickly thought to myself that my newly purchased rechargeable BRC 18650 Li-Ion batteries just might fit in here. So I purchased a few and sure enough they keep them safe from all the elements. Even being fully submerged in ice chest water over night the batteries came out dry and safe. Since buying these I have purchased more and use them for many other things as well. I like the color as I can find them easily. I paint the lids in order to tell which one I need, so a few different colors might be useful. Possibly some larger ones as well.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
30george
early texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great product, somewhat overlooked!
1/26/2013

Customer review by TheAssembler

4.0 stars 1/26/2013 by TheAssembler
by TheAssembler
Top 250 contributor

First of all, the product is really cheap, inexpensive and has a great use. The product doesn't have strike anywhere matches, as many are complaining. This item however comes with a Ferrocerium steel bar on the bottom, with which you can start a fire as well if the matches failed. Holding a blade of a knife perpendicular to the steel and flicking the knife across will result in a spark that can in fact catch a tinder on fire. When I pack for a trip I always take a few cotton balls, soaked in alcohol, placed in an airtight, water tight container, the Ferrocerium will ignite these and the flame will be nearly invisible, but hot enough to make a leaf pile or another form of tinder catch fire. The scratch paper that is inside, it has a sticky backing. I read comments about this, one said to place a circle in the lid, and reserve the remainder. The reason it is so big, is to be placed as a lining inside the bottle, giving 360 degrees of striking ability. I would however reserve 50% of the paper and line only half just in case. The water tight seal, it is very cool, a ring of rubber around the cap. I first opened mine and the ring came flying off, I suggest firmly pressing the seal onto the threads of the bottle when you first open it, and then it is smooth sailing. TIP: If you happen to hate the matches that much, buy a tea light candle, a box of strike anywhere matches, and empty the container. Light the candle, and then allow wax to melt, once melted, dip each tip into the well of wax up to 1/4 inch depth. Then holding the match allow the excess to drip off. Now you have waterproof matches that strike anywhere. Great camping and survival means always being prepared.

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheAssembler
Oak Grove, KY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Top 250 contributor
If only it was green...
10/26/2010

Customer review by HotRod205

4.0 stars 10/26/2010 by HotRod205
by HotRod205

I'm sure Walmart can't figure out why they sell so many of these. They are only $0.97 in stores, and they are used a lot in the game of geocaching. Since they are bright orange they must be painted or otherwise camoflaged. There is an army green version of this exact item that is only available in hunting/survival stores, Walmart could sell even more if they stocked the army green and maybe a brown or black version of this item.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
HotRod205
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
If it was a snake it woulda bit a bunch of ya
9/7/2015

Customer review by GreatCaesarsGhost

5.0 stars 9/7/2015 by GreatCaesarsGhost
by GreatCaesarsGhost

Look INSIDE the case. There's a striker in there (it's in a tiny zipper bag) for the matches. On the bottom there's a ferro rod for striking with a sharp edge, such as the spine of a knife or a p38 or a piece of a hacksaw blade. Look on youtube for "ferrocerium rod" or "ferro rod" or "fire steel" demo videos to see how these are meant to be used. There are TONS of videos. It's already been demonstrated to be waterproof by a few youtubers, I've already proven to myself that the striker INSIDE the case works just fine, even just holding the striker in one hand while lighting the match off it with the other. Fill in the empty space inside the case with your favorite tinder, both to keep the matches from rattling around and, well, to have tinder, and done. These geniuses would have done well to carry one of these with them: http://www.stuff.co.nz/nelson-mail/news/71798950/Trampers-lucky-to-be-alive-after-rescue-from-freezing-mountain

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GreatCaesarsGhost
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good price... no really, great price!
10/9/2013

Customer review by GeoNV

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by GeoNV
by GeoNV

Can't believe they're going for $2 up to $4.50 on Ebay?!?! Really? Don't people shop? I tell you, after geocaching in the desert (A LOT!) these little guys hold up better than ANY plastic container out there, and they're more water proof than any metal container out there. I found a cache the other day (one of these) and it was the original container hidden back in 2006. At 110° + every summer, that is saying something. I buy some and carry them as spares when I'm out, they come in so handy for replacements for some of those cheap plastic things. I agree... w/ previous poster... Hey WalMart? Get them in dark green. :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GeoNV
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Does what it says it'll do.
1/27/2014

Customer review by BlueRidgeJJ

4.0 stars 1/27/2014 by BlueRidgeJJ
by BlueRidgeJJ
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

To be honest, I purchased this Coleman Match Holder as a "filler" to get free shipping from Wal-Mart on a multi-item order. I was pleasantly surprised at the way this item seals and holds the contents water-tight. It's more of an "emergency" item, as far as I'm concerned, but for that purpose it'll do well to have in a coat pocket or glove box of a vehicle, etc.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BlueRidgeJJ
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
EVERYTHING IT SAYS IT IS.
11/15/2013

Customer review by Rampid

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Rampid
by Rampid
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I TRIED THIS PRODUCT UNDER WET CONDITIONS AND I WAS VERY SATISFIED.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Rampid
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
GREAT STOCKING STUFFER OR GIFT
10/22/2015

Customer review by abearwhocares

5.0 stars 10/22/2015 by abearwhocares
by abearwhocares
Top 10 contributor

Everyone needs a match occasionally and these little waterproof holders are perfect to have around. I buy them in multiples to give away. First i remove the supplied matches and replace them with waterproof [ dipped in paraffin ] and strike anywhere tip matches which are easily bought in larger boxes. They usually have a strike strip inside the container- but it is safer to have better matches. When you gift these--TELL THE PERSON that the metal strip on the bottom is NOT to strike matches but to strike with a metal blade to make sparks for other reasons-- there is no info to explain that included and most people just don't know!! Keep these in several drawers-- the can trunk and glove box-where you keep emergency candles or gas pilot lights that might go out. These could be a life saver... and so cheap or the convenience-- and easy to locate with the bright color. The container can also hold other things -- pills you need to find easily...a variety of uses! Walmart has these for $1.00-- you may find them a bit cheaper-- but not often. Fpr spark usage-- it could be wise to put dry cotton balls in the container for tinder to help start a fire. Keep away for curious young kids! They are not toys.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
abearwhocares
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Top 10 contributor
check yours right away - do not wait...
11/26/2013

Customer review by DigitalTreeHugger

1.0 stars 11/26/2013 by DigitalTreeHugger
by DigitalTreeHugger

I am thankful that I checked out this product before I actually needed it... The striker on the bottom was covered with excess glue and the matches would not light. After scraping off the excess glue (lots of sparks because it is flint or magnesium) the matches still would not light. I think they are the wrong kind of matches for the striker provided. Eventually I discovered I could light the supplied matches using a book of matches that I had on hand. So, I folded up the book of matches and stored it inside the container. Hope this solution works if/when I need it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
DigitalTreeHugger
St Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Good Value
12/19/2013

Customer review by Tijuanamama

4.0 stars 12/19/2013 by Tijuanamama
by Tijuanamama
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Only way to improve this item is to put the sticker material on the outside of the box. How ever that would also increase the price. So it's a great value with a little effort from you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Tijuanamama
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Coleman Match Holder
5/25/2014

Customer review by timchi1956

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by timchi1956
by timchi1956
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice product for $1 I was suprised to see the holder was full of strike anywhere match as well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
timchi1956
Central Point, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good little product
2/1/2014

Customer review by jjwing

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by jjwing
by jjwing
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Good little match container.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jjwing
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Outstanding Value
12/14/2015

Customer review by bkwalmart

5.0 stars 12/14/2015 by bkwalmart
by bkwalmart

Who doesn't need to keep some emergency matches around? These are the perfect matches in the perfect container. And an extremely cheap price. It's a no-brainer. Even buy 2 or more.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bkwalmart
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Can't strike the match
10/14/2013

Customer review by MLJMDR

1.0 stars 10/14/2013 by MLJMDR
by MLJMDR

This is a TERRIBLE product. The thin strip of flint on the bottom is covered with hot glue/adhesive preventing the match from igniting when struck. I am glad I picked up a book of matches from my favorite Mexican restaurant in Fort Worth, Tx. (Thank you Joe T. Garcia's for saving us in the wilderness!) Do not buy this and depend up this for starting your campfires!

Was this review helpful? (3) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MLJMDR
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
awesome
12/19/2015

Customer review by shep

5.0 stars 12/19/2015 by shep
by shep

great was glad to see how full it was

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
shep
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Good little match holder
8/1/2013

Customer review by BUTX

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by BUTX
by BUTX
Top 500 contributor

You get some matches with it, I did not know that (bonus!!!). It is what it is a match holder and it does that great. You will need another way to light the matches, but I had already planned on that. It is what it is and nothing more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BUTX
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 500 contributor
Useful but not for emergencies
2/27/2011

Customer review by egosintrick

3.0 stars 2/27/2011 by egosintrick
by egosintrick

This comes with a few matches that are NOT strike-anywhere. Included in the case is a small piece of very thin and flimsy sandpaper, which completely disintegrated when I tried to light one match. The metal piece on the bottom of the container is just a piece of metal glued on it, not a striker. Too bad that would have been handy. It's watertight though, so it works as a match holder, anyways.

Was this review helpful? (2) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
egosintrick
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great Price in store. Way overpriced online
5/31/2015

Customer review by BountyShopper

3.0 stars 5/31/2015 by BountyShopper
by BountyShopper

Just bought this item in the store for a buck. Probably would have rated higher if the threaded cap was better quality. I had to be very careful to not cross thread it. The UCO Stormproof Match Kit with Waterproof Case is a much better value at $4.97 in store.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
BountyShopper
Would recommend to a friend? No
watertight. flint wont spark match
11/12/2014

Customer review by weltimusprime

3.0 stars 11/12/2014 by weltimusprime
by weltimusprime

I purchased these for the purpose of a watertight container. Good thing. Matches wont ignite on any surface ive tried. And the flint rod it too smooth to spark these and other matches ive tried. Even tho i didnt need the matches id still prefer they worked. The material the container is a bit thinner than others i have. I wouldnt consider it crush/smash proof like others. But it does what i wanted. And hey its a buck lol

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
weltimusprime
illinois
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Gender:Male
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews