Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 29 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

29 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

3.5 stars

29 reviews | 3.5 out of 5

62%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
12
4 stars
6
3 stars
2
2 stars
2
1 stars
7
1-20 of 27 total reviews
62%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews
Pretty Much Worthless
11/14/2010

Customer review by An anonymous customer

1.0 stars 11/14/2010 by An anonymous customer
by An anonymous customer

Pros - None Cons - Everything I could point out that this shovel is inexpensive, folds nicely, isn't very heavy and is a nice color. Unfortunately, I can't give any of these good points to it because it completely and utterly FAILS to do the one thing it's designed to do. That's right. This shovel does not shovel. Plant your foot on it and start to push down and the blade will fold upwards. Worthless. Perhaps if you were trying to dig about an inch down in loose dry sand, this shovel might work, but on any kind of soil, you're fighting a loosing battle. I really REALLY wish I'd have kept the receipt for this buy. PLEASE DO NOT BUY THIS "SHOVEL"

Was this review helpful? (24) (4)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
An anonymous customer
Would recommend to a friend? No
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Usage:Never
12/14/2010

Customer review by heysmithy

1.0 stars 12/14/2010 by heysmithy
by heysmithy

This is pretty much the worst shovel ever. I've only used it about 3 times, and the handle is bent at the joint. It's heavy like a chunk of solid steel, but it bends like it's made of cheap aluminum. Don't buy.

Was this review helpful? (19) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
heysmithy
Would recommend to a friend? No
Waste of money.
10/11/2011

Customer review by Mekox

1.0 stars 10/11/2011 by Mekox
by Mekox

I was planning on buying the G.I. Folding shovel but saw this at walmart and was hoping I could save a couple of bucks. But boy was I wrong. You really get what you pay for. As soon as i got home i went to the backyard to test this little baby out. As soon as i put it in the ground it gone and bent back a little bit. I was like ok maybe i need to twist the top a bit more to lock it in place. But when i looked at it a bit more I notice it looked a bit broke. And it was. It still works but now if i was to get it a bit wet like trying to clean it, water would get inside and rust the whole thing out. So just pay a few more bucks for the better stuff and dont waste your money on this.

Was this review helpful? (10) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Mekox
Clearwater, FL
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Surprisingly Sturdy
4/30/2010

Customer review by NewCamper2010

5.0 stars 4/30/2010 by NewCamper2010
by NewCamper2010

We bought this for our first camping trip. We were shocked at how sturdy this was. It folded down 3 ways so it can fit in a backpack.

Was this review helpful? (7) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NewCamper2010
DFW
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
perfect
1/1/2011

Customer review by bubasgirl

5.0 stars 1/1/2011 by bubasgirl
by bubasgirl

I bought this for gardening, perfect for me to use and keep in my gardening tote.

Was this review helpful? (2) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bubasgirl
Bellaire, Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Every few days
A Great Tool
9/25/2013

Customer review by mikey42x

5.0 stars 9/25/2013 by mikey42x
by mikey42x

This is a GREAT entrenching tool as it collapses to 10" for placing in a back pack for hiking and or as a shovel for the beach. We are looking forward to taking to the beach with us because we always need a tool to dig a hole to stick the umbrella in or clearing off a spot to settle on. A GREAT tool for $10 & made by Coleman, a respected name for camping equipment. Thanks Walmart.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
mikey42x
Las Vegas, NV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Wont match expectations
2/9/2013

Customer review by FoldingShovelLover

2.0 stars 2/9/2013 by FoldingShovelLover
by FoldingShovelLover

If you dont have higher expectations from a few dollars folding shovel... Dont wait get one...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
FoldingShovelLover
NJ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not exactly what i wanted.
2/9/2013

Customer review by Knight6124

2.0 stars 2/9/2013 by Knight6124
by Knight6124

This shovel ''looked'' great but the serrations are just for display this shovel is pretty sturdy but sometimes hard to unscrew the large bolt that keeps the shovel extended. Mine did not bend like others said theirs did. Yet again i only had this for for a week or two Its compact enough to fit in a coat pocket. Hope this helps

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Knight6124
Ravenna,OH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Do NOT Buy! Unless are a child playing in Sand.
6/13/2015

Customer review by Michael

1.0 stars 6/13/2015 by Michael
by Michael

I bought this shovel during a 3 week camping trip. The first time I tried to use it, I bent it. At first I thought i did not lock it in tight enough by turning the knob by the blade. That was unit I saw I had bent the know you screw down to make it tight. Again I tried tightening it more but I bent it again as i was sticking it in the ground. This shovel should be sold in the kids section for use at the beach digging sand castles. Coleman really should not put their names on something that is non-functional.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Michael
Would recommend to a friend? No
Broke after 1 use!
5/6/2013

Customer review by Adez

1.0 stars 5/6/2013 by Adez
by Adez

I know it was cheap, but it broke after the 1st use ...

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Adez
Manchester, NH
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per year
good tool
5/15/2011

Customer review by sashan

5.0 stars 5/15/2011 by sashan
by sashan

When I bought this I had hoped it would come in handy, well when I took it on the first camping trip I realy needed it .The camp fire ring was full of dirt and it did EXACTLY! what I needed it to do. thanks

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sashan
Oklahoma
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Handy to have in your trunk
12/14/2012

Customer review by snugglerscove

5.0 stars 12/14/2012 by snugglerscove
by snugglerscove

Great item to have in your vehicle emergency bag. Ice, snow, dirt, mud are quickly moved away from tires if you're stuck. The serrated edge helps cut through small branches/compacted earth clods. Handy for camping and/or gardening around the home. Lightweight, and pretty compact for backpacks. I prefer the triangular handle because it gives you a better hold on the shovel. For the price, I have one in the car and one for camping/bug out bag. I don't expect more than the very basics out of this little shovel. If I wanted more, I'd buy one twice or 3 times the price with a few more bells & whistles, even though that is no guarantee that it will work better. It's all about what you need/expect/afford. I plan on getting a few more for myself and for some friends.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
snugglerscove
Charlotte NC
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
sturdy shovel
1/21/2013

Customer review by aikeas

5.0 stars 1/21/2013 by aikeas
by aikeas

I had my doubts, but after getting the shovel home and working with it, it's sturdier than I expected. Coleman is a reputable company.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
aikeas
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Portability and price
7/4/2012

Customer review by Handydadfromfresno

4.0 stars 7/4/2012 by Handydadfromfresno
by Handydadfromfresno

The reason why I purchased this was to have a shovel for the kids to have at the beach. So all of our digging was done in sand. The shovel folded nicely to fit into a backpack. It was a little heavy but that wasn't an issue for us as we were not trekking very far. It sounded a bit like a pepper grinder with the sand but it held up to 4 days worth of digging, folding and unfolding, and is ready for the next trip.

Was this review helpful? (1) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Handydadfromfresno
fresno, Ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
A very useful product
11/29/2014

Customer review by AZ2UA

5.0 stars 11/29/2014 by AZ2UA
by AZ2UA

Found this item on the net, bought some to send to Ukraine as help for people protecting themselves and their families from the terrorists-separatist in the Eastern regions, they find it useful.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AZ2UA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
He's a Boyscout
1/3/2013

Customer review by eau58

4.0 stars 1/3/2013 by eau58
by eau58

fantastic for those cam[ing trips and hunting trips

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
eau58
Pa
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
12/10/2012

Customer review by stg1porter

3.0 stars 12/10/2012 by stg1porter
by stg1porter

This is not the folding shovel that I remember as a kid in the Boy Scouts. It is twice as small. When I get stuck in the snow and ice, I hope I will be able to dig out enough to get going again.

Was this review helpful? (0) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
stg1porter
SW Indiana
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
survival shovel
4/20/2010

Customer review by 1488online

4.0 stars 4/20/2010 by 1488online
by 1488online

Love this item bought it took home dug a basement 10 feet by 12 14 ft deep no kidding took me nearly a yr but used this one shovel to do almost entire job became lose where screw tightens to keep from folding i just welded it thick metal welded great dosent fold but great small shovel still in operation well made. i got a new one in pack wrapped shovel edge in cameo duct tape to protect pack and add the benefit of having some tape for handle in a digging/chopping situation

Was this review helpful? (5) (18)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
1488online
ca
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Great for what I bought it for
4/12/2014

Customer review by bootzy

5.0 stars 4/12/2014 by bootzy
by bootzy

My husband recently bought a simple metal detector just for fun as we live on the beach. The first day he used just a simple garden trowel to dig with and the constant bending over to the ground to dig when the thing pinged had him realizing leg muscles he never knew he had. Ha! He was really uncomfortable for a few days. We bought this shovel at Walmart.com and he does not have to bend down quite as low, just is more of an enjoyable experience for him. The reviews made it sound as if it is flimsy and bends but they seemed to be talking about digging in hard dirt. This will be used for sand only and seems very sturdy and a good price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
bootzy
Galveston, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Gender:Female
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Top 1000 contributor
great shovel to put in car
6/1/2014

Customer review by nevadadig

5.0 stars 6/1/2014 by nevadadig
by nevadadig

this shovel was everything I expected. it's compact,and easy to use

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
nevadadig
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 27 total reviews
1-20 of 27 reviews