Customer reviews

Customer Reviews | 69 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

69 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

4.5 stars

69 reviews | 4.4 out of 5

91%
Would recommend to a friend
5 stars
49
4 stars
11
3 stars
2
2 stars
5
1 stars
2
1-20 of 62 total reviews
91%
Would recommend to a friend

Age

Gender

1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews
Just like the one Dad used
5/7/2011

Customer review by Cornbeefandcabbage

5.0 stars 5/7/2011 by Cornbeefandcabbage
by Cornbeefandcabbage

I remember Dad used a dual filament Coleman when we camped as kids. His was a liquid gas pump lantern, but this is the same thing only with propane which is cleaner and more convenient. I remember the night woods seemed pretty spooky until Dad fired up the old Coleman lantern. Then, it was bright as day. You can do anything with this much light including cleaning fish, reading comic books, or writing postcards to your friends. This is a time-tested, reliable, excellent quality lantern. I am just delighted that they are so affordable. I bet Dad paid about this much when he bought his in 1959. A canister of propane lasts forever and you can even keep the lantern burning all night if you have to (although if you are in a public campground, you won't be popular burning this torch all night long! No need for batteries and the brilliance is consistent and predictable. In my opinion, this dual filament Coleman lantern beats battery powered lights hands down.

Was this review helpful? (56) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Cornbeefandcabbage
west coast and midwest
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:Longer than one year
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Top 500 contributor
good lantern
8/21/2010

Customer review by jygr12

4.0 stars 8/21/2010 by jygr12
by jygr12

I just got this lantern and have not used camping yet, but tried it out first, i had it connected to a tree that comes off a 20lb propane tank. It lit up great on the porch, and i have no worries it will work great camping, The package rated its lumens at 810, which is different than the ad, and the plastic cover that came with it looks better than the one pictured, also the base looks different with the instastart! I knew nothing about lanterns prior to this and learned the hard way that you have to burn the mantles before using, had one rip, got replacements, and burned a pack of those as well, when u connect mantles, you then have to take a match and wave it under the mantles, and it does give off odor so do out doors, it will actually seem like they are burning up, but that is what is meant to happen, and they are very brittle once burned, they will crumble to dust when touched, once you do that this thing is good to go, when i replaced mantles it was in daytime, and made sure they worked outside, and even in daylight this thing had me seeing spots for awhile, also this gets extremely hot, and needs cooldown before putting away.

Was this review helpful? (32) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
jygr12
PA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
It's that great, we bought another!
3/21/2011

Customer review by Momma2FiveNCounting

5.0 stars 3/21/2011 by Momma2FiveNCounting
by Momma2FiveNCounting

We are avid campers, so all our stuff getting constantly shifted around has caused the glass to break on several occassions. Now we don't worry about that happening any longer. The case keeps the glass safe and secure. We love this product!

Was this review helpful? (23) (3)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Momma2FiveNCounting
Crosby, TX
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:Once per month
great item, great buy
6/13/2010

Customer review by manthy

5.0 stars 6/13/2010 by manthy
by manthy

Its coleman and its great! Walmart, as usual, has the best price on this. We have found the exact item for 5-10 dollars higher at competitors stores and retail stores. Thank you Walmart for your price saving buys!!!!!

Was this review helpful? (19) (9)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
manthy
Malibu, CA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Great deal for InstaStart lantern
2/7/2014

Customer review by XfinityComcast

5.0 stars 2/7/2014 by XfinityComcast
by XfinityComcast

$29.97 for lantern AND case, who could complain! The first trick is opening the case, the clamshell case snap must be pressed in on one side to release so look for the embossed "press here" near the snap. 810 lumens is more than enough light and I would think the Northstar model would be blinding. Push button start works great but you need about 3 seconds of gas flow to ignite, expect a small "poof" at ignition. Instruction sheet does not mention pre-burning mantles so research Youtube if you need instructions regarding this. The base does not fit the Coleman bottle snugly so I wiped 3 spots of black silicone on the inside of the base stand where the bottle fits. This keeps the base on when you carry it or hang it and is still easy to remove the bottle. If your bottles have a plastic shell base then it should fit snug without the silicone. I opted for propane because I remember as a kid how messy and stinky filling the lantern was thru the tiny filler hole. My only concern for the propane is how well it will perform on a sub-freezing night, I will buy a dual-fuel lantern if it becomes an issue. Note the picture on Walmart.com shows a skinny neck, this is not the InstaStart model.

Was this review helpful? (8) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
XfinityComcast
Huntsville, AL
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Really Bright and Easy to Use
11/26/2011

Customer review by LadyZamzuu

5.0 stars 11/26/2011 by LadyZamzuu
by LadyZamzuu

I never used a propane lantern before. This is the first one for me. It says you should burn the mantle first. I didn't know what a mantle was. But afte reading the manual that came with it and visiting www.coleman.com, I was able to figure out what they were. I pre-burn the mantle and waited 5 minutes to ignite it. and it works. It is bright. Love it. http://neteraat.blogspot.com/2011/11/how-to-use-coleman-propane-lantern.html

Was this review helpful? (8) (2)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
LadyZamzuu
Macon, GA
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:3 - 4 months
Gender:Female
Usage:Every day
Top 1000 contributor
Decent Price for a Decent Latern
5/10/2011

Customer review by Ozwalden

3.0 stars 5/10/2011 by Ozwalden
by Ozwalden

Took this lantern home and set it up right away. Pre-Burnt the Mantles as instructed. Lantern fired on the first attempt. Good Bright Light and Good Heat. The only problem I had with it was the Bail (The Handle). It doesn't stay in properly. After a little bit of wiggling and pushing I finally got the bail to stay in. It's still a little lose making transport a bit difficult. Makes the glass a bit shaky as well. Overall It was a good price to play for a decent quality lantern.

Was this review helpful? (6) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Ozwalden
Pineville WV
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:18 - 24
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Decent!
4/16/2011

Customer review by BlackandGrey

4.0 stars 4/16/2011 by BlackandGrey
by BlackandGrey

Two tips: 1) Don't try to unscrew the nut on the top of the lantern while the case is attached. The nut is permantly attached to the cover and you will strip it out if the case is wrapped around it. 2) I buy Worthington 1 lb propane bottles from Walmart and they are not snug in the base; hence, when you lift the lantern to walk with it, the base stays where it sat. I'm not sure if Coleman bottles stay snug and "attach" to the base. Overall, it'll meet my needs. It'll be on a propane tree mostly anyways. This model does have the InstaStart...the picture is wrong on this page and Coleman's webpage.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
BlackandGrey
MI
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:25 - 34
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
coleman lantern
3/20/2012

Customer review by daveh52

2.0 stars 3/20/2012 by daveh52
by daveh52

not very well made, my older single mantel is brighter, the handle and bace where the propane tank sits are junk.

Was this review helpful? (4) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
daveh52
nevada
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
10/31/2011

Customer review by TheOldDutchman

5.0 stars 10/31/2011 by TheOldDutchman
by TheOldDutchman

Just used this lantern on an 8 day trip in the mountains, worked great. Comes with its own storage case, and has an electric starter, no matches needed. If your looking for a very good lantern this is the one!

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
TheOldDutchman
Mohave Valley, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per month
Coleman Lantern
9/10/2011

Customer review by AA990

4.0 stars 9/10/2011 by AA990
by AA990

Great COMPACT Lantern - and Priced great when you look at the Original Full size Coleman Lantern

Was this review helpful? (3) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
AA990
Ohio
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:1 week or less
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Great camp light
8/27/2010

Customer review by buffycat

5.0 stars 8/27/2010 by buffycat
by buffycat

I just love the auto light feature. Gone are the days of searching for matches or lighting with a stick from the fire. I am going to keep this lantern close during the winter in case of power failure also. Sturdy base and large bail really increase the safety level of this lantern. Best purchase I've made in quite awhile.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
buffycat
Portland, OR
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:65 or older
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
11/26/2010

Customer review by MyNickNameDoesntWork

5.0 stars 11/26/2010 by MyNickNameDoesntWork
by MyNickNameDoesntWork

Worked really well after the pre-burning the mantles at instructions say. First there was a yellowist light then went to more of a white light with time. Good Product.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
MyNickNameDoesntWork
Lumberton, Tx
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per year
Works great!
9/30/2011

Customer review by chardski50

5.0 stars 9/30/2011 by chardski50
by chardski50

Purchased this lantern to replace my older style gas coleman lantern as i was having trouble finding a replacement glass globe which was broken. This lantern stores itself in a case that is provided which protects the glass globe and it works great. Also love the push button lighter as opposed to using a match with my old one. I would highly recommend this lantern to everytone.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
chardski50
findlay il
Would recommend to a friend? No
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:A few times per month
Easy travel lantern
7/24/2014

Customer review by SewSpoiledLv

5.0 stars 7/24/2014 by SewSpoiledLv
by SewSpoiledLv

I loved that when I opened this box the Mantels were already on and it was ready to go. This is an easy to travel with lantern and gives great light. Did it end up storming? Yes! We were in a hail storm and this lantern not only provided light for our games inside the tent but it also gave us warmth. We were freezing! We lit the lantern and within a couple of minutes the tent was warming up. We hung it from the middle of the tent ceiling. It is well worth the price.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SewSpoiledLv
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Works every time, does what it says it will do
3/31/2013

Customer review by SpockF14

5.0 stars 3/31/2013 by SpockF14
by SpockF14

Provides light for the camp site, and back yard after dark barbecues. Easy to light with the push button ignition. Uses standard quickclip or tie on mantles found virtually anywhere. Much superior to the Coleman Northstar which broke its mantle in two weeks and then failed to flow gas after 3 months. Simple to use, does the job, inexpensive.

Was this review helpful? (2) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
SpockF14
California
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:55 - 64
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
Verified purchaser
Verified purchaser
Customer has been confirmed to have purchased the item from Walmart.
Like it, very bright
9/7/2010

Customer review by blueflowe

5.0 stars 9/7/2010 by blueflowe
by blueflowe

I like it this because it is so easy to turn it on and able to adjust the brightness so easily. It is very bright... very happy with it

Was this review helpful? (2) (1)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
blueflowe
Kinnelon, NJ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:35 - 44
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Female
Usage:A few times per year
Easy use lantern
8/24/2012

Customer review by Gatorslayer

5.0 stars 8/24/2012 by Gatorslayer
by Gatorslayer

This is a great little lantern. Stores easily, fast lighting and gives off a great amount of light that is needed. I would buy this again.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
Gatorslayer
Deltona, Florida
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 7 weeks
Gender:Male
Usage:Every few days
BRIGHT, BRIGHT, BRIGHT!
1/12/2012

Customer review by PhoenixRover

5.0 stars 1/12/2012 by PhoenixRover
by PhoenixRover

Glad I threw this one in the cart instead of the American Camper, knock-off brand that I almost put in! This thing has an auto start like a BBQ, and it's super, super bright! Uses clip on mantles (always burn them FIRST, before igniting), and the case is easy to figure out and store. Great product, even better price. Love it!

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
PhoenixRover
Scottsdale, AZ
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
Age:45 - 54
Ownership:2 - 3 months
Gender:Male
Usage:Once per week
Great!
6/9/2010

Customer review by NicksMom610

5.0 stars 6/9/2010 by NicksMom610
by NicksMom610

If you need bright light and don't want to spend the money on some of the high quality lanterns this will work great. I like my Coleman led best but this is great if you need more light.

Was this review helpful? (1) (0)
Thank you! You have successfully submitted feedback for this review.
Was this answer helpful?
NicksMom610
Would recommend to a friend? Yes
1-20 of 62 total reviews
1-20 of 62 reviews