Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

81 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

90%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
55
4 stars
14
3 stars
3
2 stars
7
1 stars
2
1-20 of 74 total reviews
90%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews
Really Bright and Easy to Use
11/26/2011

Customer review by LadyZamzuu

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by LadyZamzuu
by LadyZamzuu

I never used a propane lantern before. This is the first one for me. It says you should burn the mantle first. I didn't know what a mantle was. But afte reading the manual that came with it and visiting www.coleman.com, I was able to figure out what they were. I pre-burn the mantle and waited 5 minutes to ignite it. and it works. It is bright. Love it. http://neteraat.blogspot.com/2011/11/how-to-use-coleman-propane-lantern.html

Was this review helpful? (21) (6)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
LadyZamzuu
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Coleman Lantern
9/10/2011

Customer review by AA990

4.0 stars 9/10/2011 by AA990
by AA990

Great COMPACT Lantern - and Priced great when you look at the Original Full size Coleman Lantern

Was this review helpful? (7) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
AA990
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Just like the one Dad used
5/7/2011

Customer review by Cornbeefandcabbage

5.0 stars 5/7/2011 by Cornbeefandcabbage
by Cornbeefandcabbage
Top 500 contributor

I remember Dad used a dual filament Coleman when we camped as kids. His was a liquid gas pump lantern, but this is the same thing only with propane which is cleaner and more convenient. I remember the night woods seemed pretty spooky until Dad fired up the old Coleman lantern. Then, it was bright as day. You can do anything with this much light including cleaning fish, reading comic books, or writing postcards to your friends. This is a time-tested, reliable, excellent quality lantern. I am just delighted that they are so affordable. I bet Dad paid about this much when he bought his in 1959. A canister of propane lasts forever and you can even keep the lantern burning all night if you have to (although if you are in a public campground, you won't be popular burning this torch all night long! No need for batteries and the brilliance is consistent and predictable. In my opinion, this dual filament Coleman lantern beats battery powered lights hands down.

Was this review helpful? (67) (10)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Cornbeefandcabbage
west coast and midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Top 500 contributor
good lantern
8/21/2010

Customer review by jygr12

4.0 stars 8/21/2010 by jygr12
by jygr12

I just got this lantern and have not used camping yet, but tried it out first, i had it connected to a tree that comes off a 20lb propane tank. It lit up great on the porch, and i have no worries it will work great camping, The package rated its lumens at 810, which is different than the ad, and the plastic cover that came with it looks better than the one pictured, also the base looks different with the instastart! I knew nothing about lanterns prior to this and learned the hard way that you have to burn the mantles before using, had one rip, got replacements, and burned a pack of those as well, when u connect mantles, you then have to take a match and wave it under the mantles, and it does give off odor so do out doors, it will actually seem like they are burning up, but that is what is meant to happen, and they are very brittle once burned, they will crumble to dust when touched, once you do that this thing is good to go, when i replaced mantles it was in daytime, and made sure they worked outside, and even in daylight this thing had me seeing spots for awhile, also this gets extremely hot, and needs cooldown before putting away.

Was this review helpful? (40) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
jygr12
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Great deal for InstaStart lantern
2/7/2014

Customer review by XfinityComcast

5.0 stars 2/7/2014 by XfinityComcast
by XfinityComcast
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

$29.97 for lantern AND case, who could complain! The first trick is opening the case, the clamshell case snap must be pressed in on one side to release so look for the embossed "press here" near the snap. 810 lumens is more than enough light and I would think the Northstar model would be blinding. Push button start works great but you need about 3 seconds of gas flow to ignite, expect a small "poof" at ignition. Instruction sheet does not mention pre-burning mantles so research Youtube if you need instructions regarding this. The base does not fit the Coleman bottle snugly so I wiped 3 spots of black silicone on the inside of the base stand where the bottle fits. This keeps the base on when you carry it or hang it and is still easy to remove the bottle. If your bottles have a plastic shell base then it should fit snug without the silicone. I opted for propane because I remember as a kid how messy and stinky filling the lantern was thru the tiny filler hole. My only concern for the propane is how well it will perform on a sub-freezing night, I will buy a dual-fuel lantern if it becomes an issue. Note the picture on Walmart.com shows a skinny neck, this is not the InstaStart model.

Was this review helpful? (23) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
XfinityComcast
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Adjustable Lantern
2/11/2017

Customer review by Terry

5.0 stars 2/11/2017 by Terry
by Terry
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Have not used this one yet, but have another that works so well we bought another one. Have used in power outages, going camping, and on the boat.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Terry
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
It's that great, we bought another!
3/21/2011

Customer review by Momma2FiveNCounting

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by Momma2FiveNCounting
by Momma2FiveNCounting

We are avid campers, so all our stuff getting constantly shifted around has caused the glass to break on several occassions. Now we don't worry about that happening any longer. The case keeps the glass safe and secure. We love this product!

Was this review helpful? (29) (5)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Momma2FiveNCounting
Crosby, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
Att
1/7/2017

Customer review by GOLFLUCKY

4.0 stars 1/7/2017 by GOLFLUCKY
by GOLFLUCKY
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Very nice I gave as a gift and he loved it

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
GOLFLUCKY
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Decent Price for a Decent Latern
5/10/2011

Customer review by Ozwalden

3.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Ozwalden
by Ozwalden

Took this lantern home and set it up right away. Pre-Burnt the Mantles as instructed. Lantern fired on the first attempt. Good Bright Light and Good Heat. The only problem I had with it was the Bail (The Handle). It doesn't stay in properly. After a little bit of wiggling and pushing I finally got the bail to stay in. It's still a little lose making transport a bit difficult. Makes the glass a bit shaky as well. Overall It was a good price to play for a decent quality lantern.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Ozwalden
Pineville WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Nice lantern
12/25/2016

Customer review by 2cold4us

5.0 stars 12/25/2016 by 2cold4us
by 2cold4us
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Nice working lantern. It is a little awkward to store in the lantern between the two clamshells, otherwise ok.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
2cold4us
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
great item, great buy
6/13/2010

Customer review by manthy

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by manthy
by manthy

Its coleman and its great! Walmart, as usual, has the best price on this. We have found the exact item for 5-10 dollars higher at competitors stores and retail stores. Thank you Walmart for your price saving buys!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (22) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
manthy
Malibu, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
This thing is awesome!
9/27/2016

Customer review by mamatoboyz

5.0 stars 9/27/2016 by mamatoboyz
by mamatoboyz
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

We bought this to take on a camping trip. We took it with us fishing at night to try it out before taking it 6 hours from home. It was love at first light! (HA!) It really is a fantastic light. This is the first one we have owned, but we saw a guy once where we fish and he had a propane lantern and the fumes were horrible. I liked the idea of the lantern he had, but with an asthmatic child, I couldn't deal with those fumes. This lantern didn't have those fumes. I actually didn't smell is at all. It also comes with a case so it doesn't get broken. We picked up an extra set of mantles for it as we heard they can mess up easily, but we haven't had to replace them, so apparently they don't mess up as easily as we thought. We took the lantern night fishing and then used it one night at the campground and part of the next night before needing to change the propane cylinder. And we ran it on high the whole time except for about an hour or two when we turned it down. I was very impressed! And it does come with a thing to hang it from too. I purchased it online and couldn't tell from the pictures if we would need to buy a chain or something to hang it. But yes, I highly recommend this lantern!!

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
mamatoboyz
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Not what I expected from Coleman
2/6/2014

Customer review by Hawkeye1767

2.0 stars 2/6/2014 by Hawkeye1767
by Hawkeye1767
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

I think you have to buy Coleman brand propane for the lantern stand to work. The propane bottle sticks into the lantern base and mine just slid right out. I had to carry the base and the lantern every time it was moved. The glass globe cracked after being used one time. The lantern had been on for about four hours and the temperature was in the upper 40's when the lantern was turned out. The next morning I discovered the glass was cracked. It will be a very expensive lantern if I have to buy new glass every time I use it.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Hawkeye1767
Phoenix, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works great!
9/30/2011

Customer review by chardski50

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by chardski50
by chardski50

Purchased this lantern to replace my older style gas coleman lantern as i was having trouble finding a replacement glass globe which was broken. This lantern stores itself in a case that is provided which protects the glass globe and it works great. Also love the push button lighter as opposed to using a match with my old one. I would highly recommend this lantern to everytone.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
chardski50
findlay il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Works every time, does what it says it will do
3/31/2013

Customer review by SpockF14

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by SpockF14
by SpockF14
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Provides light for the camp site, and back yard after dark barbecues. Easy to light with the push button ignition. Uses standard quickclip or tie on mantles found virtually anywhere. Much superior to the Coleman Northstar which broke its mantle in two weeks and then failed to flow gas after 3 months. Simple to use, does the job, inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
SpockF14
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Great camp light
8/27/2010

Customer review by buffycat

5.0 stars 8/27/2010 by buffycat
by buffycat

I just love the auto light feature. Gone are the days of searching for matches or lighting with a stick from the fire. I am going to keep this lantern close during the winter in case of power failure also. Sturdy base and large bail really increase the safety level of this lantern. Best purchase I've made in quite awhile.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
buffycat
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
10/31/2011

Customer review by TheOldDutchman

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by TheOldDutchman
by TheOldDutchman

Just used this lantern on an 8 day trip in the mountains, worked great. Comes with its own storage case, and has an electric starter, no matches needed. If your looking for a very good lantern this is the one!

Was this review helpful? (5) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
TheOldDutchman
Mohave Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
11/26/2010

Customer review by MyNickNameDoesntWork

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by MyNickNameDoesntWork
by MyNickNameDoesntWork

Worked really well after the pre-burning the mantles at instructions say. First there was a yellowist light then went to more of a white light with time. Good Product.

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
MyNickNameDoesntWork
Lumberton, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
good price on a lantern and case
10/17/2016

Customer review by happycamper

5.0 stars 10/17/2016 by happycamper
by happycamper

I grew up using this kind of Lantern this one is just as good as the one my dad had with the extra bonus of instant start.You will definitely not find a better price of a lantern and case combo. You really do need to have the case otherwise the glass will end up being broken in storage.The base can be a little loose on certain propane tanks but this really wasn't a problem. I definitely highly recommend this especially for the price I've done the research and you will not find a better price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
happycamper
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Coleman is always good
11/3/2016

Customer review by Kylianna2009

4.0 stars 11/3/2016 by Kylianna2009
by Kylianna2009
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.

Works great for the price.

Was this review helpful? (0) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this review helpful?
Kylianna2009
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
1-20 of 74 total reviews
1-20 of 74 reviews