Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 22 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

22 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

2.5 stars

22 reviews | 2.6 out of 5

41%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
12
1-19 of 19 total reviews
41%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

Don't drop it in the lake more than a few times
9/27/2011

Customer review by Kenny073

5.0 stars 9/27/2011 by Kenny073
by Kenny073

This battery and the LED lantern worked for about 2 years, ending up in the lake more than a few times. I use the lantern for about 5-8 hrs a night without fail, until recently. I can not blame the battery for going out considering how much I have used it and how bad it has been treated, I am buying a new one right now and hope to get at-least another 2 yrs out of it.

Was this review helpful? (30) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Kenny073
Huntsville
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
XPS rechargeable battery pack not worth it
2/16/2014

Customer review by tempocontour

1.0 stars 2/16/2014 by tempocontour
by tempocontour

Like everyone else, I bought this to save money on battery and be good for the environment by not throwing away batteries. I bought a Colman led lantern, that included a XPS rechargeable battery pack and also a 4 D size battery holder for the lantern, for camping back in spring of 2013. The lantern was used for a total of 1 week that summer. We lost power at my home in Feb 14 of 2014 and thought to use the lantern. Of course the XPS was dead. After the power came back on, I thought I'd recharge the XPS just in case of another power outage. I charge it for 6 hours but it did not work even though the green light indicator said other wise. How could something that was barely used not work already? I broke open the XPS to see if the rechargeable battery leaked. I did not see any leakage but the XPS useS a circuit board. Best guess is that the circuit board broke. Not too rugged overall. Thank goodness our lantern also came with a 4 D size battery holder. I used 4 rechargeable D size battery which I already had and that worked just fine. Don't buy another XPS pack, instead buy the Colman 4 D Cell Battery Holder (Batteries Sold Separately) Part Number: 5010000712 and use rechargeable D size battery where you don't have to worry about a circuit board not working and rechargeable D size battery are cheaper to replace, but of course you'll need to buy a D size battery recharger. At least D size rechargeable batteries are more useful for a variety of things compared to the XPS battery pack where it could only be used for special products that only use the XPS pack.

Was this review helpful? (14) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tempocontour
Boston, MA.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per year
Beware!
2/23/2014

Customer review by OutdoorsGirly

1.0 stars 2/23/2014 by OutdoorsGirly
by OutdoorsGirly

This battery pack is 6 volts and about 4.5 amps, but beware the charger is rated at 12 volts. A 6 volt battery should be charged at a constant 7.2 volts and 1.65 amps max. When you charge it with 12 volts it burns out the battery (by the way its a led acid sealed battery). I do not recommend this product unless you have a 6 v charger laying around.

Was this review helpful? (13) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
OutdoorsGirly
California
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Never
10/3/2013

Customer review by shaggie

5.0 stars 10/3/2013 by shaggie
by shaggie

great battery holds a charge for a very long time then when you use lantern it will burn from11 hr on bright must be at least 2-3 days on low i never run mine down on low kids turned it on while camping was on at least 2 1/2 days before i found it. i have 3 of these lantern an chargeable battery 1 is 2.5 years old workes like new one. telling you these batterys last an last if they didnt i would not have 3 lanterns an batterys .

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
shaggie
scottsboro al.
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
50% Failure Rate
6/10/2014

Customer review by JimtheScoutMaster

1.0 stars 6/10/2014 by JimtheScoutMaster
by JimtheScoutMaster

I bought 6 lanterns and 6 rechargeable battery packs. 3 of the batteries performed well and recharged as advertised. The other 3 failed after one use, with the green "fully charged" light coming on immediately when attempting to recharge. Of course these batteries are not charged and will not take a charge.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
JimtheScoutMaster
Would recommend to a friend? No
Terrible product
6/21/2014

Customer review by jjm555a

1.0 stars 6/21/2014 by jjm555a
by jjm555a

I've had this lantern and battery for two years. It failed to charge out of the box. It would work only when the recharger was on. I bought another battery and it failed to work also. Don't buy this product.

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jjm555a
Would recommend to a friend? No
does not last
10/18/2013

Customer review by MGD7777

2.0 stars 10/18/2013 by MGD7777
by MGD7777

This is my second battery for this lantern. The first one lasted about a year. Then it wouldn't keep a charge. This one is not much better.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MGD7777
slidell, LA
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:11 - 12 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great to have
8/1/2013

Customer review by BUTX

5.0 stars 8/1/2013 by BUTX
by BUTX

I bought two of these when I bought two Coleman battery power lanterns and these work great. I only use these when the power goes out. I have had these over a year and they are still on the first charge. I feel that if you buy the lantern you need to buy this product or you will be going through D cells like crazy.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BUTX
Burleson, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Top 250 contributor
didn't hold charge
5/19/2014

Customer review by jenn0965

1.0 stars 5/19/2014 by jenn0965
by jenn0965

Initially charged the band new battery for 16hrs like the instructions said. The battery didn't hold a charge and the light got dim soon after. Had to return it. This is the second battery neither of them worked.

Was this review helpful? (5) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jenn0965
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
defective
6/1/2013

Customer review by oconeenightfisherman

1.0 stars 6/1/2013 by oconeenightfisherman
by oconeenightfisherman

bought the first one and instructions read ( paraphrasing) charge for 18 hours and when fully charged the little light will turn green. well, when I plugged it in the light turned green immediately so I put it in the lantern-- No luck.. So I charged it for the required 18 hours and put it in the lantern. No luck Returned the first one and got another with the exact same results. 0 for 2 I bought the one that you put 4 D batteries and it works... About $25 for the rechargeable and $7 for the battery one I would prefer the rechargeable if I could find one that actually worked

Was this review helpful? (6) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
oconeenightfisherman
Lake oconee
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:65 or older
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Piece of junk
8/18/2014

Customer review by Trubc

1.0 stars 8/18/2014 by Trubc
by Trubc

Don' waste your time. Works good initially, but does not last. You are wasting your money.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Trubc
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
ok
7/29/2014

Customer review by useless555

1.0 stars 7/29/2014 by useless555
by useless555

i have to return it,it doesnt hold a charge.

Was this review helpful? (4) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
useless555
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
not great
11/6/2013

Customer review by sacgonehunting

1.0 stars 11/6/2013 by sacgonehunting
by sacgonehunting

I was very disapointed at elk camp that the battery only held charge for two nights then I had to put the other batteries in then the lantern worked well

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
sacgonehunting
OR.
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great product
10/26/2013

Customer review by crimsonyj

5.0 stars 10/26/2013 by crimsonyj
by crimsonyj

cant find a better deal on this product,not even on the coleman site

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
crimsonyj
yorktown
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Perfect battery
1/8/2014

Customer review by AVFdragon

5.0 stars 1/8/2014 by AVFdragon
by AVFdragon

I got this as a Christmas gift for my dad to go with the lantern I got him. It came with a charge in it already and worked perfectly.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AVFdragon
Lehighton, PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
how cool!
12/10/2013

Customer review by tindude

5.0 stars 12/10/2013 by tindude
by tindude

i just got this, but tried it out and it works great...no more buying batteries!!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
tindude
roswell, nm
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
do not buy
9/20/2014

Customer review by ajk4864

1.0 stars 9/20/2014 by ajk4864
by ajk4864

this is the second battery pack from Coleman that i have purchased. this first one failed after two uses and next one didnt even hold a charge right out of the box. i did some research and found that these rechargable packs have a 50% failure rate. save your money and buy from a different manufacture.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ajk4864
Would recommend to a friend? No
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great Rechargeable Pack
8/12/2014

Customer review by BornAgainCamper

5.0 stars 8/12/2014 by BornAgainCamper
by BornAgainCamper

I would recommend this for any Coleman product that requires four D batteries. Comes with electrical & car charger. Awesome!

Was this review helpful? (0) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BornAgainCamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Returning item
8/10/2011

Customer review by ssmartinez

1.0 stars 8/10/2011 by ssmartinez
by ssmartinez

Charged battery for 24 hours, only lasted for two hours in fan. Item will be retruned

Was this review helpful? (3) (11)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
ssmartinez
Would recommend to a friend? No