Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 86 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

86 reviews | 4 out of 5

4.0 stars

86 reviews | 4 out of 5

80%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
51
4 stars
17
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
13
1-20 of 73 total reviews
80%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews
These saved my son's playtent!!
6/18/2011

Customer review by MaxaronisMom

5.0 stars 6/18/2011 by MaxaronisMom
by MaxaronisMom

The poles that came with my son's Discovery Kids Adventure Play Tent were junky plastic and broke after using the tent only a couple of times. Thankfully, these replacement poles were available. Two sets were exactly what I needed to replace the broken poles. These replacement poles are made of MUCH sturdier matierals and I think will last much longer than the original poles did. The replacement poles were pretty easy to put together - the toughest part is getting the elastic string through all the poles. But for these replacement poles, the playtent would have been tossed into the garbage. I am very pleased with this purchase.

Was this review helpful? (63) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MaxaronisMom
Souderton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
Misleading
7/7/2010

Customer review by rwbined

1.0 stars 7/7/2010 by rwbined
by rwbined

Specifications listed as half inch in diameter. This is not true. Poles are only 3/8 diameter.

Was this review helpful? (69) (16)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
rwbined
Would recommend to a friend? No
More Than Pleased!
6/18/2010

Customer review by MissIOWA30

5.0 stars 6/18/2010 by MissIOWA30
by MissIOWA30

I bought a used canopy shade tent at a thrift store. When I got it home and started assembling it, I discovered the reason the tent was at the thrift store—one of the poles had broken right next to one of the silver ferrules, and another one was stressed and would probably bust in the future. My good deal wasn't looking so great until I found these replacement poles at Walmart. Compared to other sites, the price couldn't be beat! The new poles were a bit longer than my tent's, but trimmed down nicely with the use of a hacksaw. I got my tent fixed up in no time and am pleased that my used tent purchase remains a great deal!

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MissIOWA30
Asheville, NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Gender:Female
8/23/2011

Customer review by Citycampers

5.0 stars 8/23/2011 by Citycampers
by Citycampers

Used the Coleman poles to fix a Ozark tent that had lost poles! These poles were very easy to string and cut to length with a hacksaw. Anybody with a little common sense can figure out how to use these poles! Well worth the money to repair a $150.00 tent. AND if you have to cut them off as I did you can buy the extra ferrells in the stores OR use one of the plastic caps that are included. I even had to drill a hole in the end to accomodate the tent assembly. Very easy!!!!

Was this review helpful? (15) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Citycampers
Morristown, TN
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
tent Pole Kit
5/23/2010

Customer review by YankeeNGeorgia

5.0 stars 5/23/2010 by YankeeNGeorgia
by YankeeNGeorgia

Same as original equipment. Excellent price. Buy it!

Was this review helpful? (17) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
YankeeNGeorgia
Atlanta
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
7/8/2011

Customer review by HappyCamper040

2.0 stars 7/8/2011 by HappyCamper040
by HappyCamper040

These poles would have been a great value if they were the actual poles that were described. 0.5" in diameter is a 11mm fiberglass pole and these poles are 9.5mm poles. So if you are looking to replace 11mm poles this is not the product for you.

Was this review helpful? (13) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
HappyCamper040
Would recommend to a friend? No
terrible
8/5/2011

Customer review by starkist72

1.0 stars 8/5/2011 by starkist72
by starkist72

we ordered 2 of these to replace poles in my sons play tent that were exactly the same size. when we put them in we were impressed by the strength of the product compared to the poles we replaced, however, the next morning we found both the poles snapped directly in the middle. they couldn't take the pressure of being curved (like a tent...) pretty much a waste of money and a huge disappointment. no where near the experience i'd expect from buying a coleman product.

Was this review helpful? (12) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
starkist72
massachusetts
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Tent poles helpful
7/19/2010

Customer review by jhodgesatmb

4.0 stars 7/19/2010 by jhodgesatmb
by jhodgesatmb

I got these to construct an ad-hoc tent behind my SUV (for the dogs). They work just fine, though the the instructions didn't say how to use the threading wire and I was unable to figure out how to use it and just threaded the elastic by hand. The instructions are also weak on how to set the poles up for different lengths. For example, which end should be cut, how to prep the poles for elastic threading, etc. So the instructions should be augmented by someone that has actually used the pole kit. But the poles themselves are a good buy.

Was this review helpful? (9) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jhodgesatmb
Moss Beach, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
replacement pole kit
6/2/2011

Customer review by laulyn

5.0 stars 6/2/2011 by laulyn
by laulyn

Great product. FYI Only 1 pole in package, so if you need more than one, you need to buy several kits.

Was this review helpful? (7) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
laulyn
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Cheap quick fix!
6/21/2010

Customer review by reviewwriter2

5.0 stars 6/21/2010 by reviewwriter2
by reviewwriter2

This is wonderful product! We broke a tent pole on our last camping trip. looked at replacing our 3 yr old tent and was looking at least $75 to replace tent. I found this item and for under $10 it was great fix! we did have to cut it to the correct length but it worked wonderful! I would reccommend this to anyone who has a tent. Never know when you may need it and cheap and works!

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
reviewwriter2
Sacramento, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
MOST IMPORTANT ISSUES ADDRESSED HERE
12/7/2012

Customer review by PublicInterestTech001

1.0 stars 12/7/2012 by PublicInterestTech001
by PublicInterestTech001

In my opinion, there is not enough poles for one whole small tent in this kit. Its like just a "tease." You may have to buy TWO or more of these kits to replace all poles on even a two-man tent. If your tent is Coleman, their customer service should be able to tell you exact pole length, but IF YOUR TENT IS NOT COLEMAN, HERES HOW YOU DETERMINE WHAT YOU'LL NEED: If you do NOT know your tent dimensions: 1. Measure the outside length and width. Using a ruler and sheet of paper, pretend that inches are feet. Count the number of feet for one side and mark the paper. Count the number for the other side and mark the paper. Use a ruler to connect the two marks. Then measure the length of that third side (hypotenuse.) This third side is the SPAN that a single-pole travels. E.G. a 7 x 10 ft tent spans 12 ft 4 in diagonally. (The 4 inches is equivalent to 1/4 inch on the ruler, etc.) 2. Take the SPAN and multiply times 3.1417, then divide by TWO. This is the MINIMUM length the poles need to be. ADD maybe one extra foot beyond that IF the poles land beyond the tent and dont go right into a catch place. YOU CAN ALWAYS TRIM DOWN IF YOU MEASURE TOO MUCH, but not if youre short, but if you use the above guides it will come real close and youll buy just what you need. Of course there are scientific ways to get measurements right on the money, but this method is simple that the average person can handle. IF YOU DO KNOW YOUR TENT DIMENSIONS, THEN SIMPLY GET YOUR CROSS-SPAN FROM STEP ONE AND FOLLOW STEP TWO. CUTTING POLES: 1. BOX-CUTTER: Score the circumfrence of the pole at the desired length with a box-cutter as hard as possible. WEAR LEATHER GLOVES FOR SAFETY. You should then be able to easily break the piece off by hand. 2. METAL-SAW: Wearing leather gloves, remove the blade from a fine-toothed metal saw or just buy a blade. Firmly Score by hand the circumfrence, continually rotating the pole until it breaks through. THE SOFTER YOU PRESS DOWN, THE MORE THE CUT WILL LOOK NICE AND CLEAN, but will take much longer. FINALLY: Tape frayed ends with a couple layers of DUCT TAPE.

Was this review helpful? (6) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PublicInterestTech001
El Paso, TX
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
did not work with my existing coleman poles
6/7/2014

Customer review by DestinFisher

3.0 stars 6/7/2014 by DestinFisher
by DestinFisher

The ad said they were 0.38 in. diameter. Mine were 0.37 as measured by my micrometer. I wrote that off as a tolerance thing. Not so. These poles were not compatible with my existing 7 man Coleman tent (that i got from Walmart). So, i had to use my drill and some sand paper to shave some off before the pole would fit in the metal tip of my existing pole segment. There is another pole on Walmart's website that is 1.0xLxH. I KNOW for sure that the 1.0 is not a 1 inch diameter (that's just ridiculous). 0.38 inch is just about equal to 1 cm (actually 0.394 in. = 1.0 cm), so i'm pretty sure the 1.0 is in centimeters, which explains why it didn't work with my pole. In any event, it seems that there is only one diameter pole available and they are NOT compatible with the older (6~7 years old) tent poles.

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
DestinFisher
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Can make it work on Ozark
9/30/2011

Customer review by Lovo

4.0 stars 9/30/2011 by Lovo
by Lovo

We broke a pole on an Ozark tent and I needed two sections and the elastic cord inside. I read the reviews and the Coleman poles are actually smaller and less sturdy than the Ozark. The Coleman elastic cord is shorter than the Ozark, but you can splice it pretty easily. I put two of the repair kits pole sections at the end of the Ozark good ones and there really wasn't a problem. I was surprised that Ozark is actually made better than the Coleman. One more note. I bought it through Site to Store for $5.70 and saw it in the store for $7.20, so you save $1.50 (no shipping cost for Site to Store).

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Lovo
Medina, OH
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Need Multiple Kits
7/1/2014

Customer review by NotMyRealName0

5.0 stars 7/1/2014 by NotMyRealName0
by NotMyRealName0

These kits are not for small tents. You will need at least two kits to replace a missing pole, otherwise they can be used to repair a broken pole. I used two kits to replace the pole on a side room of my tent, and it has been holding up for several weeks of usage. They appear to be the same quality as the original poles.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NotMyRealName0
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
works, but don't waste your time with the needle
6/26/2012

Customer review by ballardparent

4.0 stars 6/26/2012 by ballardparent
by ballardparent

I wish I would have realized the cord has enough body to it that it doesn't need the needle to be threaded through the poles. After wasting nearly an hour trying to get the needle to work, I found the cord to fit just fine without it. It's true what the directions say about scoring the poles before cutting, it does prevent the fibers from splitting.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ballardparent
Seattle, WA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Do Not Fit
6/16/2014

Customer review by campinginArk

1.0 stars 6/16/2014 by campinginArk
by campinginArk

After being referred to Walmart by Coleman, the replacement tent poles were received (service was OK) but the poles do not fit the tent, no matter what Walmart and Coleman say on their web sites.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
campinginArk
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Able to use these pieces on Ozark Trail tent
8/7/2011

Customer review by smartcheap

4.0 stars 8/7/2011 by smartcheap
by smartcheap

In combination with some connectors from the Coleman Tent Repair kit and some crimping, I was able to repair 3 poles on my son's Ozark Trail 3-person dome tent.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
smartcheap
Orlando, FL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
7/14/2011

Customer review by cussamn

1.0 stars 7/14/2011 by cussamn
by cussamn

doesnt say what diameter these are.... and they didnt work for my tent

Was this review helpful? (4) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
cussamn
olympia wa
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Just what I expected
8/31/2014

Customer review by WalmartFarm

5.0 stars 8/31/2014 by WalmartFarm
by WalmartFarm

We had a tent that we totally lost all the poles to. I didn't figure the right amount of replacement poles we needed, so we bought a new tent for cheaper than the right length of replacement poles would have cost. But if you only had to replace a small amount of poles, these are good.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
WalmartFarm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great find!
10/24/2011

Customer review by toadcatcher

5.0 stars 10/24/2011 by toadcatcher
by toadcatcher

Our ice-fishing tent had a broken pole. Ordering a new fiberglass section for it was pretty costly, so we decided to take a chance and see if these would work. They are the exact same pole sections as the ice fishing tent, and now we have the section repaired AND have spares for the next time a pole breaks. We're very pleased with the quality and the price is SO much less than we expected we'd have to pay.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
toadcatcher
Romeoville, IL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
1-20 of 73 total reviews
1-20 of 73 reviews