Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 24 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

4.0 stars

24 reviews | 4.1 out of 5

83%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
7
3 stars
3
2 stars
0
1 stars
2
1-20 of 23 total reviews
83%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews
Great product, somewhat overlooked!
1/26/2013

Customer review by TheAssembler

4.0 stars 1/26/2013 by TheAssembler
by TheAssembler

First of all, the product is really cheap, inexpensive and has a great use. The product doesn't have strike anywhere matches, as many are complaining. This item however comes with a Ferrocerium steel bar on the bottom, with which you can start a fire as well if the matches failed. Holding a blade of a knife perpendicular to the steel and flicking the knife across will result in a spark that can in fact catch a tinder on fire. When I pack for a trip I always take a few cotton balls, soaked in alcohol, placed in an airtight, water tight container, the Ferrocerium will ignite these and the flame will be nearly invisible, but hot enough to make a leaf pile or another form of tinder catch fire. The scratch paper that is inside, it has a sticky backing. I read comments about this, one said to place a circle in the lid, and reserve the remainder. The reason it is so big, is to be placed as a lining inside the bottle, giving 360 degrees of striking ability. I would however reserve 50% of the paper and line only half just in case. The water tight seal, it is very cool, a ring of rubber around the cap. I first opened mine and the ring came flying off, I suggest firmly pressing the seal onto the threads of the bottle when you first open it, and then it is smooth sailing. TIP: If you happen to hate the matches that much, buy a tea light candle, a box of strike anywhere matches, and empty the container. Light the candle, and then allow wax to melt, once melted, dip each tip into the well of wax up to 1/4 inch depth. Then holding the match allow the excess to drip off. Now you have waterproof matches that strike anywhere. Great camping and survival means always being prepared.

Was this review helpful? (16) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheAssembler
Oak Grove, KY.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Top 250 contributor
Great Item for the price, tips for future buyer
1/2/2013

Customer review by KansasOutdoorsman

4.0 stars 1/2/2013 by KansasOutdoorsman
by KansasOutdoorsman

This is a great little water tight case, the matchers are not strike anywhere but for a buck I can't complain. I will replace them with strike anywhere ones before taking hiking. The piece of steel on the bottom is not a striking surface, there is an included small sheet of striking material in the cannister. The striking material has an adhesive backing to it. I cut a piece small enough to adheir to the inside of the cap, then placed the rest into the included bag and placed it back into the container. To keep the matches from coming into contact with the piece of striking material on the cap I put a cotton ball inside to keep the matches from moving. It can also serve as a piece of tender if need be. Overall a very useful item.

Was this review helpful? (12) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
KansasOutdoorsman
Kansas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
If only it was green...
10/26/2010

Customer review by HotRod205

4.0 stars 10/26/2010 by HotRod205
by HotRod205

I'm sure Walmart can't figure out why they sell so many of these. They are only $0.97 in stores, and they are used a lot in the game of geocaching. Since they are bright orange they must be painted or otherwise camoflaged. There is an army green version of this exact item that is only available in hunting/survival stores, Walmart could sell even more if they stocked the army green and maybe a brown or black version of this item.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HotRod205
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:Longer than one year
Usage:Every few days
Great product for a buck.
5/20/2013

Customer review by 30george

5.0 stars 5/20/2013 by 30george
by 30george

I originally bought this case not realizing there was matches inside. I saw it and quickly thought to myself that my newly purchased rechargeable BRC 18650 Li-Ion batteries just might fit in here. So I purchased a few and sure enough they keep them safe from all the elements. Even being fully submerged in ice chest water over night the batteries came out dry and safe. Since buying these I have purchased more and use them for many other things as well. I like the color as I can find them easily. I paint the lids in order to tell which one I need, so a few different colors might be useful. Possibly some larger ones as well.

Was this review helpful? (9) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
30george
early texas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Good price... no really, great price!
10/9/2013

Customer review by GeoNV

5.0 stars 10/9/2013 by GeoNV
by GeoNV

Can't believe they're going for $2 up to $4.50 on Ebay?!?! Really? Don't people shop? I tell you, after geocaching in the desert (A LOT!) these little guys hold up better than ANY plastic container out there, and they're more water proof than any metal container out there. I found a cache the other day (one of these) and it was the original container hidden back in 2006. At 110° + every summer, that is saying something. I buy some and carry them as spares when I'm out, they come in so handy for replacements for some of those cheap plastic things. I agree... w/ previous poster... Hey WalMart? Get them in dark green. :)

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
GeoNV
Las Vegas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
check yours right away - do not wait...
11/26/2013

Customer review by DigitalTreeHugger

1.0 stars 11/26/2013 by DigitalTreeHugger
by DigitalTreeHugger

I am thankful that I checked out this product before I actually needed it... The striker on the bottom was covered with excess glue and the matches would not light. After scraping off the excess glue (lots of sparks because it is flint or magnesium) the matches still would not light. I think they are the wrong kind of matches for the striker provided. Eventually I discovered I could light the supplied matches using a book of matches that I had on hand. So, I folded up the book of matches and stored it inside the container. Hope this solution works if/when I need it.

Was this review helpful? (4) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DigitalTreeHugger
St Petersburg, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
EVERYTHING IT SAYS IT IS.
11/15/2013

Customer review by Rampid

5.0 stars 11/15/2013 by Rampid
by Rampid

I TRIED THIS PRODUCT UNDER WET CONDITIONS AND I WAS VERY SATISFIED.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Rampid
San Antonio, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Does what it says it'll do.
1/27/2014

Customer review by BlueRidgeJJ

4.0 stars 1/27/2014 by BlueRidgeJJ
by BlueRidgeJJ

To be honest, I purchased this Coleman Match Holder as a "filler" to get free shipping from Wal-Mart on a multi-item order. I was pleasantly surprised at the way this item seals and holds the contents water-tight. It's more of an "emergency" item, as far as I'm concerned, but for that purpose it'll do well to have in a coat pocket or glove box of a vehicle, etc.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlueRidgeJJ
North Carolina
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
good little product
2/1/2014

Customer review by jjwing

5.0 stars 2/1/2014 by jjwing
by jjwing

Good little match container.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjwing
Oregon
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good little match holder
8/1/2013

Customer review by BUTX

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by BUTX
by BUTX

You get some matches with it, I did not know that (bonus!!!). It is what it is a match holder and it does that great. You will need another way to light the matches, but I had already planned on that. It is what it is and nothing more.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BUTX
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every day
Top 250 contributor
Coleman Match Holder
5/25/2014

Customer review by timchi1956

5.0 stars 5/25/2014 by timchi1956
by timchi1956

Nice product for $1 I was suprised to see the holder was full of strike anywhere match as well.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
timchi1956
Central Point, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Good Value
12/19/2013

Customer review by Tijuanamama

4.0 stars 12/19/2013 by Tijuanamama
by Tijuanamama

Only way to improve this item is to put the sticker material on the outside of the box. How ever that would also increase the price. So it's a great value with a little effort from you.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Tijuanamama
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can't strike the match
10/14/2013

Customer review by MLJMDR

1.0 stars 10/14/2013 by MLJMDR
by MLJMDR

This is a TERRIBLE product. The thin strip of flint on the bottom is covered with hot glue/adhesive preventing the match from igniting when struck. I am glad I picked up a book of matches from my favorite Mexican restaurant in Fort Worth, Tx. (Thank you Joe T. Garcia's for saving us in the wilderness!) Do not buy this and depend up this for starting your campfires!

Was this review helpful? (2) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MLJMDR
TEXAS
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
Useful but not for emergencies
2/27/2011

Customer review by egosintrick

3.0 stars 2/27/2011 by egosintrick
by egosintrick

This comes with a few matches that are NOT strike-anywhere. Included in the case is a small piece of very thin and flimsy sandpaper, which completely disintegrated when I tried to light one match. The metal piece on the bottom of the container is just a piece of metal glued on it, not a striker. Too bad that would have been handy. It's watertight though, so it works as a match holder, anyways.

Was this review helpful? (2) (17)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
egosintrick
Clovis, NM
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Watertight and Durable, great value.
9/29/2014

Customer review by JoJoGebroni

5.0 stars 9/29/2014 by JoJoGebroni
by JoJoGebroni

These are usually around $6 in the sporting goods stores and this is the exact same product. The Walmart ad does not mention that it includes waterproof matches and a striker paper, that would be nice to mention further increasing the value.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JoJoGebroni
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
compacted
11/22/2014

Customer review by shaniiprettybrown

5.0 stars 11/22/2014 by shaniiprettybrown
by shaniiprettybrown

Able to fit in your purse or pockets

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shaniiprettybrown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Great buy
1/26/2015

Customer review by Lorie

5.0 stars 1/26/2015 by Lorie
by Lorie

For the price this is a great buy. The matches are not waterproof....but with a little wax they can be.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lorie
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
I got fire
1/12/2015

Customer review by An anonymous customer

5.0 stars 1/12/2015 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

I bought this to keep our matches dry in case we ever need them in a disaster, Hopefully We'll never need them.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dry matches
12/28/2014

Customer review by DeeDur

5.0 stars 12/28/2014 by DeeDur
by DeeDur

Matches stay dry and this is what I wanted.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DeeDur
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Dry matches work much better than dry ones
12/27/2014

Customer review by djoker

4.0 stars 12/27/2014 by djoker
by djoker

Always try to keep one or two of these in any vessel I'm on just for safety's sake. Just one thing you don't have to worry about...They WILL work when needed! Make great dry Geocache containers too.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
djoker
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 23 total reviews
1-20 of 23 reviews