Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 35 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

35 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

63%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
14
4 stars
8
3 stars
2
2 stars
3
1 stars
8
1-20 of 33 total reviews
63%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews
Waste of money.
10/11/2011

Customer review by Mekox

1.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Mekox
by Mekox

I was planning on buying the G.I. Folding shovel but saw this at walmart and was hoping I could save a couple of bucks. But boy was I wrong. You really get what you pay for. As soon as i got home i went to the backyard to test this little baby out. As soon as i put it in the ground it gone and bent back a little bit. I was like ok maybe i need to twist the top a bit more to lock it in place. But when i looked at it a bit more I notice it looked a bit broke. And it was. It still works but now if i was to get it a bit wet like trying to clean it, water would get inside and rust the whole thing out. So just pay a few more bucks for the better stuff and dont waste your money on this.

Was this review helpful? (16) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Mekox
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Perfect for the Beach!
7/16/2016

Customer review by Beachbum

5.0 stars 7/16/2016 by Beachbum
by Beachbum
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Perfect for the beach! After spending hundreds over the years on plastic shovels, I wised up. My daughters sand castles are now Zillow worthy. It use to take me a solid 15 minutes to bury my son. I'm now down to 5 minutes. This shovel is designed to give parents more Corona or book reading time at the beach. Cheers!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Beachbum
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Poor design (POOR EVERYTHING )
7/6/2016

Customer review by Disatified

1.0 stars 7/6/2016 by Disatified
by Disatified

Tightening nut fragile (poor design ) got as a gift , wish my son would have gotten me a beach TOY shovel instead , at least it would have come with a plastic bucket. If I could have, I'd have given it a zero star :-(

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Disatified
Would recommend to a friend? No
Pretty Much Worthless
11/14/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/14/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Pros - None Cons - Everything I could point out that this shovel is inexpensive, folds nicely, isn't very heavy and is a nice color. Unfortunately, I can't give any of these good points to it because it completely and utterly FAILS to do the one thing it's designed to do. That's right. This shovel does not shovel. Plant your foot on it and start to push down and the blade will fold upwards. Worthless. Perhaps if you were trying to dig about an inch down in loose dry sand, this shovel might work, but on any kind of soil, you're fighting a loosing battle. I really REALLY wish I'd have kept the receipt for this buy. PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS "SHOVEL"

Was this review helpful? (31) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
Good light-medium duty shovel
6/25/2016

Customer review by j712007

4.0 stars 6/25/2016 by j712007
by j712007

Would you want to scuff your shiny "special forces" shovel by tending the fire with it? No. This one is cheap enough to not care. As long as you aren't trying to hack through trees, and pulverize rocks, this shovel is great for tending fires, and digging holes in relatively soft ground.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
j712007
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
12/14/2010

Customer review by heysmithy

1.0 stars 12/14/2010 by heysmithy
by heysmithy

This is pretty much the worst shovel ever. I've only used it about 3 times, and the handle is bent at the joint. It's heavy like a chunk of solid steel, but it bends like it's made of cheap aluminum. Don't buy.

Was this review helpful? (23) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
heysmithy
Would recommend to a friend? No
fold up shovel
5/25/2016

Customer review by detectorking

2.0 stars 5/25/2016 by detectorking
by detectorking

the washer on the lock down is hollow, so when you try to dig it collapses, and shovel folds up.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
detectorking
Would recommend to a friend? No
Do NOT Buy! Unless are a child playing in Sand.
6/13/2015

Customer review by Michael

1.0 stars 6/13/2015 by Michael
by Michael

I bought this shovel during a 3 week camping trip. The first time I tried to use it, I bent it. At first I thought i did not lock it in tight enough by turning the knob by the blade. That was unit I saw I had bent the know you screw down to make it tight. Again I tried tightening it more but I bent it again as i was sticking it in the ground. This shovel should be sold in the kids section for use at the beach digging sand castles. Coleman really should not put their names on something that is non-functional.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Michael
Would recommend to a friend? No
Great Product
4/6/2016

Customer review by JimmyLongIsland

5.0 stars 4/6/2016 by JimmyLongIsland
by JimmyLongIsland

It's a Coleman. It folds. It's a shovel. Perfect.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
JimmyLongIsland
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Not good for ground with rocks
7/22/2015

Customer review by CAMBOBEAST

1.0 stars 7/22/2015 by CAMBOBEAST
by CAMBOBEAST

First time went campping with it and did not make it throw the first day, all I did was digging a fire pit as i was digging the shovel keep folding on its own the only good thing about it is it folds up save a little space.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
CAMBOBEAST
Would recommend to a friend? No
Handy to have in your trunk
12/14/2012

Customer review by snugglerscove

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by snugglerscove
by snugglerscove
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Great item to have in your vehicle emergency bag. Ice, snow, dirt, mud are quickly moved away from tires if you're stuck. The serrated edge helps cut through small branches/compacted earth clods. Handy for camping and/or gardening around the home. Lightweight, and pretty compact for backpacks. I prefer the triangular handle because it gives you a better hold on the shovel. For the price, I have one in the car and one for camping/bug out bag. I don't expect more than the very basics out of this little shovel. If I wanted more, I'd buy one twice or 3 times the price with a few more bells & whistles, even though that is no guarantee that it will work better. It's all about what you need/expect/afford. I plan on getting a few more for myself and for some friends.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
snugglerscove
Charlotte NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Surprisingly Sturdy
4/30/2010

Customer review by NewCamper2010

5.0 stars 4/30/2010 by NewCamper2010
by NewCamper2010

We bought this for our first camping trip. We were shocked at how sturdy this was. It folded down 3 ways so it can fit in a backpack.

Was this review helpful? (8) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
NewCamper2010
DFW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Weak shovel
8/2/2013

Customer review by Velimir

1.0 stars 8/2/2013 by Velimir
by Velimir

This shovel is way too fragile to handle dry earth. Upon my very first use on summertime California chaparral soil, the tightening nut at the top of the blade kept loosening every one or two digging strokes, collapsing the shovel and requiring re-tightening of the nut. After a couple dozen strokes, the cap on the steel nut became deformed to the point of no longer being able to hold a straight shape of the tool, even when tightened, rendering the shovel completely useless. I believe it's a combination of poor quality of the steel, and a bad design of how the tightening nut contacts the shovel blade. This shovel is okay for playing on the beach and digging sand. I wouldn't trust it for anything else, especially not camping. Don't be mislead by the heavy steel weight and the "tough" look of this shovel. It's much weaker than it looks.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Velimir
Fairfield, CA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Portability and price
7/4/2012

Customer review by Handydadfromfresno

4.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Handydadfromfresno
by Handydadfromfresno

The reason why I purchased this was to have a shovel for the kids to have at the beach. So all of our digging was done in sand. The shovel folded nicely to fit into a backpack. It was a little heavy but that wasn't an issue for us as we were not trekking very far. It sounded a bit like a pepper grinder with the sand but it held up to 4 days worth of digging, folding and unfolding, and is ready for the next trip.

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Handydadfromfresno
fresno, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A Great Tool
9/25/2013

Customer review by mikey42x

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by mikey42x
by mikey42x
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

This is a GREAT entrenching tool as it collapses to 10" for placing in a back pack for hiking and or as a shovel for the beach. We are looking forward to taking to the beach with us because we always need a tool to dig a hole to stick the umbrella in or clearing off a spot to settle on. A GREAT tool for $10 & made by Coleman, a respected name for camping equipment. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mikey42x
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not exactly what i wanted.
2/9/2013

Customer review by Knight6124

2.0 stars 2/9/2013 by Knight6124
by Knight6124

This shovel ''looked'' great but the serrations are just for display this shovel is pretty sturdy but sometimes hard to unscrew the large bolt that keeps the shovel extended. Mine did not bend like others said theirs did. Yet again i only had this for for a week or two Its compact enough to fit in a coat pocket. Hope this helps

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Knight6124
Ravenna,OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Wont match expectations
2/9/2013

Customer review by FoldingShovelLover

2.0 stars 2/9/2013 by FoldingShovelLover
by FoldingShovelLover
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

If you dont have higher expectations from a few dollars folding shovel... Dont wait get one...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
FoldingShovelLover
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Broke after 1 use!
5/6/2013

Customer review by Adez

1.0 stars 5/6/2013 by Adez
by Adez

I know it was cheap, but it broke after the 1st use ...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Adez
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
survival shovel
4/20/2010

Customer review by 1488online

4.0 stars 4/20/2010 by 1488online
by 1488online

Love this item bought it took home dug a basement 10 feet by 12 14 ft deep no kidding took me nearly a yr but used this one shovel to do almost entire job became lose where screw tightens to keep from folding i just welded it thick metal welded great dosent fold but great small shovel still in operation well made. i got a new one in pack wrapped shovel edge in cameo duct tape to protect pack and add the benefit of having some tape for handle in a digging/chopping situation

Was this review helpful? (5) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
1488online
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for what I bought it for
4/12/2014

Customer review by bootzy

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by bootzy
by bootzy
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor

My husband recently bought a simple metal detector just for fun as we live on the beach. The first day he used just a simple garden trowel to dig with and the constant bending over to the ground to dig when the thing pinged had him realizing leg muscles he never knew he had. Ha! He was really uncomfortable for a few days. We bought this shovel at Walmart.com and he does not have to bend down quite as low, just is more of an enjoyable experience for him. The reviews made it sound as if it is flimsy and bends but they seemed to be talking about digging in hard dirt. This will be used for sand only and seems very sturdy and a good price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
bootzy
Galveston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 500 contributor
1-20 of 33 total reviews
1-20 of 33 reviews