Back

Customer Reviews

Average rating: 2.6out of 5 stars
2.6 out of 5 | 22 reviews
5 stars
8
4 stars
1
3 stars
0
2 stars
1
1 stars
12
Sort by: 
1-19 of 19 reviews
1-19 of 19 reviews
Beware!
2/23/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This battery pack is 6 volts and about 4.5 amps, but beware the charger is rated at 12 volts. A 6 volt battery should be charged at a constant 7.2 volts and 1.65 amps max. When you charge it with 12 volts it burns out the battery (by the way its a led acid sealed battery). I do not recommend this product unless you have a 6 v charger laying around.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (16)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
XPS rechargeable battery pack not worth it
2/16/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Like everyone else, I bought this to save money on battery and be good for the environment by not throwing away batteries. I bought a Colman led lantern, that included a XPS rechargeable battery pack and also a 4 D size battery holder for the lantern, for camping back in spring of 2013. The lantern was used for a total of 1 week that summer. We lost power at my home in Feb 14 of 2014 and thought to use the lantern. Of course the XPS was dead. After the power came back on, I thought I'd recharge the XPS just in case of another power outage. I charge it for 6 hours but it did not work even though the green light indicator said other wise. How could something that was barely used not work already? I broke open the XPS to see if the rechargeable battery leaked. I did not see any leakage but the XPS useS a circuit board. Best guess is that the circuit board broke. Not too rugged overall. Thank goodness our lantern also came with a 4 D size battery holder. I used 4 rechargeable D size battery which I already had and that worked just fine. Don't buy another XPS pack, instead buy the Colman 4 D Cell Battery Holder (Batteries Sold Separately) Part Number: 5010000712 and use rechargeable D size battery where you don't have to worry about a circuit board not working and rechargeable D size battery are cheaper to replace, but of course you'll need to buy a D size battery recharger. At least D size rechargeable batteries are more useful for a variety of things compared to the XPS battery pack where it could only be used for special products that only use the XPS pack.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (17)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Don't drop it in the lake more than a few times
9/27/2011
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
This battery and the LED lantern worked for about 2 years, ending up in the lake more than a few times. I use the lantern for about 5-8 hrs a night without fail, until recently. I can not blame the battery for going out considering how much I have used it and how bad it has been treated, I am buying a new one right now and hope to get at-least another 2 yrs out of it.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (30)No (3)
Report
Was this review helpful?
50% Failure Rate
6/10/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I bought 6 lanterns and 6 rechargeable battery packs. 3 of the batteries performed well and recharged as advertised. The other 3 failed after one use, with the green "fully charged" light coming on immediately when attempting to recharge. Of course these batteries are not charged and will not take a charge.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (10)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
10/3/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
great battery holds a charge for a very long time then when you use lantern it will burn from11 hr on bright must be at least 2-3 days on low i never run mine down on low kids turned it on while camping was on at least 2 1/2 days before i found it. i have 3 of these lantern an chargeable battery 1 is 2.5 years old workes like new one. telling you these batterys last an last if they didnt i would not have 3 lanterns an batterys .
Was this review helpful?
Yes (8)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
didn't hold charge
5/19/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Initially charged the band new battery for 16hrs like the instructions said. The battery didn't hold a charge and the light got dim soon after. Had to return it. This is the second battery neither of them worked.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Terrible product
6/21/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
I've had this lantern and battery for two years. It failed to charge out of the box. It would work only when the recharger was on. I bought another battery and it failed to work also. Don't buy this product.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (7)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Piece of junk
8/18/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
Don' waste your time. Works good initially, but does not last. You are wasting your money.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
ok
7/29/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
i have to return it,it doesnt hold a charge.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (4)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
defective
6/1/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
bought the first one and instructions read ( paraphrasing) charge for 18 hours and when fully charged the little light will turn green. well, when I plugged it in the light turned green immediately so I put it in the lantern-- No luck.. So I charged it for the required 18 hours and put it in the lantern. No luck Returned the first one and got another with the exact same results. 0 for 2 I bought the one that you put 4 D batteries and it works... About $25 for the rechargeable and $7 for the battery one I would prefer the rechargeable if I could find one that actually worked
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
does not last
10/18/2013
Average rating:2out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
This is my second battery for this lantern. The first one lasted about a year. Then it wouldn't keep a charge. This one is not much better.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (6)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great to have
8/1/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Top 500 contributer
I bought two of these when I bought two Coleman battery power lanterns and these work great. I only use these when the power goes out. I have had these over a year and they are still on the first charge. I feel that if you buy the lantern you need to buy this product or you will be going through D cells like crazy.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (5)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
not great
11/6/2013
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I was very disapointed at elk camp that the battery only held charge for two nights then I had to put the other batteries in then the lantern worked well
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
great product
10/26/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
cant find a better deal on this product,not even on the coleman site
Was this review helpful?
Yes (2)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
do not buy
9/20/2014
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
this is the second battery pack from Coleman that i have purchased. this first one failed after two uses and next one didnt even hold a charge right out of the box. i did some research and found that these rechargable packs have a 50% failure rate. save your money and buy from a different manufacture.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (1)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Perfect battery
1/8/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I got this as a Christmas gift for my dad to go with the lantern I got him. It came with a charge in it already and worked perfectly.
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
how cool!
12/10/2013
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
i just got this, but tried it out and it works great...no more buying batteries!!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (1)No (0)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Returning item
8/10/2011
Average rating:1out of5stars, based onreviews
by
Charged battery for 24 hours, only lasted for two hours in fan. Item will be retruned
Was this review helpful?
Yes (3)No (11)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Great Rechargeable Pack
8/12/2014
Average rating:5out of5stars, based onreviews
by
 Verified purchaser
I would recommend this for any Coleman product that requires four D batteries. Comes with electrical & car charger. Awesome!
Was this review helpful?
Yes (0)No (2)
Report
Was this review helpful?
Electrode, Comp-184642849, DC-prod-dal3, ENV-prod-a, PROF-PROD, VER-8.12.5, SHA-f8bb53b0cf6e9da799126d89d3bcede34110bf32, CID-